A Guide to the Microform Collections: O

O.S.S. London, Special Operations Branch and Secret Intelligence Branch, war diaries. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1985. -- 8 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/209

During World War II the U.S. Office of Strategic Services, the forerunner of the CIA, operated in London to gather intelligence on the German war effort and to conduct operations in support of the Allies. The Secret Intelligence Branch was responsible for collecting and analyzing strategic information required by the Joint Chiefs of Staff, while the Special Operations Branch conducted sabotage operations and supported resistance groups. This collection consists of documents, including chronologies, organizational descriptions, reports of operations, glossaries of code names, training materials, and directives; it provides insight into the objectives and activities of the O.S.S. during 1944 and 1945.

LCCN: 86-893441

GUIDE: 105-103, OSS/London: Special Operations Branch and Secret Intelligence Branch War Diaries. Includes detailed reel and subject indexes.

1. World War, 1939-1945. 2. Intelligence service--United States.

Occupation of Japan. -- Bethesda, MD, USA : Congressional Information Service ; Tokyo, Japan : Maruzen Pub. Co, c1987-[1991 ]. -- [1945] microfiches : negative.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 89/9022

A collection of previously unpublished English language documents from U.S. government agencies and officials covering the period from U.S. wartime preparations for occupation of Japan through negotiation of the official peace treaty in 1951. Many of the documents are minutes of important meetings of organizations. The units available include: (1) U.S. Planning Documents, 1942-1945; (2) U.S. and Allied Policy, 1945-1952; (3) Reform, Recovery and Peace, 1942-1952.

LCCN: 89-955801

GUIDE: DS889.16 .I56 1987 (Pt. 1-2), The Occupation of Japan. U.S. Planning Documents 1942-45. Includes a bibliography of documents (title, date, collation, document or meeting number, subject descriptors); an index by subjects and names; index by document and meeting numbers; chronological list of documents.

1. World War, 1939-1945--Japan--Sources--Indexes. 2. Japan--History--Allied occupation, 1945-1952--Sources--Indexes.

Occupation of Japan : economic reform, 1945-1952 / editorial adviser, Ryoichi Miwa. [Bethesda, MD] : Congressional Information Service ; [Tokyo, Japan] : Maruzen Co., [c1994-1995] 1171 microfiches : negative..

LC Call Number: Microfiche 96/156

Comprises selected documents produced by the Supreme Commander for Allied Powers (SCAP) in Japan and other U.S. government agencies on Japanese industry, agriculture, natural resources, trade, development, scientific research, and education during the seven year period. Part one, "Deconcentration and Modernization of Economic Power," contains office files taken from SCAP's Economic and Scientific Section (ESS). Part two, "Land Reform and Japan's Place in the Postwar World Economy," has six sections organized by the producers of the documents. These documents are part of Record Group 331 held at the Washington National Records Center in Suitland, Maryland.

LCCN: 96627074

GUIDE: Z7165.J3 O29 1994. Lists documents by subjects and names, titles, date of publication and document number. There are separate indexes for parts one and two.

1. Japan--Economic policy--1945-1989--Bibliography.

Official gazette of the United States Patent Office. -- Washington, D.C : U.S. G.P.O, 1872-1971. -- 882 v.; microfilm. Ann Arbor, Michigan : University Microfilms, 197-? : microfilm reels ; 16 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 90/6353

Contains brief advance descriptions and simple drawings of the patents, trademarks, designs, and labels issued each week by the Patent Office. It also includes decisions of the Commissioner of Patents and of the U.S. courts in patent cases, as well as alphabetical lists of inventions, reissues, extensions, and disclaimers. Depending on the type of item, the alphabetical lists usually include name, residence, drawing/specification number, and volume and page location of the item in the Gazette. The year 1971 is not included in this microform edition. The Library of Congress also has paper issues of the Gazette from 1872 to the present.

GUIDE: Not in LC. The best way to request items from this collection is by year or month/year.

1. Patents--United States--Periodicals.

Official publications in the British Library Reference Division. -- [London : The Library, 1976]. -- 13 microfilm reels ; 16 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 69003

Consists of temporary catalog cards, arranged by corporate author, for official (government) publications from Great Britain, its Colonial Office, the Commonwealth, and former Commonwealth countries; the U.S. (including Liberia and the Philippines); Japan; Spanish-, Portuguese-, and French-speaking countries; German, Dutch, and Scandinavian language areas; and international organizations, held in the collection of the British Library Reference Division. The collection includes both monographs and serials from the late 19th century through the mid-1970s. The last reel consists of serial titles, reproduced from the library's visible file labels. Reproductions of both cards and visible file labels are sometimes difficult to read.

LCCN: 84-119015

GUIDE: 18, [Official Publications in the British Library Reference Division]. Lists countries for which publications are cataloged, and indicates where they fall in filing sequence.

1. Government publications--Great Britain--Catalogs.

Oil and the energy crisis : the federal investigations, 1974-1976 supplement -- Washington, D.C. : University Publications of America, 1979. -- 7 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/177

Reproduces hearings and reports of the House and Senate Committees and Subcommittees dealing with energy resources and prices, conservation, and U.S. foreign energy policy. It also includes some reports of the Department of the Interior, the Congressional Office of Technology Assessment, and the Congressional Research Service. The items are dated from 1974 through 1978 and vary widely in length.

LCCN: 88-893876

GUIDE: 105-118, A Guide to Oil and the Energy Crisis: the Federal Investigations, 1974-76.

1. Energy policy--United States. 2. United States--Foreign relations. 3. Petroleum industry and trade--Middle East.

Oil and the energy crisis : the federal investigations, 1977-78, supplement. Washington, D.C. : University Publications of America, 1979. -- 6 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/175

Reproduces reports of the Department of the Interior (U.S. Geological Survey), the Department of Commerce (Bureau of International Commerce), the Federal Trade Commission, the Central Intelligence Agency, the Office of Technology Assessment, the General Accounting Office, the Department of Defense, and the Department of Energy, as well as reports and hearings of interested Senate and House Committees and Subcommittees. The items are dated from 1975 through 1978 and focus on various aspects of U.S. domestic and foreign energy policy (petroleum and natural gas). The reports vary greatly in length (from 18 to 1,200 pages), but there are only about fifty items in all.

LCCN: 88-893874

GUIDE: 105-119, A Guide to Oil and the Energy Crisis: the Federal Investigations, 1976-78.

1. Energy policy--United States. 2. United States--Foreign relations. 3. Petroleum industry and trade--Middle East.

Oil and the energy crisis : the federal investigations, 1978-1980 : supplement. --Washington, D.C. : University Publications of America, 1982. -- 6 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/176

Reproduces 46 reports of various government bodies (in particular the Energy Information Administration of the Department of Energy, the General Accounting Office, and the Office of Technology Assessment), as well as of several universities and private corporations. The reports deal primarily with U.S. domestic energy policy (conservation, exploration, alternative energy sources) and likely future trends for the international energy market. The reports are dated from 1978 to 1980 and vary in length from 9 to 427 pages.

LCCN: 88-893875

GUIDE: 105-120, A Guide to Oil and the Energy Crisis: the Federal Investigations, 1978-80. Supplement. Describes each item in considerable detail, and also contains a subject index.

1. Energy policy--United States. 2. United States--Foreign relations. 3. Petroleum industry and trade--Middle East.

De ondergrondse pers, 1940-1945 = Dutch underground press, 1940-1945. -- Zug, Switzerland : Inter Documentation Co., 1987? -- 1830 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 87/963

Reprints over 1,800 items, representing the entire Dutch underground press published during the Nazi World War II occupation. The underground press movement began with a one-page handwritten sheet on the day the Netherlands surrendered to Germany, growing to well over 400 news bulletins and opinion pages by the end of 1944. The work of the writers, editors, publishers, and circulators of these publications was extremely dangerous and logistically very difficult. It was undertaken by persons from all segments of Dutch society, including high school students, college students, Indonesian students, even a deserter from the German army. Virtually all of the material is in Dutch.

LCCN: 87-893486

GUIDE: 172, The Dutch Underground Press, 1940-1945. Part I, II, III, IV. Original call number for guide (in LC general bookstacks), D799.N4W5 (see LCCN: 57-44855).

1. Netherlands--History--German occupation, 1940-1945--Sources. 2. World War, 1939-1945--Underground movements--Netherlands--Sources. 3. Underground literature--Netherlands.

Oneida community : books, pamphlets, and serials, 1834-1972/ Jack T. Ericson, editor. -- Glen Rock, N.J. : Microfilming Corporation of America, 1973. -- [4] microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 60282

Consists of 69 books and pamphlets by and about the Oneida Community, published between 1848 and 1972; and approximately ten serials, 1834-1879, filmed from holdings of the George Arents Research Library, Syracuse University, and from holdings in several private collections.

The community was founded by John Humphrey Noyes in 1847 in western New York State. Based on a "Perfectionist" philosophy that was an offshoot of Wesleyan Methodism, it is perhaps best known for its advocacy of "free love" (sexual love and birth control outside of marriage), and "complex marriage," including communal living and child care. The Oneida Community was successful at several manufacturing ventures which its members commonly owned. The membership numbered about 300 at its height, and enjoyed support from the local towns and farms. The community pioneered not only new marital and family relations but also, in its manufactures, progressive labor policies (worker night schools, piece-work, and the eight-hour day).

LCCN: 84-249024

GUIDE: 118, Oneida Community: Books, Pamphlets and Serials, 1834-1972. Contains a 20-page essay by Constance Noyes Robertson on the community's history, and a reel listing of the books and pamphlets (reels 1-4) and serials (reels 5-15).

1. Oneida community--History. 2. Utopian socialism--United States.

The Opie collection of children's literature. -- [Ann Arbor, Mich.] : UMI, c1990-. --[161] microfiches : ill.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 93/23

Chiefly British children's books, from the earliest period to the present, collected by Iona and Peter Opie, and housed in the Bodleian Library of Oxford University. Title in header: The Opie collection.

LCCN: 93-630175

GUIDE: Z1037.O74 1990, The Opie Collection of Children's Literature: A Guide to the Micorfiche Collection.

1. Children's literature, English. 2. Children's literature.

Oral histories of the Johnson administration, 1963-1969 / Robert E. Lester, editor. -- Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, 1987. -- [763] microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

Contents: Part 1, The White House and executive departments; Part 2, The Congress, the Judiciary, public figures, and private individuals.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 88/201

Consists of approximately 700 of the 1,500 oral history transcripts about the Johnson administration. Parts one and two contain the "open" or nonrestricted oral histories. Fiche are arranged alphabetically by interviewee's last name. Filmed from holdings of Lyndon Baines Johnson Library.

LCCN: 87-10482

GUIDE: 105-139, Oral History of the Johnson Administration, 1963-1969. Part I--the White House and Executive Departments, part one only. No guide located for part two.

1. United States--Politics and government--1963-1969--Sources. 2. United States--Officials and employees--Interviews.

Oregon regional union list of serials / project director, Daphne Hoffman ; editor, William S. Abrams. Portland, Or. : Portland State University, 1976. 62 microfiches.

A 1976 union list of serials held in 50 libraries in Oregon and neighboring states. The arrangement is alphabetical by title or other main entry. Cross references are provided when needed. Holdings are given as provided by participating libraries.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 95/4592

LCCN: 76027121

GUIDE: 411, Oregon Regional Union List of Serials. Describes the scope and arrangement of the list, and lists participating libraries.

1. Periodicals--Bibliography--Union lists. 2. Catalogs, Union--Oregon. 3. Catalogs, Union--Northwest, Pacific.

The Oriental question, 1840-1900 : files from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle. -- Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, 1989. -- 38 microfilm reels ; 35mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 89/2236

A rich series of documents comprising the "Oriental Question" or the "Eastern Question, regarding Europe and Great Britain's relations with Turkey and the Middle East."

The material is handwritten and some is difficult to read. In cases where small documents were mounted together by the Royal Archives and appear in the same frame the documents will have the same frame number. At the beginning of each filmed volume there is a table of contents and for the first 51 volumes (through June 1858), there is also a summary.

Covered are the Mehemet Ali crisis of 1840-41 and the Crimean War and its aftermath, comprising 49 folio volumes of naval and military material, and letters from Cabinet ministers, British ambassadors, foreign princes and statesmen. There is also material pertaining to the French Intervention in Lebanon, Serbian fortresses and Cretan revolts, the Suez question, and the repudiation of the Black Sea Clauses.

There is considerable material concerning the Near Eastern Crisis of 1876-1878 and 1885-1887.

LCCN: 89-892236

GUIDE: 105-219, A Guide to The Oriental Question, 1840-1900: Files from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle. Lists the volumes, dates and contents of each reel. The user should request material by collection number and reel number.

1. Eastern question. 2. Great Britain--Foreign relations--1837-1901. 3. Great Britain--Politics and government--1837-1901. 4. Great Britain--Foreign relations-- Middle East. 5. Middle East--Foreign relations--Great Britain.

Osterreichisches Staatsarchiv. See: Microfilm projekt....