home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual
collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1995 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1995/001
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
December 1995
SUMMARY
The 1995 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, sound recordings, graphic materials, and moving images
that document the 1995 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife
Center. The annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation
of folk traditions from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune
Plaza at the front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress
between April and September. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force
the concerts indoors.
The 1995 season consisted of the following:
| April 14 |
Beau Jocque and the Hi-Rollers, LA (Zydeco) |
| May 18 |
Frankie Manning, NY (Lindy-Hop) |
| June 15 |
Laurie Lewis and the Grant Street Band, CA (Bluegrass) |
| July 20 |
Meta and the Tisza Dance Ensemble, Hungary and DC (Hungarian) |
| August 17 |
The Inspirational Singers, DC (Gospel) |
| September 21 |
Buenos Aires Connection, Argentina and NY (Tango) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions. Performers may be contacted through the American Folklife
Center administrative office.
Primary Languages: Creole French, English, Hungarian,
Spanish
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 1 box |
|
| Computer Diskettes |
| 1 3 1/2" diskette |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 5 120-minute digital audio tapes |
AFC 1995/001:SR1-5 |
| 5 90-minute audiocassettes |
AFC 1995/001:SR1-c1 to SR5-c1 (listening copies) |
| Graphic Materials |
201 b&w 35 mm negatives
53 color 35 mm negatives
6 b&w contact sheets
20 8x10 b&w photoprints
1 4x6 b&w photoprint
52 4x6 color photoprints |
|
| Moving Image |
| 6 hi-8 color videocassettes |
AFC 1995/001:V1-2, V4-5, V7-8 |
| 10 1/2" VHS color videocassettes |
AFC 1995/001:V3, V6
AFC 1995/001:V1-v1-2, V2-v1, V4-v1-2, V5-v1, V7-v1, V8-v1 (viewing copies) |
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document), an article describing
the Neptune Plaza Concert Series, and press releases on the 1995
concert lineup. Also includes a 3" computer diskette containing logs
of the concerts in Wordperfect 5.1 on MSDOS 6 (all logs are available
in hard copy in the individual concert folders).
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
Beau Jocque and the Hi-Rollers, 4-14-95.
Concert fliers and a concert log by Charlie McNamara.
|
Folders 4-6
|
Frankie Manning, 5-18-95. Concert
fliers, news clippings, press releases, promotional materials on
the performers, a transcription of a National Public Radio interview
with Frankie Manning, one copy of _Jet_ magazine with an article
on Frankie Manning, and information on swing-dancing.
|
Folder 12
|
Laurie Lewis and the Grant Street
Band, 6-15-95. Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned
fliers, concert log by Charlie McNamara and Hubie King, news clippings,
and promotional materials on the band.
|
Folder 14
|
Meta and the Tisza Dance Ensemble,
7-20-95. Concert fliers, news clippings, concert log by Dave LaSalle
and Wendy DeBano, and promotional materials on the performers.
|
Folder 16
|
The Inspirational Singers, 8-17-95.
Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, and
a concert log by Dale Johnson.
|
Folder 19
|
Buenos Aires Connection, 9-21-95.
Concert fliers and a log by Charlie McNamara.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Audiocassettes
|
AFC 1995/001: SR1
|
Beau Jocque and the Hi-Rollers, 4-14-95.
One 120 minute digital audiotape. Listening copy is available in
the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1995/001: SR2
|
Frankie Manning, 5-18-95. One 120-minute
digital audiotape. Listening copy is available in the Folklife Reading
Room.
|
AFC 1995/001: SR3
|
Laurie Lewis and the Grant Street
Band, 6-15-95. One 120-minute digital audiotape. Listening copy is
available in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1995/001: SR4
|
The Inspirational Singers, 8-17-95.
One 120-minute digital audiotape. Listening copy is available in
the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1995/001: SR5
|
Buenos Aires Connection, 9-21-95.
One 120-minute digital audiotape. Listening copy is available in
the Folklife Reading Room.
|
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
Location
| Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
Beau Jocque and the Hi-Rollers, 4-14-95. One sheet of
black and white 35 mm (33 images). Photographed by Jim Hardin. |
| Envelope 2 |
Frankie Manning, 5-18-95. Three sheets of color 35 mm
(53 images). Photographed by Stephen Spinder. |
| Envelope 3 |
Laurie Lewis and the Grant Street Band, 6-15-95. One
sheet of black and white 35 mm (37 images). Photographed by Jim Hardin. |
| Envelope 4 |
Meta and the Tisza Dance Ensemble, 7-20-95. One sheet
of black and white 35 mm (24 images). Photographed by Craig Hobson. |
| Envelope 5 |
The Inspirational Singers, 8-17-95. One sheet of black
and white 35 mm (36 images). Photographed by James Glover. |
| Envelope 6 |
Buenos Aires Connection, 9-21-95. One sheet of black
and white 35 mm (37 images), photographed by Peter Harrington. One
sheet of black and white 35 mm (35 images), photographed by James Glover. |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folder 3 |
Beau Jocque and the Hi-Rollers, 4-14-95. One black and
white 35 mm contact sheet (33 images) and four 8 x 10 black and white
photoprints. Photographed by Jim Hardin. |
| Folder 7-8 |
Frankie Manning, 5-18-95. One 8 x 10 black and white
photoprint (photographed by Jim Hardin) and 41 4 x 6 color photoprints
(photographed by Stephen Spinder). |
| Folder 13 |
Laurie Lewis and the Grant Street Band, 6-15-95. One
black and white 35 mm contact sheet (37 images) and four 8 x 10 black
and white photoprints. Photographed by Jim Hardin. |
| Folder 15 |
Meta and the Tisza Dance Ensemble, 7-20-95. One black
and white 35 mm contact sheet (24 images) and six 8 x 10 black and
white photoprints, photographed by Craig Hobson. One 4 x 6 black and
white photoprint, (publicity-photographer unkown). |
| Folders 17-18 |
The Inspirational Singers, 8-17-95. One black and white
35 mm contact sheet (36 images) photographed by James Glover. Ten 4
x 6 color photoprints photographed by Dale Johnson. |
| Folder 20 |
Buenos Aires Connection, 9-21-95. One black and white
35 mm contact sheet (37 images) and four 8 x 10 black and white photoprints
photographed by Peter Harrington. One black and white 35 mm contact
sheet (35 images) and one 8 x 10 black and white photoprint photographed
by James Glover. |
SERIES IV: MOVING IMAGE
Location
|
Contents
|
AFC 1995/001: V1
|
Beau Jocque and the Hi-Rollers, 4-14-95.
One hi-8 color videotaped by Peter Bartis. Viewing copies are available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
AFC 1995/001: V2-3
|
Frankie Manning, 5-18-95. One hi-8
color videotaped by Peter Bartis. Viewing copy is available in the
Folklife Reading Room. One 1/2" VHS color copy of a 1989 _20/20_
segment on Frankie Manning (approximately 10 minutes).
|
| AFC 1995/001: V4 |
Laurie Lewis and the Grant Street Band, 6-15-95. One
hi-8 color videotaped by Peter Bartis. Viewing copies are available
in the Folklife Reading Room. |
| AFC 1995/001: V5-6 |
Meta and the Tisza Dance Ensemble, 7-20-95. One hi-8
color videotaped by Charlie McNamara and Peter Bartis. Viewing copy
is available in the Folklife Reading Room. One 1/2" VHS color copy
of a WJLA TV five o'clock news program segment on the concert. |
| AFC 1995/001: V7 |
The Inspirational Singers, 8-17-95. One hi-8 color videotaped
by Peter Bartis. Viewing copy is available in the Folklife Reading
Room. |
AFC 1995/001: V8
|
Buenos Aires Connection, 9-21-95.
One hi-8 color videotaped by Peter Bartis. Viewing copy is available
in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT
Concert
|
Description
|
| Beau Jocque and the Hi-Rollers |
Beau Jocque and his band play zydeco, social dance
music of the African-French Louisiana Creoles. Many couples in the
audience dance to two-steps, waltzes, and blues. Print material and
photographs: folders 2-3; sound recording: AFC 1995/001:SR1; videotape:
AFC 1995/001:V1. |
| Frankie Manning |
Frankie Manning and company present New York- style
lindy hop to the music of Brooks Tegler's Hot Jazz band. Manning, an
award- winning choreographer and originator of lindy hop styling, narrates
the program and tells stories of the early days of the dance in Harlem.
Manning and Mickey Davidson, Debbie Williams, and Charles Young (Manning's
son) offer demonstrations of lindy hop, tap, shim- sham, and a tribute
to chorus girls. Print material and photographs: folders 4-11; sound
recording: AFC 1995/001:SR2; videotapes: AFC 1995/001:SR2-3. |
| Meta and the Tisza Dance Ensemble |
Meta and Tisza Ensemble present traditional Hungarian
music and dance. Cathy Lamont, artistic director for Tisza Ensemble,
narrates the program and explains the dances, which include the Rabakozi,
a suite of dances from Mezosegi, a suite of dances from Szatmari (including
the Verbunk), and a dance from Szekelyfoldi. Meta, an ensemble from
Budapest, provides the music. Print material and photographs: folders
14-15; videotapes: AFC 1995/001:V5-6. |
| Buenos Aires Connection |
With music provided by the New York Tango Trio, two
couples demonstrate two distinct styles of Argentine tango. Rebecca
Shulman and Jorge Udrisard and Carlos and Caty Funes dance tangos,
milongas and a waltz. Print material and photographs: folders 19-20;
videotape: AFC 1995/001:V8. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top