Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

MINNESOTA COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Ross. S. Gerston
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: May 1996
Series Number: LCFAFA No. 19
ISSN 0736-4903

The compiler offers thanks to Judith A. Gray, Carol B. Moran, and David A. Taylor for their assistance, and to Douglas B. Legg, who compiled an earlier version of the finding aid in 1982.

Sound Recordings and Multiformat Collections

AFS 1616-1637: Twenty-two 12-inch discs of songs sung by Barbara Bell, Ernest Bourne, W. C. Handy, Alan Lomax, Bess Brown Lomax, the Resettlement Administration Singers, the Rindlisbacher Lumberjack Group, Earl Robinson, the Skyline Farm Singers, and Blaine Stubblefield. Recorded primarily at the Library of Congress by Alan Lomax, 1937-38. The collection includes eight pages of notes.

AFS 1631-1632: Two discs containing thirteen songs in English and two in Spanish sung by Barbara Bell of Minneapolis, Minnesota. Recorded at the Library of Congress, May 19, 1938. (Twenty minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 119A)

AFS 3155-3313: One hundred fifty-nine 12-inch discs of instrumentals and songs recorded in Arkansas, Florida, Kentucky, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Tennessee, West Virginia, and Wisconsin by Sidney Robertson (Cowell), Charles Seeger, and Margaret Valiant, 1936-37, for the Resettlement Administration. The collection includes one linear inch of notes.

AFS 3247A4-5; 3252A1: Two discs containing two Finnish songs and one song in English sung by Marjorie Edgar of Marine on St. Croix, Minnesota. Recorded at the National Folk Festival, Chicago, by Sidney Robertson (Cowell), May 1937. (Four minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 215B; LWO 5111 reel 439A)

AFS 3268-3273: Six discs containing two narratives, two kantele instrumentals, three violin instrumentals, and twenty-one Finnish songs, six played with kantele and four with violin. Performed by Mrs. Herman Heino, Cecilia Kuitunen, Anna Leino, Maija Serkipato, Maja Serkipato, Mary Serkipato, Otto Serkipato, Matt Simi, Olga Simi, and Sue Simi. Recorded in Cloquet, Ely, Virginia, and Winton, Minnesota, by Sidney Robertson (Cowell), August 16-17, 1937. (Fifty minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 216B; LWO 5111 reel 440A)

AFS 3274-3275; 3298B: Three discs containing two instrumentals and six Finnish songs, performed by Marie Moilanen, Matti Perala, Elsa Perala, and Ulruka Vainionpaa. Recorded in Mountain Iron, Minnesota, by Sidney Robertson (Cowell), September 19, 1937. (Twenty-four minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reels 440A; 441A)

AFS 3280-3281A: Two discs containing one instrumental and three songs sung and played on tambouritzas by the Balkan Troubadours (Lubo Mitrovich, Nick Mitrovich, Dan Radakovich, Bob Rajacich, and George Rajacich). Recorded in Eveleth, Minnesota, by Sidney Robertson (Cowell), July 28, 1937. (Fifteen minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 216B-217A)

AFS 3298A; 3299-3303: Five discs containing eighteen Scottish Gaelic songs sung by John H. Matheson. Recorded in Duluth, Minnesota, by Sidney Robertson (Cowell), September 18, 1937. (Forty-five minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 441)

AFS 6089-6091: Three 16-inch discs of thirty-two songs sung with guitar and interview by Barbara Bell of Minneapolis, Minnesota. Recorded at the Library of Congress by Alan Lomax and Arthur Semmig, December 1941. (One hour and ten minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 40)

AFS 6182-6195: Fourteen 12-inch discs of North American Indian songs originally recorded on cylinders at various locations by Frances Densmore, 1908-34, for the Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution. The collection includes one linear inch of notes.

AFS 6186B: One disc containing a Chippewa honor song sung by Main'gans in Densmore's honor, originally recorded on one cylinder at the White Earth Indian Reservation, Minnesota, ca. 1908-9. (Three minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 401A)

AFS 6194-6195: Two discs containing six Chippewa songs sung with drum by Ga'gandac' of the White Earth Indian Reservation. Originally recorded on two cylinders in Minneapolis, Minnesota, 1908. (Twelve minutes; tape copy on LWO 4872 reel 401B)

AFS 6311-6313: Two 16-inch and one 12-inch discs of eighteen songs sung with guitar by Barbara Bell of Minneapolis, Minnesota. Recorded at the Library of Congress by Alan Lomax and Arthur Semmig, January 1942. (Forty-five minutes; tape copy on LWO 3493 reel 41B)

AFS 9689-9718: Thirty 12-inch discs of songs recorded at various locations in Michigan by Harry B. Welliver, Jr., and others, November 1948 February 1949, for the University of Michigan. The collection includes one linear inch of notes.

AFS 9700: One disc containing a Chippewa love song and a Chippewa war song, sung using a no. 10 can as a drum by John Lufkin, a Chippewa Indian originally from Gull Lake, White Earth Indian Reservation, Minnesota. Recorded in Brimley, Michigan, by Harry B. Welliver, Jr., November 15, 1948. (Ten minutes; tape copy on LWO 5111 reel 253A)

AFS 10,515-10,744: Two hundred thirty 16-inch discs of mostly North American Indian songs originally recorded on cylinders at various locations primarily by Frances Densmore, 1907-36, for the Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution. Transferred from the National Archives in 1948. The collection includes two linear inches of notes.

AFS 10,515-10,547B3: Thirty-three discs containing Chippewa songs originally recorded on two hundred fifty-eight cylinders at the Leech Lake, Red Lake, and White Earth Indian Reservations, Minnesota; Minneapolis, Minnesota; and Washington, D.C., by Frances Densmore, 1907-10. Portions of this collection have been published by the Library of Congress on recording number AFS L22, Songs of the Chippewa. (Eleven hours and eight minutes; tape copies on LWO 5111 reels 312A-317B)

AFS 11,859-11,864: Six 10-inch tapes of songs and stories from the United States and abroad, recorded primarily in the Los Angeles area by Wayland D. Hand, D. K. Wilgus, and various U.C.L.A. students, 1949-60. The collection includes one linear inch of notes.

AFS 11,861A33-B3: One tape containing two narratives, six Yugoslavian songs, and a song in English, spoken and sung by Roger Anderson and Dennis Dragavon of Tower, Minnesota. Recorded by Ruth Horiuchi, ca. 1959. (Fourteen minutes; LWO 3272 reel 3)

AFS 11,911: One 10-inch tape of an instrumental and nineteen songs in English, Norwegian, and Swedish recorded by students of Johannes Riedel, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota, April-August 1961. The collection includes thirteen pages of notes and twelve pages of textual transcriptions.

AFS 11,911A1-12: One tape containing eleven songs in English and one in Norwegian sung by Alma Lien of Northfield, Minnesota. Recorded by Sonja Ellingson, August 22, 1961. (Thirty-two minutes; LWO 3419A)

AFS 11,911A13-14: One tape containing two songs sung in English with drums, guitar, and steel guitar by Orlo Thompson of Crystal, Minnesota, and several of his sons. Recorded by Lyle Lofgren, and David and Elizabeth Williams, April 1961. (Five minutes; LWO 3419A)

AFS 11,911A15-17: One tape containing an instrumental played on bass, guitar, musical saw, and piano, and two songs sung in English with four-string banjo, bass, guitar, and piano by the Alan Wilcox family of Harris, Minnesota. Recorded by Louis Claeson, Jr., Lyle Lofgren, and David Williams, May 1961. (Seven minutes; LWO 3419A)

AFS 11,911A18-20: One tape containing three Swedish songs, one with guitar, sung by Lyle Lofgren. Recorded by Elizabeth Williams, August 27, 1961. (Nine minutes; LWO 3419A)

AFS 14,218-14,221: Four 10-inch tapes of narratives and songs recorded in California, Colorado, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, South Carolina, Washington, and Washington, D.C., by Benjamin A. Botkin, 1949-53. The collection includes five pages of notes.

AFS 14,219A14: One tape containing Arthur Boose "The Last of the Wobblies" speaking about his involvement and arrest during a Minnesota Iron Range strike in 1916. Recorded in Portland, Oregon, August 3, 1950. (Six minutes; LWO 6080 reel 2A)

AFS 16,336-16,653: Three hundred eighteen 10-inch discs of instrumentals and songs recorded in British Columbia, Illinois, Manitoba, Minnesota, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Ontario, and Quebec by Laura Boulton, 1941-42, for the National Film Board of Canada. This is Part 11 of the Laura Boulton Collection. The collection includes three linear inches of notes.

AFS 16,568-16,578: Eleven discs containing songs recorded at a folk festival in St. Paul, Minnesota, 1942.

AFS 16,568A1: A Chippewa song sung with drum by Chief Chibiaboos. (Two minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 50A)

AFS 16,568A2-B1: Two Scottish dance tunes played on bagpipe by William Knowles. (Four minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 50A)

AFS 16,568B2; 16,570A-B1; 16,575B2-3: One Romanian song sung by a chorus, four sung by female soloists, and one sung by a male soloist. (Eleven minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 50)

AFS 16,569A: "Steal Away" sung by a male African-American soloist. (Four minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 50A)

AFS 16,569B; 16,572: Two Polish songs sung by a chorus; four sung by a children's chorus, two with accordion; and one sung by a female soloist. (Twelve minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 50A)

AFS 16,570B2: One Armenian song sung by a female soloist. (Two minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 50A)

AFS 16,571; 16,573; 16,575A-B1: Six Croatian instrumentals performed by a tambouritza orchestra; and six Croatian songs sung by a chorus, three with tambouritza orchestra. (Twenty-three minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 50)

AFS 16,574: Three Norwegian wedding-dance instrumentals performed on accordions. (Eight minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 50B)

AFS 16,576: Eight Czech songs sung with accordion by a chorus. (Nine minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 50B)

AFS 16,577A: Two Danish instrumentals played on a violin. (Four minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 50B)

AFS 16,577B: "Send Forth Thy Spirit" sung by the Macalester Presbyterian Choir. (Three minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 50B)

AFS 16,578: Two Russian Orthodox Church songs sung by St. Mary's Choir, and one sung by St. Mary's Choral Club. (Five minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 50B)

AFS 16,958-16,972: Fifteen 10-inch discs of instrumentals and songs, including examples from African-American, Mexican, Polish, and Ukrainian traditions, recorded at various locations in the United States. Recorded by Laura Boulton, 1941-42, for the National Film Board of Canada. This is Part 15 of the Laura Boulton Collection. The collection includes two linear inches of notes.

AFS 16,965-16,968: Four discs containing songs recorded in St. Paul, Minnesota.

AFS 16,965A: Two songs sung with piano by an African-American chorus. (Five minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 69A)

AFS 16,965B: A narrative and a song spoken and sung with drum by a male North American Indian soloist. (Five minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 69A)

AFS 16,966A: "Steal Away" sung by Zachary Munson of St. Paul, Minnesota. (Four minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 69A)

AFS 16,966B: "One Thought of You" and "Little Heaven" sung in Spanish by a female Mexican soloist. (Four minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 69A)

AFS 16,967-16,968: Four songs, one with orchestra, sung by the Macalester Choir of St. Paul, Minnesota. (Seventeen minutes; tape copy on LWO 7551 reel 69B)

AFS 17,475: One 10-inch tape of Irish band and fiddle instrumentals duplicated from nineteen discs (fourteen issued by Columbia, three by Copley, and two homemade), loaned by Pat Hill of St. Paul, Minnesota. Accessioned February 1975. The collection includes three pages of notes.

AFS 17,475A1-4: One tape containing four instrumentals played on flute, pennywhistles, and violin, duplicated from two homemade discs recorded in St. Paul, Minnesota. (Fourteen minutes; LWO 8282A)

AFS 17,539-540: Two 7-inch tapes of traditional Irish airs, jigs, and reels played on accordion by Martin McHugh. Recorded at radio station KSJN, St. Paul, Minnesota, January 3, 1975. (Fifty-five minutes, LWO 8388)

AFS 17,584: One 7-inch tape of Swedish vocal music, recorded live and from commercial 78s at radio station KSJN, St. Paul, Minnesota, March 30, 1974.

AFS 17,584A1-2: One tape containing two Swedish songs sung by Olga Lindgren Nilsen. (Fourteen minutes; LWO 8568)

AFS 17,639-17,642: Four 7-inch tapes of Swedish Dalarna fiddling played by Paul Dahlin, Bruce Johnson, and Edwin Johnson. Recorded at radio station KSJN, St. Paul, Minnesota, by Maury Bernstein and Richard K. Spottswood, January 1975. (Fifty-five minutes, LWO 8583)

AFS 17,643-17,646: Four 10-inch tapes of radio programs by Maury Bernstein and Richard K. Spottswood at station KSJN, St. Paul, Minnesota, March 1975, for National Public Radio.

AFS 17,645-17,646: Two tapes containing "Minnesota Folk Finds," featuring fiddle tunes and songs from Irish, Swedish, and other ethnic traditions. (Two hours; LWO 8616 reels 3-4)

AFS 18,802-18,803: Two 7-inch tapes of an interview and songs sung with harp-guitar by Neil G. Christian. Recorded at radio station KSJN, St. Paul, Minnesota, by Maury Bernstein and Richard K. Spottswood, January 1, 1975. (Ninety-five minutes; LWO 9119)

AFS 19,154-19,156: Three 10-inch tapes of Anglo-American Baptist religious services recorded in Bucksport, Maine, and African-American Baptist services recorded in Minneapolis, Minnesota; songs sung with piano by blues musician Lazy Boy Lucas recorded in Minneapolis, Minnesota; and an interview with blues musician Son House of Rochester, New York, recorded in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Recorded by Jeff Todd Titon, 1968-75.

AFS 19,154A: One tape containing African-American Baptist religious services led by Rev. George Trawick recorded at St. Mark's Baptist Church, Minneapolis, August 11, 1968. The collection includes six pages of notes, a photograph of Reverend Trawick, and a 10-page transcription of a scriptural reading. (Fifty minutes; LWO 9650 reel 1A)

AFS 19,154B: One tape containing copy of a master tape for Lazy Bill Lucas, Wild! LP 12M01, recorded in Minneapolis, June 1969. The collection includes a one-page list of the fourteen songs on the tape. (One hour and five minutes; LWO 9650 reel 1B)

AFS 19,289: One 10-inch tape of a funeral service for Katherina Goosen Teichroew at the First Mennonite Church of Mountain Lake, Minnesota, a Dutch/Russian Mennonite congregation. Recorded originally on six 9-inch discs, April 1950, and loaned by Allan Teichroew. (Fifty-five minutes; LWO 12,250)

AFS 19,289A1: An instrumental played on an organ.

AFS 19,289A2: A narrative spoken in High German.

AFS 19,289A3: A scriptural reading in English by Reverend Amstutz.

AFS 19,289A4: A song sung in German with organ by three or four women.

AFS 19,289A5: A narrative spoken in High German by Elder I. J. Dick.

AFS 19,289A6: "Rock of Ages" sung in English with organ by three or four women.

AFS 19,289A7: A narrative and scriptural readings spoken in English by Reverend Amstutz.

AFS 19,388: One 10-inch tape of songs sung by Joan Baez, Bob Dylan (Zimmerman) of Hibbing, Minnesota, and Bruce Springsteen, recorded by Cheryl Brauner from radio and television broadcasts, 1974-78. The collection includes nine pages of notes.

AFS 19,388A1-5: One tape containing five songs sung with guitar and band by Joan Baez and Bob Dylan for Dylan's television special, "Hard Rain." Recorded ca. September 18, 1976. (Twenty-five minutes; LWO 12,912 reel 1A)

AFS 19,388A6-11: One tape containing six songs sung with guitar by Bob Dylan originally recorded at the Gaslight Cafe, New York City, 1962. Recorded from John Paige's radio program on WGTB-FM, Washington, D.C., 1974. (Twenty minutes; LWO 12,912 reel 1A)

AFS 19,388B1-2: One tape containing two songs sung with guitar and band by Bob Dylan at the Capital Centre, Landover, Maryland, January 15, 1974. Recorded from a broadcast on radio station WGTB-FM, Washington, D.C., January 16, 1974. (Fifteen minutes; LWO 12,912 reel 1B)

AFS 19,388B3: One tape containing a song sung with guitar and band by Bob Dylan, from a tape provided by Joan Baez for a radio show, "Rock Around the World," ca. 1977. (Five minutes; LWO 12,912 reel 1B)

AFS 19,388B4: One tape containing a song sung with guitar by Bob Dylan, originally recorded ca. 1962. Recorded from a broadcast on radio station WHFS-FM, Bethesda, Maryland, May 24, 1978. (Five minutes; LWO 12,912 reel 1B)

AFS 19,397: One 7-inch tape of three narratives and three songs composed by Larry Long about a 1978 Midwest farm strike, spoken and sung with guitar by Larry Long of Minneapolis, Minnesota. Recorded at the Library of Congress by Paula Johnson and Nathan W. Pearson, February 9, 1978. The collection includes one photograph and three textual transcriptions. (Twenty-six minutes, LWO 12,925)

AFS 20,220-20,222: Three 10-inch tapes of Chippewa and Winnebago Indian songs originally recorded on cylinders, mostly in Minnesota and Wisconsin, by Frances Densmore, 1907-31, for the Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution. The collection includes two linear inches of notes.

AFS 20,220A15-19; 20,221A5-20,222A1: Three tapes containing Chippewa songs originally recorded on eighteen cylinders in Minneapolis, the Red Lake Indian Reservation, and the White Earth Indian Reservation, Minnesota, 1907-10. (One hour; RWA 3281-3283)

AFS 20,308-20,326: Nineteen 10-inch tapes of North American Plains Indian music originally recorded on cylinders in the Midwest and Washington, D.C., by Alice Cunningham Fletcher, 1896-1905. Transferred from the National Archives, 1948.

AFS 20,308A7-8; 20,324A13: Two tapes containing six Chippewa songs sung by Gay-zhe-gwun-e-osh of the Leech Lake Indian Reservation, Minnesota. Originally recorded on three cylinders in Washington, D.C., January 24, 1899. (Eleven minutes; LWO 12,980 reels 70A; 86A)

AFS 22,176: One 10-inch tape, primarily of Chippewa Indian songs, originally recorded on cylinders by Frances Densmore, 1907-09, for the Bureau of American Ethnology, Smithsonian Institution.

AFS 22,176A1-4: One tape containing three Chippewa Indian songs and a speech, originally recorded on four cylinders in the Red Lake and White Earth Indian Reservations, Minnesota. (Eight minutes; RWA 4841)

AFS 24,299-24,357: Fifty-nine 10-inch tapes of public speeches and other utterances containing dialect samples, recorded at various locations in North America by various collectors, and compiled by the Center for Applied Linguistics for a project entitled "A Survey and Collection of American English Dialect Recordings." The collection includes fourteen linear inches of documentation, including an introduction and preface, a list of contents, content summaries, and transcripts.

AFS 24,323-24,324A: Two tapes containing interviews with six people of Croatian, Serbian, and Slovenian descent from Minnesota's Iron Range. Recorded by researchers from the Iron Range Research Center, Chisholm, Minnesota, 1977 and 1983.

AFS 24,323A1: An 88-year-old Croatian man, from Eveleth, discusses life in a Croatian village, his voyage to America, Ellis Island, a three-day train trip to Eveleth, the naturalization process, his first job (in a cemetery), being a chauffeur in the engineering department of mines, his union experiences, and food and transportation in the past. Recorded 1983. (Thirty-two minutes; RWB 3872A)

AFS 24,323A2: A 78-year-old man of Slovenian descent, from Chisholm, discusses his parents' history, life in Minnesota when they arrived, school, automobiles, Prohibition, bootlegging, and the Depression. Recorded 1977. (Thirty-one minutes; RWB 3872A)

AFS 24,323B1: A 72-year-old woman from Leetonia discusses her early years, mining, family, ethnic groups in Leetonia, the Depression, her four children, her career, high standards for women in the workplace, and the laziness of men. Recorded 1983. (Thirty-one minutes; RWB 3872B)

AFS 24,323B2: A 66-year-old man of Croatian and Slovenian descent, from Buhl, discusses his grandfathers, earliest childhood memories, school, bootlegging, Prohibition, mining, daily life in the past, gardens, animals, mining-company doctors, food preservation methods, family holiday traditions, and his parents' difficult lives. Recorded 1983. (Twenty-eight minutes; RWB 3872B)

AFS 24,324A: A 70-year-old brother and 77-year-old sister of Croatian descent, from Utica Location, discuss growing up in their parents' boarding house, food served to boarders, winemaking, life with people of different nationalities, Croatian customs and holidays, childhood activities, and family life. Recorded 1983. (One hour and five minutes; RWB 3873A)

AFS 24,324B: One tape containing a narrative by Minnesota Sixth District Congressman Fred Marshall, recorded by the Stearns County Historical Society, St. Cloud, Minnesota, 1979. Marshall discusses politics; his genealogy; education; agriculture and the mechanization on the farm; the Depression; the federal budget; national defense; McCarthyism; presidents Truman, Eisenhower and Kennedy; and the proudest moments of his congressional career. (One hour and five minutes; RWB 3873B)

AFS 24,343A: One tape containing interviews with three bilingual Finnish-English residents of Minnesota, recorded by Michael Linn, University of Minnesota-Duluth, 1983.

AFS 24,343A1: An 80-year-old woman from Cedar Valley Township discusses the lumbering business, her jobs as a cook after her children left home, family history, school, skiing to school, and childhood games and activities. (Twenty-three minutes; RWB 3892A)

AFS 24,343A2: A 41-year-old man from Duluth discusses his personal history, life in Finland, sports, language problems in the United States, favorite television programs, auto mechanics, computerization in automobiles, and a near drowning. (Eighteen minutes; RWB 3892A)

AFS 24,343A3: An 85-year-old man discusses his personal history, mining and lumbering experiences, firefighting experiences, and military service. (Twenty-one minutes; RWB 3892A)

AFS 24,343B: One tape containing interviews with three residents of Chisholm, recorded by Michael Linn, University of Minnesota, Duluth.

AFS 24,343B1: A Slovenian man discusses childhood games, sports, his mining job, home remedies, and special holiday foods. (Twenty minutes; RWB 3892B)

AFS 24,343B2: A 55-year-old woman of Russian descent discusses childhood games, favorite television programs, her current job as head housekeeper in a hotel and former jobs as a sales clerk and factory worker, her health, a hospital stay, and home remedies. Recorded 1979. (Twenty minutes; RWB 3892B)

AFS 24,343B3: An 87-year-old man of Swedish descent discusses his job, experiences as an underground mine surveyor, and iron mining. Recorded 1979. (Twenty-one minutes; RWB 3892B)

AFS 24,362-24,363: Two cassettes of instrumentals and songs by the Bjorngjeld family, recorded in Minnesota, November 1986, and Columbus, North Dakota, 1956-60. The collection includes a two-page list of sixty-three instrumentals and songs, eleven pages of notes, and an article about the family.

AFS 24,363: One cassette containing ballads; bluegrass, country, gospel, and Scandinavian dance music; and a narrative. Performed by the Bjorngjeld Family Reunion Band (Alfred Bjorngjeld, piano accordion; Arthur Bjorngjeld, button accordion, five-string banjo, violin, and vocals; Clarence Bjorngjeld, harmonica and vocals; Dennis Bjorngjeld, guitar and vocals; Ervin Bjorngjeld, tenor banjo; Olga Hanson, mandolin and vocals; Borghild Person, guitar and vocals; and Dick Rees, string bass). Recorded by Arthur Bjorngjeld at the Homestead Pickin' Parlor, Richfield, November 22, 1986, and Dulono's, Minneapolis, November 29, 1986. (One hour and forty minutes; RYA 6644)

AFC 1995/011: One 10-inch tape of a radio program entitled "Song Catcher Frances Densmore of Red Wing," about Densmore's life and her recordings of North American Indian songs. Recorded by Stephen Smith for Minnesota Public Radio and broadcast November 26, 1994, on National Public Radio's program "All Things Considered." (Twenty-four minutes)

Manuscript Collection

"Gordon Phillips Manuscript." One 48-page notebook and two typescript copies of texts of twenty-two songs submitted by R. W. Phillips of Akeley, Minnesota, to Robert Winslow Gordon, March 22, 1924.