Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

UTAH COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE
Acquired through 1997

Compiled by: Taryn N. Taylor
Series Editor: Ann Hoog

Publication Date: September 2002
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 30
ISSN 0736-4903

The compiler wishes to thanks Claudia J. Widgery for her compilation of the previous Utah finding aid in 1982.

Sound Recordings and Multiformat Collections

AFS 1637: One 12-inch disc of four songs sung by Ernest Bourne of Salt Lake City, Utah, recorded at the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C., by Alan Lomax, May 24, 1938. (Five minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 119B)

AFS 8638-8724: Seventy-eight 12-inch and nine 10-inch discs of Mormon and other songs and stories recorded at various locations in Utah, by Alta S. Fife, Austin E. Fife, and Hector Lee, July 1946; April 1947. The collection includes one and one-fourth linear inches of content lists and correspondence. (Eighteen hours and fifteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 127-136)

AFS 8972-8976: Five 10-inch discs of fifteen songs sung by Erastus H. Peterson, Noah E. Stowe, and Susie Theobald recorded in Fillmore and Manti, Utah, by Hector Lee, 1940s. The collection includes one-fourth linear inch of correspondence and a one-page song list. (Forty minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 174B-175A)

AFS 9146-9147: Two 16-inch discs of the radio program "Mormon Epic in Song," featuring recordings made in various locations throughout Utah by Austin E. Fife. The program is narrated by Arthur Gate and was recorded by radio station WOL, Washington, D.C., 1947. (Thirty minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 193A)

AFS 9519-9543B5: Twenty-five 16-inch discs of American Indian music recorded in Arizona, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and South Dakota by Willard Rhodes, summer 1941, for the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the Library of Congress. The collection includes one-fourth linear inch of a concordance, content lists, and a published article.

AFS 9520B1, B3-9521A3: Two 16-inch discs containing Paiute songs sung by Tony Tillohash of Santa Clara, Utah, with Charles Grayman, George McFee, and Edward Rice. Recorded in Flagstaff, Arizona. (Eighteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 229A)

AFS 10,368-10,386: Nineteen 16-inch discs of African American, Anglo American, Hopi, Mexican American, Mormon, and Shoshone music and stories recorded in California and Utah by Alta S. Fife, Austin E. Fife, Martha Huot, and M.M. Keller, September 3, July 9, 1951. The collection includes one and one-half linear inches of content lists and correspondence.

AFS 10,368A-B1: One disc containing the lyrics of four Mormon songs read by Austin E. Fife and two Anglo American songs sung by Gideon T. Alvard and Carolyn Campbell. Recorded in Logan, Utah, by Alta S. Fife and Austin E. Fife, September 3-4, 1947. (Fifteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 301A)

AFS 10,369B2: One disc containing two articles on "Superstitions and Folk Medicine of Early Utah" read by Austin E. Fife and recorded in Glendale, California, by Alta S. Fife and Austin E. Fife, July 2, 1948. (Four minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 301A)

AFS 10,376A-B1: One disc containing several Mormon stories read primarily from a manuscript entitled "Utah Folklore" by Austin E. Fife. (Twenty minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 302B-303A)

AFS 10,490: One 7-inch tape of stories about J. Golden Kimball, Mormon preacher, spoken and recorded in Chico, California, by Hector Lee, ca. 1951. The collection includes six pages of correspondence, listening notes, and other administrative papers. (Thirty minutes; LWO 1892; tape copy on LWO 8011 reel 44)

AFS 10,583-10,596: Fourteen 16-inch discs containing transfers of Northern Ute Indian songs, a speech, and stories originally recorded on one hundred nine wax cylinders in Fort Duchesne and Whiterocks, Utah, by Frances Densmore, August 1914 and August 3-12, 1916. (Five hours; speed corrected preservation tape copy on RWE 7431-7433). (See also AFS 21,262)

AFS 11,307-11,309; 11,334-11,444: Fourteen 10-inch tapes of music recorded in California, Cape Breton Island, Iran, Ireland, New England, New York, and Wisconsin primarily by Sidney Robertson Cowell, 1951-56. The collection includes forty-three pages of correspondence, lists, notes, and a published article.

AFS 11,309B1-2: One tape containing two songs sung by Rodney Munson of Utah, recorded in California by Sidney Robertson Cowell, July 26, 1951. (Ten minutes; LWO 2496 reel 3B)

AFS 11,859-11,864: Six 10-inch tapes of songs and stories recorded primarily in the Los Angeles, California, area by Wayland D. Hand, D. K. Wilgus, and various UCLA students, 1956-60. The collection includes forty pages of correspondence, lyrics, notes, transcripts, and song lists.

AFS 11,859A1-7: One tape containing seven songs sung by Rosalie Sorrels recorded in Salt Lake City, Utah, by Wayland D. Hand, July 20, 1957. (Twenty-five minutes; LWO 3272 reel 1A)

AFS 11,859B1-2: One tape containing two songs sung by George Thaxton recorded in Riverton, Utah, by Wayland D. Hand, July 23, 1957. (Five minutes; LWO 3272 reel 1B)

AFS 14,618-14,625: Eight 10-inch tapes of American Indian music recorded in Arizona, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming by Willard Rhodes, June 1952, July 1952, and in Oregon by Louise B. Johannaber, in or before 1952, for the Bureau of Indian Affairs. The collection includes one-half linear inch of content lists.

AFS 14,618A1-13: One tape containing thirteen Apache, Kiowa, and Pawnee songs recorded at the Intermountain Indian boarding school in Brigham City, Utah, by Willard Rhodes, summer 1951. (Twenty-five minutes; LWO 6692 reel 1A)

AFS 14,619A1-6: One tape containing six Hopi, Navajo, and Pueblo songs recorded at the Intermountain Indian boarding school in Brigham City, Utah, by Willard Rhodes, July 1951. (Fifteen minutes; LWO 6692 reel 2A)

AFS 14,619B6-14,620A10: Two tapes containing thirty-three Ute songs recorded in Whiterocks, Utah, by Willard Rhodes, summer 1951. (One hour and thirty minutes; LWO 6692 reels 2B-3A)

AFS 14,624A1-14,624B7: One tape containing fifty-five Arikara, Creek, Ecuadorian, Eskimo, Navajo, and Shawnee songs recorded at the Intermountain Indian boarding school in Brigham City, Utah, by Willard Rhodes, June 1952. (One hour and thirty minutes; LWO 6692 reel 7)

AFS 19,249: One 7-inch tape of three Utah songs, "Cowboy Jack", "On the Road to California", and "Mountain Meadow Massacre" by unknown performers. Duplicated from the collections of Alta S. and Austin E. Fife and Lester Hubbard. Donated by Hal Cannon, 1976. (Fifteen minutes; LWO 12,011)

AFS 19,416-19,417: Two cassettes of music recorded at the 1973 Fresno Folk Festival at Fresno City College, Fresno, California, by Charlie McCoy, May 11-13, 1973. The collection includes twenty-one pages of correspondence and performer lists.

AFS 19,417A7-B1: One cassette containing four songs and narratives performed by Bruce (U. Utah) Phillips of Salt Lake City, Utah. (Thirty-five minutes; LWO 12,942 reel 2)

AFS 19,540: One cassette of an interview with Austin E. Fife recorded in Logan, Utah, by William A. Wilson, May 31, 1972, for the American Folklore Society Oral History Project. (Sixty minutes; LWO 12,986)

AFS 21,261-21,262: Two 10-inch tapes of primarily Calusa, Cheyenne, Cocopa, Pawnee, Quileute, Sioux, Ute, and Yuma music and speech. Originally recorded on cylinders at various locations in North America by Frances Densmore, 1907-35. The collection includes twenty-five pages of documentation, notes, a published article, and a translation of a speech.

AFS 21,262A16: One tape containing a speech recorded on wax cylinder by Red Cap recorded in Whiterocks, Utah, by Frances Densmore, August 1914. (Three minutes; RWA 3410A) (See also AFS 10,583-10,596)

AFC 1983/009: Thirteen 10-inch tapes, two hundred thirty-three black-and-white negatives, eight black-and-white contact sheets, seven black-and-white photoprints, thirteen color photoprints, one hundred thirty color slides, and one linear inch of business cards, ephemera, guides, logs, notes, and published articles of performances from the 1983 Neptune Plaza Concert Series sponsored by the American Folklife Center and featuring the presentation of folk traditions from many cultures. Recorded at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C., April-September 1983. The following lists materials from the June 3rd concert of the Deseret String Band of Salt Lake City, Utah.

SR5: One tape containing the concert by the Deseret String Band. (One hour and thirty minutes; RWA 5869)

Envelope 8: One black-and-white contact sheet with photographs by John T. Gibbs. (17 images)

Folder 9: Five pages of press releases, a band biography, and a brochure on the band.

Folder 10: One sleeve with black-and-white negatives photographed by John T. Gibbs (17 images); and one 8 x10 black-and-white promo photo of the band photographed by Carol Edison.

AFC 1989/022: Sixty-five reel-to-reel tapes, two hundred thirty-three audiocassettes, over 24,000 black-and-white and color photographs, twenty-two 3/4-inch and 1/2-inch videocassettes, fifty linear feet of correspondence, ephemera, exhibit materials, fieldnotes, photo logs, publicity, reports, sound logs, and video logs, and twelve artifacts from the Italian Americans in the West project, an American Folklife Center field research project that focused on the cultural traditions of Italian Americans in the western United States. The materials were compiled in 1988-93; the field research took place in 1989-91 at Gilroy and San Pedro, California; Pueblo, Colorado; central and eastern Nevada; Carbon County, Utah; and Walla Walla, Washington. The project included the publication of a book of essays, Old Ties, New Attachments: Italian-American Folklife in the West (Washington, D.C.: American Folklife Center,1992), and a traveling exhibition of the same name that opened in October 1992. A guide to this collection is available at: http://www.loc.gov/folklife/guides/Italian-AmericansintheWest.pdf. The following summarizes the collection materials documenting the traditions of Carbon County, Utah.

IAW-PFN-A001; A006: Six audiocassettes (6 hours);
IAW-PFN-B001; B008: Black-and-white contact sheets and negatives (276 images);
IAW-PFN-C001; C015: Color slides (297 images);
Includes interviews and photographs documenting the stories and traditions of Helper, Utah, mainly focusing on the immigrants from the Calabria region of southern Italy. (Recorded and photographed by Philip Notarianni)

IAW-TC-B001; B008: Black-and-white contact sheets and negatives (226 images);
IAW-TC-C001; C016: Color slides (190 images);
Includes documentation of Italian American vernacular architecture in Carbon County, Utah. (Photographed by Tom Carter)

IAW-SS-A001 - A027: Twenty-seven audiocassettes (20 hours);
IAW-SS-R001 - R007: Seven 7-inch tapes (5 hours);
IAW-SS-B001 - B023: Black-and-white contact sheets and negatives (775 images);
IAW-SS-C001 - C032: Color slides (688 images);
Includes documentation of agriculture, foodways, language, occupations, stories, and other folk customs of Carbon County, Utah. (Recorded and photographed by Steve Siporin).

AFC 1990/010: Sixty-two cassettes of interviews, music, and stage performances duplicated from the original Grouse Creek Cultural Survey collection housed at the Fife Folklore Archives, Utah State University. Recorded in the Grouse Creek region of Utah by Hal Cannon, Tom Carter, and Carol Edison, July-August 1985. The Grouse Creek Cultural Survey was a joint project of the American Folklife Center, the Folk Arts Program of the Utah Arts Council, the National Park Service, the Utah State Historic Preservation Office, Utah State University, and the Western Folklife Center. The collection includes two linear feet of architectural survey data, color transparency fiche, correspondence, fieldnotes, guides, logs, published articles, and transcriptions. (Eighty-five hours and thirty minutes)

AFC 1991/020: One cassette entitled "Listening In: Utah Storytelling," featuring recordings made at various locations in Utah primarily by David Stanley, in or before 1991, for the Utah Arts Council Folk Arts Program. The collection includes a booklet, a page of correspondence, and a receipt. (One hour)