Library and Information Science:
A Guide to Online Resources

Subject Guides and Resources

General Guides
Cataloging Resources
Current Awareness
Library Directories
Library Associations
Library Listservs

General Guides

There are many subject guides to print and online literature in the field of library and information science. Several free, online guides that serve as excellent starting points for locating resources and information on all aspects of library science are:

UCIrvine Libraries, Subject Guide to Library and Information Science

e-Library@Iowa State University

University at Albany Libraries, Guide to Library and Information Science

Cataloging Resources

The Library of Congress receives many questions about free online resources for catalogers. The following subject guides and Web sites are gateways to free cataloging tools and documentation on the Web:

Cataloger's Reference Shelf

Includes information on MARC data formats and code lists, subject cataloging manuals, and other reference resources for catalogers.

Cataloguer's Toolbox

An extensive compilation of cataloging resources, including tools arranged by cataloging activity (authority work, classification, subject analysis, etc.), format, and subject.

Library of Congress, Cataloging and Acquisitions Home Page

Provides access to cataloging resources from the Library of Congress, including the Library of Congress Classification Outline, MARC standards, authority records, and more.

University of Oregon, MARC/AACR Cataloging Documentation on the Web

Compiles links to specific cataloging documents to assist with descriptive and subject cataloging, as well as the cataloging of records using MARC.

Current Awareness

Staying abreast of the latest news and advances in library and information science can be quite difficult. The following guides link to resources librarians can use to remain current in the field.

Library Networking: Journals, Weblogs, Associations, Conferences

Robert Teeter, district librarian for the Santa Clara Valley Water District, lists many resources to help librarians network with colleagues and stay current in the field.

Steven Bell's Keeping Up Web Site

Steven Bell, Associate University Librarian for Research & Instructional Services at Temple University's Paley Library, maintains this annotated guide to online resources for librarians seeking to "keep up" with news and developments in library and information science.

Library Directories

Often, your local library, or your country's national library, is the best starting point for receiving assistance and locating information. Find your local library using the following directories:

Libweb

Libweb currently lists over 7,700 pages from libraries in 146 countries. Search by keyword, or browse by geographic location.

The National Libraries of Europe

Information on the collections, services, addresses, and online presences of European national libraries from The European Library.

National Libraries of the World

Maintained by the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA), this Web site provides an extensive list of national libraries, including those claiming a national function but not having the actual title.

Search for Public Libraries

A feature of the National Center for Education Statistics which allows users to search for U.S. public libraries by zip code, county, and other criteria.

Library Associations

Library associations are networks of professionals that gather and disseminate information to others in the field and generate public support for library and information services. If you aren't certain where to go to receive information or obtain resources needed for your library or position, you may wish to contact a local library association to seek assistance. The following Web site will help you locate local library associations.

Library Associations Around the World

A Project of the IFLA Management of Library Associations Section, coordinated by the American Library Association, International Relations Office.

Library Listservs

Library listservs are usually maintained by library associations and organizations. Its subscribers are typically members of that organization, or librarians with a vested interested in the listserv's goals or approved topics of discussion. Along with contacting local library associations and your local or national library, contacting appropriate library listservs is another way to receive needed information and resources in the field, and to develop contacts with other library professionals. Below is a selected list of some of the best and most popular listservs related to the field.

International Librarianship

International Librarianship Library Discussion Groups/Listservs

Acquisitions and Cataloging

ACQNET (acquisitions)

AUTOCAT (cataloging)

COLLDV-L (collection development)

GSAFD (providing subject access to works of fiction)

LIBLICENSE-L (licensing digital information)

SERIALST (serials processing)

Book Arts

Book_Arts-L (for bookbinders, book-artists, marblers, papermakers, printers, curators, and others)

Library Technology

code4lib (a forum for discussion of computer programming in the area of libraries and information science)

DIGLIB (for librarians, information scientists, and other information professionals to share information about the many issues and technologies pertaining to the creation of "digital libraries.")

NGC4Lib (Next Generation Catalogs For Libraries)

Web4Lib (issues relating to the creation, management, and support of library-based World-Wide Web servers, services, and applications)

Reference

Dig_Ref (digital reference)

LIBREF-L (general library reference)

School Librarians/Media Specialists

IASL-LINK (International Association of School Librarianship; for members only)

LM_NET (for school library media specialists worldwide)

SLMS-LIST (School Library Media Specialist List)

Special Collections

ExLibris (for librarians working with rare books, manuscripts, maps, and other special collections)

Special Libraries

BUSLIB-L (for business librarians)

MEDLIB-L (for medical librarians)

Law-Lib (for law librarians)

SLA-DSOL (for solo librarians)

Special Library Association Chapter List (includes international chapters)