home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1994 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1994/001
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
August 1995
SUMMARY
The 1994 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, sound recordings, graphic materials, and moving images
that document the 1994 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife
Center. The annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation
of folk traditions from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune
Plaza at the front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress
between April and September. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force
the concerts indoors.
The 1994 season consisted of the following:
| April 21 |
Monks of Drepung Loseling Monastery, Tibet (Tibetan sacred
music and dance) |
| May 19 |
Sviraj, DE and PA, (Tamburitza music of former Yugoslavia) |
| June 2 |
Six Nations Longhouse Women Singers, NY and Canada (Iroquois) |
| June 16 |
Legendary Orioles, MD (Rhythm and blues quartet singing) |
| July 21 |
Kings of Harmony, DC (Gospel brass band) |
| August 18 |
Dave McLaughlin and Josh Crowe, VA (Bluegrass) |
| September 15 |
Cachao and his Latin All Stars, NY, FL, and PR (Cuban mambo) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions. Performers may be contacted through the American Folklife
Center administrative office.
Primary Languages: English, Greek, Iroquois, Serbo-Croatian,
Spanish, Tibetan
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 1 box |
|
| Computer Diskettes |
|
| 1 3 1/2" diskette |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 4 10" DT stereo reels at 7.5 ips |
AFC 1994/001:SR1-4 |
| 3 120-minute digital audio tape |
AFC 1994/001:SR5-7 |
| 11 90-minute audiocassettes |
AFC 1994/001:SR1-c1, c2, SR2-c1, SR3-c1, SR4-c1, SR5-c1,
c2, SR6-c1, c2, SR7-c1, c2 (listening copies) |
| Graphic Materials |
195 b&w 35 mm negatives
9 b&w contact sheets
1 color contact sheet
7 8x10 b&w photoprints
5 8x10 color photoprints
124 color slides |
|
| Moving Image |
| 5 hi-8 color videocassettes |
AFC 1994/001:V1, V3, V5-6, V8 |
| 9 1/2" VHS color videocassettes |
AFC 1994/001:V2, V4, V7
AFC 1994/001:V1-v1, V5-v1, V6-v1-2, V7- v1, V8-v1 (viewing copies) |
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIAL
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document), an article describing
the Neptune Plaza Concert Series, and press releases and news clippings
on the 1994 concert lineup. Also includes a three and one- half inch
computer diskette containing logs of the concerts in Wordperfect
5.1 on MSDOS 6 (all logs are available in hard copy in the individual
concert folders).
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
Monks of Drepung Loseling Monastery,
4-21-94. Concert fliers, news clippings, promotional materials on
the band, and a concert log by Catherine Hiebert Kerst.
|
Folder 5
|
Sviraj, 5-19-94. Concert flier autographed
by the performers, unsigned fliers, concert log by Catherine Hiebert
Kerst with input from Danilo Yanich, news clippings, and promotional
materials on the band.
|
Folder 7
|
Six Nations Longhouse Women Singers,
6-2-94. Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers,
concert log by Judith Gray, news clippings, and promotional materials
on the band.
|
Folder 9
|
Legendary Orioles, 6-16-94. Concert
flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, concert log
by William Maxwell Derrickson, and promotional materials on the band.
|
Folder 11
|
Kings of Harmony, 7-21-94. Concert
flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, concert log
by Catherine Hiebert Kerst, and news clippings.
|
Folder 14
|
Dave McLaughlin and Josh Crowe, 8-18-94.
Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, concert
log by Catherine Hiebert Kerst, and promotional materials on the
band.
|
Folders 15-16
|
Cachao and his Latin All Stars, 9-15-94.
Concert fliers, concert log by Pablo Calvan, press releases, news
clippings, and promotional materials about the band in English and
in Spanish.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
AFC 1994/001: SR1
|
Monks of Drepung Loseling Monastery,
4-21-94. One 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. Listening copies are available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1994/001: SR2
|
Sviraj, 5-19-94. One 10" DT stereo
at 7.5 ips. Listening copy is available in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1994/001: SR3
|
Six Nations Longhouse Women Singers,
6-2-94. One 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. Listening copy is available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1994/001: SR4
|
Legendary Orioles, 6-16-94. One 10" DT
stereoat 7.5 ips. Listening copy is available in the Folklife Reading
Room.
|
| Audiocassettes |
AFC 1994/001: SR5
|
Kings of Harmony, 7-21-94. One 120-minute
digital audio tape. Listening copies are available in the Folklife
Reading Room.
|
AFC 1994/001: SR6
|
Dave McLaughlin and Josh Crowe, 8-18-94.
One 120-minute digital audio tape. Listening copies are available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1994/001: SR7
|
Cachao and his Latin All Stars, 9-15-94.
One 120-minute digital audio tape. Listening copies are available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
Location
| Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
Monks of Drepung Loseling Monastery, 4-21-94. One sheet
of black and white 35 mm (36 images). Photographed by Jim Hardin. |
| Envelope 4 |
Sviraj, 5-19-94. One sheet of black and white 35 mm
(14 images). Photographed by Jim Hardin. |
| Envelope 5 |
Six Nations Longhouse Women Singers, 6-2-94. Two sheets
of black and white 35 mm (51 images) Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Envelope 9 |
Legendary Orioles, 6-16-94. Two sheets of black and
white 35 mm (57 images). Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Envelope 10 |
Cachao and his Latin All Stars, 9-15-94. One sheet
of black and white 35 mm (37 images). Photographed by Jim Hardin. |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folders 3-4 |
Monks of Drepung Loseling Monastery, 4-21-94. One black
and white 35 mm contact sheet (36 images, photographed by Jim Hardin),
one 8 x 10 black and white photoprint (publicity-photographer unknown),
two 8 x 10 color photoprints, and three duplicate 8 x 10 color photoprints
(photographed by Nikki Vreeland). |
| Folder 6 |
Sviraj, 5-19-94. One black and white 35 mm contact sheet
(14 images, photographed by Jim Hardin) and one 8 x 10 black and white
photoprint (publicity- photographer unknown). |
| Folder 8 |
Six Nations Longhouse Women Singers, 6-2-94. Two black
and white 35 mm contact sheets (51 images). Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Folder 10 |
Legendary Orioles, 6-16-94. Two black and white 35
mm contact sheets (57 images). Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Folders 12-13 |
Kings of Harmony, 7-21-94. Two black and white 35 mm
contact sheets (34 images), and five 8 x 10 black and white photoprints.
Photographed by Yusef El-Amin. |
| Folder 17 |
Cachao and his Latin All Stars, 9-15-94. One black
and white 35 mm contact sheet (37 images, photographed by Jim Hardin),
and one color 35 mm contact sheet (22 images, photographer unknown). |
| Color slides |
| Envelopes 2-3 |
Monks of Drepung Loseling Monastery, 4-21-94. Two trays
containing a total of 36. Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 6-8 |
Six Nations Longhouse Women Singers, 6-2-94. Three trays
containing a total of 52. Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 11-12 |
Cachao and his Latin All Stars, 9-15-94. Two trays containing
a total of 36. Photographed by John Gibbs. |
SERIES IV: MOVING IMAGE
Location
|
Contents
|
AFC 1994/001: V1
|
Monks of Drepung Loseling Monastery,
4-21-94. Onehi-8 color videotaped by Peter Bartis. Viewing copy is
available in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
| AFC 1994/001: V2 |
Sviraj, 5-19-94. One 1/2" VHS color. Videotapes by
Terrence L. Lisbeth. |
| AFC 1994/001: V3-4 |
Six Nations Longhouse Women Singers, 6-2-94. One hi-8
color and one 1/2" VHS color (recorded concurrently). |
| AFC 1994/001: V5 |
Legendary Orioles, 6-16-94. One hi-8 color videotaped
by Peter Bartis. Viewing copy is available in the Folklife Reading
Room. |
| AFC 1994/001: V6 |
Kings of Harmony, 7-21-94. One hi-8 color. Viewing copies
are available in the Folklife Reading Room. |
| AFC 1994/001: V7 |
Dave McLaughlin and Josh Crowe, 8-18-94. One 1/2" VHS
color. Viewing copy is available in the Folklife Reading Room. |
AFC 1994/001: V8
|
Cachao and his Latin All Stars, 9-15-94.
One hi-8 color videotaped by Nolyn Mason. Viewing copy is available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT
Concert
|
Description
|
| Monks of Drepung Loseling Monastery |
The monks present sacred music and dance from Tibet,
including traditional monastic multiphonic singing and masked dances.
Dr. Robert Clark of the University of Virginia narrates the program
and provides background information. Dances include Sha-nak, Dance
of the Black Hat; Kha-dro Ten-zhug Gar-cham, Longevity Dance of the
Heavenly Messengers; and Dur-dak Gar-cham, Dance of the Skeleton Lords.
Print material, photographs, and slides: folders 2-4, envelopes 2-3;
sound recording: AFC 1994/001:SR1; videotape: AFC 1994/001:V1. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top