home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1987 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1987/016
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1995
SUMMARY
The 1987 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, audio recordings, and graphic materials that document
the 1987 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The
annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation of folk traditions
from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune Plaza at the
front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress between April
and September. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force the concerts
indoors. The 1987 series was produced with the assistance of the National
Council for the Traditional Arts.
The 1987 season consisted of the following:
| April 23 |
Hobbs and Partners, DC (Old Time) |
| May 21 |
Cape Breton Fiddlers and Dancers, Canada (Cape Breton) |
| June 18 |
Afghan and Iranian Traditional Music, DC |
| July 16 |
The Original Trinidad and Tobago Steel Band of Washington, DC |
| August 20 |
Mattie Johnson and the Stars of Faith, DC (Gospel) |
| September 17 |
Ollantay, DC (Pan-Andean) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions.
Primary Languages: English, Persian, Spanish
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 1 box |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 10 10" DT stereo reel at 7.5 ips |
AFS 24,462-65
AFS 27,005; RWB 9625
AFC 1987/016:SR1-4
AFC 1987/016:SR6 |
7 audiocassettes
(5 60-minute and 2 90-minute) |
AFC 1987/016:SR5
Listening copies of AFS 24,462-65
AFC 1987/016:SR1-2
AFC 1987/016:SR6 |
| Graphic Materials |
56 b&w negatives
11 b&w contact sheets
2 8x10 b&w photoprints
1 3x5 color photoprint
100 color slides |
|
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document) and an article describing
the Neptune Plaza Concert Series.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
Hobbs and Partners, 4-23-87. Concert
fliers, press release, identification of people in photographs, publicity
photo, and a bibliography of bluegrass music.
|
Folders 5-6
|
Cape Breton Fiddlers and Dancers,
5-21-87. Concert fliers, press releases, and newspaper and magazine
clippings.
|
Folder 8
|
Afghan and Iranian Traditional Music,
6-18-87. Concert fliers, press releases and identification of people
in photographs.
|
Folder 10
|
The Original Trinidad and Tobago Steel
Band of Washington D.C., 7-16-87. Concert fliers, press releases,
news clippings, and a list of songs performed at the concert.
|
Folder 13
|
Mattie Johnson and the Stars of Faith,
8-20-87. Concert fliers, press releases, and identification of people
in photographs.
|
Folders 16-17
|
Ollantay, 9-17-87. Concert fliers,
press releases, news clippings, and identification of people in photographs.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
AFS 27,005
|
Hobbs and Partners, 4-23-87. One 10" DT
stereo at 7.5 ips. RWB 9625.
|
AFS 24,462-63
|
Cape Breton Fiddlers and Dancers,
5-21-87. Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. Listening copies are available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1987/016: SR1-2
|
Afghan and Iranian Traditional Music,
6-18-87. Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. Listening copies are available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFS 24,464-24,465
|
The Original Trinidad and Tobago
Steel Band of Washington D.C., 7-16-87. Two 10" inch DT stereo at
7.5 ips. Listening copies are available in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1987/016: SR3-4
|
Mattie Johnson and the Stars of Faith,
8-20-87. Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5.ips.
|
AFC 1987/016: SR6
|
Ollantay, 9-17-87. One 10" DT stereo
at 7.5 ips. Listening copies are available in the Folklife Reading
Room.
|
Audiocassettes
|
| AFC 1987/016: SR5 |
Mattie Johnson and the Stars of Faith, 8-20-87. One
60-minute (recorded concurrently with reel-to- reel). |
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
| Location |
Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
Hobbs and Partners, 4-23-87. One sheet of black and
white 35 mm (35 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 4 |
The Original Trinidad and Tobago Steel Band of Washington
D.C., 7-16-87. Two sheets of black and white 35 mm (56 images). Photographed
by John T. Gibbs. |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folder 3-4 |
Hobbs and Partners, 4-23-87. Three black and white 35
mm contact sheets (84 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs and Reid
S. Baker. |
| Folders 7 |
Cape Breton Fiddlers and Dancers, 5-21-87. Two black
and white 35 mm contact sheets (39 images). Photographed by Reid S.
Baker. One 3 x 3 color photoprint (photographer unknown). |
| Folder 9 |
Afghan and Iranian Traditional Music, 6-18-87. One
black and white 35 mm contact sheet (15 images). Photographed by Jim
Higgins. |
| Folders 11-12 |
The Original Trinidad and Tobago Steel Band of Washington
D.C., 7-16-87. Two black and white 35 mm contact sheets (56 images),
two 8 x 10 black and white photoprints, and one 4 x 6 color photoprint.
Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Folder 14-15 |
Mattie Johnson and the Stars of Faith, 8-20-87. Three
black and white 35 mm contact sheet (67 images). Photographed by John
T. Gibbs. |
| Folder 18 |
Ollantay, 9-17-87. Three black and white contact sheets
(75 images). Photographed by Jim Higgins. |
| Color slides |
| Envelopes 2-3 |
Hobbs and Partners, 4-23-87. Two holders containing
a total of 34. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 5-8 |
The Original Trinidad and Tobago Steel Band of Washington
D.C., 7-16-87. Four holders containing a total of 66. Photographed
by John T. Gibbs. |
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT
Concert
|
Description
|
| Cape Breton Fiddlers and Dancers |
Jerry Holland, David MacIsaac, and Hilda Chiasson present
music and dance from Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, that is heavily influenced
by Scottish tradition. Chiasson, a step dancer, performs two numbers
combining strathspey and reel steps. Print material and photographs,
folders 5-7; sound recordings: AFS 24,462-63. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top