home >> collections & research
services >> finding aids >> individual collections
Finding Aids to Individual Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture
THE 1986 NEPTUNE PLAZA CONCERT SERIES COLLECTION
AFC 1986/037
Compiled by Michelle Forner
Library of Congress, Washington DC
November 1985
SUMMARY
The 1986 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection consists of manuscript
and print materials, audio recordings, and graphic materials that document
the 1986 concert series sponsored by the American Folklife Center. The
annual series, which began in 1977, features the presentation of folk traditions
from many cultures. The concerts take place on the Neptune Plaza at the
front of the Jefferson Building of the Library of Congress between April
and September. Adverse weather conditions sometimes force the concerts
indoors. The 1986 series was produced with the assistance of the National
Council for the Traditional Arts.
The 1986 season consisted of the following:
| April 24 |
Byron Berline, Dan Crary, and John Hickman,
CA (Bluegrass) |
| May 1 |
John and James Jackson, MS (Blues) |
| May 22 |
Tenth Anniversary Concert: Leo Sarkisian and group,
DC (Armenian) and The Johnson Mountain Boys, VA (Bluegrass) |
| June 5 |
Djimo Kouyate African Griot Tradition, DC (Senegalese) |
| June 19 |
The Irish Tradition, MD (Irish) |
| July 17 |
The Blue Ridge Mountain Boys String Band, VA (Old Time) |
| August 7 |
Pearl Williams-Jones and the Kings of Harmony, DC (Gospel) |
| August 21 |
Chinese Traditional and Folk Music, MD (Chinese) |
| September 18 |
Maria y sus Magnificos, DC (Caribbean) |
| September 25 |
Dawne Tance and Tom Brzostowski, DC (Polish) |
Access and Reproduction: Listening and viewing access
to the collection is unrestricted. Duplication of the materials requires
prior permission of the Center and may be governed by copyright and other
restrictions.
Primary Languages: Armenian, Chinese, English, Malinke,
Polish, Spanish
| Physical Description |
Location Numbers |
| Print Materials |
| 3 boxes |
|
| Sound Recordings |
| 18 10" DT stereo reels at 15 ips |
AFS 24,234-36; RWB 2960-62
AFS 24,237-38; RWB 2963-64
AFS 24,295-98; RWB 3329-32
AFS 24,253-55; RWB 3045-47
AFS 24,256-58; RWB 3040-42
AFS 24,291-93; RWB 3325-27 |
| 6 10" DT stereo reels at 7.5 ips |
AFS 24,294; RWB 3328
AFS 24,286; RWB 3320
AFS 24,289-90; RWB 3323-24
AFS 24,287-88; RWB 3321-22 |
| Graphic Materials |
| 441 b&w negatives 32 b&w contact sheets
7 8x10 b&w photoprints 1 9x11 b&w photoprint 408 color slides |
|
COLLECTION INVENTORY
SERIES I: PRINT MATERIALS
Location
|
Contents
|
Folder 1
|
Archive of Folk Culture administration.
The collection guide (this document), an article about the concert
series, and posters for the 1986 concert season.
|
|
Publicity and administration
|
Folder 2
|
Berline, Crary, and Hickman, 4-24-86.
Press releases, fliers, news clippings, administrative correspondence,
and identification of people in photographs.
|
Folder 4
|
John and James Jackson, 5-1-86. Press
releases, fliers, news clippings, and identification of people in
photographs. Includes material on James "Son" Thomas, who was originally
scheduled to play on this date but was unable to due to an accident.
|
Folder 6
|
Tenth Anniversary Concert, 5-22-86.
Press releases, fliers, pamphlets, news clippings, a schedule of
events for the tenth anniversary celebration and symposium, a brochure
on the Johnson Mountain Boys, and identification of people in photographs.
|
Folder 8
|
Djimo Kouyate, 6-5-86. Press releases,
fliers, and identification of people in photographs.
|
Folder 10
|
Irish Tradition, 6-19-86. Press releases,
fliers, news clippings, and identification of people in photographs.
|
Folder 12
|
Blue Ridge Mountain String Band, 7-17-86.
Press releases and fliers.
|
Folder 14
|
Pearl Williams-Jones and the Kings
of Harmony, 7- 8-86. Press releases, fliers, and identification of
people in photographs.
|
| Folder 17 |
Chinese Traditional and Folk Music, 8-21-86. Press releases,
fliers, news clippings, and identification of people in photographs. |
| Folder 19 |
Maria y sus Magnificos, 9-18-86. Press releases, fliers,
news clippings, identification of people in photographs, and photo
credits. |
| Folder 21 |
Dawne Tance and Tom Brzostowski, 9-25-86. Press releases,
fliers, photo credits, and a photocopy of an article in Polish from Nowy
Dziennik, a major Polish-American newspaper. |
SERIES II: SOUND RECORDINGS
Location
|
Contents
|
Reel-to-reels
|
AFS 24,234-36
|
Berline, Crary, and Hickman, 4-24-86.
Three 10" DT stereo at 15 ips. RWB 2960-62.
|
AFS 24,237-38
|
John and James Jackson, 5-1-86. Two
10" DT stereo at 15 ips. RWB 2963-64.
|
AFS 24,295-98
|
Tenth Anniversary Concert, 5-22-86.
Four 10" DT stereo at 15 ips. RWB 3329-32.
|
AFS 24,253-55
|
Djimo Kouyate, 6-5-86. Three 10" inch
DT stereo at 15 ips. RWB 3045-47.
|
AFS 24,256-58
|
Irish Tradition, 6-19-86. Three 10" DT
stereo at 15 ips. RWB 3040-42.
|
AFS 24,287-88
|
Blue Ridge Mountain String Band, 7-17-86.
Two 10" DT stereo at 7.5 ips. RWB 3321-22.
|
AFS 24,291-93
|
Pearl Williams-Jones and the Kings
of Harmony, 7-8-86. Three 10" DT stereo at 15 ips. RWB 3325- 27.
|
| AFS 24,294 |
Chinese Traditional and Folk Music, 8-21-86. One 10" DT
stereo at 7.5 ips. RWB 3328. |
| AFS 24,286 |
Maria y sus Magnificos, 9-18-86. One 10" DT stereo
at 7.5 ips. RWB 3320. |
| AFS 24,289-90 |
Dawne Tance and Tom Brzostowski, 9-25-86. Two 10" DT
stereo at 7.5 ips. RWB 3323-24. |
SERIES III: GRAPHIC MATERIALS
| Location |
Contents |
| Negatives |
| Envelope 1 |
Berline, Crary, and Hickman, 4-24-86. One sheet of black
and white 35 mm (36 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 5 |
John and James Jackson, 5-1-86. One sheet of black and
white 35 mm (36 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 8 |
Tenth Anniversary Concert, 5-22-86. Two sheets of black
and white 35 mm (72 images). Photographer unknown. |
| Envelope 18 |
Irish Tradition, 6-19-86. One sheet of black and white
35 mm (33 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelope 22 |
Pearl Williams-Jones and the Kings of Harmony, 7- 8-86.
Two sheets of black and white 35 mm (73 images). Photographed by John
T. Gibbs and Jim Higgins. |
| Envelope 28 |
Dawne Tance and Tom Brzostowski, 9-25-86. Two sheets
of black and white 35 mm (65 images, photographed by John T. Gibbs)
and one one-row sheet of two color 35 mm (photographer unknown). |
| Photograph Prints |
| Folder 3 |
Berline, Crary, and Hickman, 4-24-86. Three black and
white 35 mm contact sheets (73 images, photographed by John T. Gibbs
and Reid Baker), and two black and white 8 x 10 photoprints (photographer
unknown). |
| Folder 5 |
John and James Jackson, 5-1-86. Two black and white
35 mm contact sheets (60 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Folder 7 |
Tenth Anniversary Concert, 5-22-86. Two black and white
35 mm contact sheets (72 images) and two black and white 8 x 10 photoprints
(photographed by Lance LeRoy of the Lancer Agency). |
| Folder 9 |
Djimo Kouyate, 6-5-86. Two black and white 35 mm contact
sheets (35 images) and two 8 x 10 black and white photoprints. Photographed
by Reid Baker and John T. Gibbs. |
| Folder 11 |
Irish Tradition, 6-19-86. Three black and white 35
mm contact sheets (66 images, photographed by John T. Gibbs), two black
and white 8 x 10 promotional photoprints (photographer unknown). |
| Folder 13 |
Blue Ridge Mountain String Band, 7-17-86. One black
and white contact sheet (27 images). Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Folders 15-16 |
Pearl Williams-Jones and the Kings of Harmony, 7- 8-86.
Four black and white contact sheets (121 images, photographed by John
T. Gibbs and Jim Higgins), four duplicates, and two 8 x 10 black and
white photoprints (photographer unknown). |
| Folder 18 |
Chinese Traditional and Folk Music, 8-21-86. Two black
and white contact sheets (32 images). Photographed by Reid Baker. |
| Folder 20 |
Maria y sus Magnificos, 9-18-86. Two black and white
contact sheets (32 images). Photographed by Reid Baker. |
| Folders 22-23 |
Dawne Tance and Tom Brzostowski, 9-25-86. Five black
and white contact sheets (131 images) and two duplicates. Photographed
by John T. Gibbs and Reid Baker. |
| Color slides |
| Envelopes 2-4 |
Berline, Crary, and Hickman, 4-24-86. Three holders
containing a total of 43. Photographed by John T. Gibbs and Reid Baker. |
| Envelopes 6-7 |
John and James Jackson, 5-1-86. Two holders containing
a total of 30. Photographed by John T. Gibbs and Reid Baker. |
| Envelopes 9-15 |
Tenth Anniversary Concert, 5-22-86. Seven holders containing
a total of 110. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 16-17 |
Djimo Kouyate, 6-5-86. Two holders containing a total
of 18. Photographed by Reid Baker and John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 19-20 |
Irish Tradition, 6-19-86. Two holders containing a total
of 34. Photographed by John T. Gibbs and Reid Baker. |
| Envelope 21 |
Blue Ridge Mountain String Band, 7-17-86. One holder
containing 19. Photographed by John T. Gibbs. |
| Envelopes 23-25 |
Pearl Williams-Jones and the Kings of Harmony, 7- 8-86.
Three holders containing a total of 46. Photographed by John T. Gibbs,
Jim Higgins, and an unknown photographer. |
| Envelope 26 |
Chinese Traditional and Folk Music, 8-21-86. One holder
containing 14. Photographed by Reid Baker. |
| Envelope 27 |
Maria y sus Magnificos, 9-18-86. One holder containing
5. Photographed by Reid Baker. |
| Envelopes 29-33 |
Dawne Tance and Tom Brzostowski, 9-25-86. Five holders
containing a total of 89. Photographed by John T. Gibbs and Reid Baker. |
|
The Library
of Congress >> Research Centers
Back to
Top