home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1985 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1985/015
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1995
SUMMARY
The 1985 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, audio recordings, and graphic materials that document
the 1985 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The
annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation of folk traditions
from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune Plaza at the
front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress between April
and October. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force the concerts indoors.
The 1985 series was produced with the assistance of the National Council
for the Traditional Arts.
The 1985 season consisted of the following:
| April 18 |
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, MD (Blues) |
| May 23 |
Tahuantinsuyo, DC (Inca music of the Andes) |
| June 20 |
Dry Branch Fire Squad, OH (Bluegrass) |
| July 18 |
Alison Kinnaird and Christine Primrose, Scotland (Scottish) |
| August 15 |
Omaha Indians Hethu'shka Society, NE (Native American) |
| Sept. 19 |
Ana Martinez, DC (Flamenco) |
| Oct. 15 |
The Gospel Music Workshop of America, DC (Gospel) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions.
Primary Languages: English, Gaelic, Omaha, Spanish
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 3 boxes |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 7 10" DT stereo reels at 7.5 ips |
RWB 0293-94
RWB 0482
RWB 1556
RWB 1566
RWB 1734-35 |
| 4 10" DT mono reels at 7.5 ips |
RWB 0487-88
RWB 1199-1200 |
| Graphic Materials |
216 b&w negatives
1 3x4 b&w internegative
3 3x4 color internegatives
17 b&w contact sheets
2 8x10 b&w photoprints
1 7x8 b&w photoprint
319 color slides |
|
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document) and an article describing
the Neptune Plaza Concert Series.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 4-18-85.
Concert fliers and a press release.
|
Folder 4
|
Tahuantinsuyo, 5-23-85. Concert fliers,
press releases, news clippings and promotional photos.
|
Folder 6
|
Dry Branch Fire Squad, 6-20-85. Concert
fliers, press releases, and news clippings.
|
Folder 10
|
Alison Kinnaird and Christine Primrose,
7-18-85. Concert fliers, press releases, and identification of people
in photographs.
|
Folder 12
|
Omaha Indians Hethu'shka Society,
8-15-85. Concert fliers, press releases and identification of people
in photographs.
|
Folder 14
|
Ana Martinez, 9-19-85. Concert fliers,
press releases, and news clippings.
|
Folder 18
|
The Gospel Music Workshop of America,
10-15-85. Concert fliers, press releases, and identification of people
in photographs.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
RWB 0293-94
|
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 4-18-85.
Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
RWB 0482
|
Tahuantinsuyo, 5-23-85. One 10" DT
stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
RWB 0487-88
|
Dry Branch Fire Squad, 6-20-85. Two
10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
RWB 1199-1200
|
Alison Kinnaird and Christine Primrose,
7-18-85. Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
RWB 1556
|
Omaha Indians Hethu'shka Society,
8-15-85. One 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
RWB 1566
|
Ana Martinez, 9-19-85. One 10" DT
stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
RWB 1734-35
|
The Gospel Music Workshop of America,
10-15-85. Two 10" inch DT stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
Location |
Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 2 |
Tahuantinsuyo, 5-23-85. One sheet of black and white
35 mm (18 images). Photographer unknown. |
| Envelope 6 |
Dry Branch Fire Squad, 6-20-85. One sheet of black and
white 35 mm (36 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 8 |
Alison Kinnaird and Christine Primrose, 7-18-85. One
sheet of black and white 35 mm (31 images). Photographed by John T.
Gibbs. |
| Envelope 13 |
Omaha Indians Hethu'shka Society, 8-15-85. One sheet
containing three 3 x 4 color internegatives. Photographer unknown. |
| Envelopes 19-20 |
Ana Martinez, 9-19-85. Two sheets of black and white
35 mm (73 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. One sheet containing
one 3 x 4 black and white internegative. Photographer unknown. |
| Envelope 28 |
The Gospel Music Workshop of America, 10-15- 85. Two
sheets of black and white 35 mm (58 images). Photographed by John T.
Gibbs. |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folder 3 |
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 4-18-85. One black and
white 35 mm contact sheet (29 images), one 7 x 8 black and white photoprint,
and two 8 x 10 black and white photoprints. Photographer unknown. |
| Folder 5 |
Tahuantinsuyo, 5-23-85. Two black and white 35 mm contact
sheets (37 images). Photographer unknown. |
| Folders 7-9 |
Dry Branch Fire Squad, 6-20-85. Three black and white
35 mm contact sheets (73 images, photographed by John T. Gibbs), three
duplicate contact sheets, and four 8 x 10 black and white photoprints
(photographer unknown). |
| Folder 11 |
Alison Kinnaird and Christine Primrose, 7-18- 85. Two
black and white 35 mm contact sheets (58 images). Photographed by John
T. Gibbs. |
| Folder 13 |
Omaha Indians Hethu'shka Society, 8-15-85. One black
and white 35 mm contact sheet (18 images). Photographed by Reid S.
Baker. |
| Folders 15-17 |
Ana Martinez, 9-19-85. Four black and white 35 mm contact
sheets (100 images) and three 7 x 10 black and white photoprints. Photographed
by John T. Gibbs. |
| Folders 19-20 |
The Gospel Music Workshop of America, 10-15- 85. Four
black and white 35 mm contact sheets (93 images). Photographed by Reid
S. Baker and John T. Gibbs. |
| Color slides |
| Envelope 1 |
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 4-18-85. One holder containing
15. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 3-5 |
Tahuantinsuyo, 5-23-85. Three holders containing a total
of 47. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 7 |
Dry Branch Fire Squad, 6-20-85. One holder containing
4. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| |
Dry Branch Fire Squad, 6-20-85. One holder containing
4. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 9-12 |
Alison Kinnaird and Christine Primrose, 7-18- 85. Four
holders containing a total of 46. Photographed by Reid S. Baker and
John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 14-18 |
Omaha Indians Hethu'shka Society, 8-15-85. Five holders
containing a total of 69. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 21-27 |
Ana Martinez, 9-19-85. Seven holders containing a total
of 130. Photographed by Reid S. Baker and John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 29 |
The Gospel Music Workshop of America, 10-15- 85. One
holder containing 8. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT
Concert
|
Description
|
| Omaha Indians Hethu'shka Society |
Members of the Hethu'shka or Warrior Society of the
Omaha Tribe present traditional dances and songs, including a series
of war dances and the Buffalo dance. The program is narrated by Dennis
Hastings, historian and archivist. Print material, photographs, and
slides: folders 12-13, envelopes 14-18; sound recording: RWB 1556. |
| Ana Martinez |
Ana Martinez and company present Flamenco music, song,
and dance. Pieces include Alegrias, Fandagos, and Sevillanas forms.
The performers also explain and demonstrate various percussive accompaniments,
and invite audience participation. Print material, photographs, and
slides: folders 14-17, envelopes 21-25; sound recording: RWB 1566. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top