Dated: August 19, 2004.

#### Hector V. Barreto,

Administrator.

[FR Doc. 04–19500 Filed 8–25–04; 8:45 am]

BILLING CODE 8025-01-P

#### SMALL BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION

### Advisory Committee on Veterans Business Affairs; Public Meeting

## The SBA Advisory Committee on Veterans Business Affairs

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), pursuant to the Veterans Entrepreneurship and Small Business Development Act of 1999 (Public Law 106–50), will be hosting its third meeting of fiscal year 2004, the Advisory Committee on Veterans Business Affairs. The meeting will begin on Wednesday, September 8, 2004, until Thursday, September 9, 2004, starting at 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. The meeting will be held at the U.S. Small Business Administration Headquarters, located at 409 3rd Street, SW., Washington, DC 20416, in the Eisenhower Conference Room, located on the 2nd floor, Side B.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this meeting, please contact Cheryl Clark in the Office of Veterans Business Development (OVBD) at (202) 205–6773.

### Matthew K. Becker,

Committee Management Officer. [FR Doc. 04–19499 Filed 8–25–04; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 8025–01–P

# OFFICE OF THE UNITED STATES TRADE REPRESENTATIVE

African Growth and Opportunity Act Implementation Subcommittee of the Trade Policy Staff Committee; Public Comments on Annual Review of Country Eligibility for Benefits Under the African Growth and Opportunity Act

**AGENCY:** Office of the United States Trade Representative.

**ACTION:** Notice and request for comments.

SUMMARY: The African Growth and Opportunity Act Implementation Subcommittee of the Trade Policy Staff Committee (the "Subcommittee") is requesting written public comments for the annual review of the eligibility of sub-Saharan African countries to receive the benefits of the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA). The Subcommittee will consider these comments in developing

recommendations on AGOA country eligibility for the President. Comments received related to the child labor criteria may also be considered by the Secretary of Labor for the preparation of the Department of Labor's report on child labor as required under section 412(c) of the Trade and Development Act of 2000. This notice identifies the eligibility criteria that must be considered under AGOA, and lists those sub-Saharan African countries that are currently eligible for AGOA and those that are currently ineligible for the AGOA.

**DATES:** Public comments are due at the Office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR) by noon, Friday, September 17, 2004.

ADDRESSES: Submission by electronic mail: FR0444@ustr.gov. Submissions by facsimile: Gloria Blue, Executive Secretary, Trade Policy Staff Committee, at (202) 395–6143. The public is strongly encouraged to submit documents electronically rather than by facsimile. See requirements for submissions below.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: For procedural questions, please contact Gloria Blue, Office of the United States Trade Representative, 600 17th Street, NW., Room F516, Washington, DC 20508, (202) 395–3475. All other questions should be directed to Constance Hamilton, Senior Director for African Affairs, Office of the United States Trade Representative, 600 17th Street, NW., Washington, DC 20508, (202) 395–9514.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The AGOA (Title I of the Trade and Development Act of 2000, Public Law 106–200) (19 U.S.C. 3721 et seq.), as amended, authorizes the President to designate sub-Saharan African countries as beneficiary sub-Saharan African countries eligible for duty-free tariff treatment for certain products under the Generalized System of Preferences (GSP) (Title V of the Trade Act of 1974 (19 U.S.C. 2461 et seq.) (the "1974 Act")), as well as for the preferential treatment the AGOA provides for certain textile and apparel articles.

The President may designate a country as a beneficiary sub-Saharan African country eligible for both the additional GSP benefits and the textile and apparel benefits of the AGOA (if the country also meets certain statutory requirements intended to prevent unlawful transshipment of such articles) if he determines that the country meets the eligibility criteria set forth in: (1) Section 104 of the AGOA; and (2) section 502 of the 1974 Act. For 2004, 37 countries have been designated as

beneficiary sub-Saharan African countries. These countries, as well as the 11 currently ineligible countries, are listed below. Section 506A of the 1974 Act provides that the President shall monitor, review, and report to Congress annually on the progress of each sub-Saharan African country in meeting the foregoing eligibility criteria in order to determine whether each beneficiary sub-Saharan African country should continue to be eligible, and whether each sub-Saharan African country that is currently not a beneficiary sub-Saharan African country should be designated as such a country. The President's determinations will be included in the annual report submitted to Congress as required by Section 106 of the AGOA. Section 506A of the 1974 Act requires that, if the President determines that a beneficiary sub-Saharan African country is not making continual progress in meeting the eligibility requirements, he must terminate the designation of the country as a beneficiary sub-Saharan African country.

The Subcommittee is seeking public comments in connection with the annual review of the eligibility of beneficiary sub-Saharan African countries for the AGOA's benefits. The Subcommittee will consider any such comments in developing recommendations on country eligibility for the President. Comments related to the child labor criteria may also be considered by the Secretary of Labor in making the findings required under section 504 of the 1974 Act.

## **Beneficiary Sub-Saharan African Countries**

The following have been designated as beneficiary sub-Saharan African countries for 2004:

Republic of Angola, Republic of Benin, Republic of Botswana, Republic of Cameroon, Republic of Cape Verde, Republic of Chad, Republic of the Congo, Republic of Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gabonese Republic, Republic of The Gambia, Republic of Ghana, Republic of Guinea, Republic of Guinea-Bissau, Republic of Kenya, Kingdom of Lesotho, Republic of Madagascar, Republic of Malawi, Republic of Mali, Islamic Republic of Mauritania, Republic of Mauritius, Republic of Mozambique, Republic of Namibia, Republic of Niger, Federal Republic of Nigeria, Republic of Rwanda, Democratic Republic of São Tomè and Principe, Republic of Senegal, Republic of Seychelles, Republic of Sierra Leone, Republic of South Africa, Kingdom of Swaziland,