Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

INDIANA COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE
Acquired through 1999

Compiled by: Ines Klinger and Abigail Lewis
Series Editor: Ann Hoog

Publication Date: January 2003; Web Revision December 2005
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 31
ISSN 0736-4903

Sound Recordings and Multiformat Collections

AFS 1689-1767: Alan Lomax Ohio and Indiana Collection
Seventy-nine 12-inch discs of songs and stories performed and spoken by various people throughout Indiana, Kentucky, and Ohio. Recorded by Alan and Elizabeth Lomax, March 26-April 16, 1938. The collection includes 1 1/8 linear inches of fieldnotes, newspaper articles, notation, and transcription (portions of this collection are stored separately in the manuscripts bay).

AFS 1719A1-A2: One disc containing "The banks of the Old Pedee" sung by Viola Dodson, and "The golden dagger" sung by Nell Weaver. Recorded in Bloomington, Indiana, April 1938. (4 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 121)

AFS 1719B2: One disc containing "Erin go braugh" sung by Viola Dodson. Recorded in Bloomington, Indiana, April 1938. (2 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 121)

AFS 1720A-1733B: Fifteen discs containing 39 songs and stories performed and spoken by Ivy Brohall, T. M. Bryant, John Collier, Claude Cryder, Frank Davidson, Viola Dodson, O. F. Kirk, Oscar Parks, Mrs. Oscar Parks, John Smiley, Marion Stoggill, and Dora Ward. Recorded in Bloomington, Deuchars, Elkinsville, Evansville, Oakland City, and Princeton, Indiana, April 1938. (2 hours and 12 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 121-122)

AFS 1734A-1757A1: Twenty-four discs containing 82 fiddle tunes and songs sung in French and English, performed by Kathleen Bryant, T. M. Bryant, Mrs. T. M. Bryant, Josephine Caney, Samuel Clay Dixon, Aunt Phoebe Elliott, Esther Bryant Frazier, Mrs. Haden, Ethel Bryant Neimeyer, Wesley Swallow, Dora Ward, Minnie Wilson, and various men and women from the W.P.A. Writers' Project. Recorded in Evansville, Mt. Vernon, New Harmony, Oakland City, Princeton, and Vincennes, Indiana, April 1938. (3 hours; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 122-124)

AFS 1758A-1761A1: Four discs containing 13 songs sung by Josephine Caney and Mary Utt. Recorded in Vincennes, Indiana, April 1938. (33 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 124)

AFS 1761A4-1762A1: Two discs containing "L'amant trompé," "Johnny fill up the bowl," and "La chanson crêpe" sung by Josephine Caney. Recorded in Vincennes, Indiana, April 1938. (8 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 124)

AFS 1762A3-A4: One disc containing "En roulant mon boule" and "Quand ce ceci mon père" sung by Leah Cohen Maley. Recorded in Fort Wayne, Indiana, April 1938. (9 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 124)

AFS 1763-1767: Five discs containing 10 Amish hymns sung by Eli Bontreger and Joni Easch. Recorded in Goshen, Indiana, April 13, 1938. (30 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 124B-125A)

AFS 8213-8221: Capt. F.M. Van Natter / American Legion Recordings
Nine 12-inch discs of songs and spoken word from the radio broadcast "The American Legion Post" hosted by Capt. F. M. Van Natter. This program features George Field's Spiritual Singers; a Scottish bagpiper playing tunes to the poetry of Robert Burns; and French folk songs from Vincennes, Indiana, including "Au bois," "Au clair de la lune," "Varsouvienne," "Grand'mère se plaint," and "Alouette." Recorded at radio station WAOV, Vincennes, Indiana, 1944. The collection includes 3 pages of correspondence and a partial transcript. (50 minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 96)

AFS 10,751: Jonas Balys / Greek and Lithuanian Songs
One 7-inch tape of eight Greek folk and popular songs sung by Georgia Tarsouli. Recorded by Jonas Balys in Bloomington, Indiana, November 1, 1951. (LWO 2088) [see also AFS 19,161-19178, AFS 10,873-10,874, and AFS 18,805]

AFS 12,010-12,012: George Korson Bituminous Songs Collection
Three 10-inch tapes of instrumentals, a recitation, and songs performed with fiddle and guitar by bituminous coal miners from Alabama, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Nova Scotia, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia. Recorded at various locations by George Korson, 1940. The collection includes three pages of lists. Portions of this collection have been published by the Library of Congress on recording number AFS L60, Songs and Ballads of the Bituminous Coal Miners.

AFS 12,011B: One tape containing “The Miner’s Cabin,”and “Digging in the Barroom” performed by two unidentified men. Recorded in West Terre Haute, Indiana, 1940. (5 minutes; LWO 3960 reel 2)

AFS 12,052: Rosenbaum and Dunford / Oscar Parks and Swedish Fiddling Collection
One 7-inch tape of a song performed by Oscar Parks, recorded in Alton, Indiana, by Patrick Dunford and Arthur Rosenbaum, December 30, 1963; and 6 instrumental songs by Swedish fiddlers, Röjas Jonas and Pahl Olle, duplicated from a commercial 7-inch disc. The collection includes 1 newspaper article in Swedish and a 2-page song list.

AFS 12,052A1: One tape containing "The round log cabin on the hill" sung by Oscar Parks. (9 minutes; LWO 4183)

AFS 12,058: Gladys Slate / Indiana
One 5-inch tape of 21 songs sung by Gladys Slate of Flora, Indiana. Recorded by her daughter Mrs. Dean A. Ross, September 19, 1962. The collection includes a 1-page song list. (35 minutes; LWO 3862)

AFS 14,201-14,203: Guthrie T. Meade Duplication Project
Three 10-inch tapes of songs and instrumental music from Indiana and Kentucky. Recorded in Bloomington, Indiana, and various locations in Kentucky by Guthrie T. Meade, 1958-60. Copies of the original tapes are held at the Indiana University Archives of Traditional Music. The collection includes 10 pages of correspondence and lists.

AFS 14,201: Thirty-nine songs performed by Roxie King, Garland "Jack" South, and Lula South. Recorded in Bloomington, Indiana, by Guthrie T. Meade, April 1960. (1 hour 20 minutes; LWO 6069 reel 1)

AFS 14,204-14,216: Folk Legacy Records Duplication Project
Thirteen 10-inch tapes of folksongs performed by various folksingers. Recorded in Arkansas, Connecticut, Indiana, Missouri, New Brunswick, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and Vermont by Lee B. Haggerty, Charles "Sandy" Paton, and others for Folk-Legacy Records, Inc., 1958-69.

AFS 14, 216A: One tape containing 8 songs performed by Vern Smelser, taught to him by his grandmother in Kansas in 1920. Recorded in Paoli, Indiana, by Pat Dunford and Lee B. Haggerty, ca. 1964. (27 minutes; LWO 6042 reel 13)

AFS 17,021: Jimmy Campbell Duplication Project
One 10-inch tape of 24 fiddle tunes and other folk songs performed by Jimmy Campbell and the Boys. Recorded in Dolan, Indiana, by Wilson Allen, Joseph C. Hickerson, Judy B. McCulloh, and Joe Wysong, February 7, 1962. The collection includes 2 pages of descriptions and song lists. (1 hour; LWO 7873)

AFS 17,023-17,024: Don Laycock Duplication Project
Two 10-inch tapes containing bawdy Australian folksongs sung by Don Laycock with comments and interviews. Recorded in Unionville, Indiana, by Joseph C. Hickerson, July 7, 1962. This collection includes a photocopy of the tape box and a 7-page song list. (2 hours and 10 minutes; LWO 7887)

AFS 17,450-17,468: Kathy and Joel Shimberg / Interview of John W. Summers
Nineteen 10-inch tapes of fiddle tunes performed by John W. "Dick" Summers and Fred Weaver. Recorded in Marion and Upland, Indiana, by Joel and Kathy Shimberg, December 1970, May 1972, and January 1973. The collection includes 25 pages of correspondence, data-sheets, logs, and song lists. (38 hours; LWO 8203)

AFS 17,541-17,567: Art Rosenbaum Duplication Project
Twenty-seven 10-inch tapes of blues, country music, fiddle tunes, gospel songs, and Scottish ballads performed by a variety of artists. Recorded in Indiana, Michigan, New York, Scotland, and various other locations by Pat Dunford and Art Rosenbaum, 1958-67. The collection includes a 1/2-inch of copy logs and song lists. [see also AFS 18,806]

AFS 17,551-17,567: Sixteen tapes containing songs by Scrapper Blackwell, "Guitar Pete" Franklin, Dallas Henderson, Pat Hudson, Shorty and Juanita Sheehan, John W. "Dick" Summers, and Anna Underhill. Recorded in Franklin, Indianapolis, Marion, Owensburg, and Uniontown, Indiana, by Pat Dunford and Art Rosenbaum, 1958-66. (32 hours; LWO 8487 reels 11-27)

AFS 18,806: Art Rosenbaum Indiana Recordings
One 7-inch tape containing 23 songs and ballads sung by Verne Smelser, and an interview. Recorded in Paoli, Indiana, by Art Rosenbaum, June 6, 1966. The collection includes 2 pages of logs. (1 hour; LWO 9122) [see also AFS 17,541-17,567]

AFS 19,013-19,037: Pat Dunford Duplication Project
Twenty-five 10-inch tapes containing old-time banjo and fiddle tunes, interviews, stories, and songs by various artists. Recorded in Indiana, Kentucky, and Virginia by Pat Dunford and occasionally Lee Haggerty, Art Rosenbaum, P. Siegel, and Dan White, 1962-69. The collection includes 28 pages of song lists.

AFS 19,013A: One tape containing songs performed by Pat Dunford (banjo and guitar), Larry Gray (guitar), and John W. Summers (fiddle). Recorded in Marion, Indiana, by Pat Dunford, December 31, 1966. (1 hour; LWO 9456 reel 1A)

AFS 19,013B-19,014A: Two tapes containing banjo tunes and interviews with Arvella Gray, recorded in Indianapolis, Indiana, by Pat Dunford, March 21, 1964. (2 hours; LWO 9456 reels 1B-2A)

AFS 19,025B-19,027A: Three tapes containing fiddle tunes, an interview, songs, and stories performed by Orville De Losh, Kenneth Smelser, and Vern Smelser. Recorded in Paoli, Indiana, by Pat Dunford and Lee Haggerty, July 1963, February 1964, and January 1966. (4 hours; LWO 9456 reels 13B-15A)

AFS 19,028A: One tape containing "Texas Rangers" and "The little orphan girl" by Mrs. Ella Parker. Recorded in Fairfield, Indiana, by Pat Dunford, January 1964. (4 minutes; LWO 9456 reel 16A)

AFS 19,030: One tape containing banjo and fiddle tunes performed by Dallas Henderson and John W. Summers. Recorded in Indianapolis and Marion, Indiana, by Pat Dunford and Art Rosenbaum, December 27 and 30, 1962, and December 28, 1963 (2 hours; LWO 9456 reel 18)

AFS 19,031A: One tape containing songs and tunes performed by John W. Summers and Dan White. Recorded by Dan White, March 24, no year provided. (1 hour; LWO 9456 reel 19A)

AFS 19,031B-19,032A: Two tapes marked "Southern Indiana" containing various singers, including Vern Smelser, recorded in southern Indiana by Art Rosenbaum. No dates, names, or places provided. (2 hours; LWO 9456 reels 19B-20A)

AFS 19,032B: One tape containing songs performed by Oscar Parks and Riley Shelton (banjo). Recorded by Pat Dunford and Art Rosenbaum in Alton and Deycharg, Indiana, December 30 and 31, 1963. (1 hour; LWO 9456 reel 20B)

AFS 19,033A-19,034A: Two tapes containing songs performed by Mr. and Mrs. Oscar Parks and Mrs. Sigler Underhill. Recorded in Deycharg and Uniontown, Indiana, by Pat Dunford, Art Rosenbaum, and P. Siegel, June 12, 1962, and December 30, 1963. (3 hours; LWO 9456 reels 21A-22A)

AFS 19,034B-19,035B: Two tapes containing tunes performed by Pat Dunford (banjo), S. Hawkey (guitar), Louis Henderson, and Thurman Percifield (fiddle). Recorded in Helmsburg, Indiana, by Pat Dunford, December 2, 1962, and February 9, 1963. (3 hours; LWO 9456 reels 22B-23B)

AFS 19,036A: One tape containing fourteen songs performed by Pat Dunford (banjo), Ernie Hacker (fiddle), Dallas Henderson (banjo), Art Rosenbaum (guitar), Niel Rosenberg (banjo), and Shorty and Juanita Sheehan. Recorded in Franklin, Indiana, by Pat Dunford, September 16 and 17, 1962. (1 hour; LWO 9456 reel 24A)

AFS 19,036B: One tape containing tunes performed by Greg Hildebrand, Bernard Lee, Loren Parker, Frank Proffitt, and Mayre Smith. Recorded in Bloomington and Nashville, Indiana, by Pat Dunford, December 1, 1962, and March 24, 1963. (1 hour; LWO 9456 reel 24B)

AFS 19,161-19,178: Jonas Balys / Lithuanian American Recordings
Eighteen 10-inch tapes of Greek and Lithuanian songs recorded in Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Ohio, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Washington, D.C., and Wisconsin by Jonas Balys, 1949-59. The collection includes 5 linear inches of manuscripts containing an alphabetic index of songs, copies of 6 diaries of field expeditions, and photocopies of original tape boxes having supplementary information. [see also AFS 10,751, AFS 10,873-10,874, and AFS 18,805]

AFS 19,161A1-B17: Thirty-four Lithuanian songs sung by ElenaBalien. Recorded in Bloomington, Indiana, July 10 and 12, 1949. (1 hour; LWO 9748 reel 1A1-2)

AFS 19,163B1-5: Five Lithuanian songs sung by Pranas Ber inis. Recorded in East Chicago, Indiana, August 6, 1949. (30 minutes; LWO 9748 reel 3B1)

AFS 19,163B1-24: Twenty-four Lithuanian songs sung by Ona Dakanien . Recorded in Gary, Indiana, August 8 and 9, 1949. (1 hour; LWO 9748 reel 3B1-2)

AFS 19,163B2-19,164A1: Five Lithuanian songs sung by Feliksas Dakanas. Recorded in Gary, Indiana, August 8 and 9, 1949. (30 minutes; LWO 9748 reel 3B1-4A1)

AFS 19,164A1-3: Three Lithuanian songs sung by Sofija Adomaiten and Prudencija Bi kien . Recorded in Gary, Indiana, August 8, 1949. (30 minutes; LWO 9748 reel 4A1)

AFS 19,164A1-26: Twenty-six Lithuanian songs sung by Antanina Pusdešryte-Nenien . Recorded in Gary, Indiana, August 9, 1949. (1 hour; LWO 9748 reel 4A1-2)

AFS 22,193: Ben Gray Lumpkin / International Folk Music Council Songfest Collection
One 7-inch tape of the Ben Gray Lumpkin International Folk Music Council Songfest Collection. Informal recordings of various participants in the International Folk Music Council Conference, including Sam Eskin, singing and speaking. Recorded in Bloomington, Indiana, by Ben Gray Lumpkin, July 17-21, 1950. The collection includes 10 pages of correspondence, logs, and a photocopy of the conference schedule. (30 minutes; RXA 3854)

AFS 22,486-22,489: Walter E. Barton Interview Collection
Four 7-inch tapes of an interview with Walter E. Barton concerning his memories of life in Posey County, Indiana, in the early 1900s. He discusses family life, farm life, childhood activities, herbal remedies, and his decision to leave Indiana. Recorded in Washington, D.C., by Gerald E. Parsons, Jr. and Margaret B. Parsons, June 27, 1981. The collection includes 1 contact sheet of 19 black-and-white images, 29 pages of correspondence, interview data, logs, newspaper articles, a speech transcript, tape summaries, and one hand-drawn map of Barton's home. (4 hours; RXA 4044-4047)

AFS 24,118-24,119: Mary Leister "Grandmother's Old Arm Chair" Collection
Two audiocassettes of the ballad "Grandmother's old arm chair" sung twice by Mary Leister, taught to her by her grandfather in Indiana, with introduction and commentary. Recorded by Leister in her home in Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, June 1984 and January 1985. The collection includes 24 pages of an album cover, correspondence, description, and musical and textual transcriptions. (13 minutes; RYA 5123-5124)

AFC 1941/004: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Collection
Five 16-inch and 12 12-inch discs of interviews from Washington, D.C., Bloomington, Indiana; Nashville, Tennessee; Burlington, North Carolina; New York, New York; and Austin and Dallas, Texas, documenting the reactions of the "man-on-the-street" to the bombing of Pearl Harbor and declaration of war. Recorded by Robert E. Barton Allen, Philip Cohen, Fletcher Collins, John Henry Faulk, Charles T. Harrell, Charles Johnson, Alan Lomax, John A. Lomax, Robert Sonkin, and Charles Todd, December 8-10, 1941. Recorded as part of the Library of Congress Radio Research Project. The collection includes 1 linear inch of logs, and transcripts. This collection is available online as part of the Library of Congress American Memory presentation: After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor .

AFS 6360: One disc containing a discussion with 5 Indiana University students and a another discussion with four other individuals, recorded in Bloomington, Indiana, by Robert E. Barton Allen, December 10, 1941. (31 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 406-407)

AFC 1942/003: "Dear Mr. President" Collection
Four 16-inch, 48 12-inch, and 3 8-inch discs of recorded reactions to war-time conditions in the United States. Recorded by Robert E. Barton Allen, Harry Behn, Fletcher Collins, Duncan Emrich, John Henry Faulk, Helen Hartness Flanders, Charles Johnson, Lewis Jones, Marguerite Olney, Vance Randolph, William N. Robson, Robert Sonkin, and Charles Todd in various locations throughout the United States, January-February 1942. Recorded for the Office of Emergency Management Radio Section program "Dear Mr. President." The collection includes 1 linear inch of correspondence, logs, and transcripts. This collection is available online as part of the Library of Congress American Memory presentation: After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor.

AFS 6397A-6401B: Four discs containing 8 interviews with various persons. Recorded in Bloomington, Indiana, by Robert E. Barton Allen, January-February 1942. (12 minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 42)

AFS 6455: One disc containing 2 interviews with a schoolteacher and a factory worker. Recorded by Robert E. Barton Allen in Bloomington, Indiana, January 8, 1942. (3 minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 45)

AFC 1990/015: David Adler Cultural Center / "In the Tradition" Concert Series
Eleven videocassettes of interviews and concert footage from the "In the Tradition" concert series featuring 11 programs produced by the David Adler Cultural Center with support from the National Endowment for the Arts. The performances showcase various traditions including blues, Irish, Scandinavian, and Middle Eastern songs, as well as fiddling and ballads from Missouri and Indiana. Recorded in Libertyville, Illinois, 1989. The collection includes 18 pages of concert fliers and descriptions of each performer and performance.

Tape 5: One tape containing concert footage and interviews of Indiana singer Lotus Dickey performing songs and fiddle tunes, accompanied by Paul Tyler and Barbara Silverman. (40 minutes)

AFC 1998/004: Eric Larson / Otto Martin Larson Collection
One audiocassette containing 23 ragtime and other versions of "Golden days," "It had to be you," "Kiss me again," "Liebestraum," "Old Kentucky," "Sarabelle and Johnny," and "You and I" performed on piano by Otto Martin Larson originally of Hammond, Indiana. Originally recorded on 78-rpm home recordings made in Detroit, Michigan, 1941-44. The collection includes 25 pages of biographical information, song lyrics, and program notes. (16 minutes)

Manuscript Collections

"The Mountains Stay with Us: Southern Upland Folklife in the Midwest."
A regional folklife project field research summary compiled by Barry Bergey, Robert Cantwell, Mary Hufford, Kathleen Mundell, and Patricia Radecki, and edited by Deborah K. May, under the auspices of the Great Lakes Arts Alliance, 63 pages. The report includes a map of the site location and descriptions of the "work, leisure and folk arts" of the "southern uplanders: a Midwestern ethnic group" of people who migrated from the "southern mountains." The study was conducted in parts of southern Illinois, southern Indiana, southeastern Michigan, and southern Ohio, January - June 1980.

"An Annotated Field Collection of Songs from the American College Student" by Richard A. Reuss. Master's Thesis, Indiana University Department of Folklore, 1965, 355 pages. Document includes 64 songs collected from college students from Indiana University, Ohio Wesleyan University, DePauw University (Indiana), Middlebury College (Vermont), University of Cincinnati, University of Missouri, University of Chicago, and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Also included are musical and textual transcriptions.

Microfilm Collection

"An Annotated Collection of Contemporary Obscene Humor from the Bloomington Campus of Indiana University" by Richard Edward Buehler. Master's Thesis in folklore, Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana, 1964, 187 pages. A study of humorous obscene folklore texts from fourteen informants. An appendix includes the texts of one hundred 38 obscene stories, with a description of any similar published tales, and 19 non-obscene tales. Also included is an index of story motifs and types.