Historic Bibliographies and Reference Aids

Recent Publications on Folklore Archives and Archiving in North America, 1969-1973

Compiled by: Joseph C. Hickerson
Publication Date: May 1982

Books and Articles

Allen, Daniel.
"78-RPM Phonorecords in the Jazz Archive." IPLO Quarterly (Institute of Professional Librarians of Ontario, Toronto), volume 13, number 3, January 1972, pp. 119-161.

Allen, Walter C., ed.
Studies in Jazz Discography I. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University, Institute of Jazz Studies, 1971.

Ben-Amos, Dan.
"University of Pennsylvania Folklore Archives: A Progress Report." Keystone Folklore Quarterly, volume 15, number 3, Fall 1970, pp. 148-157.

Boswell, George W.
"The Several Folklore Archives at Oxford." Mississippi Folklore Register, volume 6, number 1, Spring 1972, pp. 9-17.

Briegleb, Ann, ed.
Directory of Ethnomusicological Sound Recording Collections in the U.S. and Canada. Ann Arbor: Society for Ethnomusicology, Special Series no. 2, 1971.

Gillis, Frank J.
"The Archives of Traditional Music." Library News Letter (Bloomington, Ind.), volume 5, number 4, February 1970, pp. 13-14. Reprinted in Society for Ethnomusicology Newsletter, volume 4, number 3, May-June 1971, pp. 2-4.

"The Indiana University Archives of Traditional Music." Phonographic Bulletin (International Association of Sound Archives, Utrecht), number 7, July 1973, pp. 26-30.

Gussow, Zachary and George S. Tracy.
"The Use of Archival Materials in the Analysis and Interpretation of Field Data: A Case Study in the Institutionalization of the Myth of Leprosy as 'Leper'." American Anthropologist, volume 73, number 3, June 1971, pp. 695-709.

Hickerson, Joseph C.
"Computer Machine-Readable Cataloging at the Archive of Folk Song - Library of Congress: Summary of Feasibility Study Report." Association for Recorded Sound Collections Journal, volume 1, number 4, Summer 1969, pp. 8-9.

Ireland, Florence.
The Northeast Archives of Folklore and Oral History: A Brief Description and a Catalog of Its Holdings, 1958-1972. [Northeast Folklore, volume 13, 1972] Orono: Northeast Folklore Society, University of Maine, 1973.

Jabbour, Alan and Joseph C. Hickerson.
"African Recordings in the Archive of Folk Song." Quarterly Journal of the Library of Congress, volume 27, number 3, July 1970, pp. 283-288.

"The Archive of Folk Song in the Library of Congress." In 1970 Festival of American Folklife, edited by William O. Craig, Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution, Division of Performing Arts, 1970, pp. 43-44.

Kearny, Tam.
"Library of Congress Archives of Folksong." T. F.C. Weekly Thing (Toronto Folklife Center), number 9, 1971, pp. 2-3.

Kennedy, Peter, ed.
International Folk Directory. Totnes, Devon, Eng.: Dartington Institute of Traditional Arts, with the aid of the Gulbenkian Foundation, for the International Folk Music Council, 1973.

Korson, Rae.
"The Archive of Folk Song in the Library of Congress." Reprinted with revisions in Denver Friends of Folk Music Newsletter, volume 7, number 2, July 1971, pp. [2]-[3]; Huntsville Association of Folk Musicians Newsletter, number 29, December 7, 1970, pp. [5]-[7]; Society for Ethnomusicology Newsletter, volume 4, number 2, March-April 1970, pp. 4-5.

Korson, Rae and Joseph C. Hickerson.
"The Willard Rhodes Collection of American Indian Music in the Archive of Folk Song." Ethnomusicology, volume 13, number 2, May 1969, pp. 296-304.

Landry, Renée.
"The Need for a Survey of Canadian Archives with Ethnomusicological Interest." Ethnomusicology, volume 16, number 3, September 1972, pp. 504-512.

List, George.
"Archiving." In Dorson, Richard M., editor, Foklore and Folklife: An Introduction, Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1972.

"A Statement on Archiving." Journal of the Folklore Institute, volume 6, number 2/3, August-December 1969, pp. 222-231.

Loranth, Alice N.
"The European Ethnic Folklore Resources of the White Collection." Journal of the Ohio Folklore Society, new series, volume 1, number 3, December 1972, pp. 25-37.

McMillan, Douglas J.
"ECU Folklore Archive." North Carolina Folklore, volume 19, number 3, May 1971, pp. 131-134.

Neal, Julia.
"The Allan M. Trout Collection." Kentucky Folklore Record, volume 19, number 2, April-June 1973, pp. 32-35.

"Ownership and Copyright of Sound Recordings: Transcript of Panel Discussion: UCLA ARSC Conference -- November 22, 1969." Association for Recorded Sound Collections Journal, volume 1, number 4, Summer 1969, pp. 9-23.

Peek, Philip M.
"African Oral Literature in the African Studies Association Center for African Oral Data, Archives of Traditional Music, Indiana University." Research in African Literature, volume 1, number 1, Spring 1970, pp. 58-61.

Catalog of African Music and Oral Data Holdings. Bloomington: Indiana University, Archives of Traditional Music, 1970.

Catalog of Afroamerican Music and Oral Data Holdings. Bloomington: Indiana University, Archives of Traditional Music, 1970.

Stevenson, Gordan, ed.
Trends in Archival and Reference Collections of Recorded Sound. Champaign: University of Illinois Graduate School of Library Science, July 1972. (Volume 21, number 1 issue of Library Trends.)

Tierney, Judith.
A Description of the George Korson Folklore Archive. [Publications of the D. Leonard Corgan Library, Wyoming Valley Series, number 1.] Wilkes-Barre, Penna.: King's College Press, 1973.

"The George Korson Folklore Archive." Keystone Folklore Quarterly, volume 16, number 2, Summer 1971, pp. 108-111.

U. S. Library of Congress, Music Division.
Check-List of Recorded Songs in the English Language in the Library of Congress Archive of American Folk Song to July, 1940. Reprint edition, New York: Arno PRess, 1971. 3 vols in 1.

Periodical Reports

"Archive of Folk Song."
In annual articles by Edward N. Waters and Donald L. Leavitt describing "Recent Acquisitions of the Music Division." The Quarterly Journal of the Library of the Library of Congress, number 1 of each volume, January of each year.

Annual Review.
Canadian Centre for Folk Culture Studies
National Museum of Man
Ottawa, Canada