home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1988 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1988/009
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1995
SUMMARY
The 1988 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, sound recordings, and graphic materials that document
the 1988 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The
annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation of folk traditions
from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune Plaza at the
front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress between April
and October. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force the concerts indoors.
The 1988 series was produced with the assistance of the National Council
for the Traditional Arts.
The 1988 season consisted of the following:
| April 21 |
The Cumberland Music Tour, KY/TN (Old Time) |
| May 19 |
Egan, Moloney, and Harney, MD (Irish) |
| June 16 |
The Grant Street Band, CA (Bluegrass) |
| July 21 |
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, MD (Piedmont Blues) |
| August 18 |
Nguyen Family, DC (Vietnamese) |
| September 15 |
Mariachi San Cristobal, Mexico (Mariachi) |
| October 20 |
The Four Echoes, Linda Gore and the Spirituallettes, DC (Gospel) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions.
Primary Languages: English, Gaelic, Spanish
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 2 boxes |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 10 10" DT stereo reels at 7.5 ips |
AFS 26,953-54; RWB 8779-80 AFS 26,998-99; RWB 9618-19
AFS 27,000-01; RWB 9620-21 AFS 27,009 R1-2; RWB 9628-29 AFS 27,006-07;
RWB 9626-27 |
| 6 10" DT stereo reels at 15 ips |
AFS 26,955-57; RWB 9052-54 AFS 27,002-04; RWB 9622-24 |
| 13 60-minute audiocassettes |
Listening copies of
AFS 26,953-54; RWB 8779-80 AFS 26,998-99; RWB 9618-19 AFS 27,000-01; RWB
9620-21 AFS 27,009 R1-2; RWB 9628-29 AFS 27,006-07; RWB 9626-27 |
| Graphic Materials |
201 b&w negatives
29 b&w contact sheets
2 8x10 b&w photoprints
125 color slides |
|
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document), an article describing
the Neptune Plaza Concert Series, press releases and news clippings
on the 1988 concert lineup.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folders 2-3
|
The Cumberland Music Tour, 4-21-88.
News clippings, press releases, pamphlets, a brochure, concert fliers,
concert log by Aldona Joseph, and photo logs.
|
Folders 7-8
|
Egan, Moloney, and Harney, 5-19-88.
Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, concert
log by Aldona Joseph, press releases, news clippings, booklets, photo
logs, and a black and white 8 x 10 promotional picture of Seamus
Egan.
|
Folders 10-11
|
The Grant Street Band, 6-16-88. Concert
flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, concert log
by Aldona Joseph, press releases, news clippings, a promotional booklet,
and photo logs.
|
Folder 13
|
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 7-21-88.
Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, concert
log by Robert Attardi, press releases, news clippings, a promotional
booklet, program notes, and photo logs.
|
Folders 15-17
|
The Nguyen Family, 8-18-88. Concert
flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, concert log
by Aldona Joseph, press releases, news clippings, a promotional booklet,
program notes, diagrams and descriptions of instruments, and photo
logs.
|
Folder 19
|
Mariachi San Cristobal, 9-15-88. Concert
fliers, concert log (logger unknown), press releases, news clippings,
and photo logs.
|
Folder 22
|
Four Echoes, Linda Gore and the Gospel
Spirituallettes, 10-20-88. Concert flier autographed by the performers,
unsigned fliers, concert log by Aldona Joseph, press releases, a
news clipping, and photo logs.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
AFS 26,953-26,954
|
The Cumberland Music Tour, 4-21-88.
Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. RWB 8779-8780. Listening copies are
available in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFS 26,955-26,957
|
Egan, Moloney, and Harney, 5-19-88.
Three 10" DT stereo at 15 ips. RWB 9052-9054. Listening copies are
available in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFS 26,998-26,999
|
The Grant Street Band, 6-16-88. Two
10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. RWB 9618-9619. Listening copies are available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFS 27,000-27,001
|
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 7-21-88.
Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. RWB 9620-9621. Listening copies are
available in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFS 27,002-27,004
|
The Nguyen Family, 8-18-88. Three
10" DT stereo at 15 ips. RWB 9622-9624. Listening copies are available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFS 27,009
|
Mariachi San Cristobal, 9-15-88.
Two 10" DT stereo R1-2 at 7.5 ips. RWB 9628-9629. Listening copies
are available in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFS 27,006-27,007
|
our Echoes, Linda Gore and the Gospel
Spirituallettes, 10-20-88. Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. RWB 9626-9627.
Listening copy is available in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
Location
| Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
The Cumberland Music Tour, 4-21-88. One sheet of black
and white 35 mm (35 images, photographed by John Gibbs), and one 8
x 10 black and white negative (photographer unknown). |
| Envelope 4 |
Egan, Moloney, and Harney, 5-19-88. One sheet of black
and white 35 mm (18 images). Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Envelope 6 |
The Grant Street Band, 6-16-88. One sheet of black and
white 35 mm (21 images). Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Envelope 8 |
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 7-21-88. One sheet of
black and white 35 mm (21 images). Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Envelope 9 |
Mariachi San Cristobal, 9-15-88. Two sheets of black
and white 35 mm (71 images). Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Envelope 12 |
Four Echoes, Linda Gore and the Gospel Spirituallettes,
10-20-88. One sheet of black and white 35 mm (34 images). Photographed
by John Gibbs. |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folders 4-6 |
The Cumberland Music Tour, 4-21-88. Four black and white
35 mm contact sheets (107 images, photographed by John Gibbs and Reid
Baker), three duplicates of contact sheets, and two 4 x 5 black and
white promotional photoprints. |
| Folder 9 |
Egan, Moloney, and Harney, 5-19-88. Four black and white
35 mm contact sheets (64 images, photographed by John Gibbs and Jim
Higgins) and one 8 x 10 black and white promotional photoprint (photographer
unknown). |
| Folder 12 |
The Grant Street Band, 6-16-88. Four black and white
35 mm contact sheets (90 images). Photographed by John Gibbs and Jim
Higgins. |
| Folder 14 |
John Cephas and Phil Wiggins, 7-21-88. Four black and
white 35 mm contact sheets (85 images). Photographed by John Gibbs
and Reid Baker. |
| Folder 18 |
The Nguyen Family, 8-18-88. Two black and white 35 mm
contact sheets (59 images). Photographed by Reid Baker. |
Folders 20-21
|
Mariachi San Cristobal, 9-15-88. Five black and white
35 mm contact sheets (155 images). Photographed by John Gibbs and an
unknown photographer. |
| Folder 23 |
Four Echoes, Linda Gore and the Gospel Spirituallettes,
10-20-88. Three black and white 35 mm contact sheets (92 images). Photographed
by John Gibbs and Reid Baker. |
| Color slides |
| Envelopes 2-3 |
The Cumberland Music Tour, 4-21-88. Two holders containing
a total of 34. Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Envelope 5 |
Egan, Moloney, and Harney, 5-19-88. One holder containing
four. Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Envelope 7 |
The Grant Street Band, 6-16-88. One holder containing
15. Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 10-11 |
Mariachi San Cristobal, 9-15-88. Two holders containing
a total of 35. Photographed by John Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 13-14 |
Four Echoes, Linda Gore and the Gospel Spirituallettes,
10-20-88. Two holders containing a total of 37. Photographed by John
Gibbs. |
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT
Concert
|
Description
|
| The Cumberland Music Tour |
A group of seven musicians present old-time mountain
music and dance from the Cumberland Plateau region of Kentucky and
Tennessee. Performance included a demonstration of buck dancing, a
mountain style solo form. Print material and photographs: folders 2-6;
sound recordings: RWB 8779-8790, AFS 26,953-26,9554. |
| Egan, Moloney, and Harney |
Irish music and dance presented by Seamus Egan, Mick
Moloney, and Liam Harney. Harney, a world champion step dancer, performs
reels, a jig, and a hornpipe. Print material, photographs, and slides:
folders 7-9, envelope 5. Sound recordings: RWB 9052-9054, AFS 26,955-26,9557. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top