Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

WELSH AND WELSH AMERICAN COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE
Acquired through 1999

Compiled by: Allison R.L. Williams
Series Editor: Ann Hoog

Publication Date: April 2003
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 32
ISSN 0736-4903

AFS 4159-4193: Thirty-five 12-inch discs of instrumentals and songs recorded at various locations in Wisconsin by Robert F. Draves and Helene Stratman-Thomas (Blotz), August 19 September 5, 1940, for the Library of Congress and the University of Wisconsin. The collection includes five-eighths linear inch of descriptions and lists.

AFS 4159A1-2, B1: One disc containing two Welsh hymns and "My Welsh Relation" sung by William Reese and Selina Phillips, and D. W. Wickham, respectively. Recorded in Dodgeville, August 19, 1940. (Six minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 282A)

AFS 4178A-4180B1: Three discs containing six Welsh hymns and one English hymn sung by the congregation of Peniel Church during Gymanfa Ganu. Recorded in Pickett, August 25, 1940. (Twenty minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 283)

AFS 4180B2-4183A: Four discs containing seven Welsh songs sung with piano by several singers. Recorded in Pickett, August 25-26, 1940. (Eighteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 283B)

AFS 4948-5025: Seventy-eight 12-inch discs of conversations, instrumentals, poems, and songs recorded at various locations in Wisconsin by Robert F. Draves and Helene Stratman-Thomas (Blotz), November 15, 1940 August 19, 1941, for the Library of Congress and the University of Wisconsin. The collection includes three-fourths linear inch of descriptions and lists.

AFS 4967-4968A: Two discs containing three Welsh songs sung by Hugh P. Jones. Recorded in Red Granite, July 20, 1941. (Thirteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 3B)

AFS 6994-7013; 7068-7082; 7738-7753: Forty-nine 12-inch and two 16-inch discs of African-American, Amish, Associate Presbyterian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, German, Mennonite, Mormon, Norwegian, Swedish, Trappist monk, and Welsh religious songs, with interviews. Recorded at various locations in Iowa by Addison Alspach and Marcus Bach, March 10, 1943-November 1944. The collection includes one-eighth linear inch of descriptions and lists.

AFS 7003-7006; 7069: Five 12-inch discs containing nine Welsh hymns sung by the congregation of Salem Presbyterian Church, and an interview with Reverend Davis. Recorded near Crawfordsville, May 23, 1943. (Twenty-nine minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 440B, LWO 5111 reel 6)

AFS 8362-8473: One hundred twelve 12-inch discs of instrumentals, songs, and stories recorded at various locations in Wisconsin by Charles Hofmann, Phyllis Pinkerton, Aubrey Snyder, and Helene Stratman-Thomas (Blotz), July 23 November 17, 1946, for the Library of Congress and the University of Wisconsin. The collection includes three-fourths linear inch of correspondence and descriptions.

AFS 8427A1: One disc containing the Welsh hymn "Way up in Heaven," sung by Mrs. Laura Avanell. Recorded in Linden, August 22, 1946. (Two minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 111A)

AFS 9011-9027: Ten 10-inch and seven 12-inch discs of customs, dances, instrumentals, a mumming play, and songs. Recorded in Cornwall, Co. Down, Gloucestershire, Isle of Lewis, Lincolnshire, Oxfordshire, Somerset, and elsewhere by various collectors, 1937-46, for the British Broadcasting Corporation. The collection includes ten pages of lists.

AFS 9024: One disc containing two songs sung by Phillip Tanner of Llangenith, Gower, Wales. Recorded December 21, 1937. (Six minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 177B)

AFS 9719-9738: Sixteen 12-inch and four 10-inch discs of poems, Serbian church songs, songs in Gaelic and Welsh, and songs of silver miners. Recorded in Butte, Montana, by Charles R. Cutts, Wayland D. Hand, and Robert C. Wylder, July 10-29, 1948. The collection includes five pages of descriptions and lists.

AFS 9721-9722: Two discs containing nine Welsh songs sung by John Jones and Evan Roberts, recorded by Charles R. Cutts and Robert C. Wylder, July 10-11, 1948. (Twenty minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 254B)

AFS 24,214-24,220: One 7-inch and six 10-inch tapes of thirteen half-hour radio programs containing religious and secular instrumental and vocal music of Wisconsin. Songs are selected from the University of Wisconsin/Library of Congress field survey of Wisconsin music, conducted 1940-46 by Helene Stratman-Thomas (Blotz) and others (see AFS 8362-8473). The series, entitled "The Wisconsin Patchwork," was produced for Wisconsin Public Radio at WHA Public Radio, Madison, Wisconsin, by Judy Woodward and Vicki Nonn, and is narrated by Dan Devany. It was originally broadcast in 1984. The collection includes one-half linear inch of bibliography, historical information, and notes.

AFS 24,215A: One 10-inch tape containing "Songs of the Homeland: Patriotic and Nostalgic Songs from the Old World" (program number three).

AFS 24,215A5: "Enwaith etto Cumrie Ahnwul" ["Unwaith eto 'Nghymru annwyl"] ("Once Again in Dear Old Wales") sung by Hugh P. Jones. Recorded in Red Granite, July 20, 1941. (Four minutes; RWB 2918)

AFS 24,219A: One 10-inch tape containing "Hymnody" (program number twelve).

AFS 24,219A10-11: "Huddersfield" and "Cwm Rhondda" sung by the congregation of the Peniel Church during Gymanfa Ganu. Recorded in Pickett, August 25, 1940. (Seven minutes; RWB 2922)

AFS 24,468-25,767; 25,982-26,016: One thousand three hundred thirty-five primarily 10-inch discs of dialect recorded primarily in New England, South Carolina, and Virginia by E. Marguerite Chapallaz, Miles Hanley, Guy S. Lowman, Lorenzo Turner, and others, 1931-37. Recorded in part for the Linguistic Atlas of New England. Received on exchange from the American Dialect Society.

AFS 25,183: One disc containing an interview with Mr. Blanchard in which he recollects traveling through Wales while working as a sailor shipping guano around the world. Recorded in Yarmouth, Maine, by E. Marguerite Chapallaz and Guy S. Lowman, July 3, 1934. (Thirteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 25,028 reel 39B)

AFS 25,519: One disc containing an interview with Casper L. Leach in which he talks of the Welsh people coming to work in the slate quarries in his area. Recorded in Pawlet, Vermont, August 17, 1934. (Twelve minutes; tape copy on LWO 25,028 reel 58B)

AFC 1972/001: Two hundred seventeen 12-inch discs (copied from 177 wax cylinders), 40 ink and pencil drawings, 352 black-and-white negatives, 592 black-and-white photographic prints, 112 black-and-white glass plate negatives, 115 black-and-white glass positives (lantern slides), 17 color slides, 4 color photographic prints, and 12 linear feet of manuscripts documenting primarily British and American folk music, dance, British ritual drama, narratives, and children's folklore collected in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and the northeastern United States by James Madison Carpenter from 1927-1955. There is a searchable online catalog for this collection prepared by the University of Sheffield available at: http://olive.shef.ac.uk/carpenter/index.html (link no longer works as of April 5, 2005). A collection guide is available at: http://www.loc.gov/folklife/guides/carpenter.html.

AFC 1986/018: Two 10-inch tapes of the 63rd Annual Peniel Gymanfa Ganu including hymns, prayers, and psalms sung in English and Welsh by the congregation of Peniel Church. Recorded in Pickett, Wisconsin, by Judy Woodward for Wisconsin Public Radio, August 24, 1986. The collection includes a copy of a four-page program and five pages of correspondence and notes. (Four hours) [See also AFS 4178A-4180B1 and 24,219A10-11]