home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1982 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1982/011
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1985
SUMMARY
The 1982 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, audio recordings, and graphic materials that document
the 1982 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The
annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation of folk traditions
from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune Plaza at the
front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress between April
and October. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force the concerts indoors.
The 1982 series was produced with the assistance of the National Council
for the Traditional Arts.
The 1982 season consisted of the following:
| April 15 |
The Irish Tradition, MD |
| May 20 |
Oboade Drumming and Dance Company, DC (Ghanaian) |
| June 17 |
The Washington Toho Koto Society, DC (Japanese) |
| July 15 |
Los Pregoneros del Puerto, CA (Mexican) |
| August 19 |
Djimo Kouyate, DC (Senegalese) |
| September 16 |
Dave Morris, WV (Old-time Country) |
| October 19 |
The Washington Toho Koto Society, DC (Japanese) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions.
Primary Languages: English, Ga, Spanish, Wolof
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 2 boxes |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 13 10" DT mono reels at 7.5 ips |
RWA 2546-47
RWA 3013-14
RWA 3761
RWA 3804-05
RWA 4143-44
RWA 4162-63
RWA 4477-78 |
| Graphic Materials |
| 171 b&w negatives 7 b&w contact sheets 3
8x10 b&w photoprints 1 5x7 b&w photoprint 186 color slides |
|
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document) and an article describing
the Neptune Plaza Concert Series.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
The Irish Tradition, 4-15-82. Press
releases and news clippings.
|
Folder 5
|
Oboade Drumming and Dance Company,
5-20-82. Press release, news clipping, and biographical sketches.
|
Folder 7
|
The Washington Toho Koto Society,
6-17-82. Press releases and news clippings.
|
Folder 10
|
Los Pregoneros del Puerto, 7-15-82.
Press release, news clipping, and identification of people in ensemble.
|
Folder 12
|
Djimo Kouyate, 8-19-82. Press release,
news clipping, and biographical sketches.
|
Folder 14
|
Dave Morris, 9-16-82. Press release,
news clipping, and biographical sketches.
|
Folder 16
|
The Washington Toho Koto Society,
10-19-82. Press release and concert program.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
RWA 3013-14
|
The Irish Tradition, 4-15-82. Two
10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
RWA 2546-47
|
Oboade Drumming and Dance Company,
5-20-82. Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
RWA 3761
|
The Washington Toho Koto Society,
6-17-82. One 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
RWA 3804-05
|
Los Pregoneros del Puerto, 7-15-82.
Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
RWA 4143-44
|
Djimo Kouyate, 8-19-82. Two 10" DT
mono at 7.5 ips.
|
RWA 4162-63
|
Dave Morris, 9-16-82. Two 10" DT mono
at 7.5 ips.
|
RWA 4447-48
|
The Washington Toho Koto Society,
10-19-82. Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
| Location |
Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
The Irish Tradition, 4-15-82. One sheet of black and
white 35 mm (21 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 4 |
Oboade Drumming and Dance Company, 5-20-82. One sheet
of black and white 35 mm (38 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 8 |
The Washington Toho Koto Society, 6-17-82. One sheet
of black and white 35 mm (35 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 10 |
Los Pregoneros del Puerto, 7-15-82. One sheet of black
and white 35 mm (27 images). Photographer unknown. |
| Envelope 13 |
Djimo Kouyate, 8-19-82. One sheet of black and white
35 mm (26 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 16 |
Dave Morris, 9-16-82. One sheet of black and white 35
mm (21 images). Photographer unknown. |
| Envelope 18 |
The Washington Toho Koto Society, 10-19-82. One sheet
of black and white 35 mm (13 images). Photographer unknown. |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folders 3-4 |
The Irish Tradition, 4-15-82. One black and white 35
mm contact sheet (21 images), one 5 x 7 black and white photoprint,
and one 8 x 10 black and white photoprint. Photographed by John T.
Gibbs. |
| Folder 6 |
Oboade Drumming and Dance Company, 5-20-82. One black
and white 35 mm contact sheet (38 images). Photographed by John T.
Gibbs. |
| Folders 8-9 |
The Washington Toho Koto Society, 6-17-82. One black
and white 35 mm contact sheet (35 images), one 5 x 7 black and white
photoprint (and one copy), and two 8 x 10 black and white photoprints.
Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Folder 11 |
Los Pregoneros del Puerto, 7-15-82. One black and white
35 mm contact sheet (27 images). Photographer unknown. |
| Folder 13 |
Djimo Kouyate, 8-19-82. One black and white 35 mm contact
sheet (26 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Folder 15 |
Dave Morris, 9-16-82. One black and white contact sheet
(21 images). Photographer unknown. |
| Folder 17 |
The Washington Toho Koto Society, 10-19-82. One black
and white contact sheet (13 images). Photographer unknown. |
| Color slides |
| Envelopes 2-3 |
The Irish Tradition, 4-15-82. Two trays containing a
total of 24. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 5-7 |
Oboade Drumming and Dance Company, 5-20-82. Three tray
containing a total of 60. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 9 |
The Washington Toho Koto Society, 6-17-82. One tray
containing 12. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 11-12 |
Los Pregoneros del Puerto, 7-15-82. Two trays containing
a total of 26. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 14-15 |
Djimo Kouyate, 8-19-82. Two trays containing a total
of 31. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 17 |
Dave Morris, 9-16-82. One tray containing 20. Photographer
unknown. |
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT
Concert
|
Description
|
| Oboade Drumming and Dance Company |
Ghanaian music and dance group led by master drummer
Yacub Addy. They perform songs and dances from West African tribes
that take place during ceremonial and social occasions. Narrated performance
includes eight dances representing six ethnic groups. Print material,
photographs, and slides: folders 5-6, envelopes 5-7; sound recordings:
RWA 2546-47. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top