

NOTICE TO THE WILDLIFE IMPORT/EXPORT COMMUNITY



May 15, 2006

Subject: CITES Trade Restrictions for Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mozambique, Panama, Rwanda, and Sierra Leone

Background: The United States has been notified by the Secretariat of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES) concerning the suspension of trade in CITES-listed species with Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mozambique, Panama, Rwanda, and Sierra Leone (Notification No. 2004/024). These CITES member nations have failed to create legislation plans or enact adequate CITES legislation as required by the treaty.

The Endangered Species Act prohibits trade in specimens contrary to CITES. Articles II and VIII of CITES require that we take appropriate measures to enforce the provisions of the treaty and to prohibit trade in specimens that are in violation of the treaty.

As a member of CITES, the United States is committed to carrying out decisions and policies approved by CITES countries that reflect appropriate interpretations of the treaty.

Action: Effective immediately, the United States will suspend the commercial import, export, and reexport of CITES species with the countries listed below until further notice.

Djibouti Equatorial Guinea Guinea-Bissau Liberia Mozambique Panama Rwanda Sierra Leone

Contact:

For import/export issues For further questions concerning CITES and trade restrictions

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
Office of Law Enforcement
703-358-1949 703-358-2271 (fax)
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
Division of Management Authority
(703)-358-2104 (703)-358-2298