Finding Aids to Collections Organized by Topic in the Archive of Folk Culture

AFRICAN MATERIAL
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Compiled by: Archive of Folk Culture
Series Editor: Archive of Folk Culture

Publication Date: 1970 [updated version available upon request]

AFS 302-314: Thirteen cylinders of music of Kenya (Barnes Collection) placed in LC by Miss Helen Roberts, February 21, 1937. Probably recorded by James Barnes, 1913.

AFS 4053-4172: One hundred twenty cylinders of folk music from the Erich von Hornbostel collection of the University of Berlin placed in LC by Dr. Walter Bingham, February-March, 1949. Contains forty-five cylinders from various parts of Africa recorded by various collectors, 1902-1913. (LWO 1416)

AFS 7097-7099: Three 16-inch discs recorded in the Gold Coast of West Africa. Gift of Office of War Information. Accessioned April 28, 1944. 7097 is an army choir. 7098-7099 are Gold Coast folk music recordings.

AFS 8553-8561: Nine 12-inch discs of Bantu music made by the South African Broadcasting Company. Gift. Accessioned February, 1948.

AFS 8981-9010: Thirty 10-inch discs received in exchange with Musée de l'Homme, Paris, France. The records consist of music from Madagascar. Commercial. Accessioned November, 1948.

AFS 9448-9467: Twenty 10-inch discs of traditional songs of France and French colonies sent to LC in an exchange project by Phonotheque Nationale. Commercial. Accessioned June, 1949.

AFS 9902-9906: Five 16-inch discs of "Crete" (Greece) and Egyptian music recorded by Miss Amice Calverley and duplicated for LC collections. Accessioned June, 1950. 9902 seems to be from Crete; 9903-9906 are Egyptian. (LWO 1619)

AFS 10,029-10,052: Twenty-four reels of 7-inch ST tape; a duplicate set of the complete recordings made by Arthur S. Alberts of the folk and café music of West Africa. Gift. Accessioned June, 1951.

AFS 10,163-10,194: Twenty-seven 10-inch discs and five 12-inch discs of Congo music acquired on an exchange basis from the Musée de l'Homme in Paris, France. Commercial. Accessioned June, 1951.

AFS 10,754-10,756: Three 7-inch DT tapes of duplicates of recordings of folk and café music of West Africa sent in by Arthur Alberts as a gift. Accessioned June, 1953. (LWO 3545)

AFS 10,766-10,776: Eleven 10-inch discs of African Gold Coast music and dances. Gift from M. Aime Darot of France. Commercial. Accessioned June, 1953.

AFS 10,867-10,871: Five 7-inch tape reels of folk music of West African Gold Coast recorded by Arthur S. Alberts, U.S. Information Service. Accessioned June, 1955. (LWO 2265)

AFS 10, 970-10,971: Two 10-inch tape reels, 7.5 ips. West African and Ethiopian folk music recorded by Mr. and Mrs. Edward C. Sweeney. Duplication project. Accessioned June 1956. May be a duplicate of 10,972-10,977. (LWO 2449)

AFS 10,972-10,977: Two 7-inch tape reels and four 5-inch tape reels. Congo drums of Africa recorded by Mr. and Mrs. Edward C. Sweeney. Gift. Accessioned June, 1956. (LWO 4109)

AFS 11,007-11,299: One hundred sixty-seven 12-inch, seventy-nine 10-inch, and seven 7-inch discs. Primitive groups from various parts of the world, recorded by various collectors. Gift of Miss Helen Roberts. Accessioned June 1956. Includes seven discs of music from Nyasaland recorded by J.G. Steytler.

AFS 11,327: One 10-inch reel. Native songs of Uganda, sung by Reverend and Mrs. Dunstan K. Nsubuga. Studio Recording. Accessioned June, 1958. (LWO 2653)

AFS 11,347: One 12-inch LP disc. Music of Pondo Kakou, secret society from Ivory Coast, Dahomey, Guinea. Musée de l'Homme, LD 17. Exchange project with Musée de l'Homme. Commercial. Accessioned June, 1958.

AFS 11,348: One 12-inch LP disc. Music of French Guinea. Musée de l'Homme, MC 20.097. Exchange project with Musée de l'Homme. Commercial. Accessioned June, 1958.

AFS 11,349: One 12-inch LP disc. Music of the Princess of Dahomey. Musée de l'Homme, LD 5. Exchange project with Musée de l'Homme. Commercial. Accessioned June, 1958.

AFS 11,411: One 10-inch LP disc. Bantu music. Musée de l'Homme, LD 32A. Exchange project with Musée de l'Homme. Commercial. Accessioned June, 1958.

AFS 11,481-11,580: One-hundred 10-inch discs. (Pressings.) Music recorded in various parts of West Africa and Equatorial Africa. From the Musée de l'Homme, Paris. Commercial. Accessioned June, 1959.

AFS 11,623-11,687: Sixty-five 7-inch reels. Folk, art, and popular music of Morocco. Recorded by Paul Bowles. Accessioned June, 1960. (LWO 3068)

AFS 11,883: One 7-inch tape. African songs recorded by Henry Serunkenya, in Kampala, Africa. Choral songs, called "Serunambi" composed by Mr. Serukenya. Gift. Accessioned June, 1961. (LWO 3259)

AFS 11,915-11,916: Two 7-inch tapes. Kenneth Wattson. Music from Africa. Gift of Voice of America. Accessioned June, 1962. (LWO 3525)

AFS 11,923-11,930: Eight 7-inch tapes. Blake W. Robinson, Somali music, sent by U.S.I.A. Poetry, songs and dances of Somaliland. Gift. Recorded by Robinson, August 2-4, 1959. Accessioned June, 1962. (LWO 3734 [R-1]; LWO 3138 [R-2-8])

AFS 12,016-12,020: Five 7-inch tapes. Folk music from Morocco. Gift. Collected by Paul Bowles. Accessioned June, 1963. (LWO 3863)

AFS 12,023: One 7-inch tape. Nyatsime College Choir, Salisbury, Southern Rhodesia. Gift from the Voice of America. Accessioned June, 1963. (LWO 3992)

AFS 12,024-12,026: Three 7-inch tapes. Panorama Musical from Dahomey (Yoruba). Gift of Voice of America. Accessioned June, 1963. (LWO 4010)

AFS 12,059: One 7-inch reel, 7.5 ips. Music of the Haoussa Tribe, Niger, Africa from the Niamey National Museum. Gift of Voice of America. Accessioned June, 1964. (LWO 4084)

AFS 12,062: One 7-inch reel DT tape, 7.5 ips. Music of Southern Morocco and Berber Arabs. Collected by Donald Kissil. Gift of collector. Recorded in Marrakech, Morocco, March, April, and November 1962. Commentary on tape. Accessioned June, 1964. (LWO 4100)

AFS 12,079: One 7-inch reel DT tape, 3.75 ips. African songs, recorded in Namupa, Tanganyika, October 16, 1963. Gift of Rudolph F. Schaefer. Recorded by his son. Accessioned June, 1964. (LWO 4223)

AFS 12,087-12,091: Five 10-inch reels ST tape, 7.5 ips. Music of the Chokwe people, Lóvuo Area, Lunda District, Angola (Africa). Recorded by and gift of Companhia de Diamantes de Angola (Diamang), Lisboa, Portugal. Accompanying book: M1838.A507. Accessioned June, 1964. (LWO 4289)

AFS 12,374-12,395: Twenty-one 10-inch reels DT tape, 7.5 ips. One 10-inch reel ST tape, 7.5 ips. Sacred and secular music of Ethiopia, recorded 1964 by Halim El-Dabh. Loaned by Mr. El-Dabh. Duplication project. Accessioned June, 1966. (LWO 4747)

AFS 13,001-13,030: Thirty 10-inch reels DT tape, 7.5 ips. Songs and instrumental music, recorded in Western Nigeria by Darious L. Thieme, 1964-66. Duplication project. Accessioned June, 1967. (LWO 4973)

AFS 13,147-13,153: Seven 10-inch tape reels, (six DT, one ST), 7.5 ips. Music of Mali and Senegal, Africa. Recorded by Halim El-Dabh, Summer, 1967. Duplication project. Accessioned June, 1968. (LWO 5132)

AFS 13,169-13,184: Sixteen 10-inch discs, DF, 78 rpm. Music of the Yoruba and Ibo, Africa. Duplicated from commercial discs loaned by Professor William Bascom, 1943. Duplication project. Accessioned June, 1968.

AFS 13,473-13,478: Six 10-inch reels ST tape, 7.5 ips. Folk music of Camissombo area, Chokwe People, Lunda District, Angola. Gift of Companhia de Diamantes de Angola (Diamang), Lisboa, Portugal. Accessioned June, 1968. (LWO 5360)

AFS 13,722: One 10-inch reel FT tape, 7.5 ips. Greek folk music recorded at Alexandria, Egypt, by John B. Fergusson, 1961. Duplication project. Accessioned June, 1969. (LWO 5379)

AFS 14,191-14,198: Eight 10-inch tapes, (six DT, two ST), 15 ips. Coptic mass recorded in Egypt by John Gillespie. Duplication project. Accessioned July, 1970. (LWO 6073)

AFS 14,251-14,252: Two 10-inch DT tapes, 7.5 ips. Music of Upper Volta, recorded by James Rosellini, 1969-1970. Duplication project. Accessioned September, 1970. (LWO 6102)

AFS 14,280-14,291: Twelve 10-inch DT tapes, 3.75 ips. Sephardic Jewish liturgical music from Morocco, with some Berber music from Morocco. Recorded by Abraham Pinto. Duplication project. Accessioned, October, 1970. (LWO 6122)