Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

WEST VIRGINIA COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE
Acquired through 1990

Compiled by: Rachel I. Howard, Gregory K. Jenkins, Scott R. Prouty, and Kathy J. Shambaugh
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: June 1996
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 20
ISSN 0736-4903

The compilers wish to thank Charles W. Bean, Dwight Diller, Leslie Green, G. Wayne Howard, and Gerry Milnes for their invaluable assistance and inspiration.

Sound Recordings and Multiformat Collections

AFS 3155-3313: One hundred fifty-nine 12-inch discs of instrumentals and songs recorded in Arkansas, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Minnesota, Tennessee, West Virginia, and Wisconsin by Sidney Robertson (Cowell), Charles Seeger, and Margaret Valiant, June 2, 1936 September 19, 1937, for the Resettlement Administration. The collection includes one linear inch of lists and a copy of the program book for the 1937 National Folk Festival.

AFS 3305-3307: Three discs containing instrumentals performed by Lucille Ball, Willard Lay, the Pell Boys, Doyle Pugh, Otis Pugh, Elmer Rich, Harry Rich, (H[or]R?)ensel Rich, Sanford Rich, and George Still, with square dance calls by Creed Maxwell and Otis Pugh. Recorded in Arthurdale, West Virginia, by Charles Seeger, August 1936. (Thirty minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 217B)

AFS 3571-3575: Five 12-inch discs of instrumentals and songs performed by Adalena, Addison, and Kathlene Boserman; Joe Haddix; Bob, Dewey, and Myrlo Hamrick; the Happy Mountaineers; Ted Henderson; Cathaline, Geraldine, and Wilma Leigh (Wilma Lee Cooper) Leary; Mr. and Mrs. Orris Poling; Willie Sigler; and Junior Thompson. Recorded at the Tygart Valley Homesteads, Elkins, West Virginia, by Gordon Barnes, April 4-5, 1939, for the Farm Security Administration. (Forty-five minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 234A)

AFS 9780: One 12-inch disc of two renditions of "Miners Welfare Fund" sung with guitar by unidentified group. Possibly recorded in Lochgelly, West Virginia, by Charles B. Barley. Loaned by George Korson and John L. Lewis for duplication, June 24, 1949. (Ten minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 259B)

AFS 9829-9868: One 12-inch and thirty-nine 16-inch discs of instrumentals, introductions, radio programs, and songs recorded primarily at the National Folk Festival in Washington, D.C., by the U. S. Recording Company, May 6-8, 1938. The collection includes three-fourths linear inch of lists, newspaper articles, and programs.

AFS 9844A5: One 16-inch disc containing "The Wreck of the C&O" sung with banjo and guitar by Cliff Thomas of Martinsburg, West Virginia. (Three minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 266B)

AFS 9848A3: One 16-inch disc containing "Mary o' the Wild Moor" sung with autoharp by Esther Eugene Davis of Charleston, West Virginia. (Five minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 267B)

AFS 9860A1-7: One 16-inch disc containing songs sung by the Homestead Group from Tygart Valley, Elkins, West Virginia, led by D. G. Folger and Margaret Valiant. Orris Poling of Elkins, West Virginia, accompanies the group on guitar and performs solos on accordion. (Twelve minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 270B)

AFS 11,302: One 10-inch tape of instrumentals performed on fiddle by Thomas Dillon of Webster County, West Virginia. Recorded at the Library of Congress by Robert B. Carneal, July 26, 1956. The collection includes five pages of collection entries, correspondence, lists, and reports, and eight newspaper clippings. (One hour; LWO 2471)

AFS 11,306: One 10-inch tape of church services and songs recorded in Harrisburg and Port Treverton, Pennsylvania, by Frank A. Hoffmann, August 26-27, 1956. The collection includes two pages of lists.

AFS 11,306A1-5: One tape containing "Lord William and Lady Margaret," "Lord Lovel," "The Keys of Heaven," "Come All You Young and Tender Ladies," and "The Rich Old Lady," sung by Blanche W. Keysner, originally of Gilmer County, West Virginia. Recorded in Harrisburg, August 26, 1956. (Twelve minutes; LWO 2477A)

AFS 12,010-12,012: Three 10-inch tapes of instrumentals, a recitation, and songs performed with fiddle and guitar by bituminous coal miners from Alabama, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Nova Scotia, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia. Recorded at various locations by George Korson, 1940. The collection includes three pages of lists. Portions of this collection have been published by the Library of Congress on recording number AFS L60, Songs and Ballads of the Bituminous Coal Miners.

AFS 12,010A1-2; 12,012A23-24: Two tapes containing songs sung by the United Four Quartet of Barrackville, West Virginia. (Sixteen minutes; LWO 3960 reels 1A, 3A)

AFS 12,011A1-2, 12, 28-29, B1-2; 12,012A12-16, 20, 22: Two tapes containing songs performed with guitar by Orville J. "O. J." Jenks. Recorded in Welch, West Virginia. (Thirty minutes; LWO 3960 reels 2, 3A)

AFS 12,011A6-8: One tape containing songs performed with guitar by G. C. Gartin and Jerrel Stanley. Recorded in Braeholm, West Virginia. (Nine minutes; LWO 3960 reel 2A)

AFS 12,011A9-11, 13; 12,012A17: Two tapes containing songs sung by the Evening Breezes Sextet of Vivian, West Virginia. Recorded in Welch, West Virginia. (Fourteen minutes; LWO 3960 reels 2A, 3A)

AFS 12,011A14-20: One tape containing songs sung by George "Curly" Sizemore with guitar by Lorraine Black. Recorded in Lochgelly, West Virginia. (Ten minutes; LWO 3960 reel 2A)

AFS 12,011B16-18: One tape containing songs sung by Sam Johnson. Recorded in Pursglove, West Virginia. (Six minutes; LWO 3960 reel 2B)

AFS 12,011B28-29, 31: One tape containing songs performed with fiddle and guitar by Virginia West of West Virginia. (Five minutes; LWO 3960 reel 2B)

AFS 12,011B30: One tape containing "Payday at the Mine" performed on fiddle by Charlie Attwood. Recorded in Price Hill, West Virginia. (One minute; LWO 3960 reel 2B)

AFS 12,012A18: One tape containing "Union Blues" sung by Russell Brown of Yolyn, West Virginia. (Three minutes; LWO 3960 reel 3A)

AFS 12,012A19: One tape containing "A Coal Miner's Goodbye" sung by Rev. Archie Conway. Recorded in Man, West Virginia. (Three minutes; LWO 3960 reel 3A)

AFS 12,012A21: One tape containing "Dream of Miner's Child" sung by Jimmy Ratliff of Goodwill, West Virginia. (Three minutes; LWO 3960 reel 3A)

AFS 13,031-13,037: Seven 10-inch tapes of instrumentals performed on banjo, fiddle, guitar, and hammered dulcimer. Recorded in North Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia by Alan Jabbour, October 2, 1965 April 1, 1967. The collection includes one linear inch of logs.

AFS 13,033B; 13,034B29-36; 13,035A31-14B; 13,037A1-27, B1-3: Four tapes containing instrumentals performed on fiddle and harmonica by Henry Reed, originally of Monroe County, West Virginia. Recorded in Glen Lyn, Virginia, June 15 and 18, August 27, and November 26, 1966. (One hour and forty-five minutes; LWO 5031 reels 3B, 4B, 5, 7)

AFS 13,034A18-22, B19-28: One tape containing instrumentals performed on banjo, fiddle, and guitar by Eugene and Oscar Wright. Recorded in Princeton, West Virginia, June 15, 1966. (Thirty minutes; LWO 5031 reel 4A)

AFS 13,034A23-29: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Ross Miller of Monroe County, West Virginia. Recorded near Greenville, North Carolina, June 18, 1966. (Fifteen minutes; LWO 5031 reel 4A)

AFS 13,034B1-18: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Harry Dickerson of Monroe County, West Virginia. Recorded in Burl Branch Hollow, North Carolina, June 15, 1966. (Thirty minutes; LWO 5031 reel 4B)

AFS 13,577-13,671: Two 12-inch, twenty-four 10-inch, forty-three 8-inch, one 7 1/2-inch, three 7-inch, and twenty-two 6-inch discs of air checks, hymns, letters, sea shanties, songs, voice tests, and other material recorded at the Library of Congress and elsewhere by Robert Winslow Gordon, 1929-32. The collection includes three linear inches of manuscripts and newspaper clippings.

AFS 13,578-13,601: Twenty-four discs containing hymns and songs sung by Betty Bush Winger, recorded in Point Pleasant, West Virginia, March 20-21, 1932. This portion of the collection includes one-half linear inch of a biography, correspondence, musical and textual transcriptions, and newspaper clippings. (Two hours; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 432B-433)

AFS 13,703-13,709: Seven 10-inch tapes of instrumentals and songs performed with banjo, fiddle, and guitar. Recorded in North Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia by Alan Jabbour, May 6, 1967 June 22, 1968. The collection includes one-half linear inch of logs.

AFS 13,703B; 13,705A32-57: Two tapes containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Henry Reed, originally of Monroe County, West Virginia. Recorded in Glen Lyn, Virginia, May 6 and July 17, 1967. Reed's son Gene accompanies on guitar on thirteen of the twenty-six tunes recorded on May 6. (One hour and fifteen minutes; LWO 5379 reels 1B, 3A)

AFS 13,704A19-B: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by James Franklin "Doc" White. Recorded in Ivydale, West Virginia, June 14 and 18, 1967. (One hour and five minutes; LWO 5379 reel 2)

AFS 13,709A, B25-39: One tape containing instrumentals and songs performed with banjo, fiddle, and guitar by Lee Triplett of Clay, West Virginia, and Winston Ward originally of West Virginia. Recorded in Glenville, West Virginia, June 22, 1968. (One hour; LWO 5379 reel 7)

AFS 13,709B1-24: One tape containing instrumentals and songs performed with banjo, fiddle, and guitar by Eugene and Oscar Wright. Recorded in Princeton, West Virginia, June 20, 1968. (Thirty-five minutes; LWO 5379 reel 7B)

AFS 13,719: One 10-inch tape of instrumentals and songs performed with banjo by William Christian Bailey. Recorded in Bull Creek, West Virginia, by Walter M. Michael, January 30, 1968. The collection includes twenty-two pages of fieldnotes and a one-page list. (Two hours; LWO 5376)

AFS 14,087: One 10-inch tape of instrumentals performed primarily on fiddle by Emory Bailey and Uncle Pat Co[u]gar of Gem, West Virginia, and Arden Wilson of Harrisville, West Virginia. Recorded in the Allegheny Mountain area of central West Virginia primarily by Malvin Artley, fall 1951. The collection includes Artley's 119-page Ph.D. dissertation in Music, "The West Virginia Country Fiddler: An Aspect of the Folk Music Tradition in the United States" (Chicago: Chicago Musical College, 1955), and four pages of lists. (Two hours; LWO 5902)

AFS 14,088-14,090: Three 10-inch tapes of instrumentals and songs recorded in North Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia by James Scancarelli, May 23 August 16, 1969. The collection includes twelve pages of fieldnotes.

AFS 14,090A27-30: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Wilson Douglas of Ivydale, West Virginia. Recorded at the West Virginia State Folk Festival, Glenville, West Virginia, June 21, 1969. (Eight minutes; LWO 5965 reel 3A)

AFS 14,091-14,093: Three 10-inch tapes of instrumentals and songs recorded in Virginia and West Virginia primarily by Blanton and Malcolm Owen, June 29 September 14, 1969. The collection includes eleven black-and-white photographs and six pages of fieldnotes and lists.

AFS 14,092B10-28: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Frank Austin of Lerona, West Virginia. Recorded in Galax, Virginia, by Blanton and Malcolm Owen, August 9, 1969. (Twenty-six minutes; LWO 5788 reel 2B)

AFS 14,092B29-14,093A: Two tapes containing instrumentals and songs performed with banjo, fiddle, and guitar by Oscar Wright, accompanied on banjo by Eric Olsen. Recorded in Princeton, West Virginia, by Eric Olsen and Blanton Owen, June 29, 1969. (One hour and fifteen minutes; LWO 5788 reels 2B-3A)

AFS 14,248-14,250: Three 7-inch tapes of the Renfro Valley Barn Dance and Homecoming Show recorded in Renfro Valley, Kentucky, by Reuben Powell of the Renfro Valley Tape Club, June 20, 1970. Also includes instrumentals and songs performed by Russell Fluharty, Doc Hopkins, and Bradley Kincaid. The collection includes a one-page content list.

AFS 14,248B5-8; 14,249B-14,250A13: Three tapes containing instrumentals performed on hammered dulcimer by Russell Fluharty of Mannington, West Virginia. (Forty-five minutes; LWO 6112 reels 1B, 2B-3A)

AFS 14,258-14,265: Eight 7-inch tapes of instrumentals and stories performed on fiddle and spoken by Burl Hammons and Jesse James Hammons, and songs sung by Maggie Hammons Parker. Recorded in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, by Alan Jabbour, September 5-21, 1970. The collection includes a four-page list. (Four hours; LWO 6120)

AFS 14,303-14,314: Twelve 7-inch tapes of instrumentals performed on banjo, fiddle, and guitar, and religious songs recorded in Georgia, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia by Blanton Owen, summer-fall 1970. The collection includes a nine-page list.

AFS 14,303: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by William Moses "Mose" Coffman, accompanied on banjo by Dwight Diller and guitar by Pete Bachman. Recorded in Marlinton, West Virginia, October 24, 1970. (One hour; LWO 6244 reel 1)

AFS 14,460-14,467: Eight 7-inch tapes of instrumentals, narratives, poems, and songs performed with banjo and fiddle, spoken, and sung by Burl Hammons and Maggie Hammons Parker. Recorded in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, by Alan Jabbour, March 20-22, 1970. The collection includes a four-page list. (Four hours; LWO 6429)

AFS 14,481-14,485: Five 7-inch tapes of instrumentals and songs performed with banjo, fiddle, and guitar by Pete Bachman, William Moses "Mose" Coffman, Dwight Diller, Burl Hammons, Lee Hammons, and Maggie Hammons Parker. Recorded in Buckeye, West Virginia, by Dwight Diller, October 23-24, 1970. Duplicated and donated by Tom Brown. The collection includes eleven pages of correspondence and logs. (Two hours and thirty minutes; LWO 6479)

AFS 14,556: One 10-inch tape of instrumentals performed on banjo, fiddle, guitar, and steel guitar by the Victory Hillbillies (Gilbert and Ferdinand Coates, Mr. Dempsey, and Herbert Ruckman), originally of Ruckman, West Virginia. Duplicated from discs recorded in Washington, D.C., in the 1930s. The collection includes three pages of correspondence and lists. (One hour; LWO 6181)

AFS 14,577-14,580: Four 10-inch tapes of instrumentals and songs recorded in Virginia and West Virginia by Dave Magram, August 22-29 and October 15, 1966. Duplicated from tapes loaned by Howard Glasser. The collection includes eleven pages of fieldnotes, lists, and tape concordances.

AFS 14,579A21-27: One tape containing instrumentals performed on banjo, fiddle, and guitar by Aunt Lou McCrey and others, including Larry Arlbough and Arthur Nelson of Circleville, West Virginia. Recorded in Headwaters, Virginia, October 15, 1966. (Eight minutes; LWO 6531 reel 3A)

AFS 14,579A28-48, B1-6: One tape containing instrumentals performed on banjo, fiddle, and guitar by W. Arlbough, Alan Lively, and Arthur Nelson. Recorded in Circleville, West Virginia, August 28, 1966. (Twenty-seven minutes; LWO 6531 reel 3)

AFS 14,579B27-40: One tape containing instrumentals and songs performed with banjo and guitar and sung by Herb Fridley. Recorded in Brandywine, West Virginia, August 28, 1966. (Thirteen minutes; LWO 6531 reel 3B)

AFS 14,580A1-13: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Arthur Nelson. Recorded in Circleville, West Virginia, August 29, 1966. (Fifteen minutes; LWO 6531 reel 4A)

AFS 14,722-14,733: Twelve 7-inch tapes of instrumentals, legends, riddles, songs, and stories performed on fiddle, spoken, and sung by Burl Hammons and Maggie Hammons Parker. Recorded in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer and Alan Jabbour, April 23-25, 1972. The collection includes a four-page list. (Four hours; LWO 6878)

AFS 15,053-15,074: Twenty-two 10-inch tapes of instrumentals recorded in Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, North Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia by Peter R. Hoover, 1959-67. The collection includes three-fourths linear inch of logs.

AFS 15,057A1-22: One tape containing instrumentals performed on banjo, fiddle, guitar, and mandolin by Harry and Junior Rich and Ralph Dodrill of the River Seam Area near Morgantown, West Virginia, accompanied by Peter R. Hoover. Recorded in Harmony Grove, West Virginia, June 12, 1960. (Twenty-five minutes; LWO 6880 reel 5A)

AFS 15,057A23-44, B1-25: One tape containing instrumentals performed on banjo, fiddle, and guitar by George Irving and Harvey Jeffreys of Kingwood, West Virginia, accompanied by Peter R. Hoover. Recorded in Reddsville, West Virginia, June 12, 1960. (Fifty minutes; LWO 6880 reel 5)

AFS 15,058B1-15: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Harry Rich, originally of the River Seam Area near Morgantown, West Virginia. Recorded in Harmony Grove, West Virginia, August 14, 1960. (Twenty-two minutes; LWO 6880 reel 6B)

AFS 15,058B16-39: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Olen V. Garliz of Kingwood, West Virginia. Recorded in Cascade, West Virginia, August 14, 1960. (Twenty-six minutes; LWO 6880 reel 6B)

AFS 15,072: One tape containing instrumentals performed on banjo, fiddle, jew's harp, and spoons. Recorded in churches, hotel rooms, parking lots, and stores during the West Virginia State Folk Festival in Glenville, West Virginia, June 1967. Performed by Stuart Cohen; Franklin George of Bluefield, West Virginia; Peter R. Hoover; Alan Jabbour; and David Milefsky. (One hour and forty minutes; LWO 6880 reel 20)

AFS 15,073B-15,074: Two tapes containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Glen W. Smith, with Peter R. Hoover and David Milefsky. Recorded in Mt. Zion, West Virginia, September 29, 1967. (Two hours; LWO 6880 reels 21B-22)

AFS 15,084-15,087: Four 7-inch tapes of instrumentals performed on banjo and fiddle by William Moses "Mose" Coffman recorded in Lewisburg, West Virginia; and instrumentals and songs performed with banjo and sung by members of the Hammons family, recorded in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, by Alan Jabbour, August 5-7, 1972. The collection includes a two-page list. (Two hours; LWO 6997)

AFS 15,261-15,384: One hundred five 12-inch discs, seventeen 7-inch tapes, and two 5-inch tapes of instrumentals, interviews, readings, songs, and stories recorded in the Bahamas, Massachusetts, the Middle West, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia, by Anne and Frank M. Warner, 1940-66. The collection includes three-sixteenths linear inch of concordances, correspondence, fieldnotes, and lists.

AFS 15,359-15,360: Two discs containing songs sung by Pvt. Richard O. Hamilton, originally of West Virginia. Recorded in New York City, July 31, 1941. (Fifteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 5B)

AFS 15,376-15,377: Two 7-inch tapes containing interviews and songs spoken and sung by Tom Smith of Guyandotte, West Virginia, recorded in New York City, 1949. (Fifty minutes; LWO 7220 reels 11-12; tape copy on LWO 7096 reel 12B)

AFS 15,455-15,458: Four 10-inch tapes of interviews and religious services recorded in Kentucky, Tennessee, and West Virginia by Eleanor Dickinson, July 31 August 6, 1972. The collection includes nine pages of a concordance and photocopies of tape boxes.

AFS 15,457A2-15,458: Two tapes containing interviews and religious services recorded at snake-handling churches in Camp Creek and Scrabble Creek, West Virginia, August 5-6, 1972. (Five hours; LWO 7152 reels 3-4)

AFS 15,529-15,563: Thirteen 7-inch and twenty-two 5-inch tapes of instrumentals, songs, and stories performed with banjo and fiddle, spoken, and sung by William Moses "Mose" Coffman and the Hammons family. Recorded in Greenbrier and Pocahontas Counties, West Virginia, by Dwight Diller and Carl Fleischhauer, October 23, 1970 February 2, 1972. The collection includes one linear inch of logs. (Eight hours; LWO 7246)

AFS 15,566-15,570: Five 7-inch tapes of instrumentals, songs, and stories performed on fiddle, spoken, and sung by members of the Hammons family. Recorded in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer and Alan Jabbour, April 21-22, 1973. The collection includes a two-page list. (Two hours and thirty minutes; LWO 7287)

AFS 15,595-15,596: Two 10-inch tapes of instrumentals, songs, and stories performed on banjo and fiddle, spoken, and sung by members of the Hammons family. Recorded in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer, May 5, 1973. The collection includes two pages of a concordance and list. (Three hours; LWO 7315)

AFS 15,597-15,599: Three 10-inch tapes of instrumentals performed on accordion, fiddle, guitar, and mandolin by James Edward Haley, Mrs. Martha Ella Haley, and Ralph Haley, who lived in both Kentucky and West Virginia. Originally recorded on fifty-four discs by Ralph Haley, April 4 September 25, 1946. Also contains an interview with Lawrence Haley about his parents' life, recorded at the Library of Congress by Alan Jabbour, May 25, 1973. The collection includes four pages of fieldnotes and lists. (Six hours; LWO 7331)

AFS 15,661-15,666: Six 10-inch tapes of interviews, religious services, and songs recorded in Tennessee and West Virginia by Eleanor Dickinson, June 21 July 1, 1973. The collection includes a two-page concordance and a
four-page transcript.

AFS 15,664A-B1; 15,665B-15,666A: Three tapes containing religious services led by Brother Joe Turner, and interviews and songs recorded at the Camp Creek Pentecostal Holiness Church, Camp Creek, West Virginia, June 29 and July 1, 1973. (Five hours and thirty-eight minutes; LWO 7468 reels 4, 5B-6A)

AFS 15,664B2-15,665A3: Two tapes containing interviews and religious services recorded at the Scrabble Creek Holiness Church, Scrabble Creek, West Virginia, June 30, 1973. (Two hours and thirty minutes; LWO 7468 reels 4B-5A)

AFS 15,665A4: One tape containing a baptism service recorded at Gauley River, near Brownsville, West Virginia, June 30, 1973. (Thirty minutes; LWO 7468 reel 5A)

AFS 16,984-16,994: Eleven 10-inch tapes of banjo and fiddle instrumentals, Cajun music, hillbilly 78-rpm disc recordings, and stories. Recorded in Arkansas, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and West Virginia by Chris Delaney, September 13 October 20, 1973. The collection includes fifty-two pages of concordances, fieldnotes, and lists.

AFS 16,984A1-26: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Wilson Douglas. Recorded in Ivydale, West Virginia, September 13, 1973. (Thirty-four minutes; LWO 7632 reel 1A)

AFS 16,984A27-47: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Glen W. Smith. Recorded in Elizabeth, West Virginia, September 13, 1973. (Thirty-one minutes; LWO 7632 reel 1A)

AFS 16,984B1-16,985A: Two tapes containing instrumentals and stories performed on fiddle and spoken by Delbert Hughes, originally of Stearns, Kentucky. Recorded in Ohley, West Virginia, September 17, 1973. (One hour and six minutes; LWO 7632 reels 1B-2A)

AFS 16,985B: One tape containing instrumentals and stories performed on banjo and fiddle and spoken by Mike and Pete Humphreys, originally of Hillview, West Virginia. Recorded in Charleston, West Virginia, September 17, 1973. (Thirty-three minutes; LWO 7632 reel 2B)

AFS 17,006: One 5-inch tape of instrumentals performed on hammered dulcimer by Russell Fluharty of Mannington, West Virginia. Recorded by David L. Taylor, October 14, 1972. The collection includes a photocopy of the tape box and a one-page list. (Twenty-four minutes; LWO 7859)

AFS 17,014-17,019: Two 7-inch and four 5-inch tapes of instrumentals and interviews recorded in Ohio and West Virginia by Carl Fleischhauer and others, February 15, 1973 April 6, 1974. The collection includes twenty-two pages of concordances, correspondence, and lists.

AFS 17,014: One 5-inch tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle at the "Over 50" fiddle contest at the West Virginia State Folk Festival. Performers include Noah Cottrill, Phillip Crossman, Delbert Hughes, Darrell and Lester McCumber, Ira Mullens, Phoeba Parsons, Woody Simmons, Lee Triplett, and Melvin Wine. Recorded in Glenville, West Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer, June 16, 1973. (Twenty-three minutes; LWO 7976 reel 1)

AFS 17,015: One 5-inch tape containing an interview with Dwight Diller concerning Burl Hammons's version of the fiddle tune "Camp Chase," recorded by Carl Fleischhauer, February 15, 1973; and "Camp Chase," performed on fiddle by Burl Hammons, recorded in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, by Dwight Diller, October 1969. (Thirteen minutes; LWO 7976 reel 2)

AFS 17,016: One 5-inch tape containing instrumentals performed on banjo, fiddle, and guitar by Ward Jarvis, originally of Braxton County, West Virginia, with Dan (Danlovich) Dagget and John Hutchison. Recorded in Guysville, Ohio, by Bob Bohl, September 1, 1973. Duplicated by Carl Fleischhauer. (One hour and seven minutes; LWO 7976 reel 3)

AFS 17,017: One 5-inch tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle and guitar by Wilson Douglas, Jennings Drake, and Gruder Morris. Recorded in Glenville, West Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer, June 16, 1973. (Four minutes; LWO 7976 reel 4)

AFS 17,018: One 7-inch tape containing instrumentals, interviews, stories, and songs performed with fiddle, spoken, and sung by Melvin Wine and his granddaughter, Kelley Basich. Recorded near Copen, West Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer and Janis Hurst, April 6, 1974. (One hour and twelve minutes; LWO 7976 reel 5)

AFS 17,019: One 7-inch tape containing instrumentals, stories, and songs performed with banjo, spoken, and sung by Dona Hammons Gum and Grover Cleveland "Ham" Gum. Recorded in Mill Creek, West Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer and Janis Hurst, March 24, 1974. See also: AFC 1985/018:SR25-28. (One hour and fifty-three minutes; LWO 7976 reel 6)

AFS 17,444B4-17,445A1: Two 10-inch tapes of songs and stories sung and spoken at a meeting of the West Virginia Folklore Society at Fairmont State College, Fairmont, West Virginia. Duplicated from discs of the radio program "Campus Highlights" donated by A. F. R. Lawrence. The collection includes two pages of notes. (Twenty-five minutes; LWO 7749 reels 3B-4A)

AFS 17,480-17,481: Two 10-inch tapes of instrumentals performed on banjo, fiddle, and guitar, with interviews, by Nowell Creadick, Ken Godwin, Robert Propst, Hansel "Buck" Smith, and Woody Simmons. Recorded in Elkins and Franklin, West Virginia, primarily by Nick Royal, September 28 December 8, 1974. The collection includes nine pages of concordances, correspondence, fieldnotes, and lists. (Two hours and thirty-eight minutes; LWO 8329)

AFS 17,601: One 10-inch tape of herblore and nursery rhymes recorded in Lonaconing, Maryland, and Keyser, West Virginia, by Gerald E. and Margaret Parsons, June 24, 1973. The collection includes three pages of fieldnotes.

AFS 17,601A1-15: One tape containing nursery rhymes performed by Mrs. E. R. Parsons; her great-grandchildren Constance, Erica, and Ginger Kreyenbuhl; and Virginia Wright. Recorded in Keyser, West Virginia. (Sixteen minutes; LWO 7892A)

AFS 17,602-17,605: One 10-inch and three 8-inch discs of air checks and instrumentals performed on fiddle and recorded by Clark Kessinger with family and friends in Hurricane, West Virginia, ca. 1948. The collection includes one page of correspondence and a one-page list.

AFS 17,602B3; 17,603B; 17,604B; 17,605A1-2: Four discs containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Clark Kessinger. (Twelve minutes; tape copy on LWO 8530)

AFS 19,013-19,037: Twenty-five 10-inch tapes of instrumentals and songs recorded primarily in Indiana, Kentucky, Virginia, and West Virginia by Pat Dunford, 1962-69. The collection includes three-sixteenths linear inch of lists.

AFS 19,014B6-17: One tape containing instrumentals and songs performed with banjo and fiddle by Franklin George of Bluefield, West Virginia, and John Hilt. Recorded in Tannersville, Virginia, August 19, 1965. (Forty-five minutes; LWO 9456 reel 2B)

AFS 19,016A1-13: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Glen W. Smith of Mt. Zion, West Virginia. Recorded in Hillsville, Virginia, August 8, 1963. (Twenty-one minutes; LWO 9456 reel 4A)

AFS 19,016B3-27: One tape containing instrumentals and songs performed with fiddle and guitar by Glen W. Smith of Mt. Zion, West Virginia, and others. (Forty-seven minutes; LWO 9456 reel 4B)

AFS 19,018B10-17: One tape containing instrumentals performed on banjo, fiddle, and hammered dulcimer by Franklin George of Bluefield, West Virginia, and Thomp Talbert. Recorded in Broadford, Virginia, August 19, 1965. (Twelve minutes; LWO 9456 reel 6B)

AFS 19,019B9-13: One tape containing instrumentals and songs performed with banjo, fiddle, and guitar by Glen W. Smith of Mt. Zion, West Virginia, and Fields, Mike, and Wade Ward. Recorded in Independence, Virginia, August 7, 1964. (Thirteen minutes; LWO 9456 reel 7B)

AFS 19,028B1-16, 19-32; 19,029A1-12, 14-21, B1-10: Two tapes containing instrumentals performed on banjo and fiddle by Franklin George of Bluefield, West Virginia, and John W. Summers, recorded March 1966. (One hour and fifty-five minutes; LWO 9456 reels 16B-17B)

AFS 19,283-19,288: Six 10-inch tapes of interviews, pentecostal religious services, and songs recorded in Tennessee and West Virginia by Eleanor Dickinson, summer 1977. The collection includes fourteen pages of concordances and photocopies of tape boxes.

AFS 19,286B-19,287A: Two tapes containing church and snake-handling services and songs, led by Brother Joe Turner. Recorded at the Camp Creek Pentecostal Holiness Church, Camp Creek, West Virginia, July 15, 1977. (Two hours; LWO 12,249 reels 4B-5A)

AFS 19,287A: One tape containing interviews with Blitz Turner concerning snake-handling. Recorded in Ridgeview, West Virginia, July 15, 1977. (One hour; LWO 12,249 reel 5A)

AFS 19,287B-19,288A: Two tapes containing religious services and songs led by Rev. Robert Elkins. Recorded at the Church of Jesus Christ, Jolo, West Virginia, July 16, 1977. (Two hours; LWO 12,249 reels 5B-6A)

AFS 19,290-19,313: Twenty-four 7-inch tapes of songs performed with fiddle by Senator Robert C. Byrd of Sophia, West Virginia. Recorded in McLean, Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer and Alan Jabbour, July 4-6, 1975. The last three tapes contain selections taken from the previous twenty-one tapes. The collection includes six pages of concordances and lists. (Eleven and one-half hours; LWO 12,307)

AFS 19,314-19,333: Sixteen 10-inch and four 7-inch tapes of songs performed with fiddle by Senator Robert C. Byrd of Sophia, West Virginia. Recorded at the Library of Congress by Carl Fleischhauer, John E. Howell, and Alan Jabbour, December 14, 1977, and January 4, 1978. The last four tapes contain selections taken from the previous sixteen tapes. The collection includes a thirty-two page list. (Nine hours and thirty minutes; LWO 9854, 9894, 12,308)

AFS 19,459: One 7-inch tape of instrumentals and songs performed with fiddle and fiddlesticks and sung by Burl Hammons and Maggie Hammons Parker. Recorded in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, by Alan Jabbour, May 14, 1978. The collection includes a photocopy of the tape box and a one-page list. (Nine minutes; LWO 12,962)

AFS 19,526-19,535; 19,958-19,960: Thirteen 10-inch tapes of instrumentals, interviews, songs, and stories performed with banjo, hammered and plucked dulcimer, fiddle, fiddlesticks, and panpipes. Recorded primarily in West Virginia by Charles W. Bean and Derrick Jones, July 7 August 1, 1978. The collection includes twenty-three pages of fieldnotes and thirteen pages of logs.

AFS 19,527A4-22: One tape containing instrumentals and songs performed with banjo and fiddle and sung by a group. Recorded at the Marlinton Festival, Marlinton, West Virginia, July 8, 1978. (Thirty-four minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 2A)

AFS 19,527A23: One tape containing "Rambling Boy" sung by Sherman Hammons of Pocahontas County, West Virginia. Recorded at the Marlinton Festival, Marlinton, West Virginia, July 8, 1978. (Four minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 2A)

AFS 19,527A24-B3: One tape containing songs performed with banjo by the Gerry Vance Group. Recorded at the Marlinton Festival, Marlinton, West Virginia, July 8, 1978. (Twenty minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 2)

AFS 19,527B4-25: One tape containing instrumentals, songs, and stories performed on fiddle and fiddlesticks, spoken, and sung by Burl Hammons and Maggie Hammons Parker. Recorded in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, July 9, 1978. (Fifty-one minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 2B)

AFS 19,528A1-12: One tape containing instrumentals and songs performed with banjo and fiddle and sung by Sherman Hammons. Recorded in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, July 9, 1978. (Thirty-five minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 3A)

AFS 19,528A13-22: One tape containing instrumentals and songs performed with guitar and sung by Alfred and Ronda Williams. Recorded near Renick, West Virginia, July 10, 1978. (Twenty-five minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 3A)

AFS 19,528B-19,529A: Two tapes containing instrumentals performed on banjo by Dewey Farley. Recorded in Renick, West Virginia, July 10, 1978. (Two hours; LWO 12,385 reels 3B-4A)

AFS 19,529B1-9: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Delbert Hughes. Recorded in Ohley, West Virginia, July 11, 1978. (Thirty minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 4B)

AFS 19,529B10-19,530A: Two tapes containing instrumentals performed on banjo and fiddle by William O. "Bill" Iman. Recorded in Charleston, West Virginia, July 13, 1978. (One hour and thirty minutes; LWO 12,385 reels 4B-5A)

AFS 19,530B1-8: One tape containing bluegrass instrumentals performed by the Dave Morris Band, featuring Bobby Taylor on fiddle. Recorded in Charleston, West Virginia, July 13, 1978. (Thirty minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 5B)

AFS 19,530B9-19,531A2: Two tapes containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Delbert Hughes. Recorded in Ohley, West Virginia, July 14, 1978. (Forty minutes; LWO 12,385 reels 5B-6A)

AFS 19,531A3-B8: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Melvin Wine. Recorded in Copen, West Virginia, July 14, 1978. (One hour and twenty minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 6)

AFS 19,531B9-19,532A10: Two tapes containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Stan Childers and Melvin Wine. Recorded in Copen, West Virginia, July 15, 1978. (One hour; LWO 12,385 reels 6B-7A)

AFS 19,532A11-B13: One tape containing instrumentals performed on banjo-mandolin and plucked dulcimer by Carl Davis. Recorded in Sutton, West Virginia, July 16, 1978. (One hour; LWO 12,385 reels 7A-8B)

AFS 19,532B14-19,533A12: Two tapes containing instrumentals performed on hammered dulcimer by Russell Fluharty of Mannington, West Virginia. Recorded in Mohon Hollow, West Virginia, July 20, 1978. (One hour; LWO 12,385 reels 8B-9A)

AFS 19,533A13-23: One tape containing songs sung by Bonnie Collins. Recorded in West Union, West Virginia, July 21, 1978. (Thirty minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 9A)

AFS 19,533B-19,534A5: Two tapes containing instrumentals performed on banjo and fiddle by Brooks Hardway and Glen W. Smith. Recorded in Elizabeth, West Virginia, July 23, 1978. (One hour and fifteen minutes; LWO 12,385 reels 9B-10A)

AFS 19,534A6-B5: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Glen W. Smith. Recorded in Elizabeth, West Virginia, July 23, 1978. (One hour; LWO 12,385 reel 10)

AFS 19,534B6-16: One tape containing instrumentals performed on banjo by Phoeba Parsons. Recorded in Orma, West Virginia, July 24, 1978. (Forty-five minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 10B)

AFS 19,535A: One tape containing songs performed with guitar by Lester, Linda, and Roger McCumbers. Recorded in Nicut, West Virginia, July 24, 1978. (One hour; LWO 12,385 reel 11A)

AFS 19,535B1-10: One tape containing songs sung by Phyllis Marks. Recorded in Cox's Mills, West Virginia, July 26, 1978. (Thirty minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 11B)

AFS 19,535B11-15: One tape containing bluegrass instrumentals performed by The Bing Brothers. Recorded at the Huntersville Festival, Huntersville, West Virginia, July 28, 1978. (Twenty minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 11B)

AFS 19,535B16-17: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Wilson Douglas. Recorded at the Huntersville Festival, Huntersville, West Virginia, July 28, 1978. (Ten minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 11B)

AFS 19,958A1-5; 19,959A7-8: Two tapes containing bluegrass songs performed by the Gerry Vance Group. Recorded at the Huntersville Bluegrass Festival, Huntersville, West Virginia, July 29, 1978. (Forty minutes; LWO 12,385 reels 12A, 13A)

AFS 19,958A6-19,959A6: Two tapes containing bluegrass songs performed by Taylor Made, featuring Bobby Taylor on fiddle. Recorded at the Huntersville Bluegrass Festival, Huntersville, West Virginia, July 29, 1978. (One hour and twenty minutes; LWO 12,385 reels 12A-13A)

AFS 19,959A9-B: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Franklin George of Bluefield, West Virginia. Recorded at the Huntersville Bluegrass Festival, Huntersville, West Virginia, August 1, 1978. (One hour and thirty minutes; LWO 12,385 reel 13)

AFS 19,960: One tape containing an interview with Patrick Gainer about the nature of folk music. Recorded near Morgantown, West Virginia, July 26, 1978. (Two hours; LWO 12,385 reel 14)

AFS 19,548-19,558: Eleven 7-inch tapes of instrumentals, interviews, and songs performed with autoharp, banjo, fiddle, guitar, hammered dulcimer, and mandolin. Recorded in Elkins and Monterville, West Virginia, by Mike Rivers, July 26-30, 1978. The collection includes eleven pages of lists and photocopies of tape boxes.

AFS 19,548-19,552: Five tapes containing instrumentals, interviews, and songs performed with autoharp, banjo, fiddle, guitar, and mandolin, and spoken by the Lilly Brothers of Beckley, West Virginia. Recorded in Elkins, West Virginia, July 26, 1978. (Two hours and thirty minutes; LWO 12,996 reels 1-5)

AFS 19,553-19,556: Four tapes containing songs sung by Nimrod Workman of Chattaroy, West Virginia. Recorded in Elkins, West Virginia, July 27, 1978. (One hour and fifty-five minutes; LWO 12,996 reels 6-9)

AFS 19,557-19,558: Two tapes containing instrumentals performed on fiddle, guitar, and hammered dulcimer by William "Blackie" Cool of Webster County, West Virginia, with Lynn Manring, Mike Rivers, and Sam Rizzetta. Recorded in Monterville, West Virginia, July 30, 1978. (Fifty-seven minutes; LWO 12,996 reels 10-11)

AFS 19,977-19,978: Two 10-inch tapes of instrumentals, songs, and stories performed with banjo and guitar by Don Stover of Beckley, West Virginia. Recorded in concert at the Library of Congress Neptune Plaza and sponsored by the American Folklife Center, June 12, 1980. The collection includes a one-page list. (One hour and seventeen minutes; LWO 16,645)

AFS 20,267-20,307: Forty-one 10-inch tapes of church services, creek baptisms, interviews, and tent revivals recorded in Kentucky, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia by Eleanor Dickinson, 1973-79. The collection includes one-fourth linear inch of correspondence, a glossary, and logs.

AFS 20,267-20,268A: Two tapes containing church services and interviews, including an interview with Blitz Turner about fire- and snake-handling. Recorded at the Camp Creek Pentecostal Holiness Church, Camp Creek, West Virginia, July 15, 1977. (Three hours; LWO 16,506 reels 1-2A)

AFS 20,270B-20,271B: Two tapes containing church services and interviews recorded at the Church of Jesus Christ in Jolo, West Virginia, and at the Camp Creek Pentecostal Holiness Church, Camp Creek, West Virginia, July 16, 1977. (Three hours; LWO 16,506 reels 4B-5B)

AFS 20,273: One tape containing interviews with Rev. Joe Turner recorded at the Camp Creek Pentecostal Holiness Church, Camp Creek, West Virginia, July 15, 1977. (Two hours; LWO 16,506 reel 7)

AFS 20,283B: One tape containing interviews with Blitz Turner recorded at the Camp Creek Pentecostal Holiness Church, Camp Creek, West Virginia, June 26, 1978. (One hour; LWO 16,506 reel 17B)

AFS 20,289A: One tape containing services recorded at the Church of Jesus Christ in Jolo, West Virginia, August 4, 1979. (One hour; LWO 16,506 reel 23A)

AFS 20,289B1: One tape containing an interview with snake-handlers recorded in Jolo, West Virginia, August 1979. (Thirty minutes; LWO 16,506 reel 23B)

AFS 20,290: One tape containing interviews with Rev. Joe Turner and services recorded at the Camp Creek Pentecostal Holiness Church, Camp Creek, West Virginia, June 23-25, 1978. (Two hours; LWO 16,506 reel 24)

AFS 20,291-20,293A1: Three tapes containing interviews with Claire and Dewey Chafin and services recorded at the Church of Jesus Christ, Jolo, West Virginia, August 4-5, 1979. (Four hours and thirty minutes; LWO 16,506 reels 25-27A)

AFS 20,294A1; 20,295A1: Two tapes containing a revival led by Rev. Joe Turner, recorded in Camp Creek, West Virginia, June 23, 1978. (One hour; LWO 16,506 reels 28A, 29A)

AFS 20,296A2-20,298A: Three tapes containing interviews with Rev. Robert Elkins and services recorded at the Church of Jesus Christ, Jolo, West Virginia, June 24, 1978. (Four hours and thirty minutes; LWO 16,506 reels 30A-32A)

AFS 20,300A1: One tape containing interviews with Claire and Dewey Chafin recorded at the Church of Jesus Christ, Jolo, West Virginia, August 6, 1979. (Thirty minutes; LWO 16,506 reel 34A)

AFS 20,300A2-20,301A1: Two tapes containing interviews with Rev. Robert Elkins and services recorded at the Church of Jesus Christ, Jolo, West Virginia, June 24, 1978. (Two hours; LWO 16,506 reels 34A-35A)

AFS 20,302B: One tape containing an interview with Blitz Turner recorded at the Camp Creek Pentecostal Holiness Church, Camp Creek, West Virginia, June 26, 1978. (One hour; LWO 16,506 reel 36B)

AFS 20,303A2-B1: One tape containing interviews with Rev. Joe Turner and services recorded at the Camp Creek Pentecostal Holiness Church, Camp Creek, West Virginia, June 25, 1978. (One hour; LWO 16,506 reel 37)

AFS 22,063-22,067: Five 10-inch tapes of instrumentals and interviews performed on banjo and fiddle and spoken by Ward Jarvis of Braxton County, West Virginia. Recorded in Stewart, Ohio, by David Brose, December 12, 1978 June 26, 1979. The collection includes twenty-four pages of logs. (Ten hours; LWO 16,744)

AFS 22,158: One cassette of an interview with Carl Fleischhauer concerning his fieldwork with the Hammons family of Pocahontas County, West Virginia. Conducted and recorded by Gerald E. Parsons at the Library of Congress, July 13, 1978. The collection includes four pages of lists and a photocopy of the cassette label. (Ten minutes; RYA 2608)

AFS 22,184: One cassette of an interview with Burgess Hall concerning his involvement with the WWVA Jamboree in Wheeling, West Virginia, and the Grand Ole Opry in Nashville, Tennessee. Recorded by Fay McGinnis, 1979. The collection includes eight pages of correspondence and lists, and eleven black-and-white photographs with a log. (Forty-five minutes; RYA 2525)

AFS 22,469: One 5-inch tape of instrumentals and songs performed with banjo, fiddle, guitar, harmonica, and plucked dulcimer by school children of Webster County, West Virginia. Recorded by Tom Brown, May 1976 May 13, 1980. The collection includes six pages of correspondence and lists. (Twenty-three minutes; RXA 4002)

AFS 22,948-22,967: Twenty 10-inch tapes of instrumentals, songs, and stories performed and spoken by William Moses "Mose" Coffman of Greenbrier County, West Virginia; the Hammons family of Pocahontas County, West Virginia; Tommy Hal Hunter of Mars Hill, North Carolina; and Dellie C. Norton of Marshall, North Carolina. Recorded in West Virginia by Dwight Diller, Patrick Gainer, and Bill Hicks, July 1969 October 1970, and in North Carolina by Bill Hicks. The collection includes one and one-fourth linear inches of correspondence and logs.

AFS 22,948-22,966: Nineteen tapes containing instrumentals, songs, and stories performed with bagpipes, banjo, fiddle, fiddlesticks, guitar, hammered dulcimer, harmonica, and mandolin, primarily by the Hammons family and their friends and neighbors. Recorded in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, by Dwight Diller, July 1969 June 1970. (Thirty-seven hours; RWA 8052-8070)

AFS 22,967A-B2: One tape containing instrumentals, songs, and stories performed with fiddle and guitar by William Moses "Mose" Coffman, Burl Hammons, and Maggie Hammons Parker. Recorded in Greenbrier and Pocahontas Counties, West Virginia, by Bill Hicks, 1971. (One hour and three minutes; RWA 8071)

AFS 23,158-23,176: Nineteen 10-inch tapes of homecomings, interviews, prayer meetings, public confessions, radio broadcasts, religious services, snake- handlings, snake hunts, songs, tent revivals, and testimonies. Recorded in Georgia, Kentucky, Tennessee, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Washington, D.C., and West Virginia by Eleanor Dickinson, 1980-81.

AFS 23,167-23,173: Seven tapes containing church services, homecomings, and interviews with Claire and Dewey Chafin and Barbara Elkins. Recorded at the Church of Jesus Christ, Jolo, West Virginia, August 1981. (Fourteen hours; RWA 8370-8376)

AFS 23,177-23,182: Six 10-inch tapes of religious practices recorded in Kentucky, Tennessee, Washington, D.C., and West Virginia by Eleanor Dickinson, 1976. The collection includes one linear inch of logs and twelve color slides.

AFS 23,179-23,180: Two tapes containing church services performed by Rev. Joe Turner and congregation. Recorded at the Camp Creek Pentecostal Holiness Church, Camp Creek, West Virginia, July 18, 1976. (Four hours; RWA 7819-7820)

AFS 26,768-26,769: Two 7-inch tapes of five instrumentals and an interview with Dwight Diller concerning his recollections of the Hammons family of Pocahontas County, West Virginia, his own religious awakening, and aspects of traditional music. Conducted by Alan Jabbour and recorded by Gerald E. Parsons at the Library of Congress, December 18, 1980. The collection includes four pages of collection entries, a concordance, and photocopies of tape boxes. (One hour; RXA 4003-4004)

AFS 26,958-26,959: Two 10-inch tapes of instrumentals performed on fiddle by Joe Meadows, originally of southern West Virginia, and Brendan Mulvihill. Recorded at the Library of Congress at a workshop-demonstration entitled "American Fiddling Styles" sponsored by the American Folklife Center, November 17, 1986. The collection includes seven pages of collection inventory, ephemera, lists of photos, photocopies of tape boxes, and a press release. (Two hours; RWB 3769-3770)

AFS 27,061-27,063: Three cassettes of instrumentals and interviews performed on fiddle and guitar and spoken by Edden and James Hammons. Originally recorded on discs in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, by Louis Watson Chappell, August 14-23, 1947. The collection includes one linear inch of manuscripts, and was donated by John A. Cuthbert of West Virginia University. (Four hours and thirty minutes; RYB 0701-0703)

AFS 27,064: One 7-inch tape of bluegrass, fiddle, guitar, and mandolin contests recorded at the Ralph Joe Meadows Fiddlers' Convention and Band Contest in Point Pleasant, West Virginia, July 22, 1978. Donated by Beverley V. Underwood. The collection includes six pages of logs and a photocopy of the tape box. (RXA 9959)

AFS 27,064A11-13: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Frank Bowels of Leon, West Virginia, with mandolin. (Five minutes)

AFS 27,064A17-18: One tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle by Everett Wedge of Point Pleasant, West Virginia, with guitar. (Four minutes)

AFS 27,064A22-24: One tape containing instrumentals performed on guitar by George Ward of Histon, West Virginia, with banjo. (Seven minutes)

AFS 27,064A32-33, B1-8: One tape containing instrumentals and songs performed with banjo, fiddle, guitar, and mandolin by friends and staff of the "Friendly Neighbor Radio Show," WKLC, St. Albans, West Virginia. Performers include "Fiddlin'" George Carr, Barbara Cooper, Jim Cooper, "Grampa," Frank Lunsford, and Joe Meadows. (Twenty-eight minutes)

AFS 27,064A40-42: One tape containing instrumentals performed on mandolin by Steve Cord of Glen Fork, West Virginia, with guitar. (Six minutes)

AFS 27,064A49-51: One tape containing instrumentals performed on mandolin by Willard Reynolds of Milton, West Virginia, with guitar. (Six minutes)

AFS 27,064A52-54: One tape containing instrumentals performed on mandolin by Tex Corfee of Leon, West Virginia, with guitar. (Five minutes)

AFS 27,064B15-17: One tape containing songs performed with banjo, fiddle, guitar, and mandolin by Bluegrass Station of Charleston, West Virginia. (Nine minutes)

AFS 27,064B18-20: One tape containing instrumentals and songs performed with banjo, fiddle, guitar, and mandolin by Madison County Bluegrass of Leon, West Virginia. (Seven minutes)

AFS 27,064B21-23: One tape containing songs performed with banjo, fiddle, guitar, and mandolin by the West Virginia Gentlemen of Hurricane, West Virginia. (Ten minutes)

AFC 1970/001: Five videocassettes of baptisms; church services; fire-, poison-, and serpent-handling; foot-washing; healing and casting-out devils; interviews; The Lord's Supper; preaching; revivals; songs performed with autoharp, drums, guitar, plucked dulcimer, tambourine, and tin whistle; and speaking in tongues. Recorded in California, Kentucky, Tennessee, and West Virginia by Eleanor Dickinson, 1978-82. This footage was edited to produce Revival!, a videotape which was used in an exhibit at the Tennessee State Museum and elsewhere, 1981-82. The collection includes five linear inches of ephemera and manuscripts.

AFC 1970/001:V2A2; V5A3-4: Two videocassettes containing fire-, poison-, and serpent-handling; interviews; preaching; songs performed with guitar and tambourines; and speaking in tongues. Recorded at various locations in West Virginia, 1978. (Forty-five minutes)

AFC 1979/006: Ten 10-inch tapes of instrumentals, interviews, and songs performed primarily as part of the 1979 Neptune Plaza Concert Series, sponsored by the American Folklife Center. Recorded at the Library of Congress, April-September 1979. The collection includes one box of print materials, 303 black-and-white negatives, eleven black-and-white contact sheets, three 8x10 black-and-white photographs, four 6x9 black-and-white photographs, one 6x9 color photoprint, and 151 color slides.

AFC 1979/006:SR1: One tape containing an interview with Don Stover of Beckley, West Virginia. Recorded April 27, 1979. (One hour; LWO 12,798)

AFC 1979/006:SR3-4: Two tapes containing songs performed with banjo and guitar by Hazel Dickens of Mercer County, West Virginia, and Don Stover of Beckley, West Virginia. Recorded June 28, 1979. (One hour and thirty minutes; LWO 12,876-12,877)

AFC 1982/011: Thirteen 10-inch tapes of instrumentals and songs performed as part of the Neptune Plaza Concert Series, sponsored by the American Folklife Center. Recorded at the Library of Congress, April-October, 1982. The collection includes two boxes of print materials, 171 black-and-white negatives, eight black-and-white contact sheets, three 8x10 black-and-white photographs, one 5x7 black-and-white photograph, and 186 color slides.

AFC 1982/011:SR10-11: Two tapes containing instrumentals and songs performed with autoharp and guitar by Dave Morris of Ivydale, West Virginia. (One hour and thirty minutes; RWA 4162-4163)

AFC 1983/004: Eight videocassettes of instrumentals and songs performed with banjo, fiddle, and fiddlesticks by the Hammons family, with interviews by Mike Mirarchi and Bobby Jo Sharp-Estilow. Recorded in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, by WWVU-TV of West Virginia University, ca. 1983. This footage was edited to produce The Hammons Family, Vandalia Sampler #7, for West Virginia Public Television. The collection includes three-sixteenths linear inch of correspondence, fieldnotes, and lists. (Two hours)

AFC 1985/018: Twenty-five 7-inch tapes, one 5-inch tape, and two cassettes of instrumentals, songs, and stories performed, spoken, and sung with banjo, fiddle, and fiddlesticks by the Hammons family of Pocahontas County, West Virginia, and Dona Hammons Gum and Grover Cleveland "Ham" Gum, of Mill Creek, West Virginia. Recorded by Carl Fleischhauer and Jan Hurst, March 24, 1973 May 27, 1977. The collection includes eight linear inches of ephemera and manuscripts, and seven black-and-white photographs.

AFC 1985/018:SR1-24: Twenty-one 7-inch tapes, one 5-inch tape, and two cassettes containing instrumentals, songs, and stories performed, spoken, and sung with banjo, fiddle, and fiddlesticks by the Hammons family. Recorded in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, May 5, 1973 May 27, 1977. (Fourteen hours)

AFC 1985/018:SR25-28: Four 7-inch tapes containing instrumentals and stories performed with banjo and spoken by Dona Hammons Gum and Grover Cleveland "Ham" Gum. Recorded in Mill Creek, West Virginia, March 24, 1973. See also: AFS 17,019. (Two hours)

AFC 1989/003: Three 5-inch tapes, seventeen 7-inch tapes, and three cassettes of interviews, songs, and stories performed, spoken, and sung with banjo, fiddle, and guitar by various artists. Recorded primarily in West Virginia, April 30, 1968 August 28, 1976. Donated by Carl Fleischhauer.

AFC 1989/003:SR1-6: Six 7-inch tapes containing an interview with Everett Lilly. Recorded in Clear Creek, West Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer and Tom Screven, March 22, 1975. This portion of the collection includes one linear inch of manuscripts. (Three hours)

AFC 1989/003:SR7-8A: Two cassettes containing instrumentals and interviews performed on banjo and fiddle and spoken by James Franklin "Doc" White. Recorded in Ivydale, West Virginia, by Art Albrecht, Phoebe Fisher, and Patrick Gainer, April 30, 1968. (One hour and ten minutes)

AFC 1989/003:SR9-10: Two 7-inch tapes containing instrumentals and songs performed with banjo and fiddle by the AA Cutters of Morgantown, West Virginia. Performers include Dwight Diller, Rock Garton, Ron Mullennex, Linda Rogers, Norm Strouse, Beth Weil, and Andy and Becky Williams. Recorded near Morgantown, West Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer, May 2, 1973. (Forty-five minutes)

AFC 1989/003:SR11-13: Two 7-inch tapes and one 5-inch tape containing instrumentals and songs performed with banjo and guitar by Dwight Diller of Hillsboro, West Virginia. Recorded in Morgantown, West Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer, February 11, 1971. (One hour and seventeen minutes)

AFC 1989/003:SR14-15: Two 7-inch tapes containing instrumentals and stories performed with banjo and fiddle and spoken by Ward Jarvis of Braxton County, West Virginia. Recorded in Stewart, Ohio, by Carl Fleischhauer and Jan Hurst, April 12, 1974. (One hour and seven minutes)

AFC 1989/003:SR16-18: Three 7-inch tapes containing instrumentals performed on banjo, fiddle, and guitar, and interviews with William O. "Bill" and Locie Iman. Recorded in Charleston, West Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer, March 23, 1975. (One hour and thirty-two minutes)

AFC 1989/003:SR19: One 5-inch tape containing instrumentals performed on fiddle, guitar, and mandolin, and interviews with Dean and Neal Reed concerning their father, Henry Reed, originally of Monroe County, West Virginia. Recorded near Narrows, Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer and Alan Jabbour, November 29, 1975. (Two hours)

AFC 1989/003:SR20: One 7-inch tape containing two interviews with Albert "Ab" Cole concerning the early years of hillbilly music, especially his work with Wilma Lee and Stoney Cooper. Recorded in Mannington, West Virginia, by Jeannie and Louis Horacek, October 3 and November 26, 1974. (One hour and forty minutes)

AFC 1989/003:SR21: One 5-inch tape containing an instrumental performed on banjo and an interview with Andy Boarman. Recorded in Hedgesville, West Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer and Gary Simmons, fall 1975. (Fifteen minutes)

AFC 1989/003:SR23A1: One cassette containing an interview with Elva Johnson of Mercer County, West Virginia. Recorded at the John Henry Folk Festival near Charleston, West Virginia, by Carl Fleischhauer, August 28, 1976. (Thirteen minutes

Manuscript Collections

AFC 1996/051: One hundred seventy-eight photocopied pages of newspaper accounts, transcripts of testimony, and other courtroom documents pertaining to the trial of Sarah Ann Legg for the murder of her husband, Jay Legg, in Clay County, West Virginia, February 10, 1904. Collected by Carl Fleischhauer and Alan Jabbour, ca. 1973, in connection with their fieldwork and subsequent preparation for publication of recordings numbered AFS L65-66, The Hammons Family: A Study of a West Virginia Family's Traditions, which includes the song, "Jay Legg."

AFC 1996/065: Lawrence, Anne, et. al. "On Dark and Bloody Ground: An Oral History of the U.M.W.A. in Central Appalachia 1920-1935." A National Endowment for the Humanities Youthgrant report compiled in 1973 by Anne Lawrence, Robert Hauptman, David Morris, Robert Seltzer, Matthew Witt, Edgar James, Earl Dotter, and Mary Bennett, under the auspices of the Miner's Voice newspaper in Charleston, West Virginia. 269 pages. The report contains interviews with coal miners and copies of photographs taken by Ben Shahn for the Resettlement Administration in southern West Virginia and eastern Kentucky in 1935.

Microfilm Collection

Reece, Cortez Donald. "A Study of Selected Folksongs Collected Mainly in Southern West Virginia." Los Angeles: University of Southern California, 1954. Ph.D. dissertation in Philosophy. 1,084 pages. An analysis of aspects of the state of West Virginia and the ways in which folksongs influence the lifestyle of that region. Included are two-hundred forty songs collected, categorized, and analyzed by Reece, with a biblio-discography, one stanza of musical notation, and full textual transcription for each. (MUSIC 813)