home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1980 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1980/012
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1995
Updated August 2005
SUMMARY
The 1980 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, audio recordings, graphic materials, and video recordings
that document the 1980 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife
Center. The annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation
of folk traditions from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune
Plaza at the front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress
between May and October. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force the
concerts indoors. The 1980 series was produced with the assistance of the
National Council for the Traditional Arts.
The 1980 season consisted of the following:
| May 8 |
Leo Sarkisian and group, VA (Armenian) |
| June 12 |
Don Stover, MD (Country) |
| July 10 |
Sam Brothers Five, LA (Zydeco) |
| August 14 |
Blema Bii (Children of the Ancient), DC (Ghanaian) |
| September 11 |
Las Estrellas Del Son, Roberto Borrell and Kubata,
DC (Cuban) |
| October 9 |
Music of Southeast Asia, DC |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions.
Primary Languages: Armenian, Creole, English, Ewe, French,
Ga, Lao, Mon-Khmer, Spanish, Twi
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
|
| 1 box |
|
| Sound Recordings |
|
| 1 10" DT stereo reel at 7.5 ips |
LWO 16,538 |
| 6 10" DT mono reels at 7.5 ips |
LWO 16,767 R1-2
LWO 16,796 R1-2
AFS 20,170-71; LWO 16,844 R1-2; RWA 15-16 |
| 4 10" FT mono reels at 7.5 ips |
AFS 19,977-78; LWO 16,645 R1-2; LWO 16,678 R1-2
|
| Graphic Materials |
|
222 b&w negatives
8 b&w contact sheets
5 8x10 b&w photoprints
1 4x6 b&w photoprints
6 3x5 color photoprints
15 color polaroids
97 color slides
|
|
| Moving Images |
|
| 2 videocassettes 3/4" sound, b&w |
LVR 326 |
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document) and an article about
the concert series.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
Leo Sarkisian, 5-8-80. Press releases,
news clippings, biographical sketches, descriptions of instruments,
and a brochure about Sarkisian's art work.
|
Folder 4
|
Don Stover, 6-12-80. Press releases,
newspaper and magazine clippings
|
Folder 7
|
Sam Brothers Five, 7-10-80. Press
releases, newspaper clippings, correspondence, and identification
of people in photos on contact sheet.
|
Folder 9
|
Blema Bii, 8-14-80. Press releases,
correspondence, photocopy of resume of Yacub Tetteh Addy, and identification
of people in photos on contact sheet.
|
Folder 11
|
Las Estrellas del Son, 9-11-80. Press
releases, correspondence, concert program, identification of people
in photos on contact sheet and in color slides.
|
Folder 14
|
Music of Southeast Asia, 10-9-80.
Press releases and identification of people in photographs.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
LWO 16,538
|
Leo Sarkisian, 5-8-80. One 10" DT
stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
AFS 19,977-78
|
Don Stover, 6-12-80. Two 10" FT mono
at 7.5 ips. LWO 16,645.
|
LWO 16,678
|
Sam Brothers Five, 7-10-80. Two 10" FT
mono at 7.5 ips.
|
LWO 16,767
|
Blema Bii, 8-14-80. Two 10" inch
DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
LWO 16,796
|
Las Estrellas del Son, 9-11-80. Two
10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
|
AFS 20,170-71
|
Music of Southeast Asia, 10-9-80.
Two 10" DT mono at 7.5 ips.
LWO 16,844 R1-2; RWA 15-16
|
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Negatives
|
Envelope 1
|
Leo Sarkisian, 5-8-80. Two sheets
of black and white 35 mm (63 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs
and Carl Fleischhauer.
|
Envelope 4
|
Don Stover, 6-12-80. One sheet of
black and white 35 mm (25 images). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer.
|
Envelope 5
|
Sam Brothers Five, 7-10-80. One sheet
of black and white 35 mm
(30 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
|
Envelope 7
|
Blema Bii, 8-14-80. Two sheets of
black and white 35 mm (64 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
|
Envelope 10
|
Las Estrellas del Son, 9-11-80. One
sheet of black and white 35 mm
(36 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
|
Envelope 12
|
Music of Southeast Asia, 10-9-80.
One sheet of black and white 35 mm
(36 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs
|
Photograph Prints
|
Folder 3
|
Leo Sarkisian, 5-8-80. Two black and
white 35 mm contact sheets.
(63 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs and Carl Fleischhauer.
|
Folders 5-6
|
Don Stover, 6-12-80. One black and
white 35 mm contact sheet (25 images) and nine 3 x 3 color polaroids
(photographer unknown). Photographed by Carl Fleischhauer.
|
Folder 8
|
Sam Brothers Five, 7-10-80. One black
and white 35 mm contact sheet
(30 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
|
Folder 10
|
Blema Bii, 8-14-80. Two black and
white 35 mm contact sheets (64 images) and two 8 x 10 black and white
photoprints. Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
|
Folders 12-13
|
Las Estrellas del Son, 9-11-80. One black and white
35 mm contact sheet (36 images), three 8 x 10 black and white photoprints
(photographed by John T. Gibbs), and six 3 x 5 color photoprints
(photographer unknown, possibly Carl Fleischhauer).
|
Folders 15-16
|
Music of Southeast Asia, 10-9-80.
One black and white contact sheet
(36 images), one 4 x 6 black and white photoprint (photographed by John
T. Gibbs), and six 3 x 3 color polaroids (photographer unknown, possibly
Carl Fleischhauer).
|
Color slides
|
Envelopes 2-3
|
Leo Sarkisian, 5-8-80. Two holders
containing a total of 26. Photographed by John T. Gibbs and Carl
Fleischhauer.
|
Envelope 6
|
Sam Brothers Five, 7-10-80. One holder
containing 14. Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
|
Envelopes 8-9
|
Blema Bii, 8-14-80. Two holders containing
a total of 25. Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
|
Envelope 11
|
Las Estrellas del Son, 9-11-80. One
holder containing 13. Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
|
Envelope 13
|
Music of Southeast Asia, 10-9-80.
One holder containing 19. Photographed by John T. Gibbs.
|
SERIES IV: MOVING IMAGES
Location
|
Contents
|
| Videocassette |
|
| LVR 326 |
Leo Sarkisian, 5-8-80. Two 3/4" black and white. |
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT
|
Concert
|
Description
|
| Leo Sarkisian and group |
Solo dancer Eleanor Caroglanian, in costume, demonstrates
three Armenian folk dances from different regions to the music of Leo
Sarkisian's group. Mrs. Sarkisian and friends lead the audience in
several line dances. Photographs and slides: folder 3, envelopes 2-3;
videotape: LVR 326; sound recording: LWO 16,538. See also 6-16-83 concert. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top