THE PRESIDENT'S COMMISSION ON THE UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE

For Immediate Release February 19, 2003 Contact:

Betsy Holahan 202-622-2960

MEDIA ADVISORY

President's Commission on U.S. Postal Service Holds Public Meeting Tomorrow

The President's Commission on the U.S. Postal Service will hold its second public meeting on Thursday, February 20, 2003 in Washington, DC.

The meeting will take place at 8:30 am - 4:00 pm EST at the Hotel Washington, 15th St. and Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Washington, DC. It is open to the public and the media.

Witness invited to testify before the Commission include:

Gus Baffa, President, National Rural Letter Carriers Association William Burrus, President, American Postal Workers Union, AFL-CIO James I. Campbell, Jr., Attorney Robert H. Cohen, Director, Office of Rates, Analysis and Planning, Postal Rate Commission Murray Comarow, Attorney James R. Cregan, Executive Vice President, Magazine Publishers of America Professor Michael Crew, Rutgers University Hamilton Davison, Chief Executive Officer, Paramount Cards, and Chairman of Government Relations Task Force, Greeting Card Association Professor Charles M. Elson, Director, Center for Corporate Governance, University of Delaware John T. Estes, Executive Director, Main Street Coalition for Postal Fairness Michael Eskew, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, United Parcel Service The Honorable S. David Fineman, Chairman, USPS Board of Governors Robert E. McLean, Executive Director, Mailers Council The Honorable George A. Omas, Chairman, Postal Rate Commission Mary P. Rouvelas, Vice President, Alliance of Non-Profit Mailers Professor David Sappington, University of Florida Richard J. Strasser, Jr., Chief Financial Officer and Executive Vice President, U.S. Postal Service Ian D. Volner, General Counsel, Association for Postal Commerce H. Robert Wientzen, President and Chief Executive Officer, Direct Marketing Association William H. Young, President, National Association of Letter Carriers, AFL-CIO

The nine-member bipartisan Commission, established by President Bush on December 11, 2002, will identify the operational, structural, and financial challenges facing the Postal Service; examine potential solutions; and recommend legislative and administrative steps to ensure the long-term viability of postal service in the United States. The Commission is co-

chaired by James A. Johnson, Vice Chairman of Perseus, L.L.C., and Harry Pearce, Chairman of Hughes Electronics Corporation. The Commission will submit its report to the President by July 31, 2003.

Additional information about the Commission can be found at <u>http://www.treasury.gov/offices/domestic-finance/usps</u>

-30-