Historic Bibliographies and Reference Aids

The Archive of Folk Song: A Bibliography

Compiled by: Joseph C. Hickerson
Publication Date: October 13, 1978

Abrahams, Roger D.
"The Mission of the Archive of Folk Song of the Library of Congress." Midwest Folklore, volume 11, number 3, Fall 1961, pp. 161-165.

Blackman, Bob.
"Discover the Archive of Folk Song." Folkscene, volume 2, number 11, January 1975, pp. 2-3. Reprinted in Sing Out!, volume 23, number 6, January-February 1975, pp. 15-16. Reprinted in part of South-Central Michigan Folkletter, May 1977, pp. 8-9.

Botkin, Benjamin A.
"The Archive of American Folk Song." Music Educator's Journal, volume 31, number 1, September-October 1944, pp. 64-65.

"The Archive of American Folk Song: Retrospect and Prospect." Library of Congress Quarterly Journal of Current Acquisitions, volume 2, numbers 3-4, June 1945, pp. 61-69.

Brewster, Paul G.
"The Folksong Record Collection of the Library of Congress." American Music Lover, volume 1, number 11, September 1944, pp. 15-16.

Brintzenhoff, Keith.
"An Interview with Joe Hickerson." Lehigh Valley Folksong Society Newsletter, volume 5, number 2, 1975, pp. [4]-[8].

Carneal, Robert B.
"The Reproduction of Cylinder Recordings at the Library of Congress." The Folklore and Folk Music Archivist, volume 3, number 3, Fall 1960, pp. [1]-[4].

Coe, Linda C.
Folklife and the Federal Government: A Guide to Activities, Resources, Funds, and Services. Washington: American Folklife Center, Library of Congress, 1977. (Publications of the American Folklife Center, number 1.) "Archive of Folk Song," pp. 84-85.

Connelly, Will H.
"The Library of Congress Recording Laboratory Goes to War." Etude, volume 62, number 8, August 1944, pp. 452, 477.

Emrich, Duncan.
"Children's Folklore in the Archive of Folk Song." Quarterly Journal of the Library of Congress, volume 30, number 2, April 1973, pp. 140-151.

"Folklore Section of the Library of Congress." In Maria Leach, ed., Funk & Wagnalls Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology and Legend, New York: Funk & Wagnalls Co., 1949, reprinted 1973, pp. 407-408.

Godrich, John and Robert M. W. Dixon.
Blues & Gospel Records 1902-1942. Revised edition, Londong: Storyville Publications, 1969.

Green, Archie.
"The Archive of American Folk-Song." JEMF Quarterly, volume 10, part 4, number 36, Winter 1974, pp. 157-164.

Griffin, S. K.
"Bicentennial Album of American Folk-Music." Folkscene, volume 3, number 4, June 1975, p. 12.

Grodsky, Susan J.
"Cylinder and Manuscript: North Carolina Folksongs in the Robert W. Gordon Collection." JEMF Quarterly, volume 13, number 48, Winter 1977, pp. 205-213.

Hickerson, Joseph C.
"American Folksong: Some Comments on the History of Its Collection and Archiving." In George McCue, ed., Music in American Society 1776-1976: From Puritan Hymn to Synthesizer, New Brunswick, N.J.: Transaction Books, 1977, pp. 107-117.

"The Archive of Folk Song: Library of Congress." In Larry Sandberg and Dick Weissman, eds. The Folk Music Sourcebook, New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1976, pp. 250-251.

"An Inventory of the Bibliographies and Reference Aids Prepared by the Archive of Folk Songs, Library of Congress." Folklore Forum, volume 3, number 2, March 1970, pp. 66-69. Also published in Sing Out!, volume 23, number 6, January-February 1975, p. 16, and in Larry Sandberg and Dick Weissman, eds. The Folk Music Sourcebook, New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1976, pp. 250-251.

Hickerson, Joseph C. and James R. Smart.
"All That Is Audible: Recent Sound Acquisitions in the Music Division." Quarterly Journal of the Library of Congress, volume 32, number 1, January 1975, pp. 51-61.

Higgins, James.
"Archive of American Folk Songs." Junior Bazaar, volume 2, April 1946, pp. 148, 179.

Hunt, George.
"Folk Singers: They Preserve American Tunes Which Scholars Now Treasure." Life, volume 37, number 20, November 15, 1954, pp. 54-57.

Jabbour, Alan and Joseph C. Hickerson.
"African Recordings in the Archive of Folk Song." Quarterly Journal of the Library of Congress, volume 27, number 3, July 1970, pp. 283-288.

"The Archive of Folk Song in the Library of Congress." In 1970 Festival of American Folklife, Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution, 1970, pp. 43-44.

Kanler, Doris.
"Folk Songs on File: Library of Congress Has Largest Authentic Collection in the U.S." Washington Star Pictorial Magazine, June 26, 1955, pp. 6-7.

Kaufman, Lee Lyons.
"The True Folk Music of America." Musical America, volume 65, number 3, February 11, 1945, pp. 12-13, 226.

Kodish, Debora G.
"'A National Project With Many Workers': Robert Winslow Gordon and the Archive of American Folk Song." Quarterly Journal of the Library of Congress, volume 35, number 4, October 1978, pp. 218-233.

Korson, Rae.
"The Archive of Folk Song in the Library of Congress." Folklore and Folk Music Archivist, volume 2, number 1, Spring 1959, p. [1]; number 2, Summer 1959, pp. [1]-[2]. Revised version, S.E.M. Newsletter, volume 4, number 2, March-April 1970, pp. 4-5; Huntsville Association of Folk Musicians Newsletter, number 29, December 7, 1970, pp. [5]-[7].

Lawless, Ray M.
Folksingers and Folksongs in America: A Handbook of Biography, Bibliography, and Discography. Revised edition with special supplement, New York: Duell, Sloan and Pearce, 1965.

Leavitt, Donald L.
"Recorded Sound in the Library of Congress." Library Trends, volume 26, number 1, July 1972, pp. 53-59.

Library of Congress.
Annual Report of the Librarian of Congress. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1928 to date.

Check-List of Recorded Songs in the English Language in the Archive of American Folk Song to July 1940: Alphabetical List with Geographical Index. 3 volumes, Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1942. Reprint edition, New York: Arno Press, 1971.

Folk Music: A Catalog of Folk Songs, Ballads, Dances, Instrumental Pieces, and Folk Tales of the United States and Latin America on Phonograph Records. Revised edition, Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1964.

Provisional Check-List of Disks (Excluding Primitive Music) in the Archive of American Folk Song in the Library of Congress. Washington, D.C.: Library of Conress, 1937.

"Library Preserves Country Heritage." Country Style, number 29, March 1978, pp. 7, 12.

Lomax, John A.
Adventures of a Ballad Hunter. New York: Macmillan, 1947. Reprint edition, New York: Hafner Publishiing Co., 1971.

"Field Experiences with Recording Machines." Southern Folklore Quarterly, volume 1, number 2, June 1937, pp. 57-60.

Lomax, John A. and Alan.
Our Singing Country: A Second Volume of Americna Ballads and Folk Songs. New York: Macmillan, 1941.

"Miserable but Exciting Songs." Time, volume 46, number 22, November 26, 1945, p. 52.

Napier, Simon A.
"A Brief Review of the Largest Folk-Song Collection in the World: The Library of Congress's 'Archive of American Folk-Song.'" Blues Unlimited, number 21, April 1964, pp. 3-4. Reprinted in Back Woods Blues, Bexhill-on-Sea: Blues Unlimited, 1968, pp. 29-34.

Parnell, Catherine.
"Children's Song in the Archive of Folk Song." Kodály Envoy, volume 4, number 3, January 1978, pp. 10-12.

Read, Oliver.
"Recording Laboratory - Library of Congress." Radio News, volume 32, August 1944, pp. 43-46.

Russell, Tony.
"Emmett W. Lundy's Recordings for the Archive of Folk Song: A Despcriptive Note." Old Time Music, volume 23, Winter 1976-1977, pp. 13-14.

Seeger, Charles.
"Versions and Variants of the Tunes of 'Barbara Allen.'" Selected Reports (Institute of Ethnomusicology, UCLA), volume 1, number 1, 1966, pp. 120-157. Reprinted in Charles Seeger, Studies in Ethnomusicology: 1935-1975, Berkeley: University of California Press, 1977, pp. 273-320.

Spivacke, Harold.
"Archive of American Folk Song." Music Educator's Journal, volume 29, number 1, September-October 1942, pp. 29-31.

"The Archive of American Folk Song in the Library of Congress." Proceedings of the Music Teachers National Association, Thirty-Fifth Series, 1941, pp. 123-127.

"The Archive of American Folk Song in the Library of Congress in its Relationship to the Folksong Collector." Southern Folklore Quarterly, volume 2, number 1, March 1938, pp. 31-35.

"A National Archives of Sound Recordings?" Library Journal, volume 88, number 18, October 15, 1963, pp. 3783-3788.

Spottswood, Richard K.
"The Library of Congress' Folk Music Collection." High Fidelity, volume 26, number 7, July 1976, pp. 53-55.

[no author]
"Den Største Amerikanske Folkemusikksamlingen Finner De På Kongressbiblioteket." Kulturnytt (Oslo), volume 3, number 31, April 1970, pp. 11-12.

[no author]
"Treasury of Song." Time, volume 66, number 3, July 18, 1955, pp. 44-46.

Waters, Edward N.
Annual article describing "Recent Acquisitions of the Music Division." Quarterly Journal of the Library of Congress, number 1 of each volume, January of each year through 1974.

Widerberg, Olle.
"The Library of Congress' Inspelningar På LP." Jefferson, number 30, 1975, pp. 33-36.

Wiesner, Jerome B.
"The Recording Laboratory in the Library of Congress." Journal of the Acoustical Society of America, volume 13, number 3, January 1942, pp. 288-293.

Wilgus, D. K.
Anglo-American Folksong Scholarship Since 1898. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press, 1959.

Williams, John Alexander.
"Radicalism and Professionalism in Folklore Studies: A Comparative Perspective." Journal of the Folklore Institute, volume 11, number 3, March 1975, pp. 211-234. Comments by Richard M. Dorson, pp. 235-239.