home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1990 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1990/012
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1995
SUMMARY
The 1990 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, audio recordings, graphic materials, and moving images
that document the 1990 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife
Center. The annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation
of folk traditions from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune
Plaza at the front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress
between April and September. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force
the concerts indoors.
The 1990 season consisted of the following:
| April 19 |
The Lynn Morris Band, VA (Bluegrass) |
| May 17 |
Henry Sapoznik and Klezmer Plus, NY (Klezmer) |
| June 21 |
Eletfa, NJ (Hungarian) |
| July 19 |
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, MD (Piedmont Blues) |
| August 16 |
The True Tone Gospel Singers, DC (Gospel) |
| September 20 |
Otonowa, DC (Afro-Cuban) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions. Performers may be contacted through the American Folklife
Center administrative office.
Primary Languages: English, Hungarian, Spanish, Yiddish
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 1 box |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 12 10" DT stereo reels at 7.5 ips |
AFC 1990/012:SR1-4, 10-17 |
| 3 7" DT mono reels at 7.5 ips |
AFC 1990/012:SR5-7 |
| 6 60-minute audiocassettes |
AFC 1990/012:SR18-19
Listening copies of
AFC 1990/012:SR12-13 |
| 4 90-minute audiocassettes |
AFC 1990/012:SR8-9
Listening copies of
AFC 1990/012:SR10-11, 14-15 |
| Graphic Materials |
143 b&w negatives
11 b&w contact sheets
28 8x10 b&w photoprints
1 5x7 color photoprint
92 color slides |
|
| Moving Image |
| 2 1/2" VHS color videocassettes |
AFC 1990/012:V1-2 |
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document), and an article describing
the Neptune Plaza Concert Series.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folders 2-3
|
The Lynn Morris Band, 4-19-90. Concert
flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, news clippings,
press releases, diagrams of instruments, concert log by Marsha Maguire
and Greg Jenkins, photo logs, and three copies of an 8 x 10 black
and white promotional photoprint.
|
Folder 7
|
Henry Sapoznik and Klezmer Plus,
5-17-90. Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers,
press releases, news clippings, promotional materials, and photo
logs.
|
Folder 10
|
Eletfa, 6-21-90. Concert flier autographed
by the performers, unsigned fliers, concert log (logger unknown),
press releases, news clippings, and promotional materials.
|
Folder 15
|
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 7-19-90.
Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, concert
log (logger unknown), press releases, news clippings, and promotional
materials.
|
Folders 17-18
|
The True Tone Gospel Singers, 8-16-90.
Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, press
releases, news clippings, promotional materials, and six copies of
an 8 x 10 black and white promotional photoprint.
|
Folder 20
|
Otonowa, 9-20-90. Concert flier autographed
by the performers, unsigned fliers, diagrams of instruments, maps
of Africa, concert log (logger unknown), press releases, and news
clippings.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
AFC 1990/012: SR1-2
|
The Lynn Morris Band, 4-19-90. Two
10" DT stereo SR1-2 7.5 ips.
|
AFC 1990/012: SR3-7
|
Henry Sapoznik and Klezmer Plus,
5-17-90. Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips and three 7" at 7.5 ips of
an interview of Henry Sapoznik conducted after the performance by
Alan Jabbour.
|
AFC 1990/012: SR10-11
|
Eletfa, 6-21-90. Two 10" DT stereo
at 7.5 ips. Listening copies are available in the Folklife Reading
Room.
|
AFC 1990/012: SR12-13
|
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 7-19-90.
Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. Listening copies are available in the
Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1990/012: SR14-15
|
The True Tone Gospel Singers, 8-16-90.
Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. Listening copy is available in the
Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1990/012: SR16-17
|
Otonowa, 9-20-90. Two 10" DT stereo
at 7.5 ips.
|
Audiocassettes
|
| AFC 1990/012: SR8-9 |
Henry Sapoznik and Klezmer Plus, 5-17-90. Two 90- minute
(recorded concurrently with reel-to-reels). |
| AFC 1990/012: SR18-19 |
Otonowa, 9-20-90. Two 60-minute (recorded concurrently
with reel-to-reels). |
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
Location
| Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 3 |
The True Tone Gospel Singers, 8-16-90. Two sheets of
black and white 35 mm (75 images). Photographed by Greg Jenkins. |
| Envelope 4 |
Otonowa, 9-20-90. Two sheets of black and white 35 mm
(68 images). Photographed by David Taylor. |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folders 4-6 |
The Lynn Morris Band, 4-19-90. Three black and white
35 mm contact sheets (71 images) and five 8 x 10 black and white photoprints.
Photographed by Jim Higgins. |
| Folders 8-9 |
Henry Sapoznik and Klezmer Plus, 5-17-90. Five 8 x
10 black and white photoprints (one publicity). Photographers unknown. |
| Folders 11-14 |
Eletfa, 6-21-90. Four black and white 35 mm contact
sheets (108 images) and seven 8 x 10 black and white photoprints. Photographer
unknown. |
| Folder 16 |
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 7-19-90. One 8 x 10 black
and white photoprint. Photographer unknown. |
| Folder 19 |
The True Tone Gospel Singers, 8-16-90. Two black and
white 35 mm contact sheets (75 images). Photographed by Greg Jenkins. |
| Folders 21-22 |
Otonowa, 9-20-90. Two black and white 35 mm contact
sheets (68 images, photographed by David Taylor), two 8 x 10 black
and white photoprints and one 5 x 7 color photoprint (photographer
unknown). |
| Color slides |
| Envelopes 1-2 |
The Lynn Morris Band, 4-19-90. Two holders containing
a total of 38. Photographed by Greg Jenkins. |
| Envelopes 5-7 |
Otonowa, 9-20-90. Three holders containing a total
of 54. Photographed by David A. Taylor. |
SERIES IV: MOVING IMAGES
Location
|
Contents
|
Videocassettes
|
AFC 1990/012:V1
|
Eletfa, 6-21-90. One 1/2" VHS color
of excerpts from the concert. Copy of videocassette filmed by Terrence
Lisbeth.
|
AFC 1990/012:V2
|
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 7-19-90;
The True Tone Gospel Singers, 8-16-90; and Otonowa, 9-20-90. One
1/2" VHS color of excerpts from the concerts. Filmed by Terrence
Lisbeth.
|
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT
Concert
|
Description
|
| Eletfa |
Hungarian-American group of musicians, singers, and
dancers present traditional music and dance from Hungary. They perform
a range of dances from many regions, including Transylvania (see concert
log for names of specific dances and regions). Print material and photographs:
folders 10-14; sound recordings: AFC 1990/012:SR10-11; videotape excerpts:
AFC 1990/012:V1. |
| Otonowa |
Cuban immigrant group presents traditional Afro-Cuban
dance and music. They demonstrate several rumba style dances: the columbia,
a men's solo dance, and guaguanco, a couple dance. Print materials,
photographs, and slides: folders 20-22, envelopes 5-7; sound recordings:
AFC 1990/012:SR16-19; videotape excerpts: AFC 1990/012:V2. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top