United States Senate
United States Senate Senators HomeCommittees HomeLegislation & Records HomeArt & History HomeVisitors Center HomeReference Home
United States Senate
Origins & Development
Historical Minutes
Special Collections
Graphic Arts
Oral History

  Senate Vice Presidential Bust Collection

A mainstay of the Senate’s fine art is the Vice Presidential Bust Collection. The Joint Committee on the Library, acting under a resolution of May 13, 1886, began commissioning busts of the vice presidents to occupy the niches in the new Senate Chamber. After the first busts filled the 20 niches that surround the Chamber, new additions were placed throughout the Senate wing of the Capitol. The collection chronicles the individuals who have served as vice president and pays tribute to their role as president of the Senate. It also provides a unique survey of American sculpture from the 19th century to the present.

The initial five commissions included busts of the first two vice presidents, John Adams and Thomas Jefferson, and three former vice presidents then living, Hannibal Hamlin, William Wheeler, and Chester A. Arthur. As directed by the resolution of 1886, additional representations were added to the collection until the twenty existing gallery niches in the Senate chamber had been filled. The original resolution was amended on January 6, 1898, in order to provide for placement of additional vice presidential busts throughout the Senate wing of the Capitol.

The Vice Presidential Bust Collection contains works by such premier American artists as Daniel Chester French, Augustus Saint-Gaudens, Franklin Simmons, and James Earle Fraser.

Artifact        Title/Artist
John Adams John Adams
by Daniel Chester French
Thomas Jefferson Thomas Jefferson
by Moses Jacob Ezekiel
Aaron Burr Aaron Burr
by Jacques Jouvenal
George Clinton George Clinton
by Vittorio A. Ciani
Elbridge Gerry Elbridge Gerry
by Herbert Samuel Adams
Daniel D. Tompkins Daniel D. Tompkins
by Charles Henry Niehaus
John C. Calhoun John C. Calhoun
by Theodore Augustus Mills
Martin Van Buren Martin Van Buren
by Ulric Stonewall Jackson Dunbar
Richard M. Johnson Richard M. Johnson
by James Paxton Voorhees
John Tyler John Tyler
by William C. McCauslen
George M. Dallas George M. Dallas
by Henry Jackson Ellicott
Millard Fillmore Millard Fillmore
by Robert Cushing
William R. King William R. King
by William C. McCauslen
John C. Breckinridge John C. Breckinridge
by James Paxton Voorhees
Hannibal Hamlin Hannibal Hamlin
by Franklin Bachelder Simmons
Andrew Johnson Andrew Johnson
by William C. McCauslen
Schuyler Colfax Schuyler Colfax
by Frances Murphy Goodwin
Henry Wilson Henry Wilson
by Daniel Chester French
William A. Wheeler William A. Wheeler
by Edward Clark Potter
Chester A. Arthur Chester A. Arthur
by Augustus Saint-Gaudens
Thomas A. Hendricks Thomas A. Hendricks
by Ulric Stonewall Jackson Dunbar
Levi P. Morton Levi P. Morton
by Frank Edwin Elwell
Adlai E. Stevenson Adlai E. Stevenson
by Franklin Bachelder Simmons
Garret Augustus Hobart Garret Augustus Hobart
by Francis Edwin Elwell
Theodore Roosevelt Theodore Roosevelt
by James Earle Fraser
Charles W. Fairbanks Charles W. Fairbanks
by Franklin Bachelder Simmons
James S. Sherman James S. Sherman
by Bessie Onahotema Potter Vonnoh
Thomas R. Marshall Thomas R. Marshall
by Moses A. Wainer Dykaar
Calvin Coolidge Calvin Coolidge
by Moses A. Wainer Dykaar
Charles G.Dawes Charles G.Dawes
by Jo Davidson
Charles Curtis Charles Curtis
by Moses A. Wainer Dykaar
John Nance Garner John Nance Garner
by James Earle Fraser
Henry A. Wallace Henry A. Wallace
by Jo Davidson
Harry S. Truman Harry S. Truman
by Charles Keck
Alben W. Barkley Alben W. Barkley
by Kalervo Kallio
Richard M. Nixon Richard M. Nixon
by Gualberto Rocchi
Lyndon B. Johnson Lyndon B. Johnson
by JIMILU mason
Hubert H.Humphrey, Jr. Hubert H. Humphrey, Jr.
by Walker Kirtland Hancock
Spiro T. Agnew Spiro T. Agnew
by William Frederick Behrends
Gerald R. Ford Gerald R. Ford
by Walker Kirtland Hancock
Nelson A. Rockefeller Nelson A. Rockefeller
by John Calabro
Walter F. Mondale Walter F. Mondale
by Judson R. Nelson
George Bush George Bush
by Walker Kirtland Hancock
J. Danforth Quayle J. Danforth Quayle
by Frederick E. Hart

Explore the Senate's Art with the Office of the Senate Curator.

Have questions about Senate art?  Email the curator.

Can't make it to Washington to see the Capitol for yourself?  Take a look inside with our 360 degree virtual tour!  (This action will take you outside of www.senate.gov)