home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1991 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1991/012
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1995
SUMMARY
The 1991 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, sound, recordings, graphic materials, and moving images
that document the 1991 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife
Center. The annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation
of folk traditions from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune
Plaza at the front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress
between April and September. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force
the concerts indoors.
The 1991 season consisted of the following:
| April 18 |
Han Sheng Chinese Opera Institute, DC (China) |
| May 16 |
The Alder Family, Switzerland (Swiss Mountain Music) |
| June 20 |
Seldom Scene, VA (Bluegrass) |
| July 18 |
Bulgari (Bulgarian) |
| August 15 |
Ensemble of the Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia,
DC (Javanese Gamelan) |
| September 19 |
Prophecy: Cops for Christ, DC (Gospel) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions. Performers may be contacted through the American Folkife
Center adminstrative office.
Primary Languages: Bulgarian, Chinese, English, German,
Javanese
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 1 box |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 1 7" DT mono reel at 3.75 ips |
AFC 1991/012:SR12 (incomplete) |
| 10 7" DT mono reels at 7.5 ips |
AFC 1991/012:SR1 (incomplete)
AFC 1991/012:SR3-4 (poor recording)
AFC 1991/012:SR6-7, 9-10, 14-16 |
| 6 90-minute audiocassettes |
AFC 1991/012:SR2, 5, 8, 11, 13, 17 |
| Graphic Materials |
3 4x5 b&w internegatives
20 b&w contact sheets
8 8x10 b&w photoprints 1 5x7 b&w photoprint
1 5x5 color photoprint
1 4x6 color photoprint
1 4x5 b&w photoprint |
|
| Moving Image |
| 2 1/2" VHS color videocassettes |
AFC 1991/012:V1-2 |
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document) and an article describing
the Neptune Plaza Concert Series.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2-3
|
Han Sheng Chinese Opera Institute,
4-18-91. Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers,
press releases, news clippings, concert programs in English and Chinese,
and a concert log by Elaine Bradtke.
|
Folder 6
|
The Alder Family, 5-16-91. Concert
flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, press releases,
a concert log by Elaine Bradtke, and miscellaneous illustrations.
|
Folder 11
|
Seldom Scene, 6-20-91. Concert flier
autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, press releases, and
a concert log by Elaine Bradtke.
|
Folder 13
|
Bulgari, 7-18-91. Concert flier autographed
by the performers, unsigned fliers, press releases, and a concert
log by Elaine Bradtke
|
Folder 17
|
Ensemble of the Embassy of the Republic
of Indonesia, 8-15-91. Concert fliers, press releases, news clippings,
a concert program, and a concert log by Elaine Bradtke.
|
Folder 22
|
Prophecy: Cops for Christ, 9-19-91.
Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, press
releases, promotional photographs, and a concert log by Elaine Bradtke.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
Reel-to-reels AFC 1991/012: SR1
|
Han Sheng Chinese Opera Institute,
4-18-91. One 7" DT mono at 7.5 ips. This recording is incomplete
because it ends after the very beginning of the concert.
|
AFC 1991/012: SR3-4
|
The Alder Family, 5-16-91. Two 7" DT
mono at 7.5 ips. The recording is poor quality. The Alder Family
(5-16-91) is taped in one direction and the Ensemble of the Embassy
of the Republic of Indonesia (8-15-91) is taped in the opposite direction.
As a result, both recordings are barely audible.
|
AFC 1991/012: SR6-7
|
Seldom Scene, 6-20-91. Two 7" DT mono
at 7.5 ips.
|
AFC 1991/012: SR9-10
|
Bulgari, 7-18-91. Two 7" DT mono at
7.5 ips.
|
AFC 1991/012: SR12
|
Ensemble of the Embassy of the Republic
of Indonesia, 8-15-91. One 7" DT mono at 3.75 ips. This recording
is incomplete. There should have been a second reel for this concert.
On AFC 1991/012:SR4, the Alder Family (5-16-91) is taped in one direction
and the Ensemble of the Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia (8-15-91)
is taped in the opposite direction. As a result, both recordings
are barely audible.
|
AFC 1991/012: SR14-16
|
Prophecy: Cops for Christ, 9-19-91.
Three 7" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
Audiocassettes
|
| AFC 1991/012: SR2 |
AFC 1991/012: Han Sheng Chinese Opera Institute, 4-18-91.
One 90-minute (recorded concurrently with reel-to-reel). |
| AFC 1991/012: SR5 |
The Alder Family, 5-16-91. One 90-minute (recorded concurrently
with reel-to-reel). |
| AFC 1991/012: SR8 |
Seldom Scene, 6-20-91. One 90-minute (recorded concurrently
with reel-to-reel). |
| AFC 1991/012: SR11 |
Bulgari, 7-18-91. One 90-minute (recorded concurrently
with reel-to-reel). |
| AFC 1991/012: SR13 |
Ensemble of the Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia,
8-15-91. One 90-minute (recorded concurrently with reel-to-reel). |
| AFC 1991/012: SR17 |
Prophecy: Cops for Christ, 9-19-91. One 90-minute (recorded
concurrently with reel-to-reel). |
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
| Location |
Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
The Alder Family, 5-16-91. One 4 x 5 black and white
internegative. Photographed by Reid Baker. |
| Envelope 2 |
Seldom Scene, 6-20-91. One 4 x 5 black and white internegative.
Photographed by Greg Jenkins. |
| Envelope 3 |
Bulgari, 7-18-91. One 4 x 5 black and white internegative.
Photographed by Jim Higgins. |
| Note: Additional negatives for photographs
shot by Library of Congress photographers Reid Baker and Jim Higgins
may be located in the Public Affairs Office. |
| |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folder 4-5 |
Han Sheng Chinese Opera Institute, 4-18-91. Three black
and white 35 mm contact sheets (66 images) and four 8 x 10 black and
white photoprints. Photographed by Jim Higgins. |
| Folders 7-10 |
The Alder Family, 5-16-91. Three black and white 35
mm contact sheets (64 images), three duplicate contact sheets, one
8 x 10 black and white photoprint and three duplicates, and one 4 x
5 black and white photoprint. Photographed by Reid Baker. |
| Folder 12 |
Seldom Scene, 6-20-91. Two black and white 35 mm contact
sheets (60 images). Photographed by Greg Jenkins. |
| Folders 14-16 |
Bulgari, 7-18-91. Three black and white 35 mm contact
sheets (62 images), one 8 x 10 black and white photoprint and two duplicates,
and one 5 x 7 black and white photoprint. Photographed by Jim Higgins. |
| Folders 18-21 |
Ensemble of the Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia,
8-15-91. Seven black and white 35 mm contact sheets (195 images), one
8 x 10 black and white photoprint, and one 4 x 6 color photoprint.
Photographed by Yusef El-Amin. |
| Folders 23-24 |
Prophecy: Cops for Christ, 9-19-91. Two black and white
contact sheets (56 images), one 8 x 10 black and white photoprint with
two duplicates, and one 5 x 5 color photoprint. Photographed by Reid
Baker. |
SERIES IV: MOVING IMAGES
Location
|
Contents
|
AFC 1991/012:V1
|
Ensemble of the Embassy of the Republic
of Indonesia, 8-15-91. One 1/2" VHS videocassette color.
|
AFC 1991/012:V2
|
Prophecy: Cops for Christ, 9-19-91.
One 1/2" VHS videocassette color.
|
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT
Concert
|
Description
|
| Han Sheng Chinese Opera Institute |
Peking Opera (Ching-shi) is an art combining stories,
singing, acting, movement, elaborate costumes and make up, and instrumental
music. The group performs three scenes from larger operas: "Jade Bracelet," "Heavenly
Maiden Scattering Flowers," and "Ch'i Pa and Tang Ma" (wu-styles).
Print material and photographs: folders 2-5; sound recording: AFC 1991/012:SR1. |
| Ensemble of the Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia |
Javanese gamelan and dance performance. The Ensemble
presents the following dances: Gambyong, Javanese classical dance;
Satrya, story of a knight; Kuda Kuda, story of horse shepherds; Merak,
classical peacock dance from the highlands of West Java; Gambir Anom,
dance-drama based on the Maha Bharata epic from Central Java; Jaipongan,
popular dance from Sunda West of Jawa Island; and Hanoman-Rahwana,
dance-drama based on the tale of Hanoman from the Ramayana epic. Print
material and photographs: folders 17-21; sound recordings: AFC 1991/012:SR12-13;
videotape: AFC 1991/012:V1. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top