home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1992 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1992/001
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
December 1995
SUMMARY
The 1992 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, sound recordings, graphic materials, and moving images
that document the 1992 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife
Center. The annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation
of folk traditions from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune
Plaza at the front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress
between April and September. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force
the concerts indoors.
The 1992 season consisted of the following:
| April 23 |
Familia Colon, Puerto Rico (Puerto Rican Traditional
String Music) |
| May 21 |
Ralph Blizard and the New Southern Ramblers, TN (Long Bow Fiddling) |
| June 5 |
Los Pregoneros del Puerto, CA (Veracruz Harp Music) |
| June 25 |
Santa Clara Pueblo Dancers, NM (Native American Music and Dance) |
| July 16 |
Donna Long and Brendan Mulvihill, MD (Irish Traditional Music and
Dance) |
| August 20 |
Helen Smith and the Angels of Faith, DC (Gospel) |
| September 10 |
Everett Lilly and Clear Creek Crossin', WV (Bluegrass) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions. Performers may be contacted through the American Folklife
Center administration office.
Primary Languages: English, Spanish, Tewa
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 2 boxes |
|
| Computer Diskettes |
|
| 1 3 1/2" diskette |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 7 10" DT stereo reels at 7.5 ips |
AFC 1992/001:SR1, 4, 6-8, 10-11 |
| 1 7" DT stereo reel at 7.5 ips |
AFC 1992/001:SR2 |
| 3 90-minute audiocassettes |
AFC 1992/001:SR3, 5, 9 |
| Graphic Materials |
36 b&w 35 mm negatives
5 8x10 b&w negatives
23 b&w contact sheets
23 8x10 b&w photoprints
4 8x10 color photoprints
1 5x7 b&w photoprint
49 color slides |
|
| Moving Image |
| 9 1/2" VHS color videocassettes |
AFC 1992/001:V1-7 AFC 1992/001:V3-v1-2 (viewing copies) |
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document), an article describing
the Neptune Plaza Concert Series, press releases on the 1992 concert
lineup, and a three and one-half inch computer diskette containing
logs of the concerts (all logs are available in hard copy in the
individual concert folders).
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
Familia Colon, 4-23-92. Concert flier
autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, press releases, promotional
materials on the band in English and in Spanish, and a concert log
by Catherine Hiebert Kerst.
|
Folder 6
|
Ralph Blizard and the New Southern
Ramblers, 5-21- 92. Concert flier autographed by the performers,
unsigned fliers, concert log by Catherine Hiebert Kerst, press releases,
news clippings, correspondence from Phil Jamison, and promotional
materials on the band.
|
Folder 10
|
Los Pregoneros del Puerto, 6-5-92.
Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, concert
log by Catherine Hiebert Kerst, news clippings, and promotional materials
including information on the band.
|
Folder 15
|
Santa Clara Pueblo Dancers, 6-25-92.
Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, and
news clippings.
|
Folder 20
|
Donna Long and Brendan Mulvihill,
7-16-92. Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers,
concert log by Catherine Hiebert Kerst, and news clippings.
|
Folder 23
|
Helen Smith and the Angels of Faith,
8-20-92. Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers,
concert log by Catherine Hiebert Kerst, and news clippings.
|
Folder 26
|
Everett Lilly and Clear Creek Crossin',
9-10-92. Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers,
concert log by Catherine Hiebert Kerst, news clippings, promotional
materials about the band, and photocopies of photoprints of individual
band members and of the group as a whole.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
AFC 1992/001: SR1-2
|
Familia Colon, 4-23-92. One 10" DT
stereo at 7.5 ips and one 7" DT stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
AFC 1992/001: SR4
|
Ralph Blizard and the New Southern
Ramblers, 5-21-92. One 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
AFC 1992/001: SR6
|
Los Pregoneros del Puerto, 6-5-92.
One 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
AFC 1992/001: SR7
|
Santa Clara Pueblo Dancers, 6-25-92.
One 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
AFC 1992/001: SR8
|
Donna Long and Brendan Mulvihill,
7-16-92. One SR8 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
AFC 1992/001: SR10
|
Helen Smith and the Angels of Faith,
8-20-92. One 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
| AFC 1992/001: SR11 |
Everett Lilly and Clear Creek Crossin', 9-10-92. One
10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. |
Audiocassettes
|
| AFC 1992/001: SR3 |
Familia Colon, 4-23-92. One 90-minute (recorded concurrently
with reel-to-reel). |
| AFC 1992/001: SR5 |
Ralph Blizard and the New Southern Ramblers, 5-21-92.
One 90-minute (recorded concurrently with reel-to-reel). |
| AFC 1992/001: SR9 |
Donna Long and Brendan Mulvihill, 7-16-92. One 90-minute
(recorded concurrently with reel-to- reel). |
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
Location
| Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
Familia Colon, 4-23-92. One 8 x 10 black and white (publicity).
Photographer unknown. |
| Envelope 2 |
Ralph Blizard and the New Southern Ramblers, 5-21-92.
One sheet of black and white 35 mm (35 images) and one 8 x 10 black
and white. Photographed by Jim Higgins. |
| Envelope 5 |
Los Pregoneros del Puerto, 6-5-92. One one-row sheet
of 35 mm black and white (1 image). Photographed by Dan Sheehy of the
National Endowment for the Arts. |
| Envelope 8 |
Donna Long and Brendan Mulvihill, 7-16-92. One 8 x
10 black and white (publicity). Photographer unknown. |
| Envelope 9 |
Helen Smith and the Angels of Faith, 8-20-92. One 8
x 10 black and white (publicity). Photographer unknown. |
| Envelope 10 |
Everett Lilly and Clear Creek Crossin', 9-10-92. One
8 x 10 black and white (publicity). Photographer unknown. |
| Note: negatives for photographs shot by
Library of Congress photographers Reid Baker and Jim Higgins may be
in the Public Affairs Office. |
| |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folders 3-5 |
Familia Colon, 4-23-92. Two black and white 35 mm contact
sheets (47 images), four 8 x 10 black and white photoprints, and one
8 x 10 color photoprint. Photographed by Reid Baker. |
| Folders 7-9 |
Ralph Blizard and the New Southern Ramblers, 5-21-
92. Six black and white 35 mm contact sheets (148 images) and two 8
x 10 black and white photoprints (publicity). Photographed by Jim Higgins
and an unknown photographer. |
| Folders 11-14 |
Los Pregoneros del Puerto, 6-5-92. Three black and white
35 mm contact sheets (49 images) and seven 8 x 10 black and white photoprints.
Photographed by Dan Sheehy of the NEA and Jim Higgins. |
| Folders 16-19 |
Santa Clara Pueblo Dancers, 6-25-92. Four black and
white 35 mm contact sheets (76 images) and seven 8 x 10 black and white
photoprints. Photographed by Reid Baker and possibly Yusef El- Amin. |
| Folders 21-22 |
Donna Long and Brendan Mulvihill, 7-16-92. Three black
and white 35 mm contact sheets (66 images, photographed by Jim Higgins),
two 8 x 10 black and white photoprints and one 5 x 7 black and white
photoprint. Photographed by Jim Higgins. |
| Folders 24-25 |
Helen Smith and the Angels of Faith, 8-20-92. Three
black and white 35 mm contact sheets (76 images), one 8 x 10 black
and white photoprint, and one 8 x 10 color photoprint. Photographed
by Reid Baker. |
| Folders 27-28 |
Everett Lilly and Clear Creek Crossin', 9-10-92. Two
black and white 35 mm contact sheets (54 images, photographed by Yusef
El-Amin), and two 8 x 10 color photoprints (publicity-photographer
unknown). |
| Color slides |
| Envelopes 3-4 |
Ralph Blizard and the New Southern Ramblers, 5-21- 92.
Two trays containing a total of 38. Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Envelope 6 |
Los Pregoneros del Puerto, 6-5-92. One mylar sleeve
containing one. Photographed by Dan Sheehy of the NEA. |
| Envelope 7 |
Santa Clara Pueblo Dancers, 6-25-92. One tray containing
10. Photographer unknown. |
SERIES IV: MOVING IMAGES
Location
|
Contents
|
| Videocassettes |
AFC 1992/001: V1
|
Familia Colon, 4-23-92. One 1/2" VHS
color.
|
| AFC 1992/001: V2 |
Ralph Blizard and the New Southern Ramblers, 5-21-92.
One 1/2" VHS color. |
| AFC 1992/001: V3 |
Los Pregoneros del Puerto, 6-5-92. One 1/2" VHS color.
Viewing copies are available in the Folklife Reading Room. |
| AFC 1992/001: V7 |
Santa Clara Pueblo Dancers, 6-25-92. One 1/2" VHS color
copy |
| AFC 1992/001: V4 |
Donna Long and Brendan Mulvihill, 7-16-92. One 1/2" VHS
color. |
| AFC 1992/001: V5 |
Helen Smith and the Angels of Faith, 8-20-92. One 1/2" VHS
color. |
AFC 1992/001: V6
|
Everett Lilly and Clear Creek Crossin',
9-10-92. One 1/2" VHS color.
|
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT
Concert
|
Description
|
| Santa Clara Pueblo Dancers |
The Tewa people from the Santa Clara Pueblo in New Mexico
present the Buffalo dance. Background and narration provided by the
governor of the pueblo, Walter Dasheno. Print material, photographs,
and slides: folders 15-17, envelope 7; sound recording: AFC 1992/001:SR7;
videotape: AFC 1992/001:V7. |
| Donna Long and Brendan Mulvihill |
Irish music and dance presented by Donna Long, Brendan
Mulvihill, and Regan Wick. Wick, a champion step dancer, performs a
set dance, a reel, and a hornpipe, as well as an a cappella piece.
Print material and photographs: folders 20-22, envelope 8; sound recordings:
AFC 1992/001:SR8-9; videotape: AFC 1992/001:V4. |
| Ralph Blizard and the New Southern Ramblers |
Long-time fiddler Ralph Blizard, known for his unique
fiddling style called "Tennessee Long Bow," presents Appalachian music
with members of the New Southern Ramblers, Phil Jamison and John Lilly.
Jamison and Lilly, both former members of the Green Grass Cloggers,
demonstrate individual clogging styles. Print material and photographs:
folders 6-9; sound recordings: AFC 1992/001:SR4-5; videotape: AFC 1992/001:V2. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top