Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

PENNSYLVANIA FIELD RECORDINGS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Linda P. Gross
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: August 1981

AFS 1771: One disc containing two labor songs recorded in Bryn Mawr, PA, in 1938 by Alan Lomax.

AFS 3155A; 3156-3157: Three discs containing eleven tunes played by Tink Queer and group, recorded in Ligonier, PA, in 1936 by Sidney Robertson for the Resettlement Administration.

AFS 3247: One disc which includes a song and two fiddle tunes with dancing by an anthracite miner from PA, recorded at the National Folk Festival in Chicago in 1937 by Sidney Robertson for the Resettlement Administration.

AFS 3670A: One disc containing ten spoken pieces by a group of school girls recorded at Camp Winona in Lake Como, PA, in 1937 by Herbert Halpert.

AFS 6077-6088: Twelve discs containing twenty-four songs sung by Mrs. Mariana Schaupp of Nebraska, then living in Kutztown, PA, recorded at the Library of Congress in 1941 by Alan Lomax.

AFS 6178: One discs containing four songs by children of Madison School, Philadelphia, recorded in Philadelphia, PA, in 1945 by Laura E. Ross.

AFS 7978-8017: Forty discs containing over fifty ballads and songs sung by various coal miners of the anthracite region of PA, recorded in 1946 by George Korson. Portions of this collection have been published by the Library of Congress on LP no. L16, Songs and Ballads of the Anthracite Miners.

AFS 8027-8032: Six discs containing nine songs sung by Crescent School students, recorded in Pittsburgh, PA, in 1944 by Jacob Evanson.

AFS 9143-9145: Three discs containing twenty-nine songs sung with guitar by Howard S. (Steve) Lee, of Philadelphia, PA, and Staunton, VA, recorded at the Library of Congress in 1948 by Duncan Emrich.

AFS 9841B; 9842B; 9843; 9852; 9853B; 9856B; 9862B; 9863B; 9866B: Nine discs which include sixteen tunes and songs performed by anthracite miners of PA, four Bach Chorales and Four German folksongs sung by the Pennsylvania Junior Chorus of Bethlehem, PA, and three Slavonic instrumentals played by the Slavonic Tamburitza Orchestra of Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, PA. Recorded at the National Folk Festival, Washington, DC, in 1938 by the U.S. Recording Co.

AFS 10,002: One spool of wire containing a ballad, recorded in Somerset County, PA. Accessioned in 1951.

AFS 10,389-10,391: Three discs containing three songs and one poem performed by Earl O. Schlegal and group, of Pennsburg, PA, recorded ca. 1949 by himself.

AFS 10,873-10,874: Two tapes containing Lithuanian folksongs recorded in the United States, including six from Pittsburgh, Scranton, Shenendoah, and Wilkes-Barre, PA, in 1949-1950 by Jonas P. Balys.

AFS 11,306: One tape containing thirteen songs sung by various artists at a migrant worker camp in Port Treverton, PA, and five songs sung by Blanche W. Keysner, recorded in Harrisburg, PA, in 1956 by Frank Hoffmann.

AFS 11,345: One tape containing thirty-eight miner's songs and children's game songs of the Pennsylvania Germans recorded in and around Pottsville, PA, by George Korson. Accessioned 1958.

AFS 11,688-11,690: Three tapes containing one hundred sixty songs sung by Albert Vergason and Sharon Vergason of Sweden Valley, PA, Ezra Barhight originally from Northeastern PA, and Hiram M. Cranmer of Hammersley Fork, PA, recorded in 1959 by Frank Hoffmann.

AFS 11,865: One tape containing over seventy songs, tunes, recitations and remarks by Hiram M. Cranmer, and four songs performed by Ame Walters, recorded in Hammersley Fork, PA 1956-1958 by Frank Hoffmann.

AFS 12,010-12,012: Three tapes of songs and ballads of bituminous coal miners including recordings of various artists from several areas of PA, recorded in 1940, by George Korson. Portions of the collection have been published by the Library of Congress on LP no. AFS L60, Songs and Ballads of the Bituminous Miners.

AFS 12,063: One tape entitled "The Folk-Lore in Sound of Central Pa.," narrated by Kay Oiler, written and accompanied by Melvin Curley. Gift of the Pennsylvania Folk Music Association. Accessioned in 1964.

AFS 14,026A: One tape which includes nine songs performed by Myra Elmers of Pittsburgh, PA, formerly of South Carolina, recorded at Penn State University, State College, PA, by Hilda A. Kring. Accessioned in 1969.

AFS 14,027: One tape containing a song performed by Morrison Baker, formerly of New Brighton, PA, recorded in 1967 by Charles C. Baker.

AFS 14,104-14,105: Two tapes containing forty-five songs and tunes performed by the North Carolina Ridge Runners of northeastern Maryland and Southeastern Pennsylvania, recorded ca. late 1940's, possibly at WDEL, Wilmington, Delaware; also Ola Belle Reed, Alex Cambell and the New River Boys of the Same region, recorded in 1968.

AFS 14223-14231: Nine tapes containing twenty-two tunes played by John Vesey, originally of Sligo County, Ireland, and group in Glenolden, PA; over fifty tunes played by Jehile Kirkuff and group, near Rush, Susquehanna County, PA, recorded in 1970 by Alan Jabbour.

AFS 14,266-14,267: Two tapes containing twenty-nine tunes played on fiddle by Earl Hafler and son Earl on guitar, recorded in Quakertown, PA, in 1970 by Alan Jabbour.

AFS 14,273-14,279: Seven tapes containing one hundred eighteen tunes played on fiddle by Jehile Kirkhuff of Susquehanna County, PA, and about forty tunes played on fiddle by Harvey Thompson of York County, PA recorded in 1970 by Robert P. Christeson.

AFS 14,419: One tape which includes three fiddle tunes played by Jehile Kirkhuff of Susquehanna County, PA, and group, recorded at the Old fiddler's picnic in Lenape, PA, in 1968 by Robert P. Christeson.

AFS 14,604: One tape containing two songs sung by Alex Campbell, Ola Belle Reed and the New River Boys of Rising Sun, Maryland and Oxford, Pennsylvania, recorded possibly in Memphis, Tennessee, ca. 1950, on the Chesapeake label. Girt of Jason David Pate.

AFS 15,821-15,852: Thirty-two discs which include over one hundred songs, ballads, tunes, dances and spoken performances, including material of the Pennsylvania Germans, American Indians, anthracite coal miners and river raftsmen. Recorded at the First Annual Pennsylvania Folk Festival directed by George Korson in Allentown, PA, in 1935 by George Hibbit and Walter Garwick for the Columbia University Library. Part of the Laura Boulton Collection.

AFS 17,472: One tape containing a song from an Old Order Amish worship service, recorded in Lancaster County, PA, in 1972 by Martin C. Ressler.

AFS 17,503-17,506: Four tapes containing a radio interview with Samuel P. Bayard, including a discussion of Pennsylvania's folksong tradition and the fife as a folk instrument in Pennsylvania, and outtakes of that program, recorded at Penn State University radio station WDFM, in 1974 by Jim Walker; also a program for TV broadcast of Pennsylvania German folksongs with discussion by Albert F. Buffington, Walter E. Boyer and Samuel P. Bayard, recorded for WFIL-TV, Philadelphia, PA, ca.1956 by Harold Nelson.

AFS 18,053-18,058: Six tapes which include eighteen songs, mostly in Yiddish, sung by Mrs. Ginsburg, recorded in Pittsburgh, PA, ca. 1959 by Jack Manischewitz.

AFS 18,059-18,073: Fifteen tapes containing interviews and music from fiddlers recorded in Central Pennsylvania in 1973-1974 by Robert C. Doyle.

AFS 18,080-18,086: Seven tapes containing interviews and music from fiddlers recorded in Buffalo Valley, PA, in 1975-1976 by Robert C. Doyle.

AFS 18,732: One tape containing Pennsylvania German songs and family lore performed by L. Harold Caldwell, of Wichita, Kansas, recorded at the Library of Congress in 1976 by Gerald E. Parsons, Jr.

AFS 18,849-18,871: Twenty-three tapes containing recordings of fiddlers living in the Buffalo valley, Union and Snyder Counties, PA, as well as square dance calling and bagpipe music recorded in 1973-1976 by Matthew G. Guntharp and Robert C. Doyle; two auctioneers at work recorded in 1974 by Deborah Erdle; Elmer Shaffer, fiddler from Millheim, PA, recorded in 1975 by Margaret Yocom.

AFS 18,883-18,890: Eight tapes containing country music played on fiddle, banjo, guitar and dobro by Ola Belle Reed and family of MD, NC, and PA, recorded in 1966 and 1977 by Henry Glassie.

AFS 18,971-18,976: Six tapes which include an interview with a Mennonite farmer of Lancaster County, PA, recorded by Diana Cohen and the students of the Trailside Country School, in connection with a Bicentennial publication of the Reading is Fundamental Program entitled, I Wish I Could Give My Son a Wild Racoon. Accessioned in 1977.

AFS 18,988-18,992: Five tapes containing twelve Pennsylvania fiddle players, bluegrass bands, old time string bands and ballad singers from Adams, Centre, Clarion, Cumberland, Dauphin, and Warren Counties, and Philadelphia, PA, recorded in 1976 by Mathew G. Guntharp and Robert C. Doyle.

AFS 19,161-19,178: Eighteen tapes containing songs of Lithuanian immigrants in the United States, which include over two hundred examples recorded in Croyden, Mahony City, Media, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Scranton, Shenendoah, Wilkes-Barre, and, PA, in 1949-1950 by Jonas Balys.

AFS 19,233: One tape containing two Jewish Folksongs and one original song in Yiddish, sung by Julian Grossman recorded in Norristown, PA, in 1975 by himself.

AFS 19,455-19,458: Four tapes containing the 1976 and 1977 Penn State Fiddlers' Competition recorded in State College, PA, by Timothy O'Briscoe and Hugh Johnson.

AFS 19,713-19,726: Fourteen tapes which include material of the Girvins Family recorded in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, in 1965; material from Ola Belle Reed of Rising Sun, Maryland, North Carolina, and Oxford, Pennsylvania, recorded in 1967 by Henry Glassie.