The
Library of Congress >> Especially
for Researchers >> Research
Centers
A Guide to Finding Business Information at the Library of CongressXI. Economic StatisticsBelow are listed the chief sources of economic statistics that are located in the reference collection of the Business Reading Room. Notes included in these entries are meant to point out some, though by no means all, of the kinds of statistics found in the respective works.
General Works
Budget of the United States Government / United States Office of
Management and Budget. -- Washington, D.C. : Executive Office of
the President, Office of Management and Budget : For sale by the
Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O. -- Annual.
HJ2051.A59 Ref Desk
Title varies slightly. Report covers fiscal year; fiscal
year 1995 in 3 vols.
CPI detailed report / U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor
Statistics. -- [Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of
Labor Statistics, Office of Prices and Living Conditions Supt. of
Docs., U.S. G.P.O., distributor. -- Monthly.
HB235.U6 U54b
Business Reading Room, Current Journals
Consumer price index, U.S. city average and selected
areas. Covers the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers
(CPI-U), and the Consumer Price Index for wage earners and clerical
workers (CPI-W).
Dictionaries
Dictionary of economic and statistical terms -- [2d ed. --
Washington] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce : [For sale by the Supt. of
Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off.], 1972. -- 83 pp.
HB61.U55 1972
Economic Censuses
Economic censuses are taken every five years, in years
ending with two and seven. The volumes are not usually published
until two years or more after the census date. Complete copies
(BRS sometimes lacks complete sets) in microform are available for
use in the Newspaper and Current Periodicals Reading Room.
1987 census of manufactures. Geographic area series. --
[Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census
: For sale by Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [1990]. -- 51 v.
HD9724.C4 1990
1987 census of wholesale trade. Subject series. -- [Washington,
D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, [1990]. -- 4
v.
HF5421.C4 1990
1987 census of retail trade. Geographic area series. --
[Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census
: For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [1989]. -- 13 v. :
ill.
HF5429.3.C4 1989
1987 census of construction industries. Geographic area series. --
[Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census
: For sale by Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [1990]. -- 10 v.
HD9715.U52 C46 1990
1987 census of mineral industries. Industry series. -- Washington,
D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census : For sale by
Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [1989-1990]. -- 12 v.
HD9506.U62 C45 1989
1987 census of governments. -- Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of
Commerce, Bureau of the Census : For sale by Supt. of Docs., U.S.
G.P.O., [1988-<1991> ] -- <v. 1-3; v. 4, no. 1, 6; v. 6; in 10 >.
: ill.
JS308.C46 1988
1987 census of service industries. Geographic area series. --
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census :
For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [1989]. -- 52 v. :
maps.
HD9981.4.C46 1989
Economic Indicator Sources
Economic indicators / prepared for the Joint Committee on the
Economic Report by the Council of Economic Advisers. -- Washington
: U.S. G.P.O. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs. -- Monthly.
HC101.A186
Provides U.S. statistics: gross national product, prime
rate, consumer price index, unemployment, foreign trade.
Economic report of the President transmitted to the Congress /
United States President. -- [Dept. ed.]. -- Washington : G.P.O. :
For sale by Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O. -- Annual.
HC106.5.A272 Ref Desk
Gives an overview of the U.S. economic situation, with
useful retrospective charts and tables.
Federal reserve bulletin / issued by the Federal Reserve Board at
Washington. -- Washington [D.C.] : G.P.O. -- Monthly.
HG2401.A5
Business Reading Room, Current Journals
International financial statistics yearbook. -- English edition. --
Washington, D.C. : International Monetary Fund. -- Annual.
HG61.I57 Ref Desk
Lists exchange rates, production, etc. Newspaper and
Current Periodicals Reading Room holds the monthly updates to this
source.
Long term economic growth / United States Bureau of Economic
Analysis. -- [Washington : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Social and
Economic Administration, Bureau of Economic Analysis : For sale by
the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off.].
HC103.5.U49a
Each vol. cumulative from 1860.
Monthly labor review / U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor
Statistics. -- Washington : G.P.O. -- Monthly.
HD8051.A78
Business Reading Room, Current Journals
A prime source for consumer price index, producer
(formerly wholesale) price index, labor statistics, earnings,
productivity.
OECD economic outlook. Historical statistics. -- Paris :
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. -- Annual.
HC10.O42
Basebook / Predicasts, inc. -- Cleveland, Ohio : Predicasts, inc.
-- Annual.
HA214.P73a
Industry statistics.
Social security bulletin. -- Washington, D.C. : Social Security
Board : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O. -- Quarterly.
HD7123.S56 Business Reading Room, Current Journals
Public assistance payments.
Standard & Poor's statistical service: security price index record
/ Standard and Poor's Corporation. -- [New York, N.Y.] : Standard
& Poor's Corp. -- Annual.
HG4915.S68a
A wide-ranging compendium of useful business and economic
statistics.
Survey of current business / United States Department of Commerce;
compiled by Bureau of the Census, Bureau of Foreign and Domestic
Commerce, Bureau of Standards. -- Washington : The Department : For
sale by Supt. of Docs. -- Monthly.
HC101.A13 Business Reading Room, Current Journals
Presents current statistical data on economic activity.
Treasury bulletin. -- [Washington] : U.S. Treasury Dept., Office of
the Secretary. -- Quarterly.
HJ10.A45
Business Reading Room, Current Journals
Covers the public debt, treasury bills, bonds, government
securities, and monetary statistics.
National accounts statistics. Main aggregates and detailed tables.
-- New York : United Nations.
HC79.I5 N388 Ref Desk
Statistical yearbook / Department of Economic and Social
Information and Policy Analysis, Statistical Division. -- New York
: United Nations. -- Biennial.
HA12.5.U63 Ref Desk
Industrial statistics yearbook. -- New York : Dept. of Economic and
Social Affairs, Statistical Office of the United Nations. --
Annual.
HC59.P365
World debt tables. -- Washington, D.C. : World Bank. -- Annual.
HJ8899.W672
World tables. -- Baltimore : Published for the World Bank by the
Johns Hopkins University Press. -- Annual, with a semiannual
update.
HC59.W669
Includes economic data from World Bank data files.
Worldwide economic indicators / prepared and published by Business
International Corporation, On-line Services Department. New York :
The Department. -- Annual.
HC10.W835
Guides
Federal statistical directory : the guide to personnel and data
sources / William R. Evinger. -- 28th ed. -- Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx
Press, 1987. -- iv, 127 pp.
HA37.U55E85 1987 Ref Desk
Directory to statistical offices of the U.S. government,
issued irregularly.
Economics sourcebook of government statistics / Arline Alchian
Hoel, Kenneth W. Clarkson, Roger LeRoy Miller. -- Lexington, Mass.
: LexingtonBooks, c1983. -- xv, 271 pp.
HC106.8.H63 1983
Discusses the means for locating and interpreting
statistics like prime rate, GNP, and housing starts. Includes
bibliographies.
Statistics Asia & Australasia : sources for market research / [by]
Joan M. Harvey. -- Beckenham, [Kent,
Eng.] : CBD Research Ltd., 1974. -- xii, 238 pp.
Z7554.A73 H37
Statistics Europe : sources for social, economic, and market
research / Joan M. Harvey. -- 4th ed. rev. and enl. -- Beckenham,
Kent, England : CBD Research, 1981. -- xiv, 508 pp.
Z7554.E8 H35 1981
Indexes
American statistics index. -- Washington : Congressional
Information Service.
Z7554.U5 A46
Subject index to statistics compiled and issued by the
U.S. government. Available also as part of CD-ROM: Statistical
Masterfile. The Microform Reading Room holds microfiche editions
of the cited sources.
Statistical reference index ... annual. -- Washington, D.C. :
Congressional Information Service.
Z7554.U5 S73
A subject index to U.S. statistics compiled by
non-government organizations and issued in two parts: abstracts and
indexes. It cumulates the abstracts and indexes originally
published in monthly issues Jan.-Dec., generally covering
publications issued Oct.-Sept. This publication is in turn
cumulated by: Statistical Reference Index ... Cumulative Index.
The Microform Reading Room holds microfiche editions of
the cited sources.
Index to international statistics : IIS. -- Washington, DC :
Congressional Information Service. -- Monthly, with quarterly and
annual cumulations.
Z7552.I53
Subject index to statistics compiled and published by
international organizations. The Microform Reading Room holds
microfiche editions of the cited sources. Also available as part
of the CD-ROM Statistical Masterfile.
SISCIS: subject index to sources of comparative international
statistics / compiled by F.C. Pieper. -- Beckenham [Kent, England]
: CBD Research Ltd., 1978. -- [2], xxii, 745 pp.
Z7551.P54
|
 Top
of Page
|
| The
Library of Congress >> Especially
for Researchers >> Research
Centers June 20, 2005 |
Contact
Us: Ask a Librarian |