Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

IOWA COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Heather L. Eastman
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: December 1995; Web Revision: December 2005
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 17
ISSN 0736-4903

AFS 3155-3313: Sidney Robertson Cowell and Charles Seeger / Resettlement Administration and the 1937 National Folk Festival
One hundred and fifty-nine 12-inch discs of instrumentals and songs recorded in Arkansas, Florida, Kentucky, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Tennessee, West Virginia, and Wisconsin by Sidney Robertson Cowell, Charles Seeger, Margaret Valiant, and others for the Resettlement Administration, 1936-37.

AFS 3276-3277: Two discs containing 17 tunes played on hammered dulcimer by Thomas Mann, recorded in Ortonville, Iowa, July 1937. (24 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 216B). Seven of the tunes have been published by the Library of Congress on recording number AFS L9, Play and Dance Songs and Tunes. Portions of seven of the tunes, plus three repetitions, are also contained on AFS 3820. (11 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 248B)

AFS 6994-7013; 7068-7082; 7738-7753: Marcus Bach and Addison Alspach Iowa Recordings
Forty-nine 12-inch discs and 2 16-inch discs of primarily African American, Amish, Associate Presbyterian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, German, Mennonite, Mormon, Norwegian, Swedish, Trappist monk, and Welsh religious songs, with interviews. Recorded at various locations in Iowa by Addison Alspach and Marcus Bach, March 10, 1943-November 1944. (7 hours and 46 minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 439B-440 and LWO 5111 reels 1A; 6-7A; 62B-63)

AFS 12,359-12,361: Robert Beach Fiddle Tunes
Three 7-inch tapes of 87 tunes played on fiddle by Robert P. Beach, originally of Lenox, Iowa, accompanied by Iolene Beach, Joseph Winn, and others. Recorded in Springfield, Virginia, by Joseph C. Hickerson, March 26, 1966. The collection includes a 3-page list of Mr. Beach's repertoire and a text of "The Irish Jubilee." (3 hours; LWO 4820)

AFS 12,575-12,596: Harry Oster / Louisiana, Mississippi, Iowa Recordings
Twenty-two 7-inch tapes of dances, festivals, instrumentals, religious services, songs, and stories recorded in Iowa, Louisiana, and Mississippi by Harry Oster, March 11, 1957-November 12, 1966. The collection includes 12 pages of lists.

AFS 12,587-12,588: Two tapes containing 7 rhymes, 49 songs, and 2 stories recited and sung by Laura Browne originally from southern Iowa. Recorded in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, May 28, 1965. (1 hour; LWO 5059 reels 13-14)

AFS 12,590-12,591: Two tapes containing German-language dances, instrumentals, songs, and stories recorded at the Amana Oktoberfest, Homestead, Iowa, November 12, 1966. (45 minutes; LWO 5059 reels 16-17)

AFS 12,596: One tape containing 9 tunes played on hammered dulcimer by Truman Fass, 2 glockenspiel tunes, and an interview. Recorded in North English, Iowa, June 24, 1966. (30 minutes; LWO 5059 reel 22)

AFS 15,053-15,074: Peter R. Hoover Collection
Twenty-two 10-inch tapes of primarily instrumental music recorded in Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia by Peter R. Hoover, 1959-67.

AFS 15,056A-B10, 15-21: One tape containing 48 tunes played on fiddle by Robert P. Beach, originally of Lenox, Iowa, accompanied by Iolene Beach, Carolyn Hester, Howard Mitchell, Joseph Winn, and others. Recorded at a square dance in Chevy Chase, Maryland, and in Springfield, Virginia, May 14, 1960. (1 hour and 45 minutes; LWO 6880 reel 4)

AFS 16,984-16,994: Chris Delaney / Fiddle Music
Eleven 10-inch tapes of primarily tunes played on fiddle. Recorded in Arkansas, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and West Virginia by Chris Delaney, 1973.

AFS 16,988A19-22: One tape containing 4 tunes played on fiddle by Frosty Lamb of Bloomfield, Iowa, recorded in Ludlow, Missouri, 1973. (9 minutes; LWO 7632 reel 5A)

AFS 17,508-17,509: National Folk Festival, 1954
Two 10-inch tapes of the 20th National Folk Festival, including dances, instrumentals, and songs from Anglo, Cuban, German, Hungarian, Jewish, Mexican, Native, and Philippine-American traditions. Recorded by the Voice of America in St. Louis, Missouri, April 8, 1954.

AFS 17,508A1-2: One tape containing 2 dances by the Mesquite Indians from Waterloo, Iowa. (7 minutes; LWO 7411 reel 18A)

AFS 17,508A3: One tape containing a discussion of 3 English dances by students from Central High School, Fort Madison, Iowa. (2 minutes; LWO 7411 reel 18A)

AFS 17,508B19: One tape containing a square dance by the Western Dancers from Fort Madison, Iowa. (4 minutes; LWO 7411 reel 18B)

AFS 17,541-17,567: Art Rosenbaum Duplication Project
Twenty-seven 10-inch tapes of blues, country, fiddle, gospel, and other music recorded in Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, and Scotland primarily by Art Rosenbaum, June 4, 1958-September 19, 1971.

AFS 17,541B1-7, 10-12: One tape containing 10 tunes played on fiddle by Dwight Lamb of Onawa, Iowa, accompanied on guitar by Elvin Campbell. Recorded in Iowa City, Iowa, by Art Rosenbaum, 1971. (29 minutes; LWO 8487 reel 1B)

AFS 17,541B8-9: One tape containing 2 Danish tunes played on accordion by Dwight Lamb of Onawa, Iowa. Recorded in Iowa City, Iowa, by Art Rosenbaum, 1971. (3 minutes; LWO 8487 reel 1B)

AFS 17,542: One tape containing 16 tunes, with interview, played on fiddle by H. E. "Pappy" Wells. Recorded in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, by Art Rosenbaum, September 19, 1971. (1 hour; LWO 8487 reel 2)

AFS 17,543A: One tape containing 14 songs sung by the Silver Light Gospel Singers from Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Recorded in Iowa City, Iowa, by Art Rosenbaum, May 6, 1971. (1 hour; LWO 8487 reel 3A)

AFS 17,549A: One tape containing 4 fife and drum tunes with an interview, medicine show singers, steam calliope tunes, and steam engine sounds. Recorded at the Old Thresher's Reunion, Mount Pleasant, Iowa, by Art Rosenbaum, 1971. (30 minutes; LWO 8487 reel 9A)

AFS 18,940-18,942: Art Rosenbaum / Fiddle Music from Iowa
Three 10-inch tapes of fiddle and string band music recorded at the Old Settler's fiddle contest at the Old Thresher's Reunion, and at a blues music workshop. Recorded primarily in Mount Pleasant, Iowa, by Art Rosenbaum, 1970-72.

AFS 18,940: One tape containing 3 tunes by Bill Hamilton of Winfield, Iowa; 3 tunes by Joe Johnson of Des Moines, Iowa; 3 tunes by John Kasper of Iowa City, Iowa; 3 fiddle tunes by Clarence Perdue of Iowa; 3 tunes by Ila Walker of Donnelson, Iowa; and 14 tunes by various artist from outside of Iowa. Recorded at the Old Thresher's Reunion, Mount Pleasant, Iowa, September 14, 1971. (1 hour and 30 minutes; LWO 9384 reel 1)

AFS 18,941: One tape containing 11 tunes by various fiddlers from Iowa and 24 tunes by fiddlers from outside Iowa. Recorded at the Old Thresher's Reunion, Mount Pleasant, Iowa, August 5, 1970. (2 hours; LWO 9384 reel 2)

AFS 18,964-18,969: Miriam Maxwell Family Oral History
Six 10-inch tapes from the personal collection of Miriam Maxwell, compiled during the 1960s, mostly in California. Includes young people singing and talking about Civil Rights, War in Vietnam, Peace Corps experience in Ghana, an interview with Prince Modupa and Maxwell's collection of family folklore and oral history, especially: reminiscences of domestic service in Edwardian England, homesteading in British Columbia, living on a farm in Iowa, and a repertory of sentimental and humorous songs and stories from Iowa and South Dakota. The collection includes 1/4-inch of notes. (LWO 9379)

AFS 19,341: Howard W. Marshall / Old-Time Fiddle Recordings
One 10-inch tape of fiddle tunes recorded in Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Oklahoma by Jake Hughes, in or before 1965. (LWO 12,302)

AFS 19,341A8-10: One tape containing 3 tunes played on fiddle by Frosty Lamb of Bloomfield, Iowa. (7 minutes)

AFS 19,341A14-17: One tape containing 4 tunes played on fiddle by Casey Jones of Ottumwa, Iowa. (8 minutes)

AFS 19,341A25-28: One tape containing 4 tunes played on fiddle by Dwight Lamb of Onawa, Iowa. (5 minutes)

AFS 19,341B1-4: One tape containing 4 tunes played on fiddle by Kirk Brandenberger of Keokuk, Iowa. (7 minutes)

AFS 19,341B5-9: One tape containing 5 tunes played on fiddle by Ernest Brandenberger of Keokuk, Iowa. (8 minutes)

AFS 19,961-19,974: Iowa Folk Festival, 1976
Fourteen 10-inch tapes of primarily accordion, banjo, fiddle, gospel, guitar, and vocal music, as well as interviews and storytelling. Recorded in various locations in Iowa by Art Rosenbaum, at and prior to the Iowa Folk Festival, July 3-5, 1976. (28 hours; LWO 15,795 reels 1-14)

AFS 20,508-20,513; 20,520: Truman Michelson Collection of Fox, Sauk, Kickapoo, Shawnee, Piegan and Cheyenne Indian Music on Cylinders
Seven 10-inch tapes of linguistic material and songs of the Fox (Mesquakie) Indians. Originally recorded on cylinders in Tama, Iowa, by Truman Michelson, July 1912, for the Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution, and transferred from the National Archives in 1948. (5 hours; LWO 12,980 reels 119-124, 131)

AFS 22,604: John Taylor / Tom Carns Duck Calling Collection
One cassette of duck calls and an interview with Tom Carns. Recorded in Burlington, Iowa, by John Taylor, November 7, 1983. (11 minutes; RYA 2765)

AFS 23,185-23,203: Ernest C. Oberholtzer / Ojibwa Collection
Five 5-inch tapes and 14 7-inch tapes of Ojibwa legends and songs, with interviews, recorded in Mine Center, Ontario, and oral history interviews recorded in Davenport, Iowa, by Ernest C. Oberholtzer, 1948-51.

AFS 23,197-23,201: Five 5-inch tapes containing interviews about Davenport, Iowa, with Grace and Lily Parkhurst. Recorded in Davenport, Iowa, April-May 6, 1951. (4 hours and 45 minutes; RXA 4495-99; tape copy on RWA 8529B-8531A)

AFS 24,091-24,110: KUNI Radio / 1981 Westfair Old-Time Country Music Contest Collection
Twenty 10-inch tapes of primarily banjo, dobro, fiddle, guitar, harmonica, and vocal music recorded at the Sixth Annual Westfair Old-Time Country Music Contest and Pioneer Exposition, Council Bluffs, Iowa, by Philip Nusbaum and others, September 4-6, 1981. Recorded for public radio station KUNI-FM, University of Northern Iowa. (28 hours; RWB 1751-1770)

AFC 1971/001: Eleanor Jean Bonar Collection of Songs from Iowa and Kentucky
Four linear inches of manuscripts and typescripts of song texts, with some tunes, as well as newspaper clippings containing song texts. Collected primarily in Iowa and Kentucky by Eleanor Jean Bonar. Donated by Bonar, 1971.

AFC 1986/022: Center for Applied Linguistics / American English Dialect Recordings Collection
Fifty-nine 10-inch tapes of public speeches and other dialect samples recorded at various locations in North America by various collectors and compiled by the Center for Applied Linguistics for "A Survey and Collection of American English Dialect Recordings." The collection includes 14 linear inches of documentation and transcripts.

AFS 24,331A4: One tape containing speech samples of John L. Lewis, originally from Iowa, submitted by Maurice Crane of the Voice Library at Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan. Recorded in West Virginia at a National Mine Worker's Union address. (13 minutes; RWB 3880A)

AFC 1993/001: Ethnic Heritage and Language Schools in America Project Collection
Twenty-four 5-inch tapes, 60 7-inch tapes, and 288 cassettes from the Ethnic Heritage and Language Schools in America Project, a survey of 23 ethnic schools from 22 ethnic groups. Recorded at various locations throughout the United States by Elena Bradunas and 23 fieldworkers, April-July 1982, sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The collection includes 14 linear feet of slides, photographs, and reports.

Box 5: Five linear inches of manuscripts containing curriculum materials, final reports, and slide and photo logs from the Czechoslovakian School fieldwork. Collected by Jana Fast in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, April-July 1982. The Czech School is one of fourteen schools profiled in the American Folklife Center's book, Ethnic Heritage and Language Schools in America, Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1988, pages 316-36 (LC3802.E74 1987).

Box 6: Five linear inches of manuscripts containing curriculum materials, enlargements, final reports, news clippings, publications, and slide and photo logs from the Dutch School fieldwork. Collected by Phil Webber in Pella, Iowa, April-July 1982.

Bound Thesis Collection

Peterson, Harold Daniel. "A Syllabus of the Ballad Collection of Edwin Ford Piper." Iowa City: State University of Iowa, 1934. M. A. thesis in English. 170 pages. An alphabetical listing of broadsides and song manuscripts included in Piper's private manuscript collection, primarily from Iowa and Nebraska. Entries include plot summaries.

Microfilm Collections

Bonar, Eleanor Jean. "A Collection of Ballads and Popular Songs, Iowa and Appalachian." Iowa City: State University of Iowa, 1930. M. A. thesis in English. 224 pages. Contains musical and textual transcriptions for 104 songs, 76 of which are from Iowa. (MUSIC 807)

Swan, Clara Le Grande. "A Collection of Ballads and Folk Songs from Morning Sun, Iowa." Iowa City: State University of Iowa, 1929. M. A. thesis in English. 180 pages. Contains texts of 98 songs with introduction and annotations.