Historic Bibliographies and Reference Aids

American Folklore: A Bibliography of Major Works

Compiled by: Joseph C. Hickerson
Publication Date: October 6, 1975

General Works

Beck, Horace P.
Folklore in Action: Essays for Discussion in Honor of MacEdward Leach. Philadephia: Publications of the American Folklore Society, Bibliography and Special Series, volume 14, 1962

Beckwith, Martha Warren.
Folklore in America: Its Scope and Method. Poughkeepsie: Vassar College, Folklore Foundation, 1931.

Blair, Walter.
Native American Humor (1800-1900). Reprint edition, San Francisco: Chandler Pub. Co., 1960.

Blaney, Charles D., editor.
Folklore: Collecting Folklore; American Folk Tradition; Books for Reading. Terre Haute: Indiana Council of Teachers of English, Indiana State University, 1968.

Boatwright, Mody C.
Folk Laughter on the American Frontier. New York: Macmillan, 1949.

Boswell, George W., and J. Russell Reaver.
Fundamentals of Folk Literature. Oosterhout: Anthropological Publications, 1962.

Botkin, Benjamin A.
"American Folklore." Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology and Legend, edited by Maria Leach, two volumes, New York: Funk & Wagnalls Co., 1949, (Reprinted 1972) volume 1, pp. 43-48.

A Treasury of American Folklore. New York: Crown, 1944.

Brunvand, Jan Harold.
The Study of American Folklore: An Introduction. New York: W. W. Norton, 1968.

Clarke, Kenneth and Mary.
Introducing Folklore. New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, Inc., 1963.

Coffin, Tristam Potter.
An Analytical Index to the Journal of American Folklore. Philadelphia: Publications of the America Folklore Society, Bibliographical and Special Series, volume 7, 1958.

Our Living Traditions: An Introduction to American Folklore. New York: Basic Books, 1968.

Coffin, Tristam P., and Henning Cohen.
Folklore in America. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday & Co., 1966, 1970.

Davidson, Levette J.
A Guide to American Folklore. Denver: University of Denver Press, 1951. Reprint edition, New York: Greenwood Press, 1969.

Dorson, Richard M.
American Folklore. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1959.

"Folklore in Relation to American Studies." In Frontiers of American Culture, edited by Ray B. Browne et al, West Lafayette: Purdue University Studies, 1968, pp. 180-193.

"Folklore Studies in the United States Today." Folklore, volume 62, number 3, September 1951, pp. 353-366.

"The Shaping of Folklore Traditions in the United States." Folklore, volume 78, Autumn 1967, pp. 161-183.

"A Theory for American Folklore." Journal of American Folklore, volume 72, number 285, July-September 1959, pp. 197-215.

"A Theory for American Folklore Reviewed." Journal of American Folklore, volume 82, number 325, July-September 1969, pp. 226-244.

Dundes, Alan.
"The American Concept of Folklore." Journal of the Folklore Institute, volume 3, number 3, December 1966, pp. 226-249.

The Study of Folklore. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1965.

Emrich, Duncan.
The Nonsense Book of Riddles, Rhymes, Tongue Twisters, Puzzles and Jokes from American Folklore. New York: Four Winds Press, 1970.

Folklore on the American Land. Boston and Toronto: Little, Brown, 1972.

The Hodgepodge Book: An Almanac of American Folklore... New York: Four Winds Press, 1972.

Fife, Austin E. and Alta S., and Henry H. Glassie, editors.
Forms upon the Frontier; Folklife and Folk Arts in the United States. Logan: Utah State University, Monograph Series, volume 16, number 2, 1969.

Flanagan, John T., and Arthur Palmer Hudson.
Folklore in American Literature. Evanston: Row, Peterson, 1958. Repr., Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1971.

Glassie, Henry.
Pattern in the Material Folk Culture of the Eastern United States. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1969. (University of Pennsylvania Monographs in Folklore and Folklife, number 1.)

Goldstein, Kenneth S.
A Guide for Field Workers in Folklore. Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates (Memoirs of the American Folklore Society, volume 52), 1964.

Hand, Wayland D.
"American Folklore after Seventy Years: Survey and Prospect." Journal of American Folklore, volume 73, number 287, January-March 1960, pp. 1-11.

Haywood, Charles.
A Bibliography of North American Folklore and Folksong. New York: Greenberg, 1951.
Revised edition, two volumes, New York: Dover Publications, 1962.

Jackson, Bruce.
Folklore & Society: Essays in Honor of Benj. A. Botkin. Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1966.

Kittredge, George Lyman.
The Old Farmer and His Almanac. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1920. Reprint edition, New York; Benjamin Blom, 1967.

Leach, MacEdward.
"Folklore in American Regional Literature." Journal of the Folklore Institute, volume 3, number 3, December 1966, pp. 376-97.

Lee, Hector H., and Donald Roberson.
Lore of Our Land: A Book of American Folklore. Evanston: Harper & Row, 1963.

Lomax, Alan, and Sidney Robertson Cowell.
American Folk Song and Folklore: A Regional Bibliography. N.P.: Service Center of the Progressive Education Association (Pamphlet number 8), 1942.

Paredes, Américo, and Ellen J. Stekert, ed.
The Urban Experience and Folk Tradition. Austin and London: University of Texas Press (Publications of the American Folklore Society, Bibliographical and Special Series, vol. 22), 1971.

Rourke, Constance Mayfield.
American Humor: A Study of the National Character. New York: Harcourt, Brace & Co., 1931. Reprint edition, New York: Doubleday, 1953.

Thompson, Stith.
"American Folklore after Fifty Years." Journal of American Folklore, volume 51, number 199, January-March 1938, pp. 1-9.

Wildhaber, Robert.
"A Bibliographic Introduction to American Folklife." New York Folklore Quarterly, volume 21, number 4, December 1965, pp. 259-302.

Yoder, Don.
"The Folklife Studies Movement." Pennsylvania Folklife, volume 13, number 3, July 1963, pp. 43-56.

REGIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL COLLECTIONS

Allen, John W.
Legends & Lore of Southern Illinois. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University, 1963.

Beck, Horace P.
The Folklore of Maine. Philadelphia and New York: Lippincott, 1957.

Boatright, Mody C.
Folklore of the Oil Industry. Dallas: Southern Methodist University Press, 1963.

Botkin, Benjamin A.
Sidewalks of America. Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1954.

A Treasury of Mississippi River Folklore. New York: Crown, 1955.

A Treasury of New England Folklore: Stories, Ballads, and Traditions of Yankee Folk. New York: Crown, 1947. Revised edition, 1965.

A Treasury of Southern Folklore. New York: Crown, 1949.

A Treasury of Western Folklore. New York: Crown, 1951.

Botkin, Benjamin A., and Alvin F. Harlow.
A Treasury of Railroad Folklore. New York: Crown, 1953.

Brendle, Thomas R., and William S. Troxell.
Pennsylvania German Folk-Tales, Legends, Once-Upon-a-Time Stories, Maxims, and Sayings. Norristown: Pennsylvania German Society Proceedings and Addresses, volume 50, 1944.

Carey, George G.
Maryland Folklore and Folklife. Cambridge, Md.: Tidewater Publishers, 1970.

Chase, Richard.
American Folk Tales and Songs...as Preserved in the Appalachian Mountains. New York: Signet, 1956. Reprint edition, New York: Dover Publications, 1971.

Dorson, Richard M.
Bloodstoppers and Bearwalkers: Folk Traditions of the Upper Peninsula. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1952.

Buying the Wind: Regional American Folklore. Chicago: Universtiy of Chicago Press, 1964.

Jonathan Draws the Longbow: New England Popular Tales and Legends. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1946. Reprint edition, New York: Russell & Russell, 1970.

Fife, Austin and Alta S.
Saints of Sage and Saddle: Folklore among the Mormons. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1956. Reprint edition, Gloucester, Mass.: Peter Smith, 1966.

Gardner, Emelyn E.
Folklore from the Schoharie Hills. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1937.

Goldstein, Kenneth S., and Robert H. Byington.
Two Penny Ballads and Four Dollar Whiskey: A Pennsylvania Folklore Miscellany. Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1966.

Greenway, John.
Folklore of the Great West: Selections from Eighty-Three Years of the Journal of American Folklore. Palo Alto, Calif.: American West Publishing Co., 1969.

Hudson, Arthur Palmer.
Humor of the Old Deep South. New York: Macmillan, 1936.

Korson, George.
Black Rock: Mining Folklore of the Pennsylvania Dutch. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Press, 1960.

Coal Dust on the Fiddle: Songs and Stories of the Bituminous Industry. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1943. Reprint edition, foreword by John Greenway, Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1965.

Minstrels of the Mine Patch: Songs and Stories of the Anthracite Industry. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1938. Reprint edition, foreword by Archie Green, Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1964.

Pennsylvania Songs and Legends. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1949. Reprint edition, Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Press, 1960.

Leach, MacEdward, and Henry Glassie.
A Guide for Collectors of Oral Traditions and Folk Cultural Material in Pennyslvania. Harrisburg: Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, 1968.

Masterson, James R.
Tall Tales of Arkansas. Boston: Chapman and Grimes, 1942.

Pound, Louise.
Nebraska Folklore. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1959.

Roberts, Leonard W.
Up Cutshin and Down Greasy: Folkways of a Kentucky Mountain Family. Lexington: University of Kentucky Press, 1959.

Sackett, S. J., and William E. Koch.
Kansas Folklore. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1961.

Stoudt, John Baer.
The Folk-Lore of the Pennsylvania German. Lancaster: Pennsylvania-German Society Proceedings and Addresses, volume 23, 1915.

Thompson, Harold W.
Body, Boots and Britches. Philadelphia: J. B. Lippincott Co., 1940. Reprint edition, New York: Dover Publications, 1964.

Tully, Marjorie F., and Juan B. Rael.
An Annotated Bibliography of Spanish Folklore in New Mexico and Southern Colorado.
Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Publications in Language and Literature, number 3, 1950.

White, Newman Ivey, general editor.
The Frank C. Brown Collection of North Carolina Folklore. Seven volumes, Durham: Duke University Press, 1952-1964.

Welsch, Roger L.
A Treasury of Nebraska Pioneer Folklore. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1966.

AMERICAN INDIAN FOLKLORE

Coffin, Tristram Potter.
Indian Tales of North America: An Anthology for the Adult Reader. Philadelphia: American Folklore Society, Bibliographical and Special Series, volume 13, 1961.

Dundes, Alan.
The Morphology of North American Indian Folktales. Helsinki: Folklore Fellows Communications, number 195, 1964.

"North American Indian Folklore Studies," Journal de la Société des Américanistes, volume 56, number 1, 1967, pp. 53-79.

Hofmann, Charles.
Frances Densmore and American Indian Music: A Memorial Volume. New York: Contributions from the Museum of the American Indian, Heye Foundation, volume 23, 1968.

Merriam, Alan P.
Ethnomusicology of the Flathead Indians. Chicago: Aldine Publishing Co., 1967. (Viking Fund Publications in Anthropology, number 44.)

Thompson, Stith.
Tales of the North American Indians. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1929. Reprint edition, Bloomington and London: Indiana University Press, 1966.

Ullom, Judith C.
Folklore of the North American Indians: An Annotated Bibliography. Washington: Library of Congress, 1969.

IMMIGRANT FOLKLORE

Christiansen, Rheider Th.
European Folklore in America. Oslo: Universitetsforlaget (Studia Norvegica, number 12), 1962.

Mintz, Jerome R.
Legends of the Hasidim: An Introduction to Hasidic Culture and Oral Tradition in the New World. Chicago and London: University of Chicago Press, 1968.

Williams, Phyllis H.
South Italian Folkways in Europe and America. New Haven: Institute of Human Relations, 1938. Reprint edition, New York: Russell & Russell, 1969.

NEGRO FOLKLORE

Abrahams, Roger D.
Deep Down in the Jungle...Negro Narrative Folklore from the Streets of Philadelphia. Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1964. Revised edition, Chicago: Aldine Publishing Co., 1970.

Positively Black. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1970.

Allen, William Francis, Charles Pickard Ware, and Lucy McKim Garrison.
Slave Songs of the United States. New York: A. Simpson & Co., 1867. Reprint edition, New York: Peter Smith, 1951; Freeport, N.Y.: Books for Libraries Press, 1971.

Botkin, Benjamin A.
Lay My Burden Down: A Folk History of Slavery. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1945, 1961.

Brewer, J. Mason.
American Negro Folklore. Chicago: Quadrangle Books, 1968.

Dog Ghosts and Other Texas Negro Folk Tales. Austin: University of Texas Press, 1958.

Worser Days and Better Times: The Folklore of the North Carolina Negro. Chicago: Quadrangle Books, 1965.

Charters, Samuel B.
The Country Blues. New York: Rinehart & Co., 1959.

Courlander, Harold.
Negro Folk Music, U.S.A. New York: Columbia University Press, 1963, 1970.

Dorson, Richard M.
American Negro Folktales. Greenwich, Conn.: Fawcett Publications, 1967.

Negro Folktales in Michigan. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1956.

Negro Tales from Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and Calvin, Michigan. Bloomington: Indiana University Publications, Folklore Series, number 12, 1958.

Fisher, Miles Mark.
Negro Slave Songs in the United States. Ithaca, N.Y.: Cornell University Press for the American Historical Association, 1953. Reprint edition, New York: Russell & Russell, 1968.

Hughes, Langston, and Arna Bontemps.
The Book of Negro Folklore. New York: Dodd, Mead, 1954.

Hurston, Zora Neale.
Mules and Men. Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1935. Reprint edition, New York: Harper & Row, 1970; New York: Negro Universities Press, 1969.

Katz, Bernard, editor.
The Social Implications of Early Negro Music in the United States. New York: Arno Press and the New York Times, 1969.

Jackson, Bruce.
The Negro and His Folklore in Nineteenth-Century Periodicals. Austin and London: University of Texas Press (Publications of the American Folklore Society, Bibliographical and Special Series, volume 18), 1967.

Johnson, Guy B.
Folk Culture of St. Helena Island, South Carolina. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1930. Reprint edition, foreword by Don Yoder, Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1968.

Lovell, John, Jr.
Black Song: The Forge and the Flame: The Story of How the Afro-American Spiritual Was Hammered Out. New York: Macmillan; London: Collier-Macmillan, 1972.

Merriam, Alan P., and Robert J. Benford.
A Bibliography of Jazz. Philadelphia: Publications of the American Folklore Society, Bibliographical and Special Series, volume 4, 1954. Reprint edition, New York: DaCapo Press, 1970.

Montell, William Lynwood.
The Saga of Coe Ridge: A Study in Oral History. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1970.

Odum, Howard W., and Guy B. Johnson.
The Negro and His Songs: A Study of Typical Negro Songs in the South. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1925. Reprint edition, foreword by Roger D. Abrahams, Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1964. Reprint edition without foreword, New York: Negro Universities Press, 1968.

Odum, Howard W., and Guy B. Johnson.
Negro Workaday Songs. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1926. Reprint edition, New York: Universities Press, 1969.

Oliver, Paul.
Blues Fell This Morning: The Meaning of the Blues. New York: Horizon Press, 1961.

The Story of the Blues. Philadelphia, New York, and London: Chilton Book Co., 1969.

Parrish, Lydia.
Slave Songs of the Georgia Sea Islands. New York: Creative Age Press, 1942. Reprint edition, foreword by Bruce Jackson, Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1965.

Parsons, Elsie Clews.
Folk-Lore of the Sea Islands, South Carolina. Cambridge: Memoirs of the American Folklore Series, volume 16, 1923. Reprint edition, Chicago: Afro-Am Press, 1969.

Puckett, Newbell Niles.
Folk Beliefs of the Southern Negro. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1936. Reprint editions, Montclair, N.J.: Patterson Smith, 1968; New York: Negro Universities Press, 1968; New York: Dover Publications, 1969.

Rosenberg, Bruce A.
The Art of the American Folk Preacher. New York: Oxford University Press, 1970.

Schuller, Gunther.
Early Jazz: Its Roots and Musical Development. New York: Oxford University Press, 1968.

Stearns, Marshall W.
The Story of Jazz. New York: Oxford University Press, 1956, 1970.

Talley, Thomas W.
Negro Folk Rhymes: Wise and Otherwise. New York: Macmillan, 1922. Reprint edition, Port Washington, N.Y.: Kennikat Press, 1968.

White, Newman Ivey.
American Negro Folk-Songs. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1928. Reprint edition, foreword by Bruce Jackson, Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1965.

Work, John Wesley.
American Negro Songs. New York: Howell, Soskin & Co., 1940.

Folk Song of the American Negro. Nashville: Press of Fisk University, 1915. Reprint edition, New York: Negro Universities Press, 1969.

Yetman, Norman R.
Voices from Slavery. New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1970. Also published as Life under the "Peculiar Institution."

SPECIFIC GENRES

FOLKTALE, LEGEND, AND MYTH

Aswell, James R., et al, of the Tennessee Writer's Project. God Bless the Devil: Liars' Bench Tales. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1940.

Baughman, Ernest W.
Type and Motif-Index of the Folktales of England and North America. The Hague: Mouton & Co., (Indiana University Folklore Series, number 20.)

Botkin, Benjamin A.
A Treasury of American Anecdotes. New York: Random House, 1957.

Brunvand, Jan Harold.
"A Classification for Shaggy Dog Stories." Journal of American Folklore, volume 76, number 299, January-March 1963, pp. 42-68.

Campbell, Marie.
Tales from the Cloud Walking Country. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1958.

Chase, Richard.
Grandfather Tales: American-English Folk Tales. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1948.

The Jack Tales. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1943.

Dobie, J. Frank.
Legends of Texas. Austin: Publications of the Texas Folklore Society, number 3, 1924.
Reprint edition, Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1964.

[no author]
"The Folktale: A Symposium." Journal of American Folklore, volume 70, number 275, January-March 1957, pp. 49-65.

Hoffman, Daniel G.
Paul Bunyan: Last of the Frontier Demigods. Philadelphia: Temple University Publications, 1952. Reprinted 1966.

Jones, Louis C.
Things that Go Bump in the Night. New York: Hill and Wang, 1959.

Musick, Ruth Ann.
Green Hills of Magic: West Virginia Folktales from Europe. Lexington: University Press of Kentucky, 1970.

Randolph, Vance.
The Devil's Pretty Daughter: And Other Ozark Folk Tales. New York: Columbia University Press, 1957.

Hot Springs and Hell: And Other Folk Jests and Anecdotes from the Ozarks. Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1965.

Sticks in the Knapsack: And Other Ozark Folk Tales. New York: Columbia University Press, 1958.

The Talking Turtle: And Other Ozark Folk Tales. New York: Columbia University Press, 1957.

We Always Lie to Strangers: Tall Tales from the Ozarks. New York: Columbia University Press, 1951

Who Blowed Up the Church House? And Other Ozark Folk Tales. New York: Columbia University Press, 1952.

Roberts, Leonard W.
South from Hell-fer-Sartin: Kentucky Mountain Folk Tales. Lexington: University of Kentucky Press, 1955. Reprint edition, Berea, Ky.: Council of Southern Mountains, 1964.

Sazon, Lyle, Edward Dreyer, and Robert Tallant. Louisiana Writers Project, WPA.
Gumbo Ya-Ya: A Collection of Louisiana Folk Tales. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1945.
Reprint edition, New York: Johnson Reprint Corp., 1970.

Thompson, Stith.
Motif-Index of Folk-Literature. Revised edition, six volumes, Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1955-1958.

The Types of the Folktale: A Classification and Bibliography. Second revision of Antti Aarne's Verzeichnis der Märchentypen. Helsinki: Folklore Fellows Communications, number 184, 1961.

FOLK ARTS AND CRAFTS

Christensen, Erwin O.
American Crafts and Folk Arts. Washington, D.C.: Robert B. Luce, Inc., 1964.

The Index of American Design. New York: Macmillan, 1950.

Creekmore, Betsey B.
Traditional American Crafts. New York: Hearthside Press, 1968.

Eaton, Allen H.
Handicrafts of the Southern Highlands. New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 1937. Reprint edition: New York Dover, 1972.

Ford, Alice.
Pictorial Folk Art: New England to California. New York and London: Studio Publications, 1949.

Lipman, Jean (Herzberg).
American Folk Art in Wood, Metal and Stone. New York: Pantheon, 1948.

American Folk Decoration. New York: Oxford University Press, 1951.

American Primitive Painting. New York: Oxford University Press, 1942.

Polley, Robert L., general editor.
America's Folk Art; Treasures of American Folk Arts and Crafts in Distinguished Museums and Collections. New York: G. P. Putnam's Sons, 1968.

FOLK ARCHITECTURE

Dornbusch, Charles H.
Pennsylvania German Barns. Allentown: Pennsylvania German Folklore Society, volume 21 (1956), 1958.

Glassie, Henry.
"The Types of the Southern Mountain Cabin." In The Study of American Folklore: An Introduction, by Jan Harold Brunvand, New York: Norton, 1968, pp. 338-370.

Kniffen, Fred, and Henry Glassie.
"Building in Wood in the Eastern United States: A Time-Place Perspective." The Geographical Review, volume 56, number 1, 1966, pp. 53-65.

Pillsbury, Richard, and Andrew Kardos.
A Field Guide to the Folk Architecture of the Northeastern United States. Hanover, N.H.: Geography Publications at Dartmouth, number 8, 1970.

Welsch, Roger L.
Sod Walls: The Story of the Nebraska Sod House. Broken Bow, Nebraska: Purcells, 1968.

FOLK BELIEF AND CUSTOM

Browne, Ray B.
Popular Beliefs and Practices from Alabama. Los Angeles and Berkeley: University of California Publications, Folklore Studies, number 9, 1958.

Fogel, Edwin Miller.
Beliefs and Superstitions of the Pennsylvania Germans. Philadelphia: America Germanica Press, 1915.

Hand, Wayland D.
"Anglo-American Folk Belief and Custom: The Old World's Legacy to the New." Journal of the Folklore Institute, volume 7, number 2/3, August/December 1970, pp. 136-155

Hyatt, Harry Middleton.
Folk-Lore from Adams County Illinois. New York: The Alma Egan Hyatt Foundation, 1935. Revised edition, 1965.

Hoodoo - Conjuration - Witchcraft - Rootwork. 2 volumes, Hannible, Mo.: Western Publishing, for the author, 1970.

Kittredge, George Lyman.
Witchcraft in Old and New England. Reprint edition, New York: Russell and Russell, 1956.

Randolph, Vance.
Ozark Superstitions. New York: Columbia University Press, 1947. Reprint edition, New York: Dover Publications, 1964.

Thomas, Daniel Lindsey and Lucy Blayney.
Kentucky Superstitions. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1920.

Vogt, Evon Z., and Ray Hyman.
Water Witching U.S.A. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1959.

PROVERB AND RIDDLE

Barbour, Frances M.
Proverbs and Proverbial Phrases of Illinois. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1965.

Brunvand, Jan H.
A Dictionary of Proverbs and Proverbial Phrases from Books Published by Indiana Authors before 1890. Bloomington: Indiana University Folklore Series, number 15, 1961.

Taylor, Archer.
English Riddles from Oral Tradition. Berkeley and Los Angeles: University of California Press, 1951.

The Proverb. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1931. Reprint edition with An Index to the Proverb, Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1962.

Proverbial Comparisons and Similes from California. Berkeley and Los Angeles: University of California Press, Folklore Studies, number 3, 1954.

Taylor, Archer, and Bartlett Jere Whiting.
A Dictionary of American Proverbs and Proverbial Phrases 1820-1880. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1958.

FOLK SPEECH

McDavid, Raven I.
"The Dialects of American English." The Structure of American English, edited by Winthrop Nelson Francis, New York: Ronald Press, 1958, pp. 480-543.

Mathews, Mitford M.
A Dictionary of Americanisms on Historical Principles. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1951. Reprinted 1956.

Randolph, Vance, and George P. Wilson.
Down in the Hollar: A Gallery of Ozark Folk Speech. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1953.

Wentworth, Harold.
American Dialect Dictionary. New York: Thomas Y. Crowell, 1944.

Wentworth, Harold, and Stuart Berg Flexner.
Dictionary of American Slang, with Supplement. New York: Thomas Y. Crowell, 1967.

FOLK SONG AND RHYME

Abrahams, Roger D.
Jump-Rope Rhymes: A Dictionary. Austin and London: University of Texas Press, 1969.
(American Folklore Society, Bibliographical and Special Series, volume 20.)

Abrahams, Roger D., and George Foss.
Anglo-American Folksong Style. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall, 1968.

Ames, Russell.
The Story of American Folk Song. New York: Grosset and Dunlap, 1955. Reprinted 1960.

Barry, Phillips.
Folk Music in America. New York: WPA Federal Theatre Project, National Service Bureau, Pub. no. 805, June 1939.

Barry, Phillips, Fannie Hardy Eckstrom, and Mary Winslow Smyth.
British Ballads from Maine. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1929.

Belden, Henry M.
Ballads and Songs Collected by the Missouri Folk Song Society. Columbia: University of Missouri Studies, volume 15, number 1, 1940.

Brewster, Paul.
Ballads and Songs of Indiana. Bloomington: Indiana University Folklore Series, number 1, 1940.

Cheney, Thomas E.
Mormon Songs from the Rocky Mountains: A Compilation of Mormon Folksong. Austin and London: University of Texas Press, 1968. (Publications of the American Folklore Society, Memoir Series, volume 53.)

Coffin, Tristram Potter.
The British Traditional Ballad in North America. Philadelphia: Publications of the American Folklore Society, Bibliographical and Special Series, volume 2, 1950. Revised edition, 1963.

Combs, Josiah H.
Folk-songs of the Southern United States. Edited by D. K. Wilgus. Austin and London: University of Texas Press (Publications of the American Folklore Society, Bibliograhical and Special Series, volume 19), 1967.

Cox, John Harrington.
Folk-Songs of the South Collected under the Auspices of the West Virginia Folk-Lore Society. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1925. Reprint edition, foreword by Arthur Kyle Davis, Jr., Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1963.

Davis, Arthur Kyle, Jr.
Folk-Songs of Virginia. A Descriptive Index and Classification. Durham: Duke University Press, 1949. Repr., N.Y.: AMS Press, 1965.

More Traditional Ballads of Virginia. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1960.

Traditional Ballads of Virginia. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1929. Reprint edition, Charlottesville: University Press of Virginia, 1969.

Doerflinger, William M.
Shanteymen and Shanteyboys: Songs of the Sailors and Lumbermen. New York: Macmillan, 1951. Repr. as Songs of the Sailors and Lumbermen, 1972.

Eddy, Mary O.
Ballads and Songs from Ohio. New York: J. J. Augustin, 1939. Reprint edition, foreword by D. K. Wilgus, Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1964.

Emrich, Duncan.
American Folk Poetry: An Anthology. Boston: Little, Brown, 1974. "A Bibliography of American Folksong in the English Language," by Joseph C. Hickerson, pp. 775-816.

Fife, Austin E. and Alta S.
Cowboy and Western Songs: A Comprehensive Anthology. New York: Clarkson N. Potter, Inc., 1969.

Flanders, Helen Hartness.
Ancient Ballads Traditionally Sung in New England. Four volumes, Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1960-1965.

Ford, Ira W.
Traditional Music of America. New York: E. P. Dutton & Co., 1940. Reprint edition, introduction by Judith McCulloh, Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1965.

Gardner, Emelyn E., and Geraldine J. Chickering.
Ballads and Songs of Southern Michigan. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1939. Reprint edition, foreword by Albert B. Friedman, Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1967.

Greenway, John.
American Folksongs of Protest. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1953. Reprint edition, New York: Octagon Books, 1970.

Hubbard, Lester A.
Ballads and Songs from Utah. Salt Lake City: University of Utah Press, 1961.

Hudson, Arthur Palmer.
Folksongs of Mississippi and Their Background. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1936.

Ives, Edward D.
Larry Gorman: The Man Who Made the Songs. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1964.

Jackson, George Pullen.
Another Sheaf of White Spirituals. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1952.

White Spirituals in the Southern Uplands. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1933. Reprint edition, foreword by Don Yoder, Hatboro, Penna.: Folklore Associates, 1964. Reprint edition without foreword, New York: Dover Publications, 1965.

Lawless, Ray M.
Folksingers and Folksongs in America. New York: Duell, Sloan and Pearce, 1960. Revised edition, 1965.

Laws, G. Malcolm, Jr.
American Balladry from British Broadsides. Philadelphia: Publications of the American Folklore Society, Bibliographical and Special Series, volume 8, 1957.

Native American Balladry. Philadelphia: Publications of the American Folklore Society, Bibliographical and Special Series, volume 1, 1950. Revised edition, 1964.

Lingenfelter, Richard E., Richard A. Dwyer, and David Cohen.
Songs of the American West. Berkeley and Los Angeles: University California Press, 1968.

Lomax, Alan.
Folk Songs of North America. New York: Doubleday, 1960.

Lomax, John A. and Alan.
American Ballads and Folk Songs. New York: Macmillan, 1935. Twentieth printing, 1966.

Cowboy Songs and Other Frontier Ballads. New York: Macmillan, 1910. Revised edition, 1938. Thirteenth printing, 1961.

Our Singing Country. New York: Macmillan, 1941.

Moore, Ethel and Chauncey O.
Ballads and Folk Songs of the Southwest. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1964.

Morris, Alton C.
Folksongs of Florida. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1950.

Nettl, Bruno.
An Introduction to Folk Music in the United States. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 1960. Revised edition, 1962.

Pound, Louise.
American Ballads and Songs. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1922. Reprinted 1972.

Randolph, Vance.
Ozark Folksongs. Four volumes, Columbia: State Historical Society of Missouri, 1946-1950.

Scott, John Anthony.
Ballad of America: The History of the United States in Song and Story. New York: Bantam, 1966.

Sharp, Cecil J.
English Folk Songs from the Southern Appalachians. Edited by Maud Karpeles. Two volumes. London and New York: Oxford University Press, 1932. Reprinted 1952, 1960, 1966.

Thorp, N. Howard.
Songs of the Cowboys. Variants, commentary, notes and lexicon by Austin E. and Alta S. Fife. New York: Clarkson N. Potter, 1966.

Wilgus, D. K.
Anglo-American Folksong Scholarship since 1898. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press, 1959.

PLAY PARTY/DANCE/GAME

Botkin, Benjamin A.
The American Play-Party Song, with a Collection of Oklahoma Texts and Tunes. Lincoln: University Studies of the University of Nebraska, volume 38, numbers 1-4, 1937. Reprint edition, New York: Ungar, 1963.

Brewster, Paul G.
American Nonsinging Games. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1953.

Damon, S. Foster.
The History of Square Dancing. Barre, Mass.: Barre Gazette, 1957.

Newell, William Wells.
Games and Songs of American Children. New York: Harper & Bros., 1883, 1903. Reprint edition, introduction by Carl Withers, New York: Dover Publications, 1963.

Putney, Cornelia F., and Jesse B. Flood.
Square Dance U.S.A. Dubuque, Ia: W.C. Brown, 1955.

Ryan, Grace L.
Dances of Our Pioneers. New York: A. S. Barnes, 1939.

Shaw, Lloyd.
Cowboy Dances. Caldwell, Idaho: Caxton, 1939. Revised edition, 1949.

The Round Dance Book: A Century of Waltzing. Caldwell, Idaho: Caxton Printers, 1948.

Sutton-Smith, Brian, and B. G. Rosenberg.
"Sixty Years of Historical Change in the Games Preference of American Children." Journal of American Folklore, volume 74, number 291, January-March 1961, pp. 17-46.

Tolman, Beth, and Ralph Page.
Country Dance Book. New York: Farrar and Rinehart, 1937.

Wakefield, Eleanor Ely.
Folk Dancing in America. New York: J. Lowell Pratt, 1966.

Wolford, Leah Jackson.
The Play-Party in Indiana. Indianapolis: Indiana Historical Commission, 1916. Edited and revised by W. Edson Richmond and William Tillson, Indianapolis: Indianapolis Historical Society, 1959.

ADDENDA

Baker, Ronald L.
"Folklore Courses and Programs in American Colleges and Universities," Journal of American Folklore, volume 84, number 332, April-June 1971, pp. 221-229.

Bluestein, Gene.
The Voice of the Folk: Folklore and American Literary Theory. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 1972.

Brunvand, Jan Harold.
A Guide for Collectors of Folklore in Utah. Salt Lake City: University of Utah Press, 1971.
(University of Utah Publications in the American West, vol. 7.)

Carey, George G.
A Faraway Time and Place: Lore of the Eastern Shore. Washington and New York: Robert B. Luce, 1971.

Cheney, Thomas E., ed.
Lore of Faith & Folly: Compiled by the Folklore Society of Utah. Salt Lake City: University of Utah Press, 1971.

Coffin, Tristram Potter.
Uncertain Glory: Folklore and the American Revolution. Detroit: Folklore Associates, 1971.

Dietz, Barbara.
"Volkskunde in Amerika?: Das Studienfach 'Folklore' in der USA." Beiträge zur Deutschen Volks- und Altertumskunde, volume 15, 1971, pp. 31-49.

Dorson, Richard M.
American Folklore and the Historian. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1971.

Folklore and Folklife: An Introduction. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1972.

Folklore: Selected Essays. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1972.

Green, Archie.
Only a Miner: Studies in Recorded Coal-Mining Songs. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1972.

Hand, Wayland D., ed.
American Folk Legend: A Symposium. Berkeley, Los Angeles and London: University of California Press, 1971.

Guilland, Harold F.
Early American Folk Pottery. Philadelphia: Chilton Book Co., 1971.

Jackson, Bruce.
Wake Up Dead Man: Afro-American Worksongs from Texas Prisons. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1972.

Randolph, Vance.
Ozark Folklore: A Bibliography. Bloomington: Indiana University Research Center for the Language Sciences, 1972. (Indiana University Folklore Institute, Monograph Series, vol. 24.)

Roberts, Leonard W.
Old Greasybeard: Tales from the Cumberland Gap. Detroit: Folklore Associates, 1969.

Utley, Francis Lee.
"A Role for Folk Life Study in the United States." Ethnologia Europaea, volume 4 (Erixonia II), 1970 (1971), pp. 150-154.

Welsch, Roger L.
Shingling the Fog and the Other Plains Lies. Chicago: Swallow Press, 1972.