The Entrepreneur's Reference Guide to Small Business Information

3^rd Edition

Compiled by Robert M. Jackson
Business Reference Services. Science, Technology, and Business Division
Library of Congress, Washington, DC 1999

This guide, a revision of The Entrepreneur's Reference Guide to Small Business Information 2^nd edition, compiled by the staff of Business Reference Services. Science, Technology, and Business Division. Library of Congress, Washington 1996, was developed under the aegis of the Library of Congress Business Enrichment Advisory Team. (BEAT).

Contents

• Introduction
• Getting Started
• Raising Capital
• Managing Your Business
• Human Resources
• Marketing: Research, Strategy, and Advertising
• Doing Business with Government
• International Opportunities
• Research and Information Gathering
• Looking At the Numbers: Sources of Statistics
• Handbooks and Guides
• Information about Companies
• Dictionaries
• Directories
• Indexes, Databases, and Other Information Sources
• Keeping Current
• Selected Library of Congress Subject Headings
• Index

INTRODUCTION

To work for yourself, to be your own boss, to run your own business--for many workers these phrases describe an American dream. In recent decades thousands of individuals have set off to pursue that dream. Indeed, an increase in the number of small businesses has created much of the growth of new jobs in the United States economy. The spirit of the independent small-business person is praised as a force that makes America great.

Becoming a successful entrepreneur, however, is not an easy task. It requires skill, motivation, hard work, and good luck. It also requires information in large measure. The would-be business person stands on the brink of a new future with a thousand questions that need answers. The Entrepreneur's Reference Guide to Small Business Information was originally compiled by business reference specialists at the Library of Congress to help beginners (and established business owners who keep meeting new problems) find sources that can guide them to the right questions and the best answers.

To select material for the 3nd edition of the guide, reference specialist Robert Jackson examined a number of major bibliographies dealing with small business information and collected citations filed under relevant subject headings in the computer catalogs of the Library of Congress. From all these sources items were chosen that appeared to be relevant and useful for the entrepreneur and for information providers working with small-business people, as well as up to date and indicative of the most recent work in the field. Each work suggested was examined before being accepted for inclusion in this bibliography. Where appropriate, citations to online editions of these works, or other related materials, on the Interent have also been included. While the selections for this guide were made in 1998 and 1999, all URL's were rechecked as of January 2000. It should be noted that links to Internet resources not maintained by the Library of Congress are provided as an aid to researchers only. The Library assumes no responsibility for the maintenance or content of these sites. Any questions regarding these sites should be posed directly to the administrators of those sites.

This guide cites "how to" books, reference books, and directories, all of which will be useful at some point in the process of becoming an independent business leader. Many of the items listed in this guide are serials, such as annuals or yearbooks, which put out new editions regularly. In the entry for a serial item the date of the publication's first appearance is given, followed by a hyphen and some blank space (e.g. 1978- ). This indicates that the work is still being issued, and a researcher can expect to find that very current issues are available. Many of the books and serials listed in this guide are available for sale from book dealers, and most will be found in a local public or university library.

This edition is marked by the inclusion of a number of titles discussing the growing trend toward electronic commerce. Also new to this edition is the addition of hyper-linked Library of Congress subject headings relating to entrepreneurship, which allow the user to launch a search for additional materials in the Library of Congress Online Catalog directly from the guide.

GETTING STARTED

1. 101 successful businesses you can start on the Internet / Daniel S. Janal. -- New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1997. xv, 471 p. : ill.

   HF5548.32.J36 1997

2. Beating the odds in small business / Tom Culley. -- Original ed. ---- Miami, Fla. : Small Business Matters, 1996. -- xiv, 412 p.

   HD62.7.C85 1996

3. The Business planning guide : creating a plan for success in your own business / David H. Bangs, Jr. -- 8th ed. ---- Chicago, Ill. : Upstart Pub. Co. ; distributed by Dearborn Trade, 1998 -- vii, 208 p. : ill.

   HD30.28.B362 1998

   This handbook aims to help readers design, write, and use a business plan and a financing proposal tailored to their own specific business needs.

4. Business plans handbook : a compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. -- 1998 ed. -- . -- Detroit, MI - Gale Research, Inc., c1995-

   HD62.7.B865

   Title changed from monograph to annual serial in 1995.
   Includes bibliographical references.

5. Checklists and operating forms for small businesses. -- 1997 ed. -- .-- New York : J. Wiley, c1993-

   HD62.7.C456

   Annual

6. Entrepreneurship : strategies and resources / Marc J. Dollinger. -- 2nd ed. -- Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c1999. -- xxii, 562 p. : ill.

   HD62.5.D65 1999

   Concepts discussed in each chapter are illustrated with "Street Stories," illustrating techniques used by real entrepreneurs.

7. The Entrepreneur magazine small business advisor. -- New York : J. Wiley, c1995. -- xviii, 664 p.

   HD62.7.E568 1995

   1999 edition in process as of 12/8/99.

8. The Franchise Annual. -- 1995 ed. -- St. Catherines, Ont.: Info Press, c1969-

   HF5429.3.F69

   Annual, 1976-1995.

   This is a directory and handbook of retail trade franchises in the U.S. and Canada.

9. Free help from Uncle Sam to start your own business (or expand the one you have) / William Alarid, Gustav Berle. -- 4th ed., completely rev. -- Santa Maria, Calif. : Puma Pub. Co., c1997. -- 312 p.

   HD2346.U5 A63 1997

   Includes a section on gaining federal assistance for conducting business overseas. In addition to a comprehensive directory of the Small Business Administration, there is a directory of federal and state agencies that provide assistance to small businesses.

   Table of Contents: Success stories about some of Uncle Sam's citizens -- Start-ups on a shoestring -- Assistance and information -- New products -- Selling to the feds (or, how to get your tax money back) -- Everything you ever wanted to know, but were ashamed to ask -- Financial help -- International trade -- Women, minorities, and disadvantaged -- Odds and ends -- Appendix 1: State aid for small business -- Appendix 2: Small business development centers -- Appendix 3: SBA field offices-- Appendix 4: Quick reference guide.

10. The Home office and small business answer book : solutions to the most frequently asked questions about starting and running home offices and small businesses / Janet Attard. -- New York : H. Holt, c1993. -- xii, 545 p. : ill.

    HD2333.A75 1993

    This practical guide provides information in starting a home office and small business.

    Table of Contents: Can you really make money at home? The million dollar question : what kind of business can I start? -- Cash on the line : connecting to success with a telephone Low-cost home franchises, business packages, and multilevel marketing : are they any good? -- Mail order riches : are they for real? -- Creating your own business opportunities -- Planning your personal road map to success -- Pricing what you sell -- Money : what you'll need and where to get it -- Making it legal -- Who owns the business? -- What equipment and supplies do I need to get started? -- How to find customers for what you sell -- Publicity : an almost-free ride -- Advertising basics -- Mail profits : using the mail to build your business -- Getting paid -- The charge card dilemma -- Your business and the law -- Intellectual property : how to protect what you create -- Health insurance : protection you can't afford to do without -- How to protect your business and personal assets from loss -- Taxing issues -- What can I deduct? -- How to gain control of your time -- Practical ways to save time in your home office or small business -- Expanding your business - Appendix 1: 250 business ideas -- Appendix 2: Business resources -- Appendix 3: Suggested retention schedule for business records -- Appendix 4: State tax department addresses and phone numbers.

    92035504

11. How to set up your own small business. -- 1997 ed. -- . -- Minneapolis, MN : American Institute of Small Business, c1993

    HD62.7.H683

    Annual

12. How to start a successful home business / Karen Cheney and Lesley Alderman -- New York : Warner Books, c1997. -- viii, 212 p.

    HD62.38.C48 1997

13. How to write a business plan / by Mike McKeever ; edited by Lisa Goldoftas ; illustrations by Mari Stein. -- 4th national ed. -- Berkeley, Calif. : Nolo Press, 1992. -- 1 v. (various pagings) : ill.

    HD62.5.M39 1992

    Soon to be published, 5th national edition.

14. Inc. magazine presents how to really start your own business : a step-by-step guide featuring insights and advice from the founders of Crate & Barrel, David's Cookies, Celestial Seasonings, Pizza Hut, Silicon Technology, Esprit Miami. / David E. Gumpert -- Rev. and expanded, 3rd ed. -- Boston, Ma. : Inc. Pub., c1996. -- xii, 278 p. : forms.

    HG4027.6.G863 1996

15. The Instant business plan book : 12 quick-and-easy steps to a profitable business / Gustav Berle and Paul Kirschner. -- 2nd ed. -- Santa Maria, Calif. : Puma Pub. , c1997. -- xv, 140 p.

    HD30.28.B455 1997

16. The International instant business plan book : 12 Quick-and-easy steps to a profitable business. / Gustav Berle and Paul Kirschner. -- Santa Maria, Calif. : Puma Publishing, 1996. -- xv, 249 p.

    HD62.4.B477 1996

17. Jane Applegate's strategies for small business success / Jane Applegate. -- New York : Plume, c1995. -- xvi, 286 p.

    HF5386.A625 1995

18. The McGraw-Hill guide to starting your own business : a step-by-step blueprint for the first-time entrepreneur / Stephen C. Harper. -- New York : McGraw-Hill, c1991. -- xiv, 203 p. : ill.

    HD62.5.H3734 1991

    Six of the chapters are devoted to the business plan.

    Table of Contents: Creating a new business -- Identifying new business opportunities -- The general overview and legal structure -- Selecting the right target market -- Product-service strategy and price strategy -- Promotional strategy and physical distribution strategy -- Determining your initial capital requirement -- Projecting the financial status for the first years -- Applying for a loan -- Buying an existing business -- Acquiring a franchise -- Epilogue: Commencement -- You've only just begun.

19. SBA : hotline answer book / Gustav Berle. -- New York : Wiley, c1992. -- xv. 267 p.

    HD62.5.B4818 1991

    This compilation of the Small Business Administration's most frequently asked questions is divided into categories suited for the entrepreneur. It includes a directory of SBA offices and other federal and state agencies that offer assistance to small businesses.

20. The Small business handbook : a comprehensive guide to starting and running your own business / Irving Burstiner. -- 3rd ed. -- New York : Simon & Schuster, c1997. -- xvii, 395 p. : ill.

    HD62.7.B84 1997

21. Small business sourcebook. -- 12th ed. -- . -- Detroit : Gale Research Co., c1983-

    HD2346.U5 S66

    Biennial, 1983-1991 ; Annual, 1991-.

    A guide to the information services and sources provided to 100 types of small businesses by associations, consultants, educational programs, franchisers, government agencies (federal, state, and local), reference works, statisticians, suppliers, trade shows, and venture capital firms.

22. The Small business start-up guide / Robert Sullivan. -- 2nd ed. --Great Falls, Va. : Information International, c1998. -- xx, 300 p.

    HD62.7.S944 1998

23. Small business today guide to beating the odds. / Hattie Bryant. -- Rocklin, CA : Prima Pub. , c1996. -- vi, 266 p. : ill.

    HD8037.U5B79 1996

24. Start up : an entrepreneur's guide to launching and managing a new business / by William Stolze. -- 4th ed. -- Hawthorne, N.J. : Career Press, c1996. -- 287 p.

    HD62.5.S755 1996

    Provides an example of a business plan used by an entrepreneur to launch a successful business.

25. The Start-up business plan / William M. Luther. -- New York : Prentice Hall, c1991. -- viii, 245 p.

    HD62.7.L88 1991

26. Starting and managing the small business / Arthur H. Kuriloff, John M. Hemphill, Jr., Douglas Cloud. -- 3rd ed. -- New York : McGraw-Hill, c1993. -- xxi, 713 p. : ill. (some col.)

    HD62.5.K87 1993

    Describes case studies of businesses that have and have not used the principles and practices covered in the text

    .

27. The Total business plan : how to write, rewrite, and revise / Patrick D. O'Hara. -- 2nd ed. -- New York : Wiley, c1995. -- xiii, 316 p. ill.

    HD30.28.O35 1995

    Return to the top of the page

    ---

    RAISING CAPITAL

28. The Corporate finance sourcebook. -- 1999- . -- New York : McGraw-Hill Book Co., [1979-

    HG4057.A1565

    Annual

    Sources of financing are arranged by industry, geographic area, and method of financing.

29. Directory of incentives for business investment and development in the United States : a state-by-state guide / National Association of State Development Agencies ; Miles Friedman, executive director ; Paula Weese, project director. -- 3rd ed. -- Washington : Urban Institute Press ; Lanham, Md. : Distributed by University Press of America, c1991. -- xiv, 778 p. : maps.

    HC110.I53 N4 1991

    Fifth edition, 1998, available on CD-ROM from National Association of State Development Agencies

    Offers state-by-state listings with explanations of financial incentives and tax credits available to businesses which locate in given states.

30. Entrepreneur magazine : guide to raising money / Entrepreneur Media, Inc. -- New York : John Wiley, c1998. -- vi, 276 p.

    HG4751.E58 1998

    Includes list of microbusiness-friendly banks, banks that have 25% of total assets in loans under $100,000, arranged by state.

31. Financing your business dreams with other people's money : how and where to find money for start-up and growing businesses / Harold R. Lacy. -- Traverse City, mich. : Sage Creek Press, c1998. -- 187 p.

    HG4027.6.L32 1998

    State and local financial information and resources, indexed by state.

32. Financing your business with venture capital : strategies to grow your enterprise with outside investors / Frederick D. Lipman. -- Rocklin, CA : Prima, 1998. -- xv, 368 p.

    HG4751.L56 1998

33. Finding money : the small business guide to financing / Kate Lister, Tom Harnish. -- New York : J. Wiley, c1995. -- x, 246 p. : ill.

    HG4027.7.L58 1995

    .

34. Free money for small businesses and entrepreneurs / Laurie Blum. -- 4th ed. -- New York : J. Wiley, c1995. -- vii, 293 p.

    HG4027.7.B58 1995

    List of private sources of funding for nonprofit and for profit organizations.

35. Free money from the federal government for small businesses and entrepreneurs / Laurie Blum. -- 2nd ed. -- New York : J. Wiley, c1996. -- x, 358 p.

    HG4027.7.B6 1996

36. Galante's complete venture capital and private equity directory. -- 1997- .-- Wellesley, MA : Asset Alternatives, Inc., 1996-

    HG4961.V36

    Semiannual

    This directory provides easy access to the facts, figures and names behind $60 billion in capital reserves.

37. Getting the money you need : practical solutions for financing your small business / Gibson Heath. -- Chicago : Irwin Professional Pub., c1995.

    HG4027.7.H422 1995

38. SBA loans : a step-by-step guide / Patrick D. O'Hara. -- 3rd ed. -- . -- New York : John Wiley, c1994. -- xi, 292 p. : ill.

    HG4027.7.O43 1998

39. Where to find venture capital : a resource guide / Phillip C. Paul. -- Highland City, Fl. : Rainbow Books, c1995. -- 290 p.

    HG4963.P38 1995

    Return to the top of the page

    ---

    MANAGING YOUR BUSINESS

40. The Four elements of successful management : select, direct, evaluate, reward / Don R. Marshall -- New York, N.Y. : AMACOM, c1999. -- xvi, 208 p.

    HD30.3.M3669 1999

    An annotation prepared by the publisher appears on the publisher's website.

41. Gower handbook of management skills / edited by Dorothy M Stewart -- 3rd ed. -- Brookfield, Vt. : Gower, c1998. -- xxiv, 430p. : ill.

    HD31.G6843 1998

    The book is divided into three topic areas, managing yourself, managing others, and managing the business

    .

42. Making your small business a success : more expert advice from the U.S. Small Business Administration / compiled by G. Poteet. -- 1st ed. -- Blue Ridge Summit, Pa. : Liberty Hall Press, c1991. -- viii, 216 p. : ill.

    HD62.7.P68 1991

43. Management and organizational behavior / Curtis W. Cook, Phillip L. Hunsaker, Robert E Coffey. -- 2nd ed. -- Chicago : Irwin, c1997. -- xxvi, 642 p. : col. ill.

    HD 31.C583 1997

44. The Manager's desk reference / Cynthia Berryman-Fink and Charles B. Fink. -- 2nd ed. -- New York : AMACOM, American Management Association, 1996. -- ix, 370 p.

    HD38.15.B47 1996

    An annotation prepared by the publisher appears on the publisher's website.

45. Manager's portable answer book / George Fuller. -- Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c1996. -- xv, 366 p.

    HD31.F8377 1996

46. Manager's tough questions answer book : word for word responses for the most difficult questions managers face / Al Guyant. -- Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c1996. -- xx, 348 p.

    HD30.3.G89 1996

47. The Pocket mentor : essential advice for aspiring executives / Harry Hoffman. -- Kansas City, Mo. : Andrews McMeel Pub., c1998. -- xix, 154 p.

    HD31.H5598 1998

    Very good discussion on developing your management style.

48. Quality management for the small business / Lionel Stebbing, R.J. Pengelly. -- New York : E. Horwood, 1994. -- ix, 148 p.

    HD62.15.S737 1994

    Using TQM to make your small business a success.

49. Small business management fundamentals / Dan Steinhoff, John F. Burgess. -- 6th ed. -- New York : Mcgraw-Hill, c1993. -- xxxii, 571 p.

    HD62.7.S8 1993

50. Small business success through TQM : practical methods to improve your organization's performance / Terry Ehresman. -- Milwaukee, Wis. : ASQC Quality Press, c1995. -- xxvii, 255 p.

    HD62.7.E38 1995

51. The Street-smart entrepreneur : 133 tough lessons I learned the hard way / Jay Goltz with Judy Oesterreicher. -- Omaha, Neb. : Addicus Books, c1998. -- xi, 235 p.

    HD31.G589 1998

    Easy to read text makes this source a real delight to read.

52. Strategic management / Lloyd L. Byars, Leslie W. Rue, Shaker A. Zahra. -- Chicago : Irwin, 1996. -- xi, 1043 p.

    HD30.28.B899 1996

    Includes case studies of several small businesses that have used strategic management successfully.

    Return to the top of the page

    ---

    HUMAN RESOURCES

    Entrepreneurs who look forward to being their own boss may quickly find that they have become someone else's boss. Hiring some help (such as clerical, accounting, or secretarial employees, manual labor for heavy work, or skilled technicians for special jobs) may entail unfamiliar responsibilities for the small-business owner who now has to provide benefits, to be in compliance with state and federal regulations, and to develop incentives to attract and hold valuable employees. References in the following section will help new employers find the answers to vexing personnel questions. Directories may lead to additional resources, and dictionaries of terms will make rules and regulations easier to understand.

53. Access to health insurance : state efforts to assist small business : report to congressional requesters / United States General Accounting Office. -- Washington, D.C. : The Office, 1992. -- 64 p. : ill.

    HG9396.A619 1992

54. Dictionary of occupational titles / U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration, U.S. Employment Service. -- 4th ed., rev. 1991 -- Washington : The Administration. U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1991. -- 2 v.

    HB2595.D53 1991

    Provides standardized occupational information about the millions of jobs in the United States. Material is indexed by industry and by occupational title. May be searched online on the Internet:

    URL: http://www.oalj.dol.gov/libdot.htm

55. EBRI databook on employee benefits / Celia Silverman ...{et al.} ; edited by Carolyn Pemberton and Deborah Holmes : produced by Cindy O' Connor. -- 3rd ed. -- Washington, D.C. : Employee Benefit Research Institute, c1995. -- xvi. 763 p.

    HD4928.N62U663 1995

    A comprehensive source of relevant statistics on employee benefits. The fourth edition was published in 1997.

56. Employee benefit plans : a glossary of terms / edited by Judith A. Sankey. -- 9th ed. -- Brookfield, WI : International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans, 1997. -- ix, 176 p.

    HD4928.N6E46 1997

    The tenth edition will be available in 1999.

57. Employee benefits / Burton T. Beam, Jr., John J. McFadden. -- 5th ed. -- Chicago, Ill. : Dearborn Financial Pub., c1998. -- xviii, 696 p. : ill.

    HD4928.N62U623 1998

    Provides an overview of varous types of employee benefits and current legal issues related to them.

58. Employee benefits for small business / Jane White and Bruce Pyenson. -- 2nd ed. -- New York : Prentice Hall, c1993. -- x, 128 p. : ill.

    HD4928.N6W46 1993

    Tips on helping the small business owner find the best values in employee benefits. Issues concerning AIDS in the workplace, drugs, and the Disabilities Act are discussed.

59. Entrepreneur magazine : human resources for small business / William R. Sullivan. -- New York : Wiley, c1997. -- xi, 236 p. : ill.

    HF5549.S8978 1997

    Covers the human resources function for companies large enough to have employees, but not large enough to have a full-time human resources office.

60. Hiring great people : Kevin C. Klinvex, Matthew S. O'Connell. -- New York : McGraw-Hill, c1999. -- xiv, 210 p. : ill.

    HF5549.5.S38K59 1999

    Practical guide that takes the entrepreneur from the search for employees to getting new employees off to the right start.

61. Human resources : mastering your small business : Jill Rossiter. -- Chicago, Ill. : Upstart Pub., c1996 -- xiv, 336 p. : ill.

    HF5549.R633 1996

62. Keeping good people : strategies for solving the dilemma of the decade / Roger E. Herman. -- 1st McGraw-Hill pbk. ed. -- New York : McGraw-Hill, 1992. -- xxi, 292 p. : ill.

    HF5549.5.I5 H467 1992

    Presents suggestions about creating a work environment that will enable an employer to retain valuable workers.

63. Managing human resources in small and mid-sized companies / Diane Arthur. -- 2nd ed. -- New York : American Management Association, c1995. -- xiii, 338 p. : ill.

    HF5549.A955 1995

    The various personnel processes administered by the human resource professionals working for smaller businesses are described in detail.

64. Occupational outlook handbook / U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. -- Began with 1949 ed. -- Washington : The Bureau. U.S. Govt. Print. Off., [1949]-

    HD8051.A62

    Irregular, 1949-1957 ; Biennial, 1959-

    Describes 250 occupations which cover approximately l07 million jobs. Current edition may be searched online on the Internet:

    URL: http://www.bls.gov/oco/

65. Personnel management for the small business / Neville C. Tompkins. : Menlo Park, Ca. : Crisp Publications, c1996. -- xi, 193 p. : 24 cm.

    HF5549.T648 1996

    MARKETING: RESEARCH, STRATEGY, AND ADVERTISING

66. Aftermarketing : how to keep customers for life through relationship marketing / Terry G. Vavra. -- Rev. and updated -- Chicago : Irwin Professional Pub., c1995. -- xviii, 314 p. : ill. ; 23 cm

    HF5415.5. V38 1995

67. The Electronic marketplace 1997 : strategies for connecting buyers & sellers / Karen Burka. -- 1997 edition -- Wilton, CT : SIMBA Information, Inc.

    HF5415.1265.E44

    The electronic marketplace includes the markets that exist on the Internet, proprietary online services, CD ROM, interactive television, kiosks and screen phones.

68. Great ad! : low-cost do-it-yourself advertising for your small business / Carol Wilkie Wallace. -- 1^st ed. -- Blue Ridge Summit, PA : Liberty Hall Press, c1990. -- xi, 340 p. : ill.

    HF5823.W412 1990

    Table of Contents: Making your business advertisable -- Setting your advertising objectives -- Using advertising to help solve problems -- Finding and knowing your best customers -- Knowing what makes the customer tick : demographics and psychographics -- Finding out what the public thinks about you : designing a survey -- The mass media and their characteristics -- Buying magazines, directories, direct mail, outdoor and transit advertising -- Using nontraditional forms of media -- Planning a media schedule -- Finding the right advertising message -- Keeping your ads consistent : the campaign concept -- Creating a look for your print ads -- How to write effective print ads -- How to write effective radio and TV ads -- Publicity : how to earn it and how to get it -- Advertising and the law -- Appendices: Sample demographic profile : the restoration shop. -- Sample research. -- Chapter 10 sample budget breakdown for with compliments. -- Examples of selling points turned into benefits. -- Sample scripts. Sample public relations plan : Fanning's dance studio.

69. Guerrilla advertising : cost-effective techniques for small business success / Jay Conrad Levinson. -- 3^rd. Edition -- Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 1998. -- xi, 283 p. ; 23cm

    HF5415.L477 1998

    Non-traditional market tactics for the small business owner with limited resources.

70. Inc. magazine presents how to really create a successful marketing plan / David E. Gumpert. -- Rev. and expanded 3^rd ed. -- Boston : Inc. Pub., c1996. -- x, 320 p. ; 28 cm.

    HF5415.13.G853 1996

71. Increase your Web traffic in a weekend / William R. Stanek. -- Rev. ed. -- Rocklin, Calif. : Prima Tech., c1998. -- xvi, 368 p. : ill. ; 24 cm

    HF5415.1265.S72 1998b

    Easy to read, no-nonsense method to promote your Web site for beginners and experts.

    Table of contents available online.

72. Marketing on a shoestring : low-cost tips for marketing your products or services / Jeff Davidson. -- 2^nd ed. -- New York : Wiley, c1994. -- xx, 266 p. ; 24 cm.

    HF5415.D348 1994

73. No-nonsense marketing : 101 practical ways to win and keep customers / Victor H. Prushan. -- New York : Wiley, c1997. -- xvii, 282 p. : ill. ; 22 cm

    HF 5415 .13.P78 1997

74. Official online marketing with Netscape book : build your business with the power on Netscape / Greg Holden . -- 1^st ed. -- Research Triangle Park, NC : Ventana Communications Group, c1996. -- xl, 496 p. : 24 cm.

    HF5415.1265.H65 1996

    DOING BUSINESS WITH GOVERNMENT

75. Doing business with the government using EDI : a guide for small business / Jan Zimmerman. -- New York. : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1996. -- xvii, 220 p. : ill. ; 24cm

    JK1673.Z56 1996

    In the new government procurement environment, Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) is essential for doing business with the government; this book explains how to use EDI

76. Government contract negotiations : a practical guide for small business / David C. Moore. -- New York : John Wiley, 1996. -- xx, 265 p. ; 24 cm

    HD3861.U6M663 1996

77. How to do business with the states : a guide for vendors / The Council of State Governments. -- 2^nd ed. -- Lexington, Ky. (Iron works Pike, P.O. Box 11910, Lexington 40578-1910) : National Association of State Purchasing Officials, The Council of State Governments, 1991. -- 113 p. ; 28cm

    JK1683.H69 1991

78. How to sell to the United States government : marketing goods and services to America's greatest customers / Stephen M. Bauer. -- Secaucus, N.J. : Carol Pub., 1994. -- xiv, 283 p. ; 21 cm

    JK1673.B38 1994

79. Procurement opportunities : a small business guide to procurement reform / Jere Walton Glover and James O' Connor. -- Washington, D.C. : U.S. Small Business Administration, (1996). -- 49 p. ; 28cm.

    KF849.G57

    Describes new government procurement regulations at the time of writing. Current government procurement opportunities are available online from Pro-Net, the Procurement and Market Access Network of the SBA.

80. U.S. government, new customer! / Robert Sullivan. -- Great Falls. Va. : Information International, c1997. -- 540 p. : forms ; 28cm.

    JK1673.S85 1997

    Comprehensive step-by-step guide for doing business with the Federal Government.

    INTERNATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES

    Expansion into international trade may be the most exciting trend in today's entrepreneurship. The small-business person who wants to venture into foreign markets should go well armed with information. Marketing data, statistics, and "how to" guidance can be found in some of the books and directories listed in the following section.

81. A Basic guide to exporting / U.S. Department of Commerce. -- Washington D.C.: U.S. Department of Commerce, 1992. -- viii, 148 p

    HF1416.5.B36 1992

    Appendices include lists of state and local sources of assistance and federal and overseas contacts by major market. The text of this publication is also available in the "Trade Library" of the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) produced by the United States Department of Commerce, and available on the subscription service Stat-USA. The 1998 edition of the title is available from the United States Department of Commerce. Also reprinted in the Directory of United States exporters.

82. Building an import/export business / Kenneth D. Weiss. -- 2^nd ed. -- New York : Wiley, 1997. --xiv, 288p. : ill. ; 23cm.

    HF1416.W43 1997

83. The dictionary of international business terms / Jae K. Shim, Joel G. Siegel and Marc H. Levine. -- Chicago : Glenlake Publ. Co. ; New York : AMACOM, c1998. --317 p. : ill. ; 24cm

    HD62.4.S524 1998

84. Directory of United States exporters / Journal of Commerce. -- 1999 ed. -- New York : Journal of Commerce, Inc., c1990-

    HF3011.D63

    annual.

    Describes U.S. exporters and the products they export. Listings are by state and products are listed by Harmonized Commodity Codes. Includes alphabetical indexes for companies and products. Also includes a copy of the US Dept. of Commerce' A Basic Guide to Exporting, as well as lists of U.S. consulates and embassies abroad; banks; world ports; and foreign trade commissions, consulates, embassies, and foreign trade zones in the U.S

85. Directory of United States importers / Journal of Commerce. -- 1999 ed. -- New York : Journal of Commerce, Inc., 1990-

    HF3012.D54

    annual

    List of U.S. importers and the products they import. Listings are by state; products are listed by Harmonized Commodity Codes. Includes alphabetical indexes for companies and products. Print copy also includes a copy of the US Customs Service' Importing into the United States, including U.S. ports of entry, as well as lists of U.S. consulates and embassies abroad; banks; world ports; and foreign trade commissions, consulates, embassies, and foreign trade zones in the U.S.

86. The Do's and taboos of international trade : a small business primer / Roger E. Axtell. -- rev. ed. -- New York : john Wiley & Sons, Inc., c1994. -- xvi, 312 p. : ill. ; 23 cm.

    HF1379.A96 1994

87. Exporters' encyclopaedia / Dun and Bradstreet International. -- 1998/1999 ed. -- New York : Dun and Bradstreet International, 1982 -

    HF3011.E9

    For each country listed there is a country profile, marketing data, information on transportation, key contacts and trade regulations and documentation required. For further information on this title, see Selected Dun and Bradstreet Publications in the Library of Congress.

88. Entrepreneur magazine : starting an import/export business / Entrepreneur Media, Inc. -- New York : Wiley, c1995. -- ix, 256 p. : ill. ; 25 cm.

    HF1416.E577 1995

89. Export/import procedures and documentation / Thomas E. Johnson. -- 4^th ed. -- New York : AMACOM, c2002. -- xxii, 583 p. : ill. ; 29 cm.

    HF1416.5 .J64 2002

    Detailed discussion of the export/import procedure, including foreign trade regulations and examples of forms used in international trade. An annotation prepared by the publisher appears on the publisher's website.

90. Exporting : from start to finance / L. Fargo Wells and Karin B Dulat. -- 3^rd ed. -- New York ; McGraw-Hill, c1996.

    HF1416.5.W45 1996

    Special attention given to financing the export business. Information on government agencies that offer assistance and promote export trade.

91. Importers manual USA / San Rafael, CA : World Trade Press, 1993-

    HF3035.I45

    Annual

    Information on 100 major exporting countries, including import opportunities, travel considerations, directory information, trade fairs, currency exchange, trade laws and regulations, and visa requirements.

92. International marketing / Richard Sandhusen. -- Hauppauge, N.Y. : Barron's Educational Series, c1997. -- xiv, 481 p. : ill. ; 23 cm.

    HF1416.S263 1997

93. Taking your business global : your small business guide to successful international trade / James Wilfong. -- Franklin Lakes, NJ : Career Press, c1997. -- 318 p. ; 25 cm.

    HD62.7.W55 1997

    Table of Contents available online.

    RESEARCH AND INFORMATION GATHERING

    The successful small business person quickly learns that possessing up-to-date information is essential to success. The entrepreneur must know how to acquire data about such essentials as the competition, the industry itself, future projections, potential markets, historical trends, and much more.

    Sources listed in the following sections will help business people learn their way through the information-gathering process. Because statistics and numerical data are vital for understanding and predicting sales trends and business impacts, Looking at the Numbers lists an assortment of comprehensive statistical sources.Handbooks and Guides lays out the general array of library and reference materials available. Information about Companies introduces some of the standard guides that describe and rank individual companies.

    Indexes, Databases and Other Information Souces describes places where one may look for citations to articles relevant to a particular business problem or situation. Reading technical articles about business, economics, and finance may leave the beginner awhirl in a new vocabulary. While a standard dictionary may help a little, there are special dictionaries designed to enlighten the business seeker which are described in Dictionaries.

    Finally, when books, articles, charts, and tables are not enough to help the struggling entrepreneur, talking to someone knowledgeable may be called for. People and organizations that may be able provide these elusive answers can be found through a wide variety of Directories.

    LOOKING AT THE NUMBERS: SOURCES OF STATISTICS

94. Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios / by Leo Troy. -- Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Prentice-Hall

    HF5681.R25 A45

    Annual.

    Provides financial ratios for companies in various asset ranges by SIC code. Data reported are based on aggregate numbers from Internal Revenue Service records

95. Almanac of the 50 states : basic data profiles with comparative tables. -- Burlington, VT. : Information Publications, c1985-

    HF5003.D68a

    Annual.

    A statistical overview of every state with tables of comparative rankings. Topics cover geography, demographics, vital statistics, education, housing, labor, economy, and more. There are 54 rankings which include population projections, average hospital costs, average hourly earnings, median household income, and Fortune 500 companies.

96. Irwin business and investment almanac. -- 1994- . -- Burr Ridge, Ill. : Irwin Professional Pub., c1994-

    HF5003.D68a

    Annual. Issues for 1991- called: 15th ed.-

    This work explains basic business and investment terms and includes statistical tables.

97. County and city databook. -- 1st ed. -- Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, c1949-

    HA202.A36

    Irregular.

    Primarily issued every 4 years. This "companion" to the Statistical Abstract of the United States covers all countries, cities of 25,000 or more, and places of 2,500 or more. Subjects covered range from agriculture to vital statistics. Available in several electronic formats including an expanded version from the Department of Commerce called USA Counties. Selections from this work available on the Internet:

    URL: http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html

98. County and city extra : annual metro, city, and county data book. -- 1992- . -- Lanham, Md. : Bernan Press, c1992-

    HA203.C68

    Annual.

99. County business patterns [computer file]. -- 1992 & 1993- . -- Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Data User Services Division [1990-

    Annual

    Presents detailed industry data at the local level, based on complete county data from administrative records. Information is analyzed by industry, number of establishments, employee size, and industry payroll. Business uses include analyzing market potential and measuring sales effectiveness. Available on the Internet:

    URL: http://www.census.gov:80/epcd/cbp/view/cbpview.html

100. Economic report of the President transmitted to the Congress. -- Jan. 6, 1950- . -- Washington, D.C. : U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1950-

     HC106.5.A272

     Annual.

     Represents the annual report of the President's Council of Economic Advisers. Appendix B contains historical tables (from 1959 or earlier) on aspects of income (national, personal, and corporate), production, prices, employment, investment, taxes and transfers, and money and finance. The most recent Reports are available on the Intenet :

     URL: http://w3.access.gpo.gov/eop/

101. Gale state rankings reporter. -- Detroit : Gale Research, c1994-

     HA203.G34

     Biennial.

     A compilation of state rankings for the 50 states and the District of Columbia covering more than 3,000 tables on all types of statistics on characteristics of the states

     .

102. Industry norms and key business ratios. -- [New York] : Dun & Bradstreet Credit Services

     HF5681.R25 I53

     Annual.

     Arranged by SIC code, this work includes financial data and important ratios from an aggregate number of establishments within an industry. Examination of this information establishes present and future norms from which a venture's performance can be judged. For additional information about this title, see Selected Dun and Bradstreet Publications in the Library of Congress

103. Manufacturing USA. -- 1st ed.- . -- Detroit : Gale Research, c1989-

     HD9721.M364

     Annual.

     Provides statistical analyses for over 450 manufacturing industries. Included are maps and charts showing industry ratios, changes, materials consumed, and occupations employed. Leading companies are identified and arranged by SIC code.

104. Statistical abstract of the United States / prepared by the chief of the Bureau of Statistics, Dept. of the Treasury. -- 1st no. (1878)- . -- Washington, D.C. : U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1879-

     HA202

     Annual.

     This is a compendium and guide to statistics on just about everything in the United States. The section on "Business Enterprises" includes incorporations, failures, small business data, and tax returns. Among the several appendices is a list of state statistical abstracts. Available on the Internet:

     URL: http://www.census.gov:80/stat_abstract/

105. Survey of current business / United States Department of Commerce ; compiled by Bureau of the Census, Bureau of Foreign and Domestic Commerce, Bureau of Standards. -- No. 1 (Aug. 1, 1921)-no. 117 (May 1931); v. 11, no. 6 (June 1931)- . -- Washington : The Department. U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1921-.

     HC101.A13

     Monthly.

     Presents current statistical data on economic activity. Also available on the Internet as .pdf files.:

     URL: http://www.bea.gov/bea/pubs.htm

106. Thorndike encyclopedia of banking and financial tables. Yearbook. -- Boston : Warren, Gorham & Lamont.

     HG1626.T493

     Annual.

107. U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook. New York : DRI/McGraw-Hill : Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce/International Trade Administration : c1998- v. : ill. ; 28 cm. '98-

     HC101.U54

     Annual.

     Produced in partnership with McGraw Hill Companies and private sector analysts, the title is designed as a successor to the U.S. Industrial Outlook. Includes industry reviews, analyses, and forecasts for major U.S. manufacturing, services, construction and natural resources industries. Publisher supplied table of contents and ordering information is available online.

108. Wholesale and retail trade USA : industry analysis, statistics, and leading organizations. -- 1st ed. -- Detroit : Gale Research, c1995-

     HF5421.W58

     HANDBOOKS AND GUIDES

109. Barron's real estate handbook / Jack C. Harris, Jack P. Friedman. -4th ed. -- Hauppauge N.Y. : Barron's, c1997. -- ix, 810 p. : ill.

     HD1375.H349 1997

     Includes bibliographical references (p. 481-521) and index.

     Table of Contents: Home buyers guide -- Home sellers guide -- Median sales prices of existing single-family homes -- Analyzing real estate investment opportunities -- How to read an appraisal report -- Real estate regulations -- Careers in real estate -- How to use the glossary effectively.

110. Business information desk reference : where to find answers to business questions / Melvyn N. Freed, Virgil P. Diodato ; David A. Rouse, contributors. -- New York : Macmillan Pub. Co. c1991. -- xiii, 513 p.

     HF54.52.U5 F74 1990

     Includes bibliographical references and index.

     This ready reference directs the entrepreneur or researcher to sources of information for any business question. There is an annotated bibliography of sources used in the text.

111. Business information : how to find it, how to use it / by Michael R. Lavin. -- 2nd ed., new and expanded ed. -- Phoenix : Oryx Press, 1992. -- xi, 499 p. : ill.

     HF5356.L36 1991

     Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

     This book was written for library students and practicing librarians, but can be used by entrepreneurs and others in need of business information.

     Table of Contents: Sources and forms of business information -- Locating experts -- Finding reference materials -- Finding books, documents, and statistical reports -- Searching journals, newspapers, and news services -- National business directories -- Specialized business directories -- Corporate finances : private companies -- Corporate finances : public companies -- Basic investment information -- Special investment situations -- Investment advice and analysis -- Introduction to statistical reasoning -- The census of population and housing -- General economic statistics -- Industry statistics -- Information on states and local areas -- Marketing information -- Business law sources -- Taxation and accounting. -- Appendix: Keeping up to date.

112. Business information sources / Lorna M. Daniells. -- 3rd ed., rev. -- Berkeley : University of California Press, 1993. -- xix, 725 p.

     Z7164.C81 D16 1993

     Includes bibliographical references and index.

     Designed to aid one who is building a business library. The last chapter gives suggestions for titles to be included in a core business reference collection

113. Catalog of federal domestic assistance. -- Washington : The Office of Management and Budget. U.S. Govt. Print. Off.

     HC110.P63 U53a

     Annual.

     Identifies and describes specific government assistance opportunities such as loans, grants, counseling, and procurement contracts available from many agencies and programs. May be searched online:

     URL: http://aspe.os.dhhs.gov/cfda/index.htm

114. Encyclopedia of business information sources. -- [1st ed. (1970)]- . -- Detroit : Gale Research Co., 1970-

     Z7164.C81 E93

     Triennial

     This is a comprehensive listing of business related finding aids including abstracting and indexing services, almanacs and yearbooks, bibliographies, biographical sources, directories, encyclopedias and dictionaries, financial ratios, handbooks and manuals, online databases, periodicals and newsletters, price sources, research centers and institutes, statistical sources, trade associations and professional societies, and other related sources of information on each topic.

115. The Small business information handbook / Gustav Berle. -- New York : Wiley, c1990. -- xv, 256 p.

     HD62.5.B482 1990

     This resource list gives the location of federal, state, local and private agencies in all fifty states that offer assistance to entrepreneurs

116. North American industry classification system : United States, 1997 /Executive Office of the President, Office of Management and Budget. -- Washington, DC : Executive Office of the President : Office of Management and Budget. -- 1247 p. ; 28cm

     HF1041.5.N674 1997

     The North American Industry Classification system replaces the United States Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. It may be searched online at:

     URL: http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html

     The above site also includes comparison tables for SIC and NAICS codes.

     INFORMATION ABOUT COMPANIES

117. Business rankings annual / compiled by Brooklyn Public Library, Business Library Staff. -- 1989- . -- Detroit : Gale Research, c1989-

     HG4050.B88

     Annual

     These lists of companies, products, services, and activities were compiled from a variety of published sources.

118. CorpTech directory of technology companies. -- Woburn, MA, U.S.A. : Corporate Technology Information Services, Inc., c1995-

     HG4057.A16

     Annual.

     This multi-volume directory which lists more than 35,000 companies is indexed by company name, geographic area, SIC code, and non-U.S. parent companies. Profiles are provided for each company listed.

119. Directory of corporate affiliations. -- 1973- . -- Skokie, Ill. : National Register Pub. Co., [1973-

     HG4057.A217

     Annual.

     Described as "Who owns whom, the family tree of every major corporation in America," this directory is indexed by name (parent and subsidiary), geographic location, Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code, and corporate responsibility

120. Hoover's handbook of American business. -- Austin, Tex. : Reference Press, Inc., c1991-

     HG4057.A28617

     Annual

     A brief company history is presented with each company profile. Some information is available online:

     URL: http://www.hoovers.com/ (Portions of this site available by subscription only.)

121. Market share reporter. -- 1991- . -- Detroit : Gale Research, c1991-

     HF5410.M35

     Annual.

     Presents market share data on over four thousand companies, and twenty-five hundred products, facilities, and brands. Several entries are usually available under each industry.

122. Standard & Poor's register of corporations, directors and executives. -- 1973- . -- New York : Standard & Poor's Corp., [1973-

     HG4057.A4

     Annual.

     This principal source for company identification is arranged by company name, Standard Industrial Classification Code (SIC), geographic location, and by executive and directors' names.

123. Ward's business directory of U.S. private and public companies. -- 1990- .-- Detroit : Gale Research, c1990

     HG4057.A575

     Annual.

     This multi-volume set is a primary source for basic company and industry information. Names, addresses, SIC codes, and geographic locations of over 135,000 U.S. companies are included.

124. Ward's private company profiles. -- Vol. 1- .-- Detroit : Gale Research, Inc., c1994-

     HG4009.W374

     Annual

     DICTIONARIES

125. Dictionary of business and management / Jerry M. Rosenberg. -- New York : J. Wiley, c1993. -- x, 374 p. -- (Business dictionary series)

     HF1001.R79 1993

     Provides definitions of business phrases and terms, with a variety of tables, lists, dates, and quotations.

126. Dictionary of business terms / Jack P. Friedman. -- 2^nd ed. -- Hauppauge, N.Y. : Barron's, c1994. -- vi, 692 p. ; 18 cm.

     HF1001.F78 1994

127. Dictionary of marketing terms / Jane Imber and Betsy-Ann Toffler. -- 2^nd ed.-- Hauppauge, NY : Barron's Educational Series, c1994. -- viii, 579 p. : ill. ; 18 cm.

     HF5803.T56 2000

128. Elsevier's dictionary of commercial terms and phrases in five languages : in English, German, Spanish, French, and Swedish / compiled by Barry Léon Appleby. -- Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier ; New York : Distributors for the U.S. and Canada, Elsevier Science Pub. Co., 1984. -- 1083 p.

     HF1002.A66 1984

129. The International business dictionary and reference / Lewis A. Presner. -- New York : Wiley, c1991. -- xviii, 486 p.

     HF1359.P74 1991

     Includes bibliographical references (p. 465-486).

     This dictionary is based on cross-disciplinary study of sources in international marketing, law, economics, banking and finance, physical distribution and logistics, and international relations/politics.

130. Taking care of business : the dictionary of contemporary business terms / Donald L. Caruth and Steven Austin Stovall. -- Lincolnwood, Ill. : NTC PUB. Group, c1997. -- iii, 330 p. ; 20 cm.

     HF1001.C33 1997

131. Wiley's English-Spanish, Spanish-English business dictionary / Steven M. Kaplan. -- New York : Wiley, c1996.

     HB61 .K323 1996

     DIRECTORIES

132. American wholesalers and distributors directory. -- 1st ed.- . -- Detroit : Gale Research, c1992

     HF5421.A615

     A comprehensive guide identifying more than 18,000 wholesalers and distributors in the United States.

133. Brands and their companies. -- 8th ed. (1990)- . -- Detroit : Gale Research, c1990-

     T223.V4 A25

     Annual. Issued in two volumes.

     Companion publication: International Brands and their Companies

     This is a guide to product trade names, brands, and products names, with addresses of their manufacturers and distributors

134. Companies and their brands. . -- 8th ed. (1990)- . -- Detroit : Gale Research, c1990-

     T223.V4 A25

     Annual. Issued in two volumes.

     Companion publication: International Companies and their brands.

     This is a guide to manufacturers and distributors and their trade names, brands, and product names.

135. Consultants and consulting organizations directory. -- 2nd ed. (1973)- .-- Detroit : Gale Research Co., c1973-

     HD69.C6 C647

     Annual, 8th (1988)-

     Indexes are arranged by geographic area, activities, personal name, and consulting firm name.

136. Directories in print. -- 6th ed. (1989)- . -- Detroit : Gale Research Inc., c1989.

     Z5771.D55

     Annual.

     Directories for almost everything.

137. Directory of American research and technology / edited by Jaques Cattell Press. -- 20th ed. (1986)- . -- New York : Bowker, c1986-

     T176.I65

     Annual.

     Identifies non-government facilities active in commercial research, including development of products and processes. Arrangement is alphabetic, geographic, and by concept classification.

138. Directory of executive recruiters. -- Began in 1971. -- Fitzwilliam, N.H. : Consultants news, [1971-

     HF5549.5.R44 D58 1992

     Annual.

     This guide is designed for businesses seeking professional assistance in filling key positions. Material is arranged by method of payment (retainer or contingency), and by geographic area, and alphabetic list of key principal officers of recruiting firms.

139. Directory of management consultants / compiled and published by Consultants News. -- Began in 1977. -- Fitzwilliam, N.H. : Consultant News, [1977-

     HD69.C6 D55

     Irregular.

     Lists over fifteen hundred firms alphabetically. Entries are indexed by services, industries served, geography, and key officers of the firms.

140. D & B consultants directory /Dun & Bradstreet. Bethlehem, PA : Dun & Bradstreet, c1997-

     HD69.C6 D86

     Annual.

     Includes information about the twenty-five thousand largest consulting firms in the U.S. Consultants are listed alphabetically and indexed by geography and consulting activities.

141. Encyclopedia of associations. -- Detroit : Gale Research Co., 1961-

     AS22.E5

     A comprehensive list of national organizations described briefly, with names, addresses, and telephone numbers. Associations keep track of industry data for their members and may have valuable information on an industry that would not be found in standard business sources. Indexes include name of organization, key word, and geographic area. Available online on a subscription basis from the publisher.

142. Federal yellow book. -- Began in 1976. -- Washington : Washington Monitor, inc., 1976-

     JK6.F45

     Quarterly, summer 1986-.

     A directory of federal departments and agencies with names and numbers of administrative officers.

143. Gale directory of databases. -- Jan. 1993- . -- Detroit, Gale Research, c1993-

     QA76.9.D32 G36

     Semiannual.

     This is a guide to computer-readable databases available online, in CD-ROM format, or in other magnetic formats. Details include database descriptions, costs, and whom to contact for purchase. The material is indexed alphabetically, and by subject, vendor, and producer.

144. Gale directory of publications and broadcast media. -- 122nd ed. (1990)- . -- Detroit : Gale Research, c1990-.

     Z6951.A97 PN4867

     Annual.

     Identifies specific print and broadcast sources of news and advertising for trade, business, labor, and professionals. Arrangement is geographic with a thumbnail description of each local market. Indexes are classified (by format and subject matter) and alphabetic (by name and keyword). Available online on a subscription basis from the publisher.

145. Information industry directory. -- 11th ed. (1991)- . -- Detroit : Gale Research, c1991-

     Z674.3.E53

     Annual

     This is a comprehensive directory of databases as well as services involved in the production and distribution of information in electronic form. There is a detailed subject index and function/service classification as well as name, keyword, and geographical location indexes.

146. National trade and professional associations of the United States. -- 17th annual ed. (1982)- . -- Washington : Columbia Books, [1965-

     HD2425.D53

     Annual.

     Lists some seven thousand trade associations, labor unions, professional, scientific, or technical societies, and other national organizations. The directory is arranged alphabetically (by name of organization) geographically, and by subject, acronym, management firm, and executives.

147. Shopping center directory. -- 33rd ed. (1993)- . -- Chicago : National Research Bureau, c1992-

     HF5035.D53

     Annual.

     This multi-volume set, which is divided by region, contains sections on new and planned centers. An index of centers with available space is designed to help one locate a business site.

148. The Standard periodical directory. -- 1st ed. (1964/1965)- . -- New York : Oxbridge Communications, [1966-

     Z6951.S78

     Annual

     This directory may used to identify specialized trade journals as possible sources of business information or advertising. An online edition is available from the publisher at:

     URL: http://www.oxbridge.com/ (Available by subscription only)

149. State yellow book. -- Vol. 1, no. 1 (winter 1989)- . -- New York : Monitor Pub. Co., c1989-

     JK2403.S77

     Quarterly.

     This is a directory of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the fifty state governments.

150. Thomas register of American manufacturers and Thomas register catalog file. -- [1st] ed. (1905/06)- . -- New York : Thomas Pub. Co., [1906-

     T12.T6

     Title varies slightly.

     This basic source for identification of U.S manufacturers is arranged by product in a large multi-volume set. An online edition is available at: http://www.thomasregister.com/. Searching is free, but registration is required.

151. Who knows, a guide to Washington experts / by Washington Researchers Publishing. -- Ed. 8- . -- Washington : Washington Researchers Pub., c1986-

     JK6.W37a

     Irregular.

152. Who knows about industries and markets / by Washington Researchers Publishing. -- Ed. 8- . -- Washington : Washington Researchers Pub., c1986-

     HC102.2.I52

     Annual.

     Lists industry specialists (by name with telephone numbers) in federal agencies such as the International Trade Commission, Commerce Department, and Customs Bureau. The directory is searchable by agency, industry, product, and SIC code.

153. World chamber of commerce directory. -- 1989- . -- Loveland, Colo. : World Chamber of Commerce Directory, c1989-

     HF294.W75

     Annual.

     Lists U.S. and foreign chambers of commerce, American chambers of commerce abroad, foreign chambers of commerce in the U.S., foreign and U.S. state boards of tourism, convention and visitors bureaus, foreign tourist information bureaus, and economic development organizations. Also listed are U.S. embassies and foreign embassies in the United States.

154. World chambers network [computer file] / by Consortium of Global Commerce. -- International Chamber of Commerce, etc., 1997-

     Available on the Internet:

     URL: http://www.worldchambers.com/

     Links to the home pages of over 10,000 Chambers of Commerce and Associations of Chambers.

     INDEXES, DATABASES, and OTHER INFORMATION SOURCES

155. Business organizations, agencies, and publications directory. -- 3rd ed. (1986)- . -- Detroit : Gale Research Co., c1986-

     HF3010.B86

     Annual.

156. Census catalog and guide. -- 1985- . -- Washington : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census. U.S. Govt. Print. Off., [1985-

     Z7554.U5 U32

     Annual.

     Includes a section, "Business--Trade and Services" which describes all pertinent census data products available in this subject area. Some issues also available via the Internet :

     URL: http://www.census.gov/mp/www/censtore.html

157. Directory of business periodical special issues. -- 1st ed. -- Austin, Tex. : Reference Press, c1995-

     Z7164.C81D57

     Lists over 1,300 journals in the field of business, science, and technology that publish special issues.

158. F & S index United States annual / Information Access Company. -- 1993-annual ed. -- Foster City, Calif. : The Company, c1993-

     Z7165 U5F23

     Annual.

     A comprehensive index to company and industry information in business journals.

159. InfoTrac: General Business File ASAP [computer file].Detroit, MI Gale Group.

     Web-based subscription product available online to patrons at subscribing libraries, including the Library of Congress.

     Provides extensive bibliographic references, some with abstracts or full text, to about 1300 business, economic, management, trade, and industry publications; in addition, the database contains directory information for over 100,000 companies. Also included are abstracts and full text investment reports for over 11,000 U.S. and international companies and over 50 industries.

160. The National trade data bank [computer file] : NTDB. -- Oct. 1990- . -- [Washington?] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, Office of Business Analysis, 1990-

     Monthly.

     Available online through the subscription service, STAT-USA, at many depository and other libraries, including the Library of Congress.

     The NTDB provides access to the Country Commercial Guides prepared by the U.S. Dept. of State, Market Research reports, and Best Market reports. The NTDB also provides U.S. import and export statistics, as well as over 75 other reports and programs.

161. Wilson business abstracts [computer file]. -- Began in 1991. -- [Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co., 1991-

     Available online on a subscription basis through FirstSearch (OCLC)

     Abstracts over 345 English language business and trade periodicals and research journals. In addition to articles, indexing is provided for bibliographical sketches, corporate profiles, interviews, product reviews, book reviews, and obituaries.

     KEEPING CURRENT

162. Advertising age. -- Began in 1930. -- [Chicago] : Crain Communications.

     HF5801.A276

     Weekly, except special issues the fourth week in Jan. and the fourth week in Sept.

     Includes articles about advertising campaigns, agency appointments, and government actions affecting advertising and marketing. Online edition available from the publisher on the Internet:

     URL: http://www.adage.com

163. Business America. -- vol. 1, no. 1 (Oct. 23, 1978)- . -- [Washington] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce. U.S. Govt. Print. Off., [1978-

     HF1.B863

     Biweekly.

     Includes articles on international business opportunities.

164. Business week. -- no. 1 (Sept. 7, 1929)- . -- [New York : McGraw-Hill, 1929-

     HF5001.B89

     Weekly (except one issue in Jan.)

     Online edition available from the publisher on the Internet:

     URL: http://www.businessweek.com

165. Commerce business daily. -- Chicago : Office of Field Services, U.S. Dept. of Commerce. U.S. Govt. Print. Off.

     JK1673.A24 and

     Microfilm: 05900

     Daily (Mon.-Fri.).

     A daily list of U.S. Government procurement invitations, contract awards, subcontracting leads, sales of surplus property and foreign business opportunities. URL: http://cbdnet.access.gpo.gov

     Beginning in 2002, Federal Opportunities Opportunities replaced the Commerce Business Daily.

166. Entrepreneur. -- began in May 1978. -- Santa Monica, Calif. : Chase Revel, Inc., 1978-

     HF5001.I6744

     Monthly

     Online edition available from the publisher via the Internet:

     URL: http://www.entrepreneurmag.com

167. Forbes. -- v. 1 (Sept. 15, 1917)- . -- [New York : Forbes Inc., 1917-

     HF5001 .F6

     Biweekly.

     This business magazine covers domestic and international business topics. Special issues available online through the "toolbox" include:

     • Forbes 500
     • Forbes Mutual Fund Survey.

     Current and archived biweekly issues of the publisher's online edition are also available on the Internet from the Forbes home page: http://www/forbes.com/

168. Inc. -- [Vol. 1, no. 1] (Apr. 1979)- . -- [Boston] : United Marine Pub., c1979-

     13 no. a year with a "bonus issue in the fall" and an annual subject index.

     This monthly magazine covers all aspects of business from accounting to zero-based budgeting. Also listed are small companies that are going public. Online edition available on the Internet:

     URL: http://www.inc.com/incmagazine/

169. The Journal of commerce and commercial. -- Vol. 134, no. 10,201 (Jan. 24, 1927)- . -- New York : Journal of Commerce and Commercial Bulletin, 1927-

     Newspaper: N&CPR

     Daily (except Sat. & Sun.).

     Provides statistical data on trade and investment, and political information relating to U.S. and foreign markets. A weekly feature "Trading with ..." in which a different country is profiled appears each Tuesday. An online edition is available from the publisher via the Internet

     URL: http://www.JOC.com/

170. Monthly labor review / U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. -- Vol. 7, no. 1 (July 1918)- . -- Washington : The Bureau. U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1918-

     HD8051.A78

     Monthly.

     Publishes in-depth articles on labor subjects, current labor statistics, information about current labor contracts, and book reviews. Issues from 1989 to date are available online in .pdf format:

     URL: http://stats.bls.gov/opub/mlr/welcome.htm.

     Updated information is also available via The MLR: Editor's Desk.

171. The Wall Street journal. -- Vol. 1, no. 1 (1889)- . -- New York, 1889-

     Newspaper: N&CPR

     Also available on microfilm. Daily (except weekends and Stock Exchange holidays).

     A daily perspective of news, finance, taxation, and regulation of American business and industry. International factors influencing business and the economy are also reported. Available online as a subscription product from the publisher.

SELECTED LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS

Additional publications relating to entrepreneurship in the Library of Congress may be identified by searching the online catalog under appropriate Library of Congress subject headings. The following linked subject headings display up to the first 50 entries from the Library of Congress Online Catalog that appear under each heading. In cases where a given heading retrieves more than 50 entries, use the link to the online catalog to enter the subject heading and search the catalog directly.

• Business enterprises--finance--handbooks, manuals, etc.
• Business planning--handbooks, manuals, etc.
• Commercial loans--United States--directories
• Entrepreneurship
• Federal aid to community development
• Franchises (Retail trade)--United States--directories
• Home-based businesses
• Loans--United States--government guaranty
• New business enterprises
• Self-employed
• Small business--accounting--forms
• Small business--finance--forms
• Small business--government policy--United States--handbooks, manuals, etc
• Small business--management
• Small business--management+forms
• Small business--United States--planning--handbooks, manuals, etc.
• Small Business Investment Companies--United States--directories
• Success in business
• Tax incentives
• United States. Small Business Administration.
• Venture capital

INDEX

Authors, Titles, and Subjects

Numbers refer to entries, not pages.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z

Access to health insurance , 53

Administrative agencies, 19, 21, 90, 115, 142, 149,151, 152, 155

Advertising, 66, 68, 69, 162

Advertising Age, 162

Aftermarketing : how to keep customers for life through relationship marketing, 66

Alarid, William M., 9

Alderman, Lesley, 12

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios, 94

Almanac of the 50 states: basic data profiles with comparative tables, 95

American Institute of Small Business, 11

American Management Association, 40, 44, 83, 89

American newspapers, directories, 144

American periodicals, directories, 144, 148

American wholesalers and distributors directory, 132

Appleby, Barry Léon, 128

Applegate, Jane, 17

Arthur, Diane, 63

Associations, 21, 114, 141, 146, 153, 154, 155

Attard, Janet, 10

Axtell, Roger E. , 86

Bangs, David H. Jr., 3

Banking tables, 106

Barron's real estate handbook, 109

A Basic guide to exporting , 81

Bauer, Stephen M., 78

Beam, Burton T. Jr, 57

Beating the odds in small business, 2

Berle, Gustav, 9, 15, 16, 19, 115,

Berryman-Fink, Cynthia, 44

Blum, Laurie, 34, 35

Boards of tourism, 153

Boards of trade, 153, 154

Brand names, 133, 134

Brands and their companies, 133

Broadcasting, 144

Brooklyn Public Library, 117

Building an import/export business, 82

Bureau of Labor Statistics, 64

Bureau of the Census, catalogs, 156

Burgess, John F., 49

Burka, Karen, 67

Burstiner, Irving, 20

Business America, 163

Business forms, 5

Business information desk reference, 110

Business information sources, 96, 110, 111, 112, 114

Business information sources,112

Business information: how to find it, how to use it, 111

The Business One Irwin business and investment almanac, 96

Business organizations, agencies, and publications directory, 155

The Business planning guide : creating a plan for success in your own business, 3

Business plans, 3, 4, 13, 15, 18, 24, 25, 27,

Business plans handbook : a compilation of actual business pans developed by small businesses throughout North America, 4

Business rankings annual, 117

Business Week, 164

Byars, Lloyd L., 52

Caruth, Donald L., 130

Case studies, 26, 52

Catalog of federal domestic assistance, 113

Celestial Seasonings, 14

Census Catalog and Guide, 156

Chambers of Commerce, 153, 154

Checklists and operating forms for small businesses, 5

Cheney, Karen, 12

Cities and towns, ratings, 97

Cloud, Douglas, 26

Coffey, Robert E., 43

Commerce business daily, 165

Companies, 117, 118, 119, 120, 122, 123, 124, 133, 134

Companies and their brands 134

Compensation, 99, 104

Consultants, 135, 139, 140

Consultants and consulting organizations directory, 135

Consumers, 66

Convention bureaus, 153

Cook, Curtis W., 43

Corporate affiliations, 119

The Corporate Finance Sourcebook, 28

Corporate planning, 13, 25

Corporate technology directory, 118

Council of Economic Advisors, 100

The Council of State Governments, 77

Country Commercial Guides, 160

County and city databook, 97

County and city extra, 98

County business patterns [computer file], 99

Crate & Barrel, 14

Culley, Tom, 2

Customs Service, 85

Daniells, Lorna M., 112

Databases, 110, 111, 143, 145

David's Cookies, 14

Davidson, Jeff, 72

Demographics, 95, 97, 104, 156

Dept. of Commerce, 81, 97, 99, 105, 107, 156

Dept. of Labor, 54, 64

Dictionaries, 56, 83, 125, 126, 127, 128, 129,130, 131

Dictionary of business and management, 125

Dictionary of business terms, 126

The dictionary of international business terms , 83

Dictionary of marketing terms, 127

Dictionary of occupational titles , 54

Diodato, Virgil P., 110

Directories in print, 136

Directors of corporations, 122

Directory of American research and technology, 137

Directory of business periodical special issues, 157

Directory of corporate affiliations, 119

Directory of executive recruiters, 138

Directory of incentives for business investment and development in the United States : a state-by-state guide, 29

Directory of management consultants, 139

Directory of United States exporters, 84

Directory of United States importers, 85

Distributors, 132

Doing business with the government using EDI , 75

Dollinger, Marc J. 6

Do's and taboos of international trade, 86

Dulat, Karin B. 90

Dun & Bradstreet exporters encyclopedia, 87

Dun's consultants directory, 140

Economic assistance, 113

Economic development organizations, 153

Economic Report of the President transmitted to the Congress, 100

Educational programs, 21

Ehresman, Terry, 50

Electronic commerce--Handbooks, manuals, etc., 1

Electronic Data Interchange, 75

The electronic marketplace 1997, 67

Elsevier's dictionary of commercial terms and phrases in five languages, 128

Embassies, 84, 85, 153

Employee benefit plans , 56

Employee Benefit Research Institute, 55

Employee benefits, 55, 56, 57, 58

Employee benefits, 57

Employee benefits for small business, 58

Employment, 95, 99, 100, 104

Encyclopedia of associations, 141

Encyclopedia of business information sources, 114

Entrepreneur, 166

Entrepreneur magazine : guide to raising money , 30

Entrepreneur magazine : human resources for small business, 59

Entrepreneur magazine Small Business Advisor, 7

Entrepreneur magazine : starting an import/export business 88

Entrepreneurship : strategies and resources, 6

EBRI databook on employee benefits, 55

Esprit Miami, 14

Executive recruiters, 138

Executives, directories, 122

Export financing 90

Export/import procedures and documentation, 89

Export marketing, 82, 129

Export programs, 160

Export trading companies, 84

Exporters' encyclopaedia, 87

Exporting : from start to finance 90

F & S Index United States Annual, 158

Federal Business Opportunities, see 165

Federal yellow book, 142

Financial proposals, 3

Financial ratios, 94, 102, 103, 114

Financial tables, 106

Financing, 28, 29, 30. 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 37, 38, 39

Financing your business dreams with other people's money, 31

Financing your business with venture capital , 32

Finding money : the small business guide to financing, 33

Fink, Charles B., 44

The four elements of successful management : select, direct, evaluate, reward, 40

Forbes, 167

Forbes 500, 167

Forbes Annual Report on American Industry, 167

Forbes Mutual Fund Guide, 167

Forecasts, 107

Franchise Annual, 8

Franchises, 8, 21

Free help from Uncle Sam to start your own business (or expand the one you have), 9

Free money for small businesses and entrepreneurs, 34

Free money from the federal government for small businesses and entrepreneurs, 35

Freed, Melvyn N., 110

Friedman, Jack P., 126

Friedman, Miles., 29

Fuller, George, 45

Galante's complete venture capital and private equity directory, 36

Gale directory of databases, 143

Gale directory of publications and broadcast media, 144

Gale state rankings reporter, 101

General Accounting Office, 53

Getting the money you need : practical solutions for financing your small business, 37

Glover, Jere Walton, 79

Goldoftas, Lisa, 13

Goltz, Jay, 51

Government assistance, 113, 115,

Government economists, 151, 152

Government directories, 115, 142, 149, 151, 152

Government contract negotiations, 76

Government contracts, listing, 165

Government financing for small business, 35

Government procurement, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 165

Government surplus, listings, 165

Gower handbook of management skills , 41

Grants-in-aid, 113

Great ad! : low-cost do-it-yourself advertising for your small business, 68

Guerrilla advertising : cost-effective techniques for small business success, 69

Gumpert, David E., 14, 70

Guyant, Al, 46

Harmonized Commodity Codes, 84, 85

Harnish, Tom, 33

Harper, Stephen C. 18

Harris, Jack C., 109

Heath, Gibson, 37

Hemphill, John M. Jr., 26

Herman, Roger E., 62

High technology industries, 118

Hiring great people, 60

Hoffman, Harry, 47

Holding companies, directories, 119

Holmes, Deborah, 55

Hiring, 60

Holden, Greg, 74

Home-based businesses, 10, 12

Home office and small business answer book, 10

Hoover's handbook of American business, 120

How to do business with the states, 77

How to sell to the United States government, 78

How to set up your own small business, 11

How to start a successful home business, 12

How to write a business plan, 13

Human resources : mastering your small business, 61

Hunsaker, Phillip L., 43

Imber, Jane, 127

Importers manual USA, 91

Importing, 82, 85, 88, 89, 91

Importing into the United States, 85

Inc., 168

Inc. magazine presents how to really create a successful marketing plan, 70

Inc. magazine presents how to really start your own business, 14

Income, 95, 97, 100, 104

Increase your Web traffic in a weekend, 71

Industrial Classification Code, 116

Industrial incentives, 29

Industries, directories,150, 152, 155

Industries, classification, 116

Industry forecasts, 107

Industry analysis, 94, 99, 103, 107, 108, 121

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios, 102

Information industry directory, 145

Information storage and retrieval systems, 143

InfoTrac [computer file], 159

The Instant business plan book, 15

Insurance, 53

Interest rates, tables, 106

International Brands and Their Companies, 133

The International business dictionary and reference, 129

International companies and their brands, 134

International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans, 56

The International instant business plan book , 16

International marketing, 92

International trade, 82, 86, 87, 160, 163

Internet businesses, 1, 67, 71, 74

Investments, 96, 100

Janal, Daniel S., 1

Jane Applegate's strategies for small business success, 17

Johnson, Thomas E. 89

The Journal of Commerce and Commercial, 169

Kaplan, Steven M.,131

Keeping good people: strategies for solving the dilemma of the decade, 62

Kirschner, Paul, 15, 16

Klinvex, Kevin C., 60

Kuriloff, Arthur H., 26

Labor laws and legislation, 170

Lacy, Harold R., 31

Lavin, Michael R., 111

Levine, Marc H., 83

Levinson, Jay Conrad, 69

Lipman, Frederick D., 32

Lister, Kate, 33

Loans, 38

Luther, William M., 25

Making your small business a success , 42

The Manger's desk reference, 44

Manager's portable answer book , 45

Manager's tough questions answer book, 46

Management, 2, 40-52

Management and organizational behavior , 43

Managing human resources in small and mid-sized companies, 63

Manufactures, 103, 150

Manufacturing USA, 103

Market share reporter, 121

Marketing, 66, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 92, 127

Marketing, statistics, 121

Marketing on a shoestring , 72

Marshall, Don R., 40

McFadden, John J., 57

The McGraw-Hill guide to starting your own business, 18

McKeever, Mike P., 13

Monthly labor review, 170

Moore, David C., 76

NAICS code, 116

National Association of State Development Agencies, 29

National Association of State Purchasing Officials, 77

National trade and professional associations of the United States, 146

National Trade Data Bank : NTDB, 160

New business enterprises, 1, 6, 9,13, 21, 22, 23, 26, 115

Newspapers, directories, 144

No-nonsense marketing , 73

North American Industry Classification System, 116

NTDB : National Trade Data Bank, 160

O'Connell, Matthew S., 60

O'Connor, Cindy, 55

O'Connor, James, 79

Occupational outlook handbook , 64

Occupations, classification, 54

Official online marketing with Netscape book , 74

Office of Management and Budget, 113, 116

O'Hara, Patrick D., 27, 38

101 successful businesses you can start on the Internet, 1

Online indexes, computer databases, 159, 160, 161

Oesterreicher, Judy, 51

Return to top.      Return to Index.

Paul, Phillip C., 39

Pemberton, Carolyn, 55

Pengelly, R.J., 48

Periodical

directories, 144, 148

indexes, 158, 159, 161

special issues, 157

Personnel management, 40-52, 65

Personnel management for the small business, 65

Pizza Hut, 14

The Pocket mentor , 47

Population, 95, 104

Poteet, G. Howard, 42

President's Council of Economic Advisers. Annual Report, 100

Presner, Lewis A., 129

Prices, 100, 104

Procurement opportunities , 79

Press, Jaques Cattell, 137

Product classification, 116

Production, 100, 104

Prushan, Victor H., 73

Pyenson, Bruce, 58

Return to top.

Quality management for the small business, 48

Rankings of corporations, 117, 123

Rankings of products, 117

Rankings of services, 117

Ratio analysis, 102

Real estate, 109

Recruiting of employees, 138

Research and development, 137

Rosenberg, Jerry M., 125

Rouse, David A., 110

Rue, Leslie W., 52

Sandhusen, Richard, 92

Sankey, Judith A., 56

SBA : hotline answer book, 19

SBA loans : a step-by-step guide, 38

Scientists in government, 151

Selling, 66

Shim, Jae K., 83

Shipping, 79, 81,

Shopping center directory, 147

SIC code, 116

Siegel, Joel G., 83

Silicon Technology, 14

Silverman, Celia, 55

Small Business Administration, 9, 42, 79

Small Business Advisor, Entrepreneur Magazine, 7

The Small business handbook, 20

The Small business information handbook, 115

Small business management fundamentals, 49

Small business success through TQM, 50

Small business sourcebook., 21

The Small business start-up guide , 22

Small business today guide to beating the odds., 23

Social scientists in government, 151

Standard & Poor's register of corporations, directors and executives, 122

Standard Industrial Classification Manual, 116

The Standard periodical directory, 148

Stanek, William R., 71

Start up : an entrepreneur's guide to launching and managing a new business, 24

The Start-up business plan , 25

Starting and managing the small business , 26

Stat-USA [computer file], 160

State governments, 149,

State Yellow Book, 149

Statistical abstract of the United States, 104

Statistics, 55, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 103, 104, 105, 107, 108, 114, 121, 156, 169, 170

Stebbing, Lionel 48

Stein, Mari, 13

Steinhoff, Dan, 49

Stewart, Dorothy M, 41

Stock market statistics, 96

Stolze, William, 24

Stovall, Steven Austin, 130

Strategic management, 52

Strategic planning, 52

The Street-smart entrepreneur , 51

Sullivan, Robert, 22, 80,

Sullivan, William R., 59

Suppliers, 21

Survey of current business, 105

Taking care of business : the dictionary of contemporary business terms , 130

Taking your business global, 93

Tax incentives, 29

Technology, 137

Thomas Register of American manufacturers, 150

Thorndike encyclopedia of banking and financial tables. Yearbook. , 106

Toffler, Betsy-Ann, 127

Tompkins, Neville C., 65

The Total business plan : how to write, rewrite, and revise , 27

Total quality management, 48, 50

Trade and investment, 169

Trade and professional associations, directories, 114, 141, 146, 155

Trade shows, 21

Trademarks, 133, 134

Troy, Leo, 94

US Employment Service, 54

US Industry & trade outlook, 107

U.S. government, new customer!, 80

US Industrial Outlook, 107

Vavra, Terry G., 66

Venture capital, 21, 32, 36, 39

The Wall Street journal, 171

Ward's business directory of U.S. private and public companies, 123

Ward's private company profiles, 124

Weese, Paula, 29

Weiss, Kenneth D., 82

Wells , L. Fargo 90

Where to find venture capital : a resource guide, 39

White, Jane, 58

Who knows about industries and markets, 152

Who knows, a guide to Washington experts, 151

Wholesale and Retail Trade USA, 108

Wholesale trade, 108, 132

Wiley's English-Spanish, Spanish-English business dictionary, 131

Wilfong, James, 93

Wilson Business Abstracts [computer file], 161

World Chamber of Commerce directory, 153

World Chambers Network[computer file], 154

Zahra, Shaker A., 52

Zimmerman, Jan, 75