Historic Bibliographies and Reference Aids

Created by the Archive of Folk Culture, 1960-1982

The majority of these bibliographies and reference aids were compiled by Archive staff and interns more than 20 years ago, but they still contain helpful information for researchers, especially references to unindexed articles. These publications are presented here, for the most part, as they originally appeared in print. To obtain copies of books and articles, check with your school or local library. For copies of 'print only' publications, contact the Folklife Reading Room.

States

A Brief List of Materials Relating to Alaskan Music (1965) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to Colorado Folk Music (1965) [full text]
A Brief List of Works Dealing with Illinois Folk Music (1965) [full text]
A Brief Bibliography on Maryland Folksong and Dance (1977) [full text]
A Brief List of Material to New York State Folk Music (1975) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to Ohio Folksong (1970) [full text]
Pennsylvania Folk Music: A Bibliography of Books (1981) [full text]
A Brief List of Publications Pertaining to Folk Music from Virginia (1971) [full text]

Countries, Ethnic/Cultural/Religious Groups

Bibliographies and Discographies of African Music (1975) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to American Folk Music (1965) [full text]
American Indian and Eskimo Music: A Selected Bibliography through 1981 (1983) [available upon request]
A Brief List of Material Relating to Australian Folksongs (1970) [full text]
A Brief Bibliography on Cajun Music (1977) [full text]
A Brief List of Material in English Relating to the Folk Music of France (1965) [full text]
A Selected List of Material Relating to Hebrew and Israeli Folk Music (1970) [available upon request]
A Brief List of Material Related to the Music of the Incas and Early Peru (1966) [full text]
Irish Music in America: A Selected Bibliography (1981) [available upon request]
A Selected List of References on Mormon Folklore and Folksong (1970) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to the Music of Morocco (1972) [available upon request]
A Brief List of Materials Relating to Puerto Rican Folklore and Folk Music (1968) [full text]
A List of English-Language Material on Serbian Folk Dance (1974) [full text]
A Brief List of Materials Relating to Shaker Music (1967) [full text]
American Snake-handling Sects: A Selected Bibliography (1980) [full text]
A List of English-Language Materials Relating to Spanish and Basque Folk Music and Dance (1971) [full text]
A Brief List of Materials Dealing with the Music of Tahiti (1970) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to the Music of Viet-Nam (1968) [available upon request]
A Brief List of Material Relating to Yiddish Folk Music (1970) [full text]

Music Genres

Bibliography on the Ballad (1975) [full text]
Bluegrass Music: A Select Bibliography (1977) [full text]
A Bibliography of the Blues (1971) [full text]
A Selected List of References to Camp Songs (1970) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to the Folksongs and Carols of Christmas (1974) [full text]
Country Music before World War Two: A Selected Bibliography (1978) [full text]
Cowboy Songs: A Select Bibliography of Books (1980) [full text]
A Brief List of Materials Relating to Folk Dance (1966) [available upon request]
A Brief Introductory List of Books About American Folk Dancing (1971) [available upon request]
A Selected List of Materials Relating to Games and Play (1970) [available upon request]
Fiddling, Fiddle Tunes, and Related Dance Tune Collections in North America: Including Representative Materials from the British Isles and Scandinavia (1974) [available upon request]
A Brief List of Material Relating to the Folksong Revival (1969) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to Freedom Songs of the Civil Rights Movement (1974) [full text]
Labor and Industrial Folksongs: A Select Bibliography (1978) [full text]
Logging and Lumbermens' Songs of the United States and Canada: A Selected Bibliography (1979) [full text]
A Selected Bibliography on American Maritime Folksong (1977) [full text]
Old-Timey, Bluegrass, and Early Country and Western Music: A Selected Bibliography of Recent and Current Song Books (1979) [available upon request]
A List of Materials Relating to Protest Song (1969) [full text]
A Brief List of References to Popular and Folk Music of the American Revolutionary War (1975) [full text]
Rhymes of Children: A Select Bibliography of English Language Materials (1980) [full text]
Rhythm & Blues: A Bibliography of Books (1979) [available upon request]
A Brief List of Materials Relating to Rounds, Catches, and Glees (1982) [full text]
A List of Long-Playing Recordings of Sacred Harp and Other Shape-Note Singing (1979) [available upon request]
Shape-Note Singing: A List of References (1977) [full text]
A Brief List of Material on the Negro Spiritual (1972) [full text]
A Selected Bibliography of Street Cries (1965) [full text]
Sources for Songs of the Woman’s Suffrage Movement (1969) [full text]
Women and Folk Music: A Bibliography (1978) [full text]
A Selected List of Songs Dealing with Women in Prison (1977) [full text]

Songs

A Brief List of Works Containing "Barnacle Bill the Sailor" (1968) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to "Bingo" (B-I-N-G-O) (1974) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to "Black is the Color" (1964) [full text]
A Brief List of Works Containing "Cripple Creek" (1965) [full text]
A Brief List of References Relating to "Drimindown" (1968) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to "Dumbarton’s Drums" (1967) [full text]
A List of Sources for "The Dummy Line" (1977) [full text]
A Brief List of Materials Relating to "Easy Rider" (C.C. Rider) (1968) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to "The Great Silkie of Sule Skerry" (Child Ballad 113) and the Seal-Folk Legends (1975) [available upon request]
A Brief List of Works Containing "The House of the Rising Sun" (Rising Sun [Blues]) (1965) [full text]
A Brief List of Works Containing "I Wonder as I Wander" (1965) [full text]
A Brief List of References to Joe Hill, the Person and the Song (1974) [full text]
A List of Songs Concerning John Dillinger (1970) [full text]
A Brief List of Materials Relating to "John Henry" (1970) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to "John the Revelator" (1967) [available upon request]
A Brief List of References to "Johnny I Hardly Knew You" (1965) [available upon request]
A List of Printed Sources for "Little Brown Dog" and Similar Songs (1969) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to "Michael Row the Boat Ashore" (1968) [full text]
A Brief List of References Containing "Mister Banjo" (Michie Banjo) (1968) [full text]
A Brief List of Works Containing "She is More to be Pitied Than Censured" (by William B. Gray, 1898) (1964) [available upon request]
Songs Relating to the Submarine Thresher (1970) [available upon request]
A Brief List of References to "Sur le Pont d’Avignon" (1963) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to "Tell Old Bill" and "This Morning, This Evening, So Soon" (1968) [full text]

Instruments

The Autoharp: A Select Listing of Instruction Books and Articles (1979) [full text]
A Bibliography of the History and Playing Styles of the Five-String Banjo (1978) [full text]
The Five-String Banjo: A Listing of Contemporary Instruction Books (1979) [available upon request]
Celtic Harps: A Brief Listing of Recent Books (1978) [full text]
A Brief List of Introductory Materials Concerning the Concertina (1976) [full text]
Dobro Instruction Books: A Bibliography (1978) [available upon request]
A Brief List of Materials Relating to "Talking" Drums (ca. 1970) [full text]
Hammered Dulcimer and Related Instruments: A Bibliography (1979) [available upon request]
A Bibliography of the Plucked (Appalachian or Mountain) Dulcimer and Related Instruments (1978) [full text]
Folk Guitar Instruction Books: A Bibliography (1978) [available upon request]
A Selected List of References to the Harmonica (1976) [full text]
The Jews Harp: A Select List of References (1977) [available upon request]
A Brief List of Recent American Mandolin Instruction Books (1977) [available upon request]
A Brief List of Material Relating to the Yugoslavian Tambura (Tanbura) (1965) [full text]
Irish Tin-Whistle Instruction Books: A Bibliography (1979) [full text]

Performers

The Carter Family: A Selected Bibliography (1977) [full text]
Bob Dylan: A Select Bibliography (1970) [full text]
A List of Material Relating to Woodrow Wilson (Woody) Guthrie (1977) [full text]
Brief List of Material Relating to Eddie "Son" House (1967) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to Mississippi John Hurt (1970) [full text]
A Brief List of Works Concerning Aunt Molly Jackson (1975) [full text]
A Brief List of Materials Relating to Pete Seeger (1973) [full text]

Fields of Folklore and Ethnomusicology

American Folklore: A Bibliography of Major Works (1975) [full text]
The Archive of Folk Song: A Bibliography (1978) [full text]
Commercially Issued Recordings of Material in the Archive of Folk Song (1978) [available upon request]
Recent Publications on Folklore Archives and Archiving in North America, 1969-1973 (1975) [full text]
The Use of Computers in Folklore and Folk Music: A Preliminary Bibliography (1979) [full text]
Copyright and Folksong (1978) [full text]
A Select Listing of Bibliographies in the Field of Ethnomusicology (1976) [available upon request]
A Brief List of Material Relating to Ethnomusicology (1967) [full text]
A Tentative Beginning Toward a Bibliography on the History of American Folkloristics and the American Folklore Society (1973) [available upon request]
A Brief List of Suggested Public Domain Sources of Folksongs (1974) [full text]
Theses and Dissertations in the Library of Congress Containing Collections of Folksong and Folk Music (1981) [available upon request]
Folklore and the W.P.A: A Preliminary Bibliography (1979) [full text]

Miscellaneous

Bela Bartok on Folk Music (1960) [full text]
A Brief List of Material Relating to Strap Buckner (1971) [full text]
A Brief List of Composers Utilizing American Indian Music (1966) [full text]
American Graffiti: A Bibliography. (1979) [available upon request]
A Selected Bibliography on Hoboes and their Folklore (1977) [available upon request]
Hootenanny [definitions and bibligraphy] (1964) [available upon request]
A Brief List of Material Relating to the White Top Mountain Folk Festival, White Top, Virginia (1970) [full text]

home >> collections & research services >> bibliographies

The Library of Congress >> Research Centers
June 6, 2008