home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1989 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1989/009
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1995
SUMMARY
The 1989 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, sound recordings, graphic materials, and moving images
that document the 1989 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife
Center. The annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation
of folk traditions from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune
Plaza at the front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress
between April and October. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force the
concerts indoors. The 1989 series was the last produced with the assistance
of the National Council for the Traditional Arts.
The 1989 season consisted of the following:
| April 20 |
Quebec Traditional Music and Dance, Canada (French-Canadian) |
| May 18 |
Eddie Blazonczyk and the Versatones, IL (Polish- style Polka) |
| June 15 |
Greg Hooven and the Backstep Band, VA (Old-time) |
| July 20 |
Ganga, DC (Bengali) |
| August 17 |
The Nashville Bluegrass Band, TN (Bluegrass) |
| September 21 |
Ivan Cuesta y sus Vallenatos Autenticos, MD (Colombian) |
| October 19 |
The Gospel Pearls and The King's Men, DC (Gospel) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions.
Primary Languages: Bengali, English, Polish, Spanish
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 2 boxes |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 14 10" DT stereo reels at 7.5 ips |
AFC 1989/009:SR1-10, 12-15 |
| 10 90-minute audiocassettes |
AFC 1989/009:SR11, 16-17 Listening copies of AFC 1989/009:SR1-8,
12-13 |
| Graphic Materials |
95 b&w negatives
18 b&w contact sheets
6 8x10 b&w photoprints
105 3x5 b&w photoprints
1 5x7 b&w photoprint
108 color slides |
|
| Moving Image |
| 1 1/2" VHS color videocassette |
AFC 1989/009:V1 |
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document), an article describing
the Neptune Plaza Concert Series, and news clippings on the 1989
concert lineup.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
Quebec Traditional Music and Dance,
4-20-89. Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers,
news clippings, press releases, and a concert log by Aldona Joseph.
|
Folder 6-8
|
Eddie Blazonczyk and the Versatones,
5-18-89. Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers,
concert log by Aldona Joseph, press releases, news clippings, booklets
on Polish culture and the Polka, and photo logs.
|
Folder 10
|
Greg Hooven and the Backstep Band,
6-15-89. Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers,
concert log by Marsha Maguire and Aldona Joseph, press releases,
news clippings, correspondence from Greg Hooven, and photo logs.
|
Folder 11
|
Ganga, 7-20-89. Concert fliers, concert
log by Aldona Joseph, press releases, news clippings, an identification
of artists by instrument, and a concert program.
|
Folder 13
|
The Nashville Bluegrass Band, 8-17-89.
Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, concert
log by Aldona Joseph, press releases, news clippings, one 8 x 10
black and white promotional picture, and photo logs.
|
Folder 15
|
Ivan y Sus Auténticos Vallenatos,
9-21-89. Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers,
concert log by Aldona Joseph, press releases in English and in Spanish,
news clippings, and photo logs.
|
Folder 18
|
The Gospel Pearls and the King's Men,
10-19-89. Concert fliers, concert log by Gretchen A. Brodtman, and
press releases.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
AFC 1989/009: SR1-2
|
Quebec Traditional Music and Dance,
4-20-89. Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. Listening copy is available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1989/009: SR3-4
|
Eddie Blazonczyk and the Versatones,
5-18-89. Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. Listening copies are available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1989/009: SR5-6
|
Greg Hooven and the Backstep Band,
6-15-89. Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. Listening copy is available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1989/009: SR7-8
|
Ganga, 7-20-89. Two 10" DT stereo
at 7.5 ips. Listening copy is available in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1989/009: SR9-10
|
The Nashville Bluegrass Band, 8-17-89.
Two 10" DT stereo at 15 ips.
|
AFC 1989/009: SR12-13
|
Ivan y Sus Auténticos Vallenatos,
9-21-89. Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. Listening copies are available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
| AFC 1989/009: SR14-15 |
The Gospel Pearls and The King's Men, 10-19-89. Two
10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. |
| Audiocassettes |
| AFC 1989/009: SR11 |
The Nashville Bluegrass Band, 8-17-89. One 90-minute
(recorded concurrently with reel-to- reels). |
AFC 1989/009: SR16-17
|
The Gospel Pearls and The King's Men,
10-19-89. Two 90-minute (recorded concurrently with reel-to- reels).
|
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
Location
| Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
Quebec Traditional Music and Dance, 4-20-89. Two sheets
of black and white 35 mm (36 images). Photographed by Reid Baker. |
| Envelope 7 |
Eddie Blazonczyk and the Versatones, 5-18-89. Two sheets
of black and white 35 mm (35 images). Photographed by John Gibbs and
Reid Baker. |
| Envelope 13 |
Greg Hooven and the Backstep Band, 6-15-89. Two sheets
of black and white 35 mm (24 images). Photographer unknown. |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folders 3-5, Envelopes 2-4 |
Quebec Traditional Music and Dance, 4-20-89. Three
black and white 35 mm contact sheets (78 images), five 8 x 10 black
and white photoprints (photographed by Reid Baker), and 35 3 x 5 black
and white photoprints (photographer unknown). |
| Folder 9, Envelopes 8-10 |
Eddie Blazonczyk and the Versatones, 5-18-89. Three
black and white 35 mm contact sheets (66 images, photographed by John
Gibbs and Reid Baker), three 3 x 5 black and white promotional photoprints
(photographed by Wm. A. Crooks Photography), and 31 3 x 5 black and
white photoprints (photographer unknown). |
| Envelopes 14-16 |
Greg Hooven and the Backstep Band, 6-15-89. 32 black
and white 3 x 5 photoprints. Photographer unknown. |
| Folder 12 |
Ganga, 7-20-89. Two black and white 35 mm contact sheets
(60 images). Photographed by Reid Baker. |
| Folder 14 |
The Nashville Bluegrass Band, 8-17-89. Three black and
white 35 mm contact sheets (73 images, photographed by Reid Baker),
and one 8 x 10 black and white promotional photoprint (photographer
unknown). |
| Folders 16-17 |
Ivan y Sus Auténticos Vallenatos, 9-21-89. Three
black and white 35 mm contact sheets (70 images), and four 3 x 5 black
and white photoprints. Photographer unknown. |
| Folder 19 |
The Gospel Pearls and The King's Men, 10-19-89. Four
black and white 35 mm contact sheets (111 images, photographed by A.P.H.),
and one 5 x 8 black and white photoprint (photographer unknown). |
| Color slides |
| Envelopes 5-6 |
Quebec Traditional Music and Dance, 4-20-89. Two holders
containing a total of 36. Photographed by Reid Baker. |
| Envelopes 11-12 |
Eddie Blazonczyk and the Versatones, 5-18-89. Two holders
containing a total of 34. Photographed by John Gibbs and Reid Baker. |
| Envelopes 17-18 |
Greg Hooven and the Backstep Band, 6-15-89. Two holders
containing a total of 38. Photographer unknown. |
SERIES IV: MOVING IMAGES
Location
|
Contents
|
AFC 1989/009: V1
|
The Gospel Pearls and The King's Men,
10-19-89. One 1/2" VHS color from Northern Virginia Cable TV station
WNVT-53/WNVC-56.
|
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT
Concert
|
Description
|
| Quebec Traditional Music and Dance |
The group presents Polish-style polka music to which
audience members dance. Print materials contain information on the
history and development of this and other styles of polka. Print materials
and photographs: folders 6-9, envelopes 8-10; sound recordings: AFC
1989/009:SR3-4. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top