home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1993 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1993/002
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
December 1995
SUMMARY
The 1993 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, sound recordings, graphic materials, and moving images
that document the 1993 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife
Center. The annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation
of folk traditions from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune
Plaza at the front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress
between April and September. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force
the concerts indoors.
The 1993 season consisted of the following:
| April 15 |
Master Performers and Their Apprentices,
DC (Northern Indian, Jamaican, and Gospel) |
| May 20 |
Traditional Irish Music and Dance--Tom and Maureen
Doherty, NY and PA |
| June 17 |
Northern Lights, MA (Bluegrass) |
| July 15 |
Philadelphia Ambassadors Chorale and Ensemble, PA (African-American
Sacred Music) |
| August 19 |
African-American Hand Dancing, DC |
| September 16 |
Ollantay, PA (Pan-Andean) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions. Performers may be contacted through the American Folklife
Center administrative office.
Primary Languages: English, Spanish
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 2 boxes |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 6 10" stereo reels at 7.5 ips |
AFC 1993/002:SR1-3, 6, 9, 12 |
| 8 60-minute audiocassettes |
AFC 1993/002:SR4-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14 |
| Graphic Materials |
2 color negatives
1 4x5 b&w internegative
19 b&w contact sheets
27 8x10 b&w photoprints
1 7x9 b&w photoprint
132 color slides |
|
| Moving Image |
| 8 1/2" VHS color videocassettes |
AFC 1993/002:V1-6
AFC 1993/002:V2-v1-2 (viewing copies) |
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture Administrative
Materials. The collection guide (this document), concert schedules,
and articles describing the Neptune Plaza Concert Series.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
Master Performers and Their Apprentices,
4-15-93. Concert fliers, concert log (logger unknown), and a list
of performers.
|
Folder 6
|
Traditional Irish Music and Dance--Tom
and Maureen Doherty, 5-20-93. Concert fliers, press releases, and
a concert log (logger unknown).
|
Folders 10-11
|
Northern Lights, 6-17-93. Concert
fliers, press releases, concert log (logger unknown), publicity photo,
and news clippings.
|
Folder 15
|
Philadelphia Ambassadors Chorale and
Ensemble, 7-15-93. Two concert fliers autographed by the performers,
unsigned fliers, press releases, and a concert log by Thea Austen.
|
Folder 20
|
African-American Hand Dancing, 8-19-93.
Concert flier autographed by the performers, unsigned fliers, press
releases, news clippings, and a concert log by Stephanie Hall.
|
Folder 27
|
Ollantay, 9-16-93. Concert fliers,
press releases, jacket notes from a published cassette, and a concert
log by Stephanie Hall.
|
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
AFC 1993/002: SR1
|
Master Performers and Their Apprentices,
4-15-93. One 10" stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
AFC 1993/002: SR2
|
Traditional Irish Music and Dance--Tom
and Maureen Doherty, 5-20-93. One 10" stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
AFC 1993/002: SR3
|
Northern Lights, 6-17-93. One 10" stereo
at 7.5 ips.
|
AFC 1993/002: SR6
|
Philadelphia Ambassadors Chorale and
Ensemble, 7-15-93. One 10" stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
AFC 1993/002: SR9
|
African-American Hand Dancing, 8-19-93.
One 10" stereo at 7.5 ips.
|
AFC 1993/002: SR12
|
Ollantay, 9-16-93. One 10" stereo
at 7.5 ips.
|
|
Audiocassettes
|
| AFC 1993/002: SR4-5 |
Northern Lights, 6-17-93. Two 60-minute. Each cassette
is a complete recording of the concert (recorded concurrently with
reel-to-reel). |
| AFC 1993/002: SR7-8 |
Philadelphia Ambassadors Chorale and Ensemble, 7-15-93.
Two 60-minute. Each cassette is a complete recording of the concert
(recorded concurrently with reel-to-reel). |
| AFC 1993/002: SR10-11 |
African-American Hand Dancing, 8-19-93. Two 60-minute.
Each cassette is a complete recording of the concert (recorded concurrently
with reel- to-reel). |
| AFC 1993/002: SR13-14 |
Ollantay, 9-16-93. Two 60-minute. Each cassette is a
complete recording of the concert (recorded concurrently with reel-to-reel). |
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
Location
| Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
Northern Lights, 6-17-93. One 4 x 5 black and white
internegative (publicity). Photographer unknown. |
| Envelope 2 |
African-American Hand Dancing, 8-19-93. One sheet of
color 35 mm (2 images). Photographed by Bobby Lane. |
Note: negatives for photographs shot
by Library of Congress photographers Reid Baker and Jim Higgins may
be in the Public Affairs Office.
|
| Photograph Prints |
| Folders 3-5 |
Master Performers and Their Apprentices, 4-15-93. Two
black and white 35 mm contact sheets (60 images) and five 8 x 10 black
and white photoprints with three duplicates. Photographed by Yusef
El-Amin. |
| Folders 7-9 |
Traditional Irish Music and Dance--Tom and Maureen
Doherty, 5-20-93. Two black and white 35 mm contact sheets (57 images)
and four 8 x 10 black and white photoprints with two duplicates. Photographed
by Jim Higgins. |
| Folders 12-14 |
Northern Lights, 6-17-93. Three black and white 35
mm contact sheets (72 images) and five 8 x 10 black and white photoprints.
Photographed by Yusef El-Amin. |
| Folders 16-17 |
Philadelphia Ambassadors Chorale and Ensemble, 7-15-93.
Three black and white 35 mm contact sheets (77 images), one 7 x 9 black
and white photoprint, and eight 8 x 10 black and white photoprints.
Photographed by Jim Higgins. |
| Folders 21-26 |
African-American Hand Dancing, 8-19-93. Six black and
white 35 mm contact sheets (131 images) and five 8 x 10 black and white
photoprints with two duplicates. Photographed by Jim Higgins. |
| Folders 28-29 |
Ollantay, 9-16-93. Three black and white 35 mm contact
sheets (61 images). Photographed by Yusef El-Amin. |
| Color slides |
| Envelopes 3-10 |
African-American Hand Dancing, 8-19-93. Eight holders
containing 132. Photographed by David A. Taylor. |
SERIES IV: MOVING IMAGE
Location
|
Contents
|
|
Videocassettes
|
AFC 1993/002:V1
|
Master Performers and Their Apprentices,
4- 15-93. One 1/2" VHS color (a copy of an original that is not in
the collection).
|
AFC 1993/002:V2
|
Traditional Irish Music and Dance--Tom
and Maureen Doherty, 5-20-93. One 1/2" VHS color. Viewing copies
are available in the Folklife Reading Room.
|
| AFC 1993/002:V3 |
Northern Lights, 6-17-93. One 1/2" VHS color. |
| AFC 1993/002:V4 |
Philadelphia Ambassadors Chorale and Ensemble, 7-15-93.
One 1/2" VHS color. |
| AFC 1993/002:V5 |
African-American Hand Dancing, 8-19-93. One 1/2" VHS
color. |
| AFC 1993/002:V6 |
Ollantay, 9-16-93. One 1/2" VHS color. |
APPENDIX A
DANCE CONTENT
Concert
|
Description
|
| Traditional Irish Music and Dance |
Tom Doherty, Maureen Doherty-Macken, Mick Moloney, and
Regan Wick present traditional Irish music and dance. Wick, a champion
step dancer, performs set dances, reels, a hornpipe, jig, and an a
capella dance. Print materials and photographs: folders 6-9; sound
recording: AFC 1993/002:SR2; videotape: AFC 1993/002:V2. |
| African-American Hand Dancing |
Demonstration of hand-dancing, a local couple dance
derived from the lindy hop that has seen a recent revival in the Washington
African-American community. Folklorist LeeEllen Friedland narrates
and provides background information. Three couples demonstrate basic
steps and individual variations, as well as other dances in the repertoire
such as line dances, the Bop, Walk, Slop, Birdland, Bugaloo, Jerk,
Twist, and line dances. Audience participation included. Print material,
photographs, and slides: folders 20-26, envelopes 3-10; sound recordings:
AFC 1993/002:SR9-11; videotape: AFC 1993/ 002:V5. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top