BeCites+

BeCites+ is a pilot project of the Library of Congress Bibliographic Enrichment Advisory Team (BEAT) to test the feasibility of using scanning and OCR technology to substantially enhance traditional printed staff-produced library bibliographies and related publications placed on the Web in electronic form and the catalog records for the titles included in such resources. The Project has two focuses:

• First, the project concentrates on providing links to scanned and OCR'd tables of contents, indexes, prefaces, lists of photographs and charts, and back-of-book bibliographies of resources cited in staff-created bibliographies for which the Library has received the permission of the copyright holder to make available.
• A second focus begun in 2002 has been the scanning and OCR'ing of the full text of heavily used but out-of-print guides and related publications prepared by LC staff, with particular emphasis on publications identifying Library resources not easily identified in the Library's online catalog or on out-of-print publications which continue to be in high demand that describe Library collections or activities.

The project is an outgrowth of another continuing BEAT Project, the Digital Table of Contents project to enhance the catalog records of selected monographs with links to their scanned tables of contents. Guides to selected titles in the Digital Table of Contents project are now available online.

Enhanced Bibliographies    Digitized LC Publications    All Titles