A Guide to Finding Business Information at the Library of Congress

X. Regional Economic Information

Statistical abstracts issued by the governments of foreign countries are shelved together in the HA 712 - HA 4630 area of the Business Reading Room reference collection.

		
		
WORLDWIDE
		

Encyclopedia of geographic information sources : a detailed listing
of publications and agencies of interest to managerial personnel...
: a companion volume to Encyclopedia of business information
sources, third edition / Paul Wasserman, managing editor, James
Sanders and Elizabeth Talbot Sanders, associate editors. -- 3d
ed. -- Detroit : Gale Research Co., 1978. -- xi, 167 pp.
                                                                  
                                                   HF5353.E54 1978

         Standard bibliography for business information by area.


Countries of the world and their leaders yearbook. -- Detroit,
Mich. : Gale Research Co. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                                   G1.C88 Ref Desk

         This compilation of C.I.A. and State Department country
studies is particularly useful for foreign exchange and economic
information.


The Statesman's year-book. -- New York [etc.] : St. Martin's Press
[etc.]. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                                  JA51.S7 Ref Desk

         A brief but thorough introduction to each of the countries
of the world. Detailed data on currency, industry, and trade is
included.


The Europa world year book. -- London : Europa Publications
Limited. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                                  JN1.E85 Ref Desk

         Similar to The Statesman's Yearbook (see above), but
articles on countries are more extensive, and more data on specific
businesses is presented.


International financial statistics yearbook. -- English edition. 
-- Washington, D.C. : International Monetary Fund. -- Annual. 
                                                                  
               HG61.I57 Ref Desk Unbound monthly issues in NCPRR

         This volume and its monthly updates are the first places
to check for exchange rates, current and historical, as well as for
production statistics.


Index to international statistics : IIS. -- Washington, DC :
Congressional Information Service. -- Monthly.
                                                                  
                                                         Z7552.I53

         Also available as part of CD-ROM: Statistical Masterfile. 
 The documents indexed by this source are available in the
Microform Reading Room.


The New book of world rankings / George Thomas Kurian. -- 3rd ed.
updated by James Marti. -- New York : Facts on File, c1991. -- xxi,
324 pp.
                                                                  
                                           HA155.K87 1990 Ref Desk

         Includes bibliographical references.


                       UNITED STATES

         Most states produce their own statistical compilations;
some produce separate economic volumes.  The state statistical
abstracts are classified in HA 200 - HA 700; the state economic
handbooks in HC 107.  All are shelved in the Business Reading Room
reference collection.


Statistical abstract of the United States / prepared by the chief
of the Bureau of Statistics, Treasury Department. -- Washington :
G.P.O. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                                    HA202 Ref Desk

          A compendium and guide to statistics on just about
everything in the United States.  The section on "Business
Enterprises" includes incorporations, failures, small business
data, and tax returns.  Among the several appendixes is a list of
state statistical abstracts.  This source, which has numerous
supplements, is a good starting point because it is well-indexed
and sources of statistics are given.  The Business Reading Room
holds the most recent ten years.  Other volumes may be called from
the stacks as necessary.

         In 1993 the data also became available in a CD-ROM with
the same title.


Market guide. -- New York : The Editor & Publisher Co.
                                                      HF5905.E38

         An overview of local markets based on local newspaper
circulation areas.  From 1924 to 1942 this title was included as
section 2 of the November issue (the December issue in 1924) of
Editor & Publisher.


The Survey of buying power data service -- [New York] : Sales &
Marketing Management Magazine. -- 1 v. (loose-leaf). : ill.
                                                                  
                                                 HC110.C6 S847 1981

         Maps and statistics showing buying income and retail sales
in twenty-two categories regionally.


States in profile : the state policy reference book. --
McConnellsburg, Pa. : Brizius & Foster and State Policy Research,
Inc. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                                         HA203.S74


State rankings : a statistical view of the 50 United States. --
Lawrence, KS : Morgan Quitno Corp. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                                         HA203.U17


Almanac of the 50 states. -- Burlington, VT : Information
Publications. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                                          HA203.A5


Personal income, by States, since 1929 : a supplement to the Survey
of current business / by Charles F. Schwartz and Robert E. Graham,
Jr., National Income Division. -- New York : Greenwood Press,
[1969]. -- iv, 229 pp. : illus.
                                                                  
                                                 HC110.I5 A55 1969

         Reprint of the 1956 ed.


Local area personal income / U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of
Economic Analysis. -- Washington, D.C. : The Bureau : For sale by
the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                                       HC110.I5 L6


Cost of living differentials. -- Los Angeles : Compensation
Institute.
                                                                  
                                                       HD6983.C54a


The Sourcebook of zip code demographics. -- Arlington, VA : CACI
Marketing Systems. -- Annual.
                                                                  
                                                         HA203.S67


County business patterns, 1968-1977 : 10-year history : employment
and payrolls, number of establishments reporting units by State and
major industry group -- Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce,
Bureau of the Census, 1981. -- xiv, 417 pp.
                                                                  
                                                       HC106.7.C69

         Employment and payroll statistics by state.  This
compilation is also available on the Business CD-ROM network in the
Business Reading Room.