Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

IDAHO FIELD RECORDINGS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Claudia J. Widgery
Series Editor: Joseph C. Hickerson

Publication Date: September 1982

AFS 1633-1636, 1848: Five discs containing fourteen songs sung by Blaine Stubblefield of Idaho, recorded at the Library of Congress in 1938 by Alan Lomax.

AFS 2505B1-2506B: Two discs containing four songs by Blaine Stubblefield of Idaho, recorded at the Library of Congress in 1939 by Alan Lomax.

AFS 6310: One disc containing two songs by Blaine Stubblefield of Idaho, recorded at the Library of Congress in 1942 by Alan Lomax.

AFS 10,090-10,094: Five 10-inch tapes containing Indian songs recorded by Willard Rhodes in 1950. Locations include Washington and Idaho. Portions of this collection have been published by the Library of Congress on LP AFS L34, Northwest (Puget Sound).

AFS 10,094A: Sixteen songs of the Bannock, Shoshone and Arapaho tribes, recorded in Fort Hall, ID.

AFS 13,992-14,021: Twenty-nine tapes and one disc containing material compiled by Annabel Morris Buchanan for the National Federation of Music Clubs Folk Music Archives. Included are songs from the Ernst Family collection recorded by Carolyn Ernst (Mrs. Frank W.) Payne in Caldwell, ID, in 1962.

AFS 16,997-16,998: Two ten-inch tapes of the evening program from the College of Idaho Folklore Conference August 4th, 1971, in Caldwell, ID. Participants include Barre Toelken, Joe Hickerson, Linda Danielson, Dave Frisbee, Jim York, Cheryl Wanzer, Loyd Wanzer, Rue Frisbee, Vivian Skeans, and Louie W. Attebery.

AFS 16,999-17,002: Four tapes containing songs and narratives compiled by students at the College of Idaho Folklore Archive under the direction of Louie W. Attebery in 1970 and 1971. Recorded in Nampa, New Plymouth, Meridian, Cambridge, Midvale, Cascade, and Indian Valley, ID. Included are Japanese, Basque, and Finnish songs.

AFS 17,105: One ten-inch tape containing songs by Faith Craig Petric of Idaho and California. Recorded at the Library of Congress in July 1974 by Joseph C. Hickerson and Ed Tittle.

AFS 17,607-17,609: Three ten-inch tapes containing songs and narratives compiled by students at the College of Idaho Folklore Archive under the direction of Louie W. Attebery in 1971 and 1973. Recorded in Caldwell, Nampa, Homedale, and Kuna, ID, and Queensland, Australia. Includes some Chicano songs.

Cyl. 1193: One cylinder containing songs of the Nez Percé tribe recorded by Thurlow Lieurance. Part of the Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Collection. [Duplicated on tape AFS 17,995.]

Cyl. 3198-3212: Fifteen cylinders containing songs of the Salish tribe recorded in 1926 by Frances Densmore. Part of the Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology Collection. [Duplicated on discs AFS 10,691-10,692.]

Cyl. 4409-4451: Forty-three cylinders containing songs of the Nez Percé tribe recorded ca. 1907 by Herbert J. Spinden. [Duplicated on tape AFS 14,739.]