Databases

This section provides information on selected subscription database products that may be particularly useful in locating information pertaining to the Russian economy and business. Except as noted below, the Library of Congress subscribes to these databases. Availability is limited, however, to patrons who are onsite at the Library or to those offsite who have access through other subscribing institutions. For databases to which the Library of Congress subscribes, additional information about the database is available by clicking on the database name. Patrons onsite will, in addition, have the option of searching the database.

Databases of Russian / NIS Publications.
Access limited to onsite patrons and other subscribers
Publisher/Supplier: Eastview

Collection of databases provided by East View publisher. Contains full-text archive of dozens of Russian newspapers and journals, official statistical publications for Russia and CIS, government documents, transcripts of parliamentary hearings.

EIU CityData.
Access limited to onsite patrons and other subscribers
Publisher/Supplier: Economist Intelligence Unit.

Contains price data on over 100 products and services in the two largest Russian cities, Moscow and St. Petersburg.

EIU Country Data.
Access limited to onsite patrons and other subscribers
Publisher/Supplier: Economist Intelligence Unit.

Database provides monthly, quarterly and yearly macroeconomic indicators, such as gross domestic product, interest rates, per capita income, external trade and debt. Monthly country outlook.

Factiva.
Access limited to onsite patrons and other subscribers
Publisher/Supplier: Factiva

Issue 13/14: Summer/Fall 2008

Guide to Russian Business Information Resources

Table of Contents

Overview
Introduction
Business & Economy
Foreign Trade & Investments
Finance & Banking
Industries
Labor & Management
Databases
Directories
News Sources
LC Catalog Searches

This online database provides access to full-text archive of Russian news wires, newspapers, journals and newsletters. Currently has the best selection of news sources from Russia.

Global Financial Data.
Access limited to onsite patrons and other subscribers
Publisher/Supplier: Global Financial Data

This economic and financial time-series database covers Russia and includes data on GDP, exchange and interest rates, stock market and sectoral indices, government bond yields, prices, population and unemployment.

Integrum World Wide: Electronic Portrait of Russia and the CIS
Not available at the Library of Congress
Publisher/Supplier: Integrum World Wide

Russia's largest integrated full-text database. Searchable archive of national and regional newspapers and magazines; access to company directories and databases of statistics and patents.

International Country Risk Guide.
Access limited to onsite patrons and other subscribers
Publisher/Supplier: The PRS Group

Provides political, economic and financial risk assessments and forecasts for up to five years

ISI Emerging Markets.
Access limited to onsite patrons and other subscribers
Publisher/Supplier: Internet Securities, Inc.

Excellent collection of business information resources on Russia and other Former Soviet Union countries. Includes industry and company research by Russian and foreign investment banks, import/export statistics searchable by country, industry code and company, macroeconomic indicators, economic statistics, market calendar (earnings reports, business events), legal and tax updates from Western consulting firms, Russian legislation databases, company and biographical directories (including English-language Who Is Who in Russia) and Russian industry classifications. Business news section includes full-text publications and abstracts in Russian and English, news compilations by industry, and database on Russian mergers and acquisitions. Most content in Russian only.

NewspaperDirect PressDisplay.
Access limited to onsite patrons and other subscribers
Publisher/Supplier: NewspaperDirect

Provides online access to the current edition of 50-plus Russian newspapers and magazines in full-color, full-page format. Titles include business publications, such as Vedomosti, Kommersant and Expert.

Ruslana.
Not available at the Library of Congress
Publisher/Supplier: Bureau Van Dijk

A Bureau Van Dijk financial database covering about three million Russian companies. Contains contact details, financial data, business ratios, industry codes and description, number of employees, managers, auditors and bankers, company type, ownership structure, year of incorporation plus import and export information for the last three years where available. By subscription only.

SourceOECD.
Access limited to onsite patrons and other subscribers
Publisher/Supplier: OECD

Offers access to the OECD's Online Library of statistical databases, books, periodicals, reports, and working papers. Select "Online Library" from the OECD home page to access the SourceOECD database.