Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture

THE 1983 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION

AFC 1983/009

Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1995

SUMMARY

The 1983 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript and print materials, audio recordings, and graphic materials that document the 1983 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation of folk traditions from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune Plaza at the front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress between April and September. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force the concerts indoors. The 1983 series was produced with the assistance of the National Council for the Traditional Arts.

The 1983 season consisted of the following:

April 21	John Jackson and James Jackson, VA (Blues)
May 13	Khmer Classical Ballet, MD (Cambodian)
May 19	Grass Reflections, VA (Bluegrass)
June 3	The Deseret String Band, UT (Western)
June 16	Leo Sarkisian, DC (Armenian)
July 21	Glenn Ohrlin, AR (Cowboy)
August 18	"Fris" Holloway and John Dee Holeman, NC (Country Blues and Buck dancing)
September 15	Country Edd Michael and his group, VA (Country Blues Fiddling)

Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other restrictions.

Primary Languages: Armenian, English, Mon-Khmer, Spanish

Physical Description	Location Numbers
Print Materials
1 box
Sound Recordings
13 10" DT mono reels at 7.5 ips	RWA 5526-27 RWA 5725 RWA 5729 RWA 5869 RWA 5875-76 RWA 6290-91 RWA 6445-46 RWA 6448-49
Graphic Materials
233 b&w negatives 8 b&w contact sheets 6 8x10 b&w photoprints 1 5x7 b&w photoprints 13 3x5 color photoprints 130 color slides

COLLECTION INVENTORY

SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS

Location	Contents
Folder 1	Archive of Folk Culture administration. The collection guide (this document), and an article about the concert series.
Publicity and administration
Folder 2	John Jackson and James Jackson, 4-21-83. Identification of people in photographs and biographical sketch.
Folder 4	Khmer Classical Dance, 5-13-83. Two documents listing photo credits.
Folder 7	Grass Reflections, 5-19-83. Press releases and identification of people in photographs.
Folder 9	Deseret String Band, 6-3-83. Press releases, band biography, and brochure on the band.
Folder 11	Leo Sarkisian, 6-16-83. Identification of band members by instrument (including dancer).
Folder 13	Glenn Ohrlin, 7-21-83. Press releases and biographical sketch.
Folder 15	"Fris" Holloway and John Dee Holeman, 8-18-83. Press releases and biographical sketch.
Folder 17	Country Edd Michael and his group, 9-15-83. One press release and biographical sketch.

SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS

Location	Contents
Reel-to-reels
RWA 5526-27	John Jackson and James Jackson, 4-21-83. Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
RWA 5725	Khmer Classical Dance, 5-13-83. One 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
RWA 5729	Grass Reflections, 5-19-83. One 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
RWA 5869	Deseret String Band, 6-3-83. One 10" inch DT mono at 7.5 ips.
RWA 5875-76	Leo Sarkisian, 6-16-83. Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
RWA 6290-91	Glenn Ohrlin, 7-21-83. Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
RWA 6445-46	"Fris" Holloway and John Dee Holeman, 8-18-83. Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
RWA 6448-49	Country Edd Michael and his group, 9-15-83. Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.

SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS

Location	Contents
Negatives
Envelope 1	John Jackson and James Jackson, 4-21-83. Two sheets of black and white 35 mm (74 images). Photographed by Victoria Westover.
Envelope 3	Khmer Classical Dance, 5-13-83. One sheet of black and white 35 mm (29 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
Envelope 6	Grass Reflections, 5-19-83. One sheet of black and white 35 mm (28 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
Envelope 8	Deseret String Band, 6-3-83. One sheet of black and white 35 mm (17 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
Envelope 9	Leo Sarkisian, 6-16-83. One sheet of black and white 35 mm (36 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
Envelope 14	"Fris" Holloway and John Dee Holeman, 8-18-83. Two sheets of black and white 35mm (49 images). Photographer unknown.
Photograph Prints
Folder 3	John Jackson and James Jackson, 4-21-83. Two black and white 35 mm contact sheets (74 images). Photographed by Victoria Westover.
Folders 3-6	Khmer Classical Dance, 5-13-83. One black and white 35 mm contact sheet (29 images, photographed by John T. Gibbs), 13 3 x 5 color photoprints (seven photographed by Mr. Jasuinas, six by an unknown photographer, possibly Mr. Jasuinas), and three 8 x 10 black and white photoprints (two photographed by Beverly Orr, one photographed by John T. Gibbs.)
Folder 8	Grass Reflections, 5-19-83. One black and white 35 mm contact sheet (28 images, photographed by John T. Gibbs) and one 5 x 7 black and white photoprint (photographer unknown).
Folder 10	Deseret String Band, 6-3-83. One black and white 35 mm contact sheet (17 images, photographed by John T. Gibbs) and one 8 x 10 black and white photoprint (photographed by Carol Edison).
Folder 12	Leo Sarkisian, 6-16-83. One black and white 35 mm contact sheet (36 images) and one 8 x 10 black and white photoprint. Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
Folder 14	Glenn Ohrlin, 7-21-83. One 8 x 10 black and white photoprint. Photographer unknown.
Folder 16	"Fris" Holloway and John Dee Holeman, 8-18-83. Two black and white contact sheets (49 images). Photographer unknown.
Folder 18	Country Edd Michael and his group, 9-15-83. One 3 x 5 color photoprint. Photographer unknown.
Color slides
Envelope 2	John Jackson and James Jackson, 4-21-83. One tray containing 16. Photographed by Victoria Westover.
Envelopes 4-5	Khmer Classical Dance, 5-13-83. Two trays containing a total of 35. Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
Envelope 7	Grass Reflections, 5-19-83. One tray containing 19. Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
Envelope 10-11	Leo Sarkisian, 6-16-83. Two trays containing a total of 28. Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
Envelope 12-13	Glenn Ohrlin, 7-21-83. Two trays containing a total of 32. Photographer unknown.

APPENDIX A

DANCE CONTENT

Concert	Description
Khmer Classical Ballet	The group consists of former members of the Cambodian Royal Classical Khmer Ballet who became refugees and eventually were relocated to Wheaton, MD. Performance features four short theater pieces (without stories). Rich Kennedy of the National Council for the Traditional Arts narrates the performance. Sound recording notes: folder 4; photographs and slides: folder 5, envelope 5; sound recording: RWA 5725. See also 9-31-81 concert.
Leo Sarkisian	Documentation of Armenian folk dance is minimal. Photographs: folder 12. See also 5-8-80 concert.
"Fris" Holloway and John Dee Holeman	Piedmont Blues musicians and buck dancers. The men take turns dancing and hand clapping ("patting juba," "hand jiving," "hamboning") for each other. Print material: folder 15; photographs: folder 16; sound recordings: RWA 6445-46.

home >> collections & research services >> finding aids >> individual collections

The Library of Congress >> Research Centers
April 27, 2005