A Guide to the Microform Collections: G

Gedrukte werken tot 1801 : microfiche-catalogus / Bibliotheek, Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam. -- Amsterdam : Vrije Universiteit, Bibliotheek, Afd. Handschriften, Oude Drukken, en Moderne Rariora, [1991]. -- 22 microfiches ; negative.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 94/2128

Alphabetical and chronological catalogs of rare books in Dutch, French, Latin, English, and other European languages.

GUIDE: 336, Gedrukte Werken tot 1801.

LCCN: 93-630208

1. Vrije Universiteit te Amsterdam. Bibliotheek--Catalogs. 2.Rare books--Europe--Bibliography--Catalogs. 3. Library catalogs on microfiche.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 90/7064

This collection, also known as United States microfiche reference collection contains the full text of approximately 100 reference sources frequently used by researchers at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. The works cover a wide range of reference sources useful in genealogical research, such as directories, gazetteers, military records, vital records, census records, genealogical handbooks and manuals, postal and shipping guides, and guides to records in libraries and archives.

LCCN: 90-956098

GUIDE: 267, United States Microfiche Reference Collection, Part I is arranged by country with Canadian provinces and U.S. states listed in alphabetical order after the general country category.
Request individual titles by number listed in guide. Numbering system varies; sometimes a title with multiple fiche is given one number and other times each fiche covering one title is given a separate number. The guide will reflect which numbers to use.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 1018

This project is a long-term program to film American genealogies, genealogical serials, printed primary source material, and local history. The current micropublisher is University Microfilms International.

LCCN: 92-640694

GUIDE: Z5313.U5 G46 1982 LH&G Desk, with supplements, Genealogy and Local History; Guide. The printed guide contains the following indexes: Genealogy, Genealogical Serials, Local History, Primary Sources, Authors, Titles, names, Geographic Index. Cross-references to the fiches appear on catalog cards in the Local History and Genealogy Reading Room.

1. Genealogical literature--United States.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 4498

Genealogical information collected by Frank Willing Leach of Philadelphia for thirty years, beginning in 1885. The information has gaps due to the enormity of the undertaking. Nevertheless, Leach began at a time when a large number of the signers' grandchildren were still living, and he acquired data directly from them. He traced descendants as far away as Japan and China. The descendants' records are more nearly complete than those of the signers' ancestors. The manuscripts are now in the possession of the Filson Club in Louisville, Kentucky. Copies are held by the Descendants of the Signers of the Declaration of Independence, Sons of the American Revolution, and the Library of Congress.
Reels are arranged by states which the signers represented.

LCCN: 84-130885

GUIDE: 9, [Index to the Collection of Genealogy Material of the National Society, Daughters of Founders and Patriots of America]. Includes name index to volumes and reels.

1. United States. Declaration of Independence--Signers-- Genealogy.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 90/8112

Filmed from the magazine index of the California State Library, the entries are derived from a narrowly defined list of magazine titles, excluding government publications, law journals, and newspapers. The periodical titles are those published in California only. Divided into four parts the collection contains an alphabetical list of magazine titles, subject index, geographic index, and index by date of the holdings. Individual entries give the magazine title, date of holdings, publication place, provenance of title, and subject of title relating to California.

LCCN: 90-956537

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. California--Periodicals--Indexes.

LC Call Number: Microfiche (w) 98/13

A documented photo-archival collection on microfiche with 47,000 photographs for the study of early and late medieval Christian architectural arts of Georgia and its historical area of settlement. This collections is arranged geographically by region and within this, alphabetically by site and then monument. An index of this arrangement is available both at the beginning of each notebook of fiche as a Table of Contents as well as on the first fiche of each volume. Each monument discussion begins with an English-language description including bibliographic references and information on the location of the site. Following this are plans, elevations, sections, and in some cases perspectives or isometric drawings. Next are the actual photographs using the following scheme: exterior views, facades, sections of facades, exterior details, interior views, and finally, interior details.

Volumes are arranged by region. See page 34 of the guide to determine which volume to request. A notebook volume of fiche will be delivered, from which one can choose individual fiche using the Table of Contents at the front of the notebook.

LCCN: 97172651

GUIDE: 457, Georgian Architecture: Introductory Guide.

1. Church architecture--Georgia (Republic)--Pictorial works. 2. Architecture, Early Christian--Georgia (Republic)--Pictorial works. 3. Architecture, Byzantine--Georgia (Republic)--Pictorial works. 4. Architecture, Medieval--Georgia (Republic)--Pictorial works.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 5533

Consists of typewritten sheets representing genealogical information about the descendants of 600 prominent European families, dating from the time of the Emperor Charlemagne.

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Europe--Genealogy.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 84/2220

Consists of some 2,500 titles, primarily representative of the Viennese theater, from 1740 to 1790. Most of the collection has been filmed from the holdings of Michael Krieg (a dealer) at the Austrian Schlossbibliothek; another 500 titles were added by Harvard University to this core collection.

The plays are primarily in German; there are also some plays and opera libretti in French and Italian. Many foreign works are represented in German translations.

LCCN: 84-196561

GUIDE: 93, German and Austrian Drama in the Houghton Library, Harvard University: Guide to the Microfilm Collection. A filmed listing of the titles appears on each reel.

1. Austrian drama. 2. German drama. 3. European drama.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 442

Approximately 200 titles of books and pamphlets filmed by the Library of Congress in 1943. The works are principally anti-Semitic, but include writings on other groups as well, including Jehovah's Witnesses, the Jesuits, and the Freemasons. Also included are history, pseudo-history, and fiction. The collection presents anti-Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education. Most of the writings date from the 1920s and 1930s and many are directly connected with Nazi groups.

LCCN: 84-154548

GUIDE: Not in LC. All titles have been cataloged by the Library of Congress, and may be found grouped together in the Microform Reading Room's card catalog under the heading, "German Anti-Semitic Propaganda."

1. Antisemitism--Germany. 2. Propaganda, German.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 85/4241

Consists of English translations of monographs by forty-seven Oberkommando officers written after World War II at the behest of the occupation authorities. They constitute a definitive history of the German Army High Command for the period 1938-1945, including all aspects of its organization, changes in organization and results of the changes, communications, transportation, supplies, and other areas of responsibility.

LCCN: 85-892466

GUIDE: 105-8, A Guide to the German Army High Command, 1938-1945. 1. World War, 1939-1945--Personal narratives, German. 2. Germany--Armed forces--History--Sources.

German books and periodicals from the Wilhelm Scherer collection. -- Woodbridge, Ct. [?] : Research Publications, 12 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 03708

Filmed from holdings of Freiberger Library of Case Western Reserve University. Items collected by the Germanist, Wilhelm Scherer, from the baroque period to the 19th century. "See shelflist for details."

NOTE: L.C. holdings very limited: only 12 of 167 reels.

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Germany--Bibliography.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 94/2000

Contains 145 periodicals covering German-speaking areas of Central and Eastern Europe.

LCCN: 93-630177

GUIDE: 323, German-Jewish Periodicals from the Leo Baeck Institute. Guide to the Microfilm Collection. For parts I and II (88 titles) a photocopied list of titles appearing on each reel is enclosed in a pocket at the back of the guide. For Part III (57 titles) the guide provides a reel index with places and dates of publication, volumes included on film, title changes, and annotations with broad subject headings. An index of names lists editors.

ONLINE Reel Index: German-Jewish Periodicals from the Leo Baeck Institute in New York, 1768-1945 (http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/2upa/Sjs/German-JewishPeriodicalsLeoBaeck.htm).

1. Jews--Germany--Periodicals. 2. Jews--Austria--Periodicals. 3. Jews--Czechoslovakia--Periodicals. 4. Jewish periodicals-- Europe, Central. 5. Jews--Social life and customs--Europe, Central. 6. Periodicals on microfilm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 10779

More than eighty prisoner-of-war camp newspapers published in the United States and Canada between 1943 and 1946. Some modern German writers, particularly those of the "Gruppe 47," found their first forum in these papers. They contain camp news, world news, sports news, crossword puzzles, humor, essays, original poetry and short stories, and articles explaining the defeat of Germany from the point of view of the Allies.

LCCN: 83-125121

GUIDE: 60, Microfilm Guide and Index to the Library of Congress Collection of German Prisoners of War Camp Papers Published in the United States of North America from 1943-1946. A printed guide to reels, listing titles of papers, place of publication, and dates of issues filmed. The reel index, reproduced in the guide, is also on each reel.

1. Prisoners of war--Germany. 2. Prisoners of war--United States. 3. World War, 1939-1945--Prisoners and prisons, American.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 86/2090

Consists of top secret reports ranging from fourteen pages to over three hundred pages written by specialists during World War II, on conditions and activities in German-occupied territories; the reports were used by the American government to shape foreign policy. The documents in this collection are not included in the State Department's foreign relations series nor in any collection of declassified documents.

LCCN: 86-89225

GUIDE: 105-19, A Guide to OSS/State Department Intelligence and Research Reports. IV. Germany and Its Occupied Territories during WWII.

1. World War, 1939-1945--Occupied territories. 2. Germany--History--1933-1945--Sources.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 1223

Consists of German newspaper clippings and typescripts about Hitler, with emphasis on the attempted assassination.

LCCN: 90-953894

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Hitler, Adolf, 1889-1945--Assassination attempt, 1944 (July 20)--Miscellanea.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 89/169

Ninety-four titles in 106 volumes. Biographies, corporate histories, and secondary accounts primarily document the economic transformation of Germany between 1815 and 1914. Includes compilations of the biographies of many commercial, entrepreneurial as well as philosophical role models. Contains the corporate histories of small and medium-sized, consumer-oriented industries located in the eastern half of the nation, especially the capital city.

LCCN: 89-894166

GUIDE: 105-212, Germany's Business Leaders, 1900-1917.

1. Germany--Biography. 2. Germany--Commerce--History--19th century.

LC Call Number: Microfiche (w) 82/12

Consists of over 4,500 European and American books, periodicals, and pamphlets, published between 1543 and 1945. Subjects well represented include women's rights, the nature and role of women, prostitution, education, biography, marriage and the family, employment, religion, and voluntary associations. Most titles date from the 19th and 20th centuries; languages include 14 European languages, as well as Arabic, Greek, and Latin. Analytic for serial titles are available on MUMS.

LCCN: 82-201010

GUIDE: HQ1121.G47 1983, The Gerritsen Collection of Women's History, 1543-1945: A Bibliographic Guide to the Microform Collection. Lists titles by language and author, with indexes by title, subject, and chronology. Serials are listed and numbered separately at the back of volume 2 of the guide.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 45/248

Consists of the Gibbs family papers, the business archives of Antony Gibbs and Sons, 1808-1969, and the records of associated companies. The Gibbs Archive chronicles the story of the descendants of Antony and Dorothea Gibbs, and records the evolution of the family business, Antony Gibbs & Sons Ltd. The family papers offer insight into the background and life of an upwardly mobile British family whose success is crowned by a peerage. The business papers are not only a mine of information about the business community in Britain, Spain, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, and Rhodesia, but also provide information about Latin America, because the company actively traded in Peru, Chile, Bolivia, and Brazil.

Thirty files form this collection; each, at the beginning, has a contents list arranged alphabetically by writer, and at the end, an index of the persons, subjects, and places named in the papers. File 21 has a general contents list and an index for the whole collection.

NOTE: Additional information about the Gibbs Archive can be found in John Arthur Gibbs' The History of Antony and Dorothea Gibbs (CS439.G42 1922).

LCCN: 85-891330

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Gibbs, Antony, 1756-1815--Archives. 2. Gibbs family--Archives. 3. Gibbs, Antony, and sons, London--Archives. 4. Great Britain--Commerce.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 99/45

Consists of about 100,000 entries and covers about 70,000 individuals, dating from the 4th century AD to the present. The main focus is on the Byzantine Millenium (395-1453) and the time from the Greek War of Independence (1821-32) to the present day. Covers mainly Greece, Asia Minor, the Aegean Isles, and Southern Italy through the Byzantine Age, and, for later periods, the area of contemporary Greece.

LCCN: 99486197

GUIDE: Not in LC. Entries are arranged alphabetically.

1. Greece--Biography--Dictionaries.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 01140

Broadsides and pamphlets from the period 1500-1800 in English, French, and German, on historical, socio-religious, and socio-economic subjects. Filmed from holdings of the New York Public Library, Columbia University, and the Library of Congress.

LCCN: (No Library of Congress Online Catalog entry)

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Broadsides--Europe. 2. Pamphlets in microform. 3. Europe--History--16th century--Pamphlets. 4. Europe--History--l7th century--Pamphlets. 5. Europe--History--18th century--Pamphlets.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 51560

Monographs, published before 1850, and serials, published until 1906, from the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration in Boston, supplemented by material from the libraries of Columbia and Yale universities. The material is in more than 10 European languages. Political and social history is richly covered by this large collection of early "economic" literature.

The subjects represented include mercantilism, slavery, social conditions, European colonialism, Chartism, technological advances, demography, political theory, and Irish-English relations.

LCCN: 83-132128

GUIDE: Z7164.E2 G64 v. 1-7, Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature: a Guide to. . . the Microfilm Collection. Covers the period from the 16th century through 1820.

1. Economics--Europe.

GPO sales publications reference file. -- [Washington, D.C. : GPO, 1976- ]. -- [ ] microfiches : negative ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche (w) 84/400

A microfiche listing by G.P.O. stock number, Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification number, and key-word (from titles, subjects, agency, or other key phrases or words), of all documents in stock and for sale at the Government Printing Office. About 20,000 titles are listed; in addition, PRF lists about 2,000 forthcoming titles. Revised monthly. Each entry provides full bibliographic data. Issued with PRF is the " Exhausted" PRF, listing publications formerly in PRF during the previous year, but no longer in stock at GPO (approximately 6,000 titles).

NOTE: Most recent file is available in the Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room. Science Reading Room also has a set. Microform Reading Room copy is the previous month's.

LCCN: (No Library of Congress Online Catalog entry)

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Government publications--United States.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 2432

Capsule biographies of 50 individuals in the form of headlines, news stories, feature articles, editorials, letters to the editor, advertisements, maps, graphs,and some illustrative materials, useful for anyone but aimed at the secondary school level. The printed guide furnishes an introduction for each individual as well as comprehensive questions, discussion questions,and suggested projects and activities for classroom use.
Individuals covered range from Susan B. Anthony to King Kong.

LCCN: (No Library of Congress Online Catalog entry)

GUIDE: CT119.D66, Great Personalities as Reported in the New York Times. A summary of the contents of the fiches appears under each name in the printed guide.

1. Celebrities--Biography--Miscellanea.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 93/1

A copy of many volumes of a partly handwritten, partly typewritten index to the Guildhall Library in London, a general reference library particularly rich in all aspects of London history. Coverage extends from the 18th into the 20th century. Each volume starts with a numerically arranged list of holdings (either manuscripts or books), which is sometimes followed by an alphabetical index by name and subject to that particular numerical list. There may be multiple volumes (each with its own index) on each different reel.

The catalog lists company records, plans, diaries, visitors books, minute books, rent records, contracts, account books, newspaper clippings, leases, deeds, parish records, charters, vital records, etc.

LCCN: 92-953088

GUIDE: 291, Guildhall Library Numerical Catalogue: Catalogues of the Guildhall Library's Major Collections. The guide is brief and does not adequately reflect the contents of this catalog.

1. Guilds--England--London--Manuscripts--Catalogs. 2. Guilds--England--London--History--Sources--Bibliography-- Catalogs. 3. Manuscripts, English--England--London--Catalogs. 4. London (England)--Manuscripts--Catalogs. 5. London England)-- History--Sources--Bibliography--Catalogs.