for debris removal and emergency protective measures [Categories A and B] at 100 percent Federal funding of the total eligible costs for the first 72 hours.)

Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington Counties for Public Assistance [Categories C through G](already designated for Individual Assistance and for debris removal and emergency protective measures [Categories A and B] at 100 percent Federal funding of the total eligible costs for the first 72 hours.]

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 97.030, Community Disaster Loans; 97.031, Cora Brown Fund Program; 97.032, Crisis Counseling; 97.033, Disaster Legal Services Program; 97.034, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 97.046, Fire Management Assistance; 97.048, Individuals and Households Housing; 97.049, Individuals and Households Disaster Housing Operations; 97.050, Individuals and Households Program-Other Needs; 97.036, Public Assistance Grants; 97.039, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program)

## Michael D. Brown,

Under Secretary, Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security.

[FR Doc. 04–22076 Filed 9–30–04; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 9110–10–P

## DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

## Federal Emergency Management Agency

[FEMA-1554-DR]

# Georgia; Amendment No. 1 to Notice of a Major Disaster Declaration

**AGENCY:** Federal Emergency Management Agency, Emergency Preparedness and Response Directorate, Department of Homeland Security. **ACTION:** Notice.

**SUMMARY:** This notice amends the notice of a major disaster declaration for the State of Georgia (FEMA–1554–DR), dated September 18, 2004, and related determinations.

**EFFECTIVE DATE:** September 24, 2004. **FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:** Magda Ruiz, Recovery Division, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646–2705. **SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:** The notice of a major disaster declaration for the State of Georgia is hereby amended to include the following areas among those areas determined to have been adversely affected by the catastrophe declared a major disaster by the President in his declaration of September 18, 2004: The counties of Dade, Miller, and Pickens for Individual Assistance.

The counties of Banks, Dade, Elbert, Fannin, Forsyth, Habersham, Harris, Lumpkin, Miller, and Pickens for Public Assistance (Categories A through G.)

The counties of Carroll, Cherokee, Dawson, DeKalb, Early, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Madison, Rabun, Towns, Union, and White for Public Assistance [Categories C through G](already designated for assistance for debris removal and emergency protective measures [Categories A and B] under the Public Assistance Program, including direct Federal assistance, at 100 percent Federal funding of the total eligible costs for a period of up to 72 hours.)

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 97.030, Community Disaster Loans; 97.031, Cora Brown Fund Program; 97.032, Crisis Counseling; 97.033, Disaster Legal Services Program; 97.034, Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA); 97.046, Fire Management Assistance; 97.048, Individuals and Households Housing; 97.049, Individuals and Households Disaster Housing Operations; 97.050, Individuals and Households Program—Other Needs; 97.036, Public Assistance Grants; 97.039, Hazard Mitigation Grant Program)

### Michael D. Brown,

Under Secretary, Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security.

[FR Doc. 04–22067 Filed 9–30–04; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 9110–10–P

#### DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

## Federal Emergency Management Agency

[FEMA-1560-DR]

### Georgia; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

**AGENCY:** Federal Emergency Management Agency, Emergency Preparedness and Response Directorate, Department of Homeland Security. **ACTION:** Notice.

**SUMMARY:** This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major disaster for the State of Georgia (FEMA– 1560–DR), dated September 24, 2004, and related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: September 24, 2004.

**FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:** Magda Ruiz, Recovery Division, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, DC 20472, (202) 646–2705.

**SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:** Notice is hereby given that, in a letter dated September 24, 2004, the President declared a major disaster under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121–5206 (the Stafford Act), as follows:

I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State of Georgia resulting from Tropical Storm Frances beginning on September 3, 2004, and continuing, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 5121–5206 (the Stafford Act). Therefore, I declare that such a major disaster exists in the State of Georgia.

In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes such amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and administrative expenses.

You are authorized to provide Public Assistance in the designated areas; and Hazard Mitigation throughout the State, and any other forms of assistance under the Stafford Act you may deem appropriate. Consistent with the requirement that Federal assistance be supplemental, any Federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for Public Assistance and Hazard Mitigation will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs. If Other Needs Assistance under section 408 of the Stafford Act is later warranted, Federal funding under that program will also be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs.

Further, you are authorized to make changes to this declaration to the extent allowable under the Stafford Act.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice that pursuant to the authority vested in the Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security, under Executive Order 12148, as amended, James N. Russo, of FEMA is appointed to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this declared disaster.

I do hereby determine the following areas of the State of Georgia to have been affected adversely by this declared major disaster:

The counties of Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bibb, Brantley, Brooks, Butts, Candler, Charlton, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Crawford, Crisp, Decatur, Dodge, Dooly, Echols, Elbert, Evans, Glynn, Greene, Houston, Irwin, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Lamar, Laurens, Lowndes, Macon, Monroe, Montgomery, Peach, Pulaski, Putnam, Rabun, Schley, Spalding, Sumter, Talbot, Tattnall, Taylor, Telfair, Thomas, Tift, Turner, Twiggs, Upson, Washington, Wheeler, Wilkes, and Wilkinson for Public Assistance.

All counties within the State of Georgia are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

(The following Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Numbers (CFDA) are to be used for reporting and drawing funds: 97.030, Community Disaster Loans; 97.031, Cora Brown Fund Program; 97.032, Crisis Counseling; 97.033, Disaster Legal Services Program; 97.034, Disaster Unemployment