skip navigationLibrary of Congress >> A/V Conservation >> National Film Preservation Board
NFPB logo About the Board Members of the Board Preservation Research National Film Registry National Film Preservation Foundation Other Film Resources Moving Image Archives

National Film Preservation Board

Members of the National Film Preservation Board

The National Film Preservation Board (NFPB), authorized and established by the Family Entertainment and Copyright Act of 2005 (Public Law 109-9; 2 U.S.C. 179), serves as a public advisory group to the Librarian of Congress. The Board consists of 44 members and alternates representing the film industry, archives, scholars, filmmakers and others who comprise the diverse American motion picture community. As its primary mission, the Board works to ensure the survival, conservation and increased public availability of America's film heritage, including: advising the Librarian on the annual selection of films to the National Film Registry, and counseling the Librarian on ongoing development and implementation of the national film preservation plan.

(November 2007)

A. Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

  • Member: Arthur Dong
  • Alternate: Vacant

B. The Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers

  • Member: J. Nicholas Counter III
  • Alternate: Carol Lombardini

C. The American Film Institute

  • Member: John Ptak
  • Alternate: Jill Sackler

D. The American Society of Cinematographers and the International Photographers Guild

  • Member: Caleb Deschanel
  • Alternate: Richard Crudo

E. Association of Moving Image Archivists

  • Member: Dan Streible
  • Alternate: Pam Wintle

F. Directors Guild of America

  • Member: Martin Scorsese
  • Alternate: Curtis Hanson

G. The Motion Picture Association of America

  • Member: Dan Glickman
  • Alternate: Greg Frazier

H. The National Association of Theater Owners

  • Member: Ted Pedas
  • Alternate: Patrick Corcoran

I. National Society of Film Critics

  • Member: David Kehr
  • Alternate: Jay Carr

J. Department of Film and Television of the Tisch School of the Arts at New York University

  • Member: Robert Sklar
  • Alternate: Antonia Lant

K. Screen Actors Guild

  • Member: Valerie Yaros
  • Alternate: Melissa Gilbert

L. The Society for Cinema and Media Studies

  • Member: Matthew Bernstein
  • Alternate: Jennifer Horne

M. Society of Composers and Lyricists

  • Member: Alan Bergman
  • Alternate: Ray Colcord

N. The United States members of the International Federation of Film Archives

  • Member: Vacant
  • Alternate: Susan Oxtoby, Pacific Film Archive

O. The University Film and Video Association

  • Member: Ben Levin
  • Alternate: Betsy McLane

P. The Department of Film and Television of the School of Theater, Film and Television at the University of California, Los Angeles

  • Member: Bob Rosen
  • Alternate: Teshome Gabriel

Q. The Writers Guild of America

  • EAST
    Member: Richard Wesley
  • West
    Alternate: Del Reisman

R. At-Large

  • Member: Roger Mayer
  • Alternate: Patrick Loughney


  • Member: Gregory Nava
  • Alternate: Raye Farr


  • Member: Alfre Woodard
  • Alternate: Dwight Swanson


  • Member: Fay Kanin, NFPB Chair
  • Alternate: Edward James Olmos


  • Member: Leonard Maltin
  • Alternate: Jacqueline Stewart

Pro Bono Counsel:

  • Eric Schwartz, Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp LLP

>> Top of page

Library of Congress >> A/V Conservation >> National Film Preservation Board
( August 28, 2008 )