Concordance of Images
Copies of the images from Music, Theater, Dance: An Illustrated Guide may be ordered from the Library of Congress Photoduplication Service (see Price List for Photographic Products). The images are listed below in the order in which they appear in the guide.
Introduction
Geraldine Farrar. Portrait by Friedrich August von Kaulbach.
Special Collections of the Music Collection
Ludwig van Beethoven. Sonata für Hammerklavier ... [Sonata in E-major, Op. 109].
Benjamin Britten and Montagu Slater. Peter Grimes, Op. 33. Section from Interlude IV: Pasacaglia.
George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, and DuBose Heyward. Introduction to Porgy and Bess.
George Gershwin. Self-portrait.
Irving Berlin. Typescript draft for the lyric Anything You Can Do from Annie Get Your Gun.
Portrait bust of Anton von Webern by Joseph Humplik, with a group of Webern autographs, letters and documents bequeathed to the Library by Hans Moldenhauer and Mrs. Coolidge.
John Philip Sousa. The Washington Post.
Foundations for Music
Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge.
Gertrude Clarke Whittall. Painted minature by Laura Hills.
Johann Sebastin Bach. Festo visitationis Mariae: Meine Seel erhebt den Herren (1724)
Sergei Prokofiev. String Quartet, Op. 50.
Béla Bartók. Concerto for Orchestra.
Public Events and Publications
The Julliard String Quartet, Quartet in Residence at the Library of Congress, with the Library's Stradivarius stringed instruments on the stage of the Coolidge Auditorium.
Sound recordings issued by the Music Division.
The Music of Americans
George M. Cohan, William Jerome, and Jean Schwartz. Take Your Girl to the Ball Game.
Harrigan and Hart's Day Parade Songster.
The National Negro Opera Company performing Robert Nathaniel Dett's The Ordering of Moses at Griffith Stadium, Washington, D.C., on July 28, 1950.
Charles Shackford, music and lyrics. Asleep at the Switch.
Jewish Songs for Violin: Containing the Most Popular and Classical Jewish Selections.
Bert A. Williams, music and Alex Rogers, lyrics. Let It Alone.
Abyssinia, with music by Will Marion Cook and lyrics by Alex Roger.
Naestsan Biyin: Song of the Earth.
J.P. Webster, music and Rev. H.D.L. Webster, lyrics. Lorena.
Duke Ellington performing at the Hurricane Club in New York.
The Theater
Frank Wedekind. Stock lithograph poster for the Ibsen Theater, Vienna, early June 1898, with autograph manuscript of the first draft to the prologue to the drama Erdgeist on verso.
Water color and ink costume design by Lucinda Ballard for the 1946 revival of Jerome Kern and Oscar Hammerstein II's Show Boat.
Ladies of the Opera. From the lower left-hand corner, clockwise: Amelita Galli-Curci, Rise Stevens, Lily Pons, Rosa Ponselle, Inge Borkh. In the center: Frances Alda.
Richard Rodgers (seated at piano) and Oscar Hammerstein II.
The War of Wealth: Run on the Bank. Theater Poster.
Invitation to the Dance
Léon Bakst. Costume design for the ballet Sleeping Princess.
Gwen Verdon. In 1956, Miss Verdon won the Tony Award for "Best Actress in a Musical" for her portrayal of Lola in Damn Yankees.
Franziska Boas and unidentified dancer in her Dance Drama.
Isadora Duncan. This photograph is from a series of studies made by Arnold Genthe during 1915-1918, while Duncan was on tour in the United States.
Bob Fosse directing Liza Minelli in the filming of Cabaret.
The Collections of Musical Instruments
Viola d'Amore, mid eighteenth century; and Viola da Gamba, early eighteenth century.
Curator of Musical Instruments, Robert Sheldon, with one of seventeen early nineteenth-century crystal flutes by Claude Laurent, Paris, in the Dayton C. Miller Collection.
Professor Dayton C. Miller in his home studio, Cleveland, Ohio, ca. 1935, with examples from his wind instrument collection given to the Music Division in 1941.
Three violins from a collection of seven Cremonese stringed instruments in the Music Division.
W.A. Mozart. Gran Partita, K.361/270a, autograph full orchestra score; and period instruments.
Service to the Public and to the Collections
Mary Wooten in the Library's Conservation Office treating the autograph manuscript of Arnold Schoenberg's Pierrot Lunaire and a page from the manuscript showing a hinged paste-over which has been removed in conservation and replaced so that its original location and the underlying material can be examined.
Research in the Performing Arts Reading Room.
Joel Sorenson and Linda Fairtile arranging collections in the Acquisitions and Processing Section of the Music Division.
List of Special Collections
Arnold Schoenberg, 1936.
Library of CongressAsk a Librarian (April 29, 2002)