NLS Kids Zone--Books in Series

The Chronicles of Narnia

British author C.S. Lewis published seven books between 1950 and 1956 about the magical land of Narnia. Since then there has been much discussion on whether to read the stories in the order of publication or in the sequence indicated within the series. The adventures of four siblings—Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy—who enter another world through the back of a wardrobe are listed here in sequence order.

The Complete Chronicles of Narnia

All seven stories presented in sequence order. The first being The Magician's Nephew telling how the journeys between the two worlds began and how the wardrobe came to be a doorway leading into Narnia. 1998

RC 50083

The Magician's Nephew

Although this book was published sixth in the series, it is the first chronologically. It relates the story of two English children, Polly Plummer and Digory Kirke, who are the first to visit the magic land of Narnia, where animals can talk and horses can fly. 1955

RC 16987

BR 13945, volume 1

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

Many years have passed and Digory Kirke is now a professor living in the countryside outside of London. Four children, Edmund, Lucy, Susan, and Peter Pevensie, are sent to live with him during the air raids of World War II. An exploration of the professor's house uncovers a huge, old wardrobe through which the children enter Narnia. 1950

RC 16982

BR 54964 (Spanish language)

BR 11912, volume 1

The Horse and His Boy

The four Pevensie children are grown up kings and queens in Narnia. The tale of the boy, Shasta, and his horse, Bree, takes place during their reign. Shasta and Bree flee from the evil Calormens, hoping to reach the magical land of Narnia before the Calormen cavalry catches them. 1954

RC 17438

BR 13946, volume 1

BR 13946, volume 2

Prince Caspian

The four children return to Narnia to aid Prince Caspian in his struggle against his murderous uncle. Narnia time is different from Earth time, and they have reentered Narnia hundreds of years after the events of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. 1951

RC 16984

BR 13947, volume 1

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

Edmund and Lucy Pevensie and their cousin, Eustace Scrubb, board a magic ship, the Dawn Treader, that takes them past islands and sea monsters to Narnia. 1952

RC 16985

BR 13948, volume 1

BR 13948, volume 2

The Silver Chair

Eustace and his friend Jill Pole are seeking Rilian, the missing son of Prince Caspian, in Narnia. In their search they encounter talking owls, marshwiggles, underworld earthworms, and a witch. 1953

RC 16986

BR 13949, volume 1

BR 13949, volume 2

The Last Battle

Eustace and Jill come to the aid of King Tirian in Narnia's last battle with the evil Calormens. After the battle, stars fall from the sky, a wall of water pours in, and Narnia is destroyed. The kings and queens, including three of the Pevensie children, are reunited in a new Narnia, one that lasts forever. 1956

RC 16988

BR 13950, volume 1