 BeCites+
Titles included in BeCites+
Enhanced Bibliographies - Digitized
LC Publications
Enhanced BeCites+ bibliographies are finding
guides prepared by Library of Congress public service service staff which
typically include links, as authorized by the copyright holders, from the
individual entries in the guides to the digitized tables of contents, prefaces,
indexes, lists of photographs or charts, and/or bibliographies appearing
in the works represented by those entries.
Thess guides feature
selected print resources in the Library of Congress illustrating
the development of black business in the United States compiled in
conjunction with an exhibit mounted in the Business Reading Room
during Black History Month, February 2000.
A well-illustrated compilation of articles
originally published in the Quarterly Journal of the Library
of Congress that explore the photographic collections
of the Prints and Photographs Division.
A well-illustrated compilation of articles
originally published in the Quarterly Journal of the Library
of Congress that explore the graphic collections
of the Prints and Photographs Division.
A guide to resources available at the
Library of Congress and many other large research libraries to assist
researchers seeking historical information about old companies or extinct
firms. The focus is primarily on United States companies.
This online version includes selected
portions--the table of contents, the chronology of the war, and the
maps and plates--of this contemporary (the war wounds were still fresh--the
fighting ended in late 1855 and the peace treaty was signed in 1856)
and comprehensive two-volume history of the Crimean War which appears
to have been the White House copy--it is inscribed "Executive Mansion
1861"--and one might conjecture that it was referred to by Abraham
Lincoln on the eve of the Civil War. In accordance with 19th-century
publishing, the table of contents serves as an index and in and of
itself provides detailed information pertaining to the war.
Sections on General
Works, The Ships, Immigrants
as New Arrivals, and The Immigration
Experience.
This BeCites+ guide is based on sections
of the 1997 guide, Immigrant Arrivals by Virginia Wood, reference specialist
in Local History and Genealogy at
the Library of Congress, as revised by Barbara Walsh, also a reference
specialist in the Local History and Genealogy Section. The guide was
originally created in response to the surge of interest in the subject
of immigration following the nation's Bicentennial, the publication
of Alex Haley's Roots, and by the highly successful restoration
efforts of the Statue of Liberty and the Ellis Island Immigration Museum.
In the 2000/2001 revision, as part of the
BeCites+ project, links were added to scanned/OCR'd files for the
tables of contents, indexes and sources cited in the sections,
General Works, The Ships, Immigrants as New Arrivals, and The Immigration
Experience. Work is now underway on the remaining two sections
of the guide.
In addition, as part of the pilot, a new section
on Internet
resources was completed making use of OCLC's Connexion software.
The revised guide also contains subject
headings relating to immigrant arrivals to the United States,
which link directly into the Library of Congress online catalog.
Prepared by Woody Woodis of the Prints
and Photographs Division, this guide to further sources of information
about the works and life of 19th century photographer Roger Fenton
accompanies an online
exhibit of Fenton's Crimean War photographs held by the Library
of Congress.
Like other BeCites+ enhanced
guides, the guide will contain links to digitized files for the
tables of contents, indexes, and sources cited in the guide as
available.
Small Business: Entrepreneurship, Franchising, and Venture Capital
This guide is planned as a revision of
Chapter 6 of Richard Sharp's 1995 publication, A Guide to Finding
Business Information at the Library of Congress, and will draw
in part on selected titles from the longer guide on this topic completed
by Robert Jackson in 1999, Entrepreneurs'
Reference Guide to Small Business Information. It is designed
to point new and prospective entrepreneurs toward selected resources
that answer some of the most commonly asked questions relating to establishing
a small business, acquiring a franchise, or seeking out venture capital.
In addition to links to scanned and OCR'd files
for available tables of contents, indexes, and sources cited in
the revised guide, the guide will contain new section on Internet
resources related to this topic.
This guide is a revision by Dr. Marilyn
Parr, formerly American History reference specialist in the Humanities
and Social Sciences Division of the Library of Congress, and currently
Head of the Digital Reference Team, of her earlier guide of the same
title. It includes annotated references to sources for Jefferson's
papers and correspondence, and biographies about Jefferson, as well
as to works relating to aspects of Jefferson's life, including law
and politics; relations with slaves; learning, science and culture;
and family, homes and haunts.
Like other BeCites+ subject
guides, the revised Thomas Jefferson guide contains links to scanned/OCR'd
files for the tables of contents, indexes, and sources cited. In
addition, the guide also includes a newly added section describing Internet
resources related to this topic, which makes use of OCLC's Connexion software.
The following out-of-print guides to special collections
or activities of the Library of Congress have been or will be digitized
through the BeCites project in response to on-going requests by researchers
in a variety of disciplines, including those served by the Area Studies
and the Public Service Directorates of the Library and the Library's Center
for the Book. Specialists, including those from the African
and Middle Eastern, the European,
the Hispanic, the Asian,
the Prints and Photographs,
and the Humanities and Social
Sciences Divisions are working cooperatively with the BEAT BeCites+
Team to make these out-of-print guides available in digital format.
The following publications represent a
selection of frequently requested, but now out-of-print, titles issued
by the Center for the Book since its formation in 1977 "to use
the resources and prestige of the Library of Congress to promote books,
reading, libraries, and literacy."
Checklist of Archives in Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Prepared in cooperation with the Microform
Reading Room of the Humanities and Social Sciences Division and
the Asian Division, this
frequently requested resource provides a guide to over two million
microfilmed pages from the Archives of the Japanese Ministry of Foreign
Affairs covering the period 1868-1945 which have been released from
security classification. The bulk of the collection consists of two
series of documents: one of documents from the Meiji and Taisho periods
(1868-1912), the other of documents from the Showa period (1926-).
Also included are a series of unindexed documents, a series of printed
and mimeographed studies, papers of the Parliamentary Vice-Minister;
biographical materials, a treaties series, documents of the International
Military Tribunal; and a long telegram series of outgoing and incoming
messages between Foreign Service officers in the field and the Minister
in Tokyo.
The COPAR Newsletter, published from 1974-1985, represents a unique
sharing of information about architects' records, repositories, and
recent finds, contributed by both scholarly researchers and collection
managers. A publication of, first, the New York-based Committee for
the Preservation of Architectural Records, and , later, of the Cooperative
Preservation of Architectural Records at the Library of Congress, the
COPAR Newsletter shared up-to-date news from archives and libraries,
detailed recent preservation/conservation efforts, and reported on
then-current grants and surveys. It also ran inquiries about an architect
from researchers trying to find the location of records, and therefore
often provides valuable pointers to unpublished scholarship.
The online version will contain the full
text of the out-of-print 1957 guide to selected religious texts (written
in Armenian, Greek, Arabic, Georgian, and Syriac, among other languages)
in the monasteries of Mount Athos. The manuscripts were microfilmed
for the Library of Congress and the International Greek New Testament
Project in 1952-53. The guide also contains listings of photoreproductions
of other manuscripts in monasteries of Mt. Athos, prepared by Harvard
University (Cambridge, Massachusetts), Institut de recherche et d'histoire
des textes (Paris, France), and the Deutsche Akademie der Wissenschaften
zu Berlin (Berlin, Germany). Originally compiled under the general
direction of Ernest W. Saunders, representative of the Library of Congress
for the selection and microfilming of the manuscripts at Mt. Athos,
the text of the online version, which is being prepared in cooperation
with the African and Middle Eastern
Division, the European
Division, and the Microform
Reading Room of the Humanities and Social Sciences Division, will
be augumented with directions for requesting copies from the Photoduplication
Service of the Library of Congress.
Checklist of Manuscripts in the Libraries of the Greek and Armenian
Patriarchates in Jerusalem
Like the Mt. Athos guide just described,
this guide to religious texts in Greek, Arabic, and other other languages,
will contain the full text of the original out-of-print checklist of
manuscripts microfilmed for the Library of Congress in 1949-50 which
was prepared under the direction of Kenneth W. Clark, director and
general editor of the Jerusalem Expedition, 1949-50. Prepared cooperatively
by the African and Middle Eastern
Division, the European
Division, and the Microform
Reading Room of the Humanities and Social Sciences Division, this
digitized version will be augumented with directions for requesting
copies from the Photoduplication Service of the Library of Congress.
Checklist of Manuscripts in St. Catherine's Monastery
This online guide will contain the full
text of the out-of-print 1952 checklist of the contents of 1,700 rolls
of microfilm and 1,284 photographs made for the Library of Congress
at St. Catherine's Monastery on Mount Sinai from January to June 1950
based on work done by Dr. Kenneth W. Clark, the general editor of the
Mount Sinai Expedition. Included are citations to religious texts in
Armenian, Greek, Arabic, Georgian, and Syriac, among other languages.
The online guide, being prepared in cooperation with the African
and Middle Eastern Division, the European
Division, and the Microform
Reading Room of the Humanities and Social Sciences Division, will
be augumented with directions for requesting copies from the Photoduplication
Service of the Library of Congress.
Prepared in cooperation with the Hispanic
Division and the African
and Middle Eastern Division, this guide is planned as an online
version of the bibliography prepared by Henry V. Besso and published
by the Hispanic Foundation of the Library of Congress in 1964. This
online version will be updated with approximately 200 additional
titles recently identified in the collections of Hebraic Section
and also from the general collections of the Library of Congress,
and will contain links to the title pages of those titles in the
vernacular script.
The NUIAR is an index to architectural drawings held
by institutions across the country, compiled by the Cooperative Preservation
of Architectural Records (COPAR) between 1974-1986. This attempt to
index the architectural drawings held nationwide is an effort comparable
to that of the National Union Index of Manuscript Collections for manuscript
holdings. The bulk of the entries in the Index were drawn from the
many publications on architectural holdings published in the 1980s,
such as "Architectural Research Materials in the District of Columbia" (AIA
Foundation, 1983.) The compilation of such information into one index
greatly improved access to architectural records. Although work on
the Index ceased in 1986, its value as a research tool is still recognized
by current researchers, who contact the Library regularly for information.
This online catalog of the book collection
which was sold to reestablish the Library of Congress after the original
Congressional Library was destroyed in the War of 1812, includes the
full text of the edition of the catalog edited by James Gilreath and
Douglas Wilson published by the Library of Congress in 1989. The catalog
was originally copied at Jefferson's request by Nicholas Trist in 1823,
working from a copy of a printed 1915 Library of Congress catalog arranged
alphabetically by title issued after the U.S. Congress acquired the
library in 1814. This restored arrangement reflects Jefferson's intellectual
classification of the works as well as their physical placement on
the shelves at Monticello. The catalog is also cited in Thomas
Jefferson: An American Man for All Seasons.
An online version of a well-illustrated
guide published in 1989 to photographic holdings of Washington, D.C.
held by the Prints & Photographs Division at the Library of Congress.
|
The
Library of Congress >> Especially
for Researchers >> Research
Centers
Top
of Page