A Guide to Finding Business Information at the Library of Congress

XII. Non-profit Organizations and Trade Associations

 
			  	  
                  NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS


Researchers frequently seek information about the activities and
financial statuses of non-profit organizations. Several published
sources in the Business Reading Room reference collection might
prove helpful. If the sources listed below are insufficient, two
further courses may be pursued: (1) For financial information on
non-profit organizations apply, in writing only, to Freedom of
Information Reading Room, Internal Revenue Service, Department of
the Treasury, 111 Constitution Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20024; or
(2) The Foundation Center, 1001 Connecticut Avenue, Suite 9378 NW,
Washington, DC 20056 (telephone 202-331-1400) has on file
a massive collection of copies of Internal Revenue Service
information returns from non-profit organizations, and maintains a
well-equipped library of other materials on such organizations.


The Foundation directory. -- New York : Foundation Center ;
distributed by Columbia University Press. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                             AS911.A2 F65 Ref Desk


National directory of nonprofit organizations. -- Rockville, Md. :
The Taft Group. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                               AS29.5.N38 Ref Desk


The Nonprofit organization : an operating manual / Thomas Wolf. --
Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Prentice-Hall, c1984. -- vii, 184 pp. :
ill. 
                                                                  
                                                   HD62.6.W65 1984


Mission-based management : leading your not-for-profit into the
21st century / by Peter C. Brinckerhoff. -- Oak Park, Ill. : Alpine
Guild, c1994. -- 258 pp. : ill.                                   
                               
                                                  HD62.6.B74 1994

         Includes bibliographical references (p. 247).


Making the non-profit organization work : a financial, legal, and
tax guide for administrators / by Arnold J. Olenick and Philip R.
Olenick. -- Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Institute for Business
Planning, c1983. -- 1 v. (various pagings). : ill.
                                                                  
                                               HF5686.N56 O43 1983


Financial and accounting guide for not-for-profit organizations /
Malvern J. Gross ... [et al.]. -- 5th ed. -- New York : Wiley,
c1995. -- xix, 682 pp. -- (Nonprofit law, finance, and management
series).
                                                                  
                                               HF5686.N56 G76 1995


Introduction to nonprofit organization accounting / Emerson O.
Henke. -- 4th ed. -- Cincinnati, Ohio : College Division,
South-Western Pub. Co., c1992. -- xix, 746 pp. : ill.
                                                                  
                                               HF5686.N56 H45 1992

         Includes bibliographical references (p. 724-733).


Budgeting for not-for-profit organizations / Robert D. Vinter, Rhea
K. Kish. -- New York, N.Y. : Free Press ; London : Collier
Macmillan, c1984. -- xvii, 390 pp. : ill.                         
                                         
                                                HF5686.N56 V56 1984


Strategic marketing for nonprofit organizations / Philip Kotler,
Alan R. Andreasen. -- 4th ed. -- Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Prentice
Hall, c1991. -- xi, 644 pp. : ill.                                
                                  
                                                 HF5415.K6312 1991

         Includes bibliographical references.


                   TRADE ASSOCIATIONS

         Trade associations are lobbying and advocacy
organizations, but they are also sources for facts, statistics,
reports, publications, and expert guidance.  Hundreds of trade
associations maintain well-staffed offices and even libraries in
the District of Columbia and vicinity. Many of these will admit the
public for pre-arranged research purposes, and even more will give
quick help over the telephone.


Encyclopedia of associations. -- Detroit : Gale Research Co. --
Annual.
                                                                  
                                                  AS22.E5 Ref Desk


Associations yellow book : a publication of Monitor Publishing
Company. -- New York, NY : The Company. -- Semiannual.
                                                                  
                                               HD2425.A88 Ref Desk


Business organizations and agencies directory. -- Detroit, Mich. :
Gale Research Co.
                                                                  
                                               HF3010.B86 Ref Desk


National trade and professional associations of the United States.
-- Washington, DC : Columbia Books. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                               HD2425.D53 Ref Desk

         Lists approximately 7,000 trade associations, labor
unions, professional, scientific, or technical societies, and other
national organizations. The directory is arranged alphabetically
(by name of organization), as well as geographically, and by
subject, acronym, management firm, and executives.


World chamber of commerce directory. -- [Loveland, CO] : World
Chamber of Commerce Directory. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                                         HF294.W75