A Guide to the Microform Collections: B

Baedeker's handbook(s) for travellers. -- Westport, Conn : Greenwood Press ; [Bethesda, MD ; University Publications of America, distributor], [1975?]. -- 1898 microfiches : ill.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 91/7047

A collection of rare and out-of-print English language travel guides published by Baedeker, covering the period from 1861 to 1939. Coverage includes European countries and major cities, Egypt, the Rhine, the Alps, Palestine and Syria, the United States (with excursions into Mexico, Cuba, Puerto Rico, and Alaska) the Mediterranean, Madeira, Canary Islands, Azores, Western Morocco, and Canada. The collection is comprised of the 31 original Baedeker series. These handbooks usually contain elaborate information on buildings, street and communities of the time as well as data on regional and local dress, customs, traditions, and holidays. Thus the collection is a valuable source for geographers, anthropologists, historians, demographers, art historians, and students of folk culture.

LCCN: 91-955335

GUIDE: Z6016.T7 G3 1975, Baedeker's Handbooks for Travellers. Lists the series and each title and edition and date within the series. Request items by collection number, series number, and edition.

1. Baedeker, Karl, firm. 2. Voyages and Travels--Guidebooks.

Bancroft, Hubert Howe. See: Works of...

Banks genealogical collection. -- Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress, Photoduplication Service, 1978. -- 11 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 51304

A collection of primarily genealogical and historical records relating to American families, found in the library of Col. Charles E. Banks at the time of his death in 1931. It includes some printed but mostly handwritten and typewritten manuscripts. The originals are in the Library of Congress Rare Book and Special Collections Division. The collection also includes some periodical articles and book pages, lists, subsidies, parish registers, photos, letters and postcards, some maps, some genealogies, and other genealogical data. A list of items filmed appears at the beginning of each reel.

LCCN: 84-187195

GUIDE: 9, [Banks Genealogical Collection].

1. New England--Genealogy. 2. England--Genealogy. 3. England--Registers.

Barbour collection of Connecticut vital records. -- Salt Lake City, Utah : Genealogical Society, 1949. -- 98 microfilm reels ; 16-35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 82/15

Reproductions of more than one million slips containing information from Connecticut town records of births, marriages, and deaths. The collection includes the entire state and covers the colonial period to the 1850s. Although it is incomplete and contains some errors, it is one of the major sources for Connecticut genealogical research. Information includes first and last names, name of event and name of the town in which the event occurred, and spouse's names.

LCCN: 82-158848

GUIDE: 62, Checklist for Barbour Collection of Connecticut Vital Records [1874- 1934]. A typed, alphabetical guide indicating on which reel of the name index (also on film) a name may be found. The name index entries contain some personal information, but more detailed records may be looked up in the separate reels of town records (see guide for reel numbers).

1. Connecticut--Statistics, Vital.

Barzun, Jacques. See: Selections from the works...

Bay Area Foundation oral history collection. -- Sanford, N.C. : Microfilming Corporation of America, 1981. -- 32 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 82/409

Consists of approximately twenty interviews conducted from 1971 to 1975 with men and women who were involved in the activities of several Bay Area foundations in the San Francisco Bay Area community. The foundations represented include the Colubia Lux, Rosenburg, San Francisco, Vanguard, Zellerbach, and Dean Witter foundations. The interviewees include trustees and grant recipients.

LCCN: 82-200066

GUIDE: AI3.O7 no. 3, New York Times Oral History Program, Oral History Guide, pp. 103-104.

1. Foundations--California--San Francisco.

The Belgian underground press in World War II = Press clandestine de Belgique-- Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1989. -- [578] microfiches.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 95/4269

More than 5,000 issues of underground newspapers, newsletters, journals, and bulletins published in Belgium from 1940 to 1945 have been filmed for this collection. The prolific production of French-and Dutch-language publications produced during the German Occupation stands as a tribute to the patriotism and faith of thousands of Belgian citizens who risked arrest and a possible sentence of death. Sixteen underground organizations and more than 600 publication titles are represented in this collection. They were selected from the archives of the Centre de Réchèrches et d'Ètudes Historiques de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale in Brussels. The debates on tactics and ideologies portray the conflict for followers by religious groups, as well as democratic, socialist, and communist organizations.

GUIDE: 397, A Guide to the Microfiche Edition of The Belgian Underground Press in World War II. In French. Titles are listed in alphabetical order along with the dates and location of publication. There is a brief description of the content and political orientation of each item. The guide includes indexes by organization and place of publication, a profile of each of the sixteen underground organizations, and a bibliography of books that discuss the activities of the Belgian underground movement in World War II.

1. World War, 1939-1945--Underground Literature--Belgium--Sources. 2. World War, 1939-1945--Underground Movements--Belgium--Sources. 3. Belgium--History--German Occupation, 1940-1945--Sources.

Belgium : damage to buildings in World War I. See: Inventaire des archives de l'Office des regions devastees.

Berichte aus Paris an die "Neue Freie Presse" in Wien, 1891-1895. -- Zug, Switzerland : Inter Documentation, 1977. -- 45 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 82/415

Consists of the almost daily newspaper reports Theodore Herzl (1860-1904) wrote while working as the Paris representative of the important Viennese paper, Neue Freie Presse, from October 1891 to June 1895. Filmed from holdings of Central Zionist Archives (Jerusalem), these reports include all telegrams and political essays and views printed by this paper, as well as some previously unprinted supplementary material on the subject of political life in Paris and France. This was a critical period in the life of the French Republic, characterized by violent political and social conflicts concerning the basis for the development of France in the coming decades. The main problems treated in these dispatches include anarchism and anti-Semitism in France; the Dreyfuss affair; the elections of 1893; French students; and various other political scandals and crises.

LCCN: 82-215022

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. France--Politics and government--1870-1940--Sources. 2. France--History, Third Republic, 1870-1940--Sources. 3. Herzl, Theodor, 1860-1904.

The Berlin crisis, 1958-1962. -- Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey, 1992. -- 460 microfiches.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 93/21

More than 2,900 documents, primarily from the Department of State and Department of Defense, covering the tense period of confrontation between the U.S. and the Soviet Union over access to West Berlin. According to the collection's guide, this set provides one of the more extensive groups of documents available on the Eisenhower and Kennedy administrations' approaches to the German problem, and it includes declassified material that had been previously unavailable to scholars.

LCCN: 93-629512

GUIDE: 301, The Berlin Crisis, 1958-1962: Guide and Index. In two volumes, the guide portion provides listings of the documents with brief descriptions of them including the number of excised lines if any. Index phrases and sentences are keyed to terms in the index volume and constitute a synopsis of the document.

1. Berlin (Germany)--History--1945-1990.

Berliner Adressbuch: Adressbuch for Berlin und seine Vororte, 1918-1932=Berlin Directoory: Directory for Berlin and its Suburbs, 1919-1932 / Konrad Umlauf, editor. -- Munchen ; New York : K. G. Saur, 1983. -- 981 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 85/161

Useful to researchers of genealogy, biography, and the social, cultural, and political history of Berlin. They list heads of household by name, as well as companies and businesses. Each directory also includes information on tradesmen and merchants, public authorities, institutions, schools, churches, synagogues, cemeteries, associations and societies, newspapers and magazines, social insurance, public health, and other social welfare services, and medical and legal professionals. They also contain information on public services and affairs, including fairs and markets, local and national government, events and places of interest, public transportation and postal services and fees, monuments, wildlife preserves, etc. Another section lists streets alphabetically within the twenty administrative districts into which Berlin was then divided, with plots of land and houses listed by number, naming the corresponding property owner or manager and residents. NOTE: Request guide, and year or years desired. These directories are also available on microfilm for the years 1891-1941, under Microfilm 32901.

LCCN: 85-892348

GUIDE: A printed pamphlet guide, in English and German, is kept with the collection. It explains the significance, history, and arrangement of the information in the directories. The guide also provides cross-references from contemporary district designations (e.g., Berlin 33) to those used formerly (Dahlem).

1. Berlin (Germany)--Directories. 2. Berlin--History-- 1918-1945--Sources.

Bernard Shaw diaries, 1885-1897, with earlier and later fragments : facsimile. -- [London] : British Museum, c1986. -- 21 microfiches : negative.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 90/60

Extraordinarily detailed entries on Shaw's daily life. For most research purposes, however, the guide for this collection may be more useful than the collection itself. Although some of Shaw's entries are legible, the majority of them are written in a modified form of shorthand. Most entries are brief, recording appointments, expenses, lectures attended and given, plays, concerts, and exhibitions reviewed, as well as describing what Shaw was reading and writing. Since Shaw was a member of numerous organizations, the diaries provide a good glimpse at London's radical intellectual circles.

LCCN: 90-954095

GUIDE: PR5366.A33 1986, Bernard Shaw, the Diaries, 1885-1897. A two-volume transcription of the fiche, including a fairly extensive index. It contains a lengthy introduction and useful editorial annotations on many of the individuals mentioned in the diaries, on writings, events, businesses, and on products of Shaw's time. Shaw's works are keyed to Bernard Shaw: A Bibliography by Dan H. Lawrence.

1. Shaw, Bernard, 1856-1950--Diaries. 2. Dramatists, Irish--19th century--Diaries. 3. Dramatists, Irish--20th century--Diaries.

Bibliographical Society of America. Papers. -- Millwood, New York : KTO Microform, [1976]. -- ? microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 85/107

Quarterly publication of the Society, including forerunners of the Papers, back to 1899. Each issue of the Papers includes bibliographical essays and notes, many dealing with new and variant editions of works, with publishing history, manuscripts, etc. The collection also includes bulletins and yearbooks published by the Society. NOTE: Originals cataloged in stacks: Z1008.B51p.

LCCN: 85-140863

GUIDE: Not in LC. Indexes to the Papers for 1904-1931 and 1932-1951 are included on the first reel.

1. Bibliography--Periodicals.

Bibliography of American women / H. Carlton Marlow, compiler. -- New Haven, Connecticut : Research Publications, 1975? -- 47 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 84/320

Lists approximately 50,000 books written by or about American women during the period 1600-1904. The entries are drawn from standard sources which include Sabin, Evans, research library catalogs, etc.

GUIDE: Not in LC. The books are listed in alphabetical, chronological, and subject order on the microfilm.

1. Women--United States--Bibliography.

Biblioteca de historia nacional. -- Bogotá : [Academia Colombiana de Historia], 1902-[1951] -- [83] v. : ill., maps, ports. ; 23-26 cm. -- Microfilm. [Washington, D.C.] : Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1971. -- 60 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 32914-32974

L.C. set incomplete: v. 68 and 70 wanting. A collection consisting of the first 83 volumes (with the exception of nos. 68 and 70) of an important monographic series published under the auspices of the Academia Colombiana de Historia. The collection includes material on the colonial period in New Granada (acts of early cabildos, viceregal documents, the writings of early chroniclers); the pre-independence period (works about the comuneros revolt of 1781 and about Antonio Norino and Francisco de Miranda, leaders in the early revolutionary period); the turbulent years of independence (works on a succession of congresses, conventions, and constitutions); biographies and writings of national leaders; regional histories of important cities and provinces; and general works on topics ranging from bibliography to railroads.

LCCN: 84-212369

GUIDE: 23, Spain. Cortes (several publications) and Biblioteca de Historia Nacional-Colombia. Request by volume number.

1. Colombia--History--To 1810. 2. Colombia--History-- Insurrection of the Comuneros, 1781. 3. Norino, Antonio. 4. Miranda, Francisco de.

Bibliotheca Palatina : Druckschriften = stampati Palatini = printed books / [herausgegeben von Leonard Boyle, Elmar Mittler]. -- Mnchen ; New York : K.G. Saur, [1989]-[1993]. -- [ca. 18,130] microfiches : ill.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 93/44

Reproduces the contents of the Biblioteca Palatina (Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana) following the library's shelf arrangement by size. Items are chiefly in Latin, and the subjects cover the wide cultural range of interest to the Vatican. The original Palatina collection was founded by Ludwig III whose goal was to "have and preserve a magnificent library." This microfiche collection includes publications that were shelved together as the Palatini collection following the move from Heidelberg to Rome in 1623, but also works that were added to the Palatine books at a later date, particularly during the administration of the Prefect Franz Ehrle (1895-1914).

LCCN: 93-630354

GUIDE:. Not in LC A preliminary index of 52 fiche, arranged alphabetically by author, accompanies this collection.

1. Bibliotheca Palatina (Biblioteca apostolica vaticana). 2. Libraries--Vatican City. 3. Books--Vatican City.

Bibliothek der Deutschen literatur : Mikrofiche-Gesamtausgabe nach den Angaben des Taschengoedeke. -- Mnchen : K.G. Saur, [1990]-[1993?]. -- [1-1870, 7646-16994] microfiches : negative.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 91/7015

An extensive full-text collection of German literature from the Middle Ages through the 19th century. The Library had received nearly 14,000 fiche as of September 1995, and further receipts are expected.

LCCN: 91-955285

GUIDE: 404, Bibliothek der Deutschen Literatur: Bibliographie und Register. An index and a bibliography. The bibliography is indexed by author's name, title, era, and geographic region of publication.

1. German literature.

Bibliothek des Deutschen Museums Munchen = Catalogs of the Library of the Deutsches Museum, Munich, 1908-1981. -- Munchen ; New York : K. G. Saur, 1981-1982. -- 612 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 85/2000

The library is widely known for the breadth and quality of its holdings in the history of the natural sciences and technology in German-speaking Europe. The catalogs contain over 425,000 entries for books and periodicals acquired between 1931 and 1976. The fields represented most strongly include mathematics, mining, graphics, transportation, handicrafts, and musical instruments. The catalogs are arranged in two parts, an author-title catalog and a subject (keyword) catalog.

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Deutches Museum (Germany)--Catalogs. 2. Libraries-- Germany--Catalogs.

Bio-base : a periodic cumulative master index on microfiche to sketches found in over 375 current and historical biographical dictionaries. -- 2nd ed. -- Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., c1981. -- 156 microfiches : negative ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 82/205

A microfiche collection that lists more than 3,800,000 personal names for which biographical information can be found in one or more of 375 biographical dictionaries. The names listed range from those of classical antiquity to figures prominent in 1980, from all regions of the world, and from all races and most major professions.

LCCN: 81-81437

GUIDE: A printed guide that accompanies the collection gives complete citations for the biographical works indexed, and those works that are in the Main Reading Room are annotated with call numbers.

1. Biography--Indexes.

Biografisch archief van de Benelux = Archives biographiques des pays du Benelux = Biographical archive of the Benelux countries = Biographisches Archiv der Benelux- Lander (BAB) / bearbeitet von Willia Gorzny und Willemina van der Meer. -- München : Saur, 1992?-[1994?] -- [1-593] microfiches ; negative ; ill.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 94/2001

A cumulation of entries from the "123 biographical reference works, published between 1581 and the early 20th century, comprising more than 500 volumes" (Index, Notes). Approximately 66,000 individuals are covered.

LCCN: 93-630099

GUIDE: CT1139.B56 1997 EUR RR Benelux, Biografische Index van de Benelux.

Also indexed on the Internet: World Biographical Index (http://www.saur-wbi.de/).

1. Benelux countries--Biography. 2. Belgium--Biography. 3. Luxembourg--Biography. 4. Netherlands--Biography.

Biographical scrapbooks / Metropolitan Toronto Central Library. -- Toronto : Preston Microfilming Services, [197-]. -- 32 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 42162

Clippings from Toronto newspapers, covering the period, 1911-1967. The individuals included are either Canadian or of significance to Canada. The information given varies from a few lines to several hundred pages and no claim is made for comprehensive coverage. The collection contains much information that is not available elsewhere.

LCCN: 76-398133

GUIDE: CT288.M47 1970z, Metropolitan Toronto Central Library : Biographical Scrapbooks, accompanies the collection, which is in the reading room. It gives complete citations for the biographical works indexed. Those works that are in the Main Reading Room are annotated with call numbers.

1. Canada--Biography.

Biographisches Archiv der Antike = Biographical archive of the classical world / Hilmar Schmunk [editor]. -- Munchen : K. G. Saur, [1997?]- 425 microfiches to be complete in ca. 500 : negative.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 97/358

Biographical dictionary of classical civilization. Scope encompasses philosophy, religion, literature, arts and sciences. Includes bibliographical references and occasional illustrations (e.g. portraits, genealogical tables). Entries are in Latin, listed alphabetically. Greek forms (and other variants) are given in parentheses. Text is German (chiefly), English, or French.

NOTE: Complete to date through entry for Pompylos.

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Civilization, Classical--Biography.

Black biographical dictionaries, 1790-1950. -- Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey, 1987. -- ca. 1070 microfiches : ill.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 93/2

A collection of African American collective biographies published before 1950, profiling teachers, journalists, authors, religious personages, sports figures, artists, and representatives from all areas of African American culture and society. Titles include, for example, Negro Baptists in Foreign Missions, The Negro Artist Comes of Age, and Cyclopedia of African Methodism.

The three volume index, Black Biography, 1790-1950 : A Cumulative Index (Z1361.N39 B52 1990 MRR Biog), is a serious reference work in itself. It catalogs 30,000 names and lists complete bibliographical information for all books indexed. The index of persons is accessible by birthplace, religion, and occupation, in addition to name. There is an additional index of women only.

LCCN: 93-629976

GUIDE: 292, Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950. Handlist of Titles. A list of the works included, arranged alphabetically by editor or collection title, with the serial numbers of the corresponding microfiche.

1. Afro-Americans--Biography.

Black death, sources concerning the European plague. Series one, rare printed sources from the Herzog August Bibliothek, Wolf enbuettel, c1470-1822 -- Marlborough, Wiltshire, England : Adam Matthew Publications, 1994. -- 34 microfilm reels : ill., maps, ports. ; 35 mm.
Contents: Part 1, 1474-1621 (18 reels); Part 2, 1621-1824 (16 reels).

LC Call Number: Microfilm 94/3097

A collection of treatises, accounts of suffering, recipes for treatments, notes on experiments, and historical observations. Half of the material dates from 1540 through 1650. Texts are mainly in Latin and German, with some in French, Italian, Spanish, or English.

LCCN: 94-629497

GUIDE: 379, Black Death: Sources Concerning the European Plague. Contains detailed listings of reel contents. The guide also appears on the first reel of each part. [ONLINE: http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/black_death/Contents.aspx]

1. Black death--Europe--History--Sources. 2. Plague-- Europe--History--Sources.

Black journals : periodical resources for Afro-American and African studies. -- Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, [1975?]. -- [ ] microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 5062

Thirty-five titles, dating from 1827 through 1960, most of them published in the U.S., with several from London and Jamaica. These periodicals record the writings and activities of anti-slavery societies, antebellum colonization movements, movements dedicated to the needs of freed slaves, black educators, and black intelligentsia. Other periodicals are concerned with black culture, black economic and social status, Africa, and race relations. Request by title and date.

LCCN: 84-103116

GUIDE: 35, [Black Journals]. A checklist of titles.

1. Anti-slavery movements--United States--Periodicals. 2. Freedmen--United States--Periodicals. 3. Afro-Americans-- Colonization--Periodicals.

Black literature, 1827-1940. -- Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey Inc, 1987-[1992]. -- [1-198, 397-793] microfiches

LC Call Number: Microfiche 90/7069

A collection of more than 150,000 separate literary compositions that originally appeared in 900 African American newspapers and periodicals from between 1827 and 1940. The year 1827 marks the publication date of the first African American newspaper Freedom's Journal. The series contains poetry, book reviews, fiction, and literary notices that originated in local black newspapers and periodicals. Literary notices are defined as works which discuss the quality of literary works. Sample periodical and newspapers include The Lunar Visitor and the Anglo-African Magazine. Sample works of fiction include J. E. Bruce-Grit's The Black Sleuth and Martin Delany's Blake, or the Huts of America.

A sizable number of women writers are represented in the collection. In addition, white writers whose works appear in black periodicals are also included.

LCCN: 90-956106

GUIDE: 247a, Black Literature, 1827-1940. Author/title Index to unit 1. The complete guide now appears on microfiche. A CD-Rom Index is also being prepared (12/94).

1. American literature--Afro-American authors. 2. American poetry--Afro-American poets.

Black Sash Papers / A. M. Cunningham, compiler. -- Johannesburg, S. A. : Microfile, 1975. -- 6 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 45115

The Black Sash was formed in 1955 by a group of white South African women determined to protest against the government's policy of apartheid. It has continued to do so into the present, counting among its members many eminent South African women. The Black Sash has protested and organized consistently and dramatically, against pass laws, detentions, removals to the "homelands," etc. In 1963, the group opened itself to non-white members.

This collection spans the dates 1955-1972, and consists of the Society's speeches, administrative records, minutes and memoranda of national conferences, internal and external correspondence, and records of political actions.

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Black Sash (Society)--Archives. 2. Civil rights--South Africa--History--Sources. 3. South Africa--Race relations--History--Sources. 4. Government, resistance to--South Africa--History--Sources.

Black workers in the era of the great migration, 1916-1929 / James Grossman, editor. -- Frederick, Maryland : University Publications of America, 1985. -- 25 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 85/269

Documents the northward migration of black workers and their families at the time of the first World War, through the records of several wartime agencies, including the U. S. Railroad Administration, the U. S. Shipping Board, the U.S. Housing Corporation, the National War Labor Board, the U. S. Conciliation Service, and the Women's Bureau of the Department of Labor. The files include records on early race riots in places such as Houston, Omaha, Chicago, and Washington, D.C. Other records contain evidence of discrimination faced by black Americans in the workplace, in housing, and other areas of their lives. Other agencies whose records are included in this collection are the War Labor Policies Board, the War Department, the Division of Negro Economics of the Labor Department, the Departments of Justice and Agriculture, the U.S. Children's Bureau, the U.S. Coal Commission, as well as others.

GUIDE: 105-73, Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1929. A reel guide to the collection, with a subject index.

1. Afro-Americans--Economic conditions--History--Sources. 2. Afro-Americans--Migrations--History--Sources. 3. Afro-Americans-- Social conditions--To 1964--Sources. 4. Rural-urban migration-- United States--Sources. 5. Race relations--United States--History--Sources.

Blodgett collection of Spanish civil war pamphlets. -- Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard College Library, 1977-1980. -- 680 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 84/3200 to 84/3899

Nearly 700 pamphlets and newsletters published during the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939). Although most were produced in Spain, a number were published elsewhere in Europe, or in the United States or Cuba. The pamphlets represent both Republican and Loyalist factions, and a broad range of ideologies. Among the items filmed are a speech by Andre Malraux, pamphlets by Dolores Ibarruri, Joseph Goebbels, Gil Robles, and others. Many of the titles are also included in a related collection, Pamphlets on the Spanish Civil War. Filmed from holdings of Harvard College Library.

GUIDE: 16, The Blodgett Collection of Spanish Civil War Pamphlets. Consists of a checklist of the items filmed. The items have also been cataloged individually. Since the microfilm numbers corresponding to each title are sometimes difficult to read in the checklist, one may search MUMS in the computer catalog for these items by title and author (though not by subject).

1. Spain--History--Civil war, 1936-1939--Pamphlets.

Boston Transcript genealogy newspaper columns : clippings of June 6, 1896- April 30, 1941. -- [Middletown, Conn. : Godfrey Memorial Library, 1968?]. -- ca. 581 microopaques ; 7 x 12 cm.

LC Call Number: Microcard

Covers the period June 6, 1896-April 30, 1941. This Boston newspaper offered space for publication of readers' requests for genealogical information, and for other readers who sent in answers. There is no separate guide or index for this collection of columns, but the columns are one of the sources indexed in the American Genealogical-Biographical Index ("Riders," CS44 .A57 LH&G). To see if the Boston Transcript columns contain information on a name of interest, the researcher should look the name up first in this index. It should be noted that these columns are on microcards, an opaque microform for which the Library of Congress has no photocopying facilities.

LCCN: 84-104738

GUIDE: None

1. Massachusetts--Genealogy--Miscellanea.

Bowman, George Ernest. See: Bowman files

Bowman files. -- Boston, Mass. : Massachusetts Society of Mayflower Descendants, 1983. -- 229 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 84/114

Consists of 20,600 pages of hand-written notes by George Ernest Bowman, founder of the Massachusetts Society of Mayflower Descendants. In his notes, Bowman attempts to trace every descendant of all 23 Mayflower families, through 1941.

LCCN 86-890010

GUIDE: 91, [Massachusetts Society of Mayflower Descendants: Bowman Files]. Contains instructions for use of the files in this collection.

1. Pilgrims (New Plymouth Colony). 2. Massachusetts-- Genealogy.

The Bowyer ledgers : the printing accounts of William Bowyer, father and son, reproduced on microfiche : with a checklist of Bowyer printing, 1699-1777, a commentary, indexes, and appendixes / edited by Keith Maslen and John Lancaster. -- London : The Bibliographical Society ; New York : The Bibliographical Society of America : distributed by Oxford University Press, 1991. -- 70 microfiches : all facsims.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 91/7048

Reproduces in full four ledgers of the Bowyer printing house of London, a major firm at the heart of the British book trade in the 18th century. The Bowyers did a wide variety of work, ranging from major books and publications of the House of Commons and the Royal Society to advertising ephemera. Ledgers A and B record customer accounts, noting the bookseller, author, or whoever ordered the work, the format, the type used, collation, charge for printing, date of payment, and other details of the job. Ledger P keeps tally of the amount of paper ordered and the number of printed sheets sent to the binder. Ledger C records piece-work wages paid to compositors and pressmen. Miscellaneous other records of the firm--bills, receipts, other accounts, etc., are included. The ledgers are useful not only for printing and publishing history and bibliography, but for business and social history.

LCCN: 90-1285

GUIDE: 277, Bowyer ledgers.... Reproduced on Microfiche with a Checklist of Bowyer Printing 1699-1777. A Commentary, Indexes, and Appendixes.

1. Book industries and trade--England--London--History--18th century--Sources. 2. Printing, Practical--England--London-- History--18th century--Sources.

Brazil's popular groups, 1966-1986.-- Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1988. -- 28 microfilm reels : ill. ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/5259

A collection of materials (2,271 pieces) issued by socio-political, religious, labor, and minority grass-roots organizations in Brazil between 1966 and 1986. (See also descriptions in supplements.)

LCCN: 88-953222

GUIDE: Not in LC. A contents guide appears on the first reel.

1. Church and social problems--Brazil. 2. Land reform--Brazil. 3. Labor--Brazil.

Brazil's popular groups, 1966-1986. Supplement 1, 1987-1989. -- Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress Preservation Microfilming Program : Available from Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1991. -- 43 microfilm reels : ill. ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm (o) 91/4512

Part of a collection of materials issued by socio-political, religious, labor, and minority grass-roots organizations in Brazil. This supplement consists of 712 pamphlets, 1,049 serial volumes, and 173 posters organized into twelve categories: Agrarian reform; Blacks, Children's issues; Ecology; Education and communications issues; Human and civil rights; Indians; Labor; Political parties and issues; Religion and theology; Urban issues; and Women.

LCCN: 91-892114

GUIDE: Not in LC. A contents guide appears on the first reel.

1. Church and social problems--Brazil. 2. Land reform-- Brazil. 3. Labor--Brazil. 4. Human rights--Brazil. 5. Brazil--Social conditions--1985- . 6. Brazil--Politics and government--1985- .

Brazil's popular groups, 1966-1986. Supplement 2, 1990-1992.-- Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress Preservation Microfilming Program : Available from Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1994. -- 70 microfilm reels : ill. ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm (o) 91/4512

Part of a collection of materials issued by socio-political, religious, labor, and minority grass-roots organizations in Brazil. This supplement consists of 801 pamphlets, 3,111 serial volumes, and 331 posters organized into the twelve categories described in Supplement 1.

GUIDE: Not in LC. A contents guide appears on the first reel.

1. Church and social problems--Brazil. 2. Land reform--Brazil. 3. Labor--Brazil. 4. Human rights--Brazil. 5. Brazil--Social conditions--1985- . 6. Brazil--Politics and government--1985- .

Brazil's popular groups, 1966-1986. Supplement 3, 1993. -- Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress Preservation Microfilming Program ; Available from Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1995. -- 32 microfilm reels : ill. ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm (o) 91/4512

Part of a collection of materials issued by socio-political, religious, labor, and minority grass-roots organizations in Brazil. This supplement consists of 220 pamphlets, 275 serial titles, and 120 posters organized into the twelve categories described in Supplement 1.

LCCN: 95-953309

GUIDE: Not in LC. A contents guide appears on the first reel.

1. Church and social problems--Brazil. 2. Land reform-- Brazil. 3. Labor--Brazil. 4. Human rights--Brazil. 5. Brazil-- Social conditions--1985- . 6. Brazil--Politics and government--1985- .

Brazil's popular groups, 1966-1986. Supplement 4, 1994. -- Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress Preservation Microfilming Program ; Available from Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1995. -- 18 microfilm reels : ill. ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm (o) 91/4512

Part of a collection of materials issued by socio-political, religious, labor, and minority grass-roots organizations in Brazil. This supplement consists of 161 pamphlets, 196 serial titles, and 39 posters organized into fourteen categories: Agrarian reform and land issues; Children and youth; Education and communication; Ethnic groups--Blacks; Ethnic groups--Indians; Ethnic groups--Others; Environment and ecology; Homosexual and bisexual; Human and civil rights; labor and laboring classes; Political parties and issues; Religious organizations, ecumenical groups and movements; Urban activism; Women and feminists.

LCCN: 95-953316

GUIDE: Not in LC. A contents guide appears on the first reel.

1. Church and social problems--Brazil. 2. Land reform--Brazil. 3. Labor--Brazil. 4. Human rights--Brazil. 5. Brazil--Social conditions--1985- . 6. Brazil--Politics and government--1985- .

Brazil's popular groups, 1966-1986. Supplement 5, 1995. --Washington D.C. : Library of Congress Preservation Microfilming Program : Available from the Library of Congress Photoduplication Service, 1996. -- 28 microfilm reels : ill. ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm (o) 91/4512

Part of a collection of materials issued by socio-political, religious, labor, and minority grass-roots organizations in Brazil. This supplement consists of 147 pamphlets, 246 serial titles, and 120 posters organized into the fourteen categories described in Supplement 4. Illustrated materials (posters) are preserved in the Library's Prints and Photographs Division.

LCCN: 96-627064

GUIDE: Not in LC. A contents guide appears on the first reel.

1. Church and social problems--Brazil. 2. Land reform--Brazil. 3. Labor--Brazil. 4. Human rights--Brazil. 5. Brazil--Social conditions--1985- . 6. Brazil--Politics and government--1985- .

Brentano, Franz Clemens. See: Franz Brentano Clemens....

Briefe : Von der Jugendzeit bis zum Tode. -- Zug, Switzerland : Inter Documentation, 197 . -- 181 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 82/416

Approximately 7,500 pages reproducing about 5,000 letters written throughout the life of Theodor Herzl (1860-1904) from the age of six until shortly before his death. Many of the persons to whom Herzl wrote were Jews and or Zionists, whose support he solicited for his work. These letters are not markedly personal or introspective, but form rather a record of Herzl's political and public outreach efforts. The addressees include literary and artistic figures, politicians, statesmen, and members of the press.

LCCN: 82-215022

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Herzl, Theodor, 1860-1904--Correspondence. 2. Journalists, Austrian--19th century--Correspondence. 3.Zionists--Austria-- Correspondence. 4. Zionism--History--Sources.

Britain and Europe since 1945.-- Brighton : Harvester Press, 1973-[1998]. -- [1-842, 1546-1877] microfiches : ill. ; 11 x 15 cm. -- (Harvester/Primary Social Sources).

LC Call Number: Microfiche 5044

Primary source material from Britain on the issue of the economic and political integration of Britain with the European Economic Community. The collection includes materials from single-interest pressure groups, important literature from multi-interest groups, relevant publications of political parties, and speeches and pamphlets of major politicians. Great efforts were made to ensure that groups of all shades of opinion were represented.

GUIDE: 28 (Note: the following guides and other supplements in this series with LC classification numbers have been arranged under this guide number in the Microform Reading Room collection), HC241.25 .G7 B675, Britain and Europe since 1945, a Bibliographical Guide; Z7165.E8 S25, Britain and Europe during 1973, a Bibliographical Guide; Z7165.E8 S25, Britain and Europe during 1974, a Bibliographical Guide; Z7165.E8 E94 Britain and Europe during 1975--Year of the Referendum, a Bibliographical Guide; and Z7165.E8 H37, Britain and Europe during 1976, a Bibliographical Guide. Arranged by pressure group and chronology, with personal author and title index.

1. European Economic Community--Great Britain--Sources.

British and Irish biographies, 1840-1940. -- David Lewis Jones, selector of biographies. -- Parts 1-6. -- Cambridge, England ; Alexandria, Virginia : Chadwick-Healey, 1984- . -- [4397] microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 88/161

Consists of two sections: the first is an index, on 93 microfiche, listing over 180,000 persons, including both prominent and non-prominent persons. The second consists of copies of the full sources, providing biographical entries for the names indexed. All variant spellings should be checked; also, as each source may be arranged differently and page references are not given by the index, some effort may be required to locate a name in a given source work.

LCCN: 88-893894

GUIDE: 135, [British & Irish Biographies, 1840-1940. Index]

1. England--Biography. 2. Ireland--Biography.

British biographical archive / Paul Sieveking, compiler and editor. -- London ; New York : K. G. Saur, 1984. -- [648] microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 86/901 (BBA I); Microfiche 97/1 (BBA II)

British Biographical Archive. Series 2 is a cumulated and enlarged edition of British Biographical Archive, Microfiche 86/901. These two collections together provide biographical information on 324,000 lives (169,000 persons in British Biographical Archive (BBA I) and 155,000 persons in series two (BBA II) taken from a total of 592 sources. Persons from England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, and the British Empire are included. These entries cover every period of British history up to the mid-twentieth century. A multi-volume guide is used to access both collections.

GUIDE: CT773.B75 1998, British Biographical Index. The guide provides a single alphabetical index with each entry providing information such as birth and death dates, occupation, and source codes. Biographical information on the individuals in BBA I is designated by Roman numeral I followed by the fiche and frame numbers. Information on individuals provided in BBA II is designated by the Roman numeral II followed by the fiche and frame numbers. Some individuals have information in both collections.

Also indexed on the Internet: World Biographical Index (http://www.saur-wbi.de/).

1. Great Britain--Biography.

British Cabinet papers, 1880-1916 : Public Record Office class CAB 37. -- Brighton, Sussex : Harvester Press, 1980. -- 49 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 83/1018

A wide-ranging assortment of nearly 5,000 letters, memoranda, and special reports written by Crown representatives throughout the British empire, and made available to cabinet ministers. These documents are taken from the Public Record Office, the Royal Archives at Windsor, and the private collections of a number of British statesmen, and reflect the nature and sources of information used by the government in making domestic and foreign policy decisions. Researchers may be interested in using this collection in conjunction with Cabinet reports by prime ministers to the Crown (Microfilm 49532). The collection is best used by those familiar with the period. At the beginning of each reel is a complete listing of the 49 reels in the set, and a listing of the volumes contained in each reel. Each of the documents in the set has a cabinet number, a date, and a specific item number. Some of the documents also have brief titles. However, it is necessary to know the year in which an issue surfaces in order to find anything. There are no indexes.

LCCN: 83-229486

GUIDE: 75, British Cabinet Papers, 1880-1916. See also, Guide 76, Cabinet Reports by Prime Ministers to the Crown, 1868-1916; List of Cabinet Papers, 1880-1914, CD1047.C3; and List of Cabinet Papers, 1915 and 1916, Z2009.G745. Only part 1 of this latter guide is relevant to this collection (83/1018).

1. Great Britain--Politics and government--1837-1901. 2. Great Britain--Politics and government--1901-1910.

British Foreign Office--Russian correspondence. -- Wilmington, Del.: Scholarly Resources, 1981. -- 983 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 60300

Includes all foreign and domestic communications regarding Russia that were bound by the British Foreign Office Library and deposited in the Public Record Office (London), 1883-1948 (F.O. 65 contains material from 1883-1905; F.O. 371, from 1906-1948). Registers of correspondence for 1883-1940 are also included (F.O. 566). The correspondence describes governmental, political, military, and economic affairs in Russia, and policies and events in Anglo-Russian relations. Most of the material consists of communications between the Foreign Office and British embassies and consulates, with miscellaneous related documents, letters, and papers.

LCCN: 84-108094

GUIDE: 6, pts. 1-8. British Foreign Office. Russian Correspondence. Guide to the Scholarly Resources Microfilm Edition of the Public Record Office Collection. Arranged chronologically, with a brief description of the subject of each file. It also provides reel and volume numbers. Request film by year and reel number.

1. Russia--Politics and government--1881-1894. 2. Russia--Politics and government--1894-1917. 3. Soviet Union--Politics and government--1917-1936. 4. Soviet Union--Politics and government--1936-1953.

The British Isles Genealogical Register 1994. -- [England] : Federation of Family History Societies, 1994. -- 22, 2 microfiches.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 97/4

The Register lists 288,156 entries alphabetically for British Isles surnames and families being researched by more than 17,000 family historians worldwide. England is organized by the pre-1974 historic counties; Ireland, Scotland, and Wales are also arranged alphabetically by historic county within each country. Two microfiche provide the name and address of each contributor.

LCCN: 95-195164

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Great Britain--Genealogy--Directories

British manuscripts project. -- Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms, [1941-1945]. -- 2652 microfilm reels; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 041

Reproductions of nearly five million pages of manuscripts and, in a few instances, rare printed materials found in some of the major public and private collections of England and Wales. American scholars in many fields of knowledge selected the works for their intrinsic importance to learned studies. The collection spans several centuries, includes many types of works (letters, treaties, public records, grants, papal indulgences, speeches, stories, poems, pedigrees, deeds, tracts, court cases, treasurer's accounts, journals, petitions, homilies, and commentaries), and covers a wide range of subjects. The works appear in such languages as English, Latin, Greek, Arabic, Welsh, French, etc.

LCCN: 83-205657

GUIDE: Z6620.G7 U5, British Manuscripts Project, a Checklist. Arrangement of the checklist is by manuscript collection, with an index by author. Items should be requested using the microfilm collection number and the manuscript abbreviation and reel number. These numbers appear at the end of each item entry.

1. Great Britain--History--Sources. 2. Archives--Great Britain. 3. Manuscripts--Great Britain.

British official documents, colonial Africa. -- Wakefield, Yorkshire : EP Microform, 1978. -- [?] microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 83/5, et al.

Individual late 19th and early 20th century British government documents produced by and for British government offices interested in the African colonies. Many of them are "precis" of information for home offices.

LCCN: 83-145761

GUIDE: Not in LC. The reports and documents have been individually cataloged in the computer catalog, and must be retrieved by title or author.

1. Africa--Colonization--Sources.

British official publications not published by HMSO. -- Cambridge: Chadwyck-Healey, [1981]- . -- [ ] microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche (o) 91/6110

Publications from over 350 organizations, financed or controlled completely or partially by the British government, and not published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office, from 1980. The collection excludes highly technical and ephemeral material and internal publications (e.g., memoranda). It includes reports and studies, periodicals, newsletters, leaflets, publicity materials, etc.
NOTE: The Library's acquisition of this title usually lags two years before the present.

GUIDE: Z2009.C357, Catalogue of British Official Publications Not Published by HMSO lists titles in alphabetical order by publishing body, with index by subject and name. Not all publications listed in catalog are on microfiche. Where microfiche is available, the number of fiche and the microfiche identification number are noted. Request by year and entry number from the catalogue.

1. Government publications--Great Britain.

British pamphlets relating to the American Revolution / edited by Colin Bonwick and Thomas Adams. -- East Ardsley, Wakefield, Yorkshire : Microform Ltd., c1982. -- 49 microfilm reels.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 94/2004

Includes copies of all British and Irish pamphlets relating to the American Revolution which were printed in Great Britain between Jan. 1, 1764 and Dec. 31, 1783, British parliamentary speeches, public reports and papers, and those American and European pamphlets which were reprinted in Britain between 1764 and 1783. Selected from and filmed in same sequence as pamphlets listed in The American Controversy (1980), by Thomas R. Adams. Titles filmed from the British Library and others in Great Britain, U.S., and Canada.

LCCN: 92-953085

GUIDE: 338, British Pamphlets Relating to the American Revolution, 1764-1783.

1. United States--History--Revolution,1775-1783--Pamphlets. 2. United States--History--Revolution,1775-1783--Sources. 3. United States--History--Colonial period, ca.1600-1775--Pamphlets. 4. United States--History--Colonial period, ca.1600-1775--Sources. 5. Great Britain--History--1760-1789--Pamphlets. 6. Great Britain--History--1760-1789--Sources.

British parliamentary papers on Central and South America, 1800-1899. -- Dublin : Irish Microforms Limited, 1974. -- 416 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

Contents: Volume I: Catalogue, General Affairs, Argentina, Bolivia/Paraguay; Volume II: Brazil; Volume III: British Guiana; Volume IV: British Guiana, British Honduras, Chile; Volume V: Colombia, Costa Rica, Dutch Guiana, Ecuador, Falkland Islands, French Guiana, Guatemala, Honduras/El Salvador; Volume VI: Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay (see Bolivia), Peru, Uruguay; Volume VII: Venezuela.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 5087

Includes 33,000 pages of 19th century British parliamentary papers pertinent to Central and South America.

NOTE: Call number of printed version is F2230.4 .I74.

LCCN: 87-890033

GUIDE: Not in LC. See volume I for catalogue of the collection. Access to the microfiche is by a table of contents at the beginning of each country's section. The British Sessional Paper citation is listed at the top of each microfiche. The fiche should be requested by the volume number (i.e., volume I-VII).

1. Central America--History--19th century--Sources. 2. South America--History--19th century--Sources. 3. Mexico--History--19th century--Sources.

British posters in the Victoria and Albert Museum./ editor Anna Emmett.--[Haslemere, Surrey, England] : Emmett Pub., [1989-1990].--47 microfiche : all col. ill.

LC Call Number: Microfiche 96/34

This collection provides color illustrations of the national collection of posters held by the Department of Designs, Prints and Drawings of the Victoria and Albert Museum. Included are illustrations for more than 4000 posters representing about half the total holdings. These are classic examples of poster from the late 19th century through the acquisitions of 1988.

LCCN: 95-953164

GUIDE: 429, Summary Catalogue of British Posters to 1988 in the Victoria & Albert Museum in the Department of Design, Prints & Drawing[s]. The guide provides an explanation of each entry. The posters are listed alphabetically by artist's or designer's name with an anonymous section at the end of the guide. Fiche and frame number are provided at the end of each entry. There is also a subject index.

1. Posters, British--Catalogs. 2. Posters--19th century--Great Britain--Catalogs. 3. Posters--20th century--Great Britain--Catalogs. 4. Posters--England--London--Catalogs. 5. Victoria and Albert Museum--Catalogs.

British periodicals in the creative arts. -- Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1973-1979. -- 224 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. -- Early British periodicals, creative arts, series 3).

LC Call Number: Microfilm 05420

The collection consists of 71 periodicals dealing with the fine arts, architecture, archaeology, drama, and music, published in Britain between the 1770s and the early 1900s. Of the 71 titles, 34 deal with music, 15 with art, 9 with drama, 7 with archaeology, and 6 with architecture.

LCCN: 82-211408

GUIDE: 54, British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. An Index to the Microfilm Collection (also Z5937.B75). Arranged in 4 sections: Title Index, Subject Index, Editor Index, and Reel Number Index.

1. Music--Great Britain--Periodicals. 2. Art--Great Britain--Periodicals. 3. Theater--Great Britain--Periodicals. 4. Architecture--Great Britain.

British sessional papers, 1731-1900. -- New York, N.Y. : Readex Microprint, 1960- . -- [ ] microopaques ; 22 x 14 cm. ; 27 microfilm reels : negative; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Micro-opaque 84/3;Microfilm 02601

Consists of the bills, reports, and accounts and papers of the British House of Commons from 1731 to 1900. The part of the collection covering the years 1731- 1800 is divided into three sections: Accounts and Papers; Bills and Reports. Readers should request material by the title of the collection (British Sessional Papers, micro-opaque), type of material, and volume number. Bills can be requested by bill number. Each microcard in the Bills section has an index to the bills contained on that card.

The part of the collection covering the years 1801-1900 is arranged by year and by volumes within each year. Two 50-year indexes provide access to this part of the collection: The General Index to the Accounts and Papers, Reports of Commissioners, Estimates, etc. 1801-1852, J301.M3 1801-1852a MRR Ref Desk and General Alphabetic Index to the Bills, Reports, Estimates, Accounts and Papers, etc. J301.K6 MRR Ref Desk (1852-1899). This material should be requested by title of collection, year, and volume number.

NOTE: The microcard collection cannot be copied. However, the collection covering the House of Commons Sessional Papers for the years 1731-1790 is on microfilm (Microfilm 02601) from which copies can be made. The first eight reels contain the bills for that period. Reels 9-15 and reel 22 contain the reports and Reels 15-27 contain the Accounts.

LCCN: 84-148012

GUIDE: Not in LC.

1. Great Britain--Politics and government--18th century. 2. Great Britain--Politics and government--18th century.

British war art of the 20th century : the official war artists record of the two world wars. -- London : Mindata, 1982. -- 126 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.

LC Call Number: Microfiche (w) 86/5

Approximately 7,000 of the principal paintings, drawings, watercolors, and sculptures commissioned by the British government during the two World Wars reproduced in black and white and filmed from holdings of the British Imperial War Museum. A small number of works (240) are in color. Many of the images and subjects include: tanks, airplanes, factories and factory work, and portraits of military and political leaders. There are also pictures of women doing war work; scenes of the Russian Revolution; the devastation of cities caused by bombings; fighting in France and elsewhere on the continent, and in the Middle East.

The World War II segment includes a large collection of wash drawings by children's book illustrator Edward Ardizzone: London street scenes; the London Underground during the Blitz; and other pictures of ordinary people in wartime.

LCCN: 86-890008

GUIDE: A printed index to the artists is filed with the binder containing the microfiches. Each color microfiche has its own artist list also. The works are filmed alphabetically by artist. A brief caption accompanies each work, giving author, title, and other information.

1. World War, 1914-1918--Art and the war. 2. World War, 1939-1945--Art and the war. 3. War in art. 4. Art, Modern--20th century--British.

Bulletins and other ephemera relating to the Fourth International : 1930-1940. -- West York, England : Altair Publishing, 1986. -- 6 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

LC Call Number: Microfilm 88/349

Consists of bulletins and press releases from a variety of sections of the Fourth International, arranged by language and country of origin. Many of the youth sections of the International have separate publications (e.g., the Spartacus Youth League of America).
In English, French, German, Spanish, and Dutch.

GUIDE: 175, Fourth International Bulletins and Other Ephemera 1930-1940 in English, French, German and Dutch.

1. Fourth International--Periodicals. 2. Communism-- Periodicals.