Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

WASHINGTON FIELD RECORDINGS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Claudia J. Widgery
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: September 1982

AFS 8347-8349: Three discs containing songs sung by convalescent soldiers recorded at Barnes General Hospital, Vancouver, WA, ca. 1948 by Mrs. Ivalee Hobden.

AFS 10,090-10,094: Five 10-inch tapes containing songs of various Indian tribes recorded by Willard Rhodes in 1950. Locations include Washington and Idaho. Portions of this collection have been published by the Library of Congress on LP AFS L34, Northwest (Puget Sound).

AFS 10,090A1-B22: Thirty-three songs of the Lummi, Nisqually, Puyallup, Skokomish, Snohomish, and Snoqualmie recorded in Auburn and Shelton, WA.

AFS 10,090B23-10,091B1: Forty-six songs of the Lummi, Nooksack, Skagit, and others recorded in Marietta and Everson, WA.

AFS 10,091B2-B15: Fourteen songs of the Samish, Swinomish, and Shakers recorded in La Conner, WA.

AFS 10,091B16-10,093B8: Fifty-eight songs of the Clayoquot, Klallam, Makah, Nitinat, Quinault, Chinook, and Quileute recorded in La Push and Neah Bay, WA.

AFS 10,093B9-B38: Thirty songs of the Clalam, Chehellis, Chinook, Nisqually, Puyallup, and Twana recorded in Union, WA.

AFS 12,210A2-12,213A2: Four discs containing thirty-eight songs of various Indian tribes recorded in Toppenish, WA, in July 1947 by Willard Rhodes. Sponsored by the Bureau of Indian Affairs. [Duplicate copies on discs AFS 9545B4-9548A5.]

AFS 14,218-14,221: Four 10-inch tapes containing songs and narratives recorded by Benjamin A. Botkin in 1949 and 1950, and Voice of America folklore programs.

AFS 14,219B: Includes two songs with narrative by James Stevens and ten parodies and songs with narrative by Ivar Hagland, recorded in 1950 in Seattle, WA.

AFS 14,368-14,372: Five wires containing Nootka and Makah stories recorded by Morris Swadesh, n.d. Gift of the American Philosophical Society.

AFS 17,599: One cassette containing an interview about the Washington and Oregon legend of the Sasquatch. Mr. and Mrs. Francis Fasinski are interviewed by Helen and Norman Custis in Washingotn, DC, November 1973.

AFS 19,249: One 7-inch tape containing three Utah folksongs duplicated from discs in the collections of Austin and Alta Fife and Lester Hubbard. Included is "Mountain Meadows Massacre," sung by George Harter of Kahlotus, WA, recorded in 1952 by Joseph Tarbet, which is included on the Library of Congress LP LBC9, Songs of Death and Tragedy.

AFS 19,361: One 10-inch tape containing eight songs and recitations by Edmund Seymour of New York City, as learned in the West, especially Washington. Duplicated from four discs recorded in March 1941 by Tony Kraber and loaned by John Patterson.

Cyl. 895-976: Eighty-two cylinders containing music of the Quileute, recorded by Leo Joachim Frachtenberg, n.d. Part of the Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Collection.

Cyl. 2909-3033: One hundred and twenty-five cylinders containing songs of the Makah recorded in 1923 by Frances Densmore. Part of the Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Collection. [Duplicate on discs AFS 10,649-10,664.]

Cyl. 3034-3081: Forty-eight cylinders containing songs of the Clayoquot recorded in 1923 by Frances Densmore. Part of the Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Collection. [Duplicate on discs AFS 10,655-10,671.]

Cyl. 3082-3092: Eleven cylinders containing songs of the Quileute recorded in 1926 by Frances Densmore. Part of the Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Collection. [Duplicate on discs AFS 10,672-10,673.]

Cyl. 3093-3100: Eight cylinders containing songs of the Nootka recorded in 1926 by Frances Densmore. Part of the Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Collection. [Duplicate on discs AFS 10,675.]

Cyl. 3101-3102: Two cylinders containing songs of the Quinault and Yakima recorded in 1923 and 1926 by Frances Densmore. Part of the Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Collection. [Duplicate on discs AFS 10,675.]

Cyl. 3713-3718: Six cylinders containing songs of the various North American Indian tribes recorded by Frances Densmore, n.d. Part of the Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Collection.

Cyl. 3817-3819: Three cylinders containing songs of the Clayoquot recorded in 1923 by Frances Densmore. Part of the Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Collection.

Cyl. 3829-3842: Fourteen cylinders containing songs of the Makah recorded in 1923 by Frances Densmore. Part of the Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Collection.

Cyl. 3862: One cylinder containing songs of the Quileute recorded in 1926 by Frances Densmore. Part of the Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Collection.