DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Pursuant to the provision of the "Government in the Sunshine Act" (5 U.S.C. § 552b), notice is hereby given of the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board's (Board) meeting described below.

TIME AND DATE OF MEETING: 9:00 a.m., September 29, 1999.

PLACE: The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board, Public Hearing Room, 625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20004.

STATUS: Open.

MATTERS TO BE CONSIDERED: The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety
Board will convene the eleventh quarterly briefing regarding the status of progress
of the activities associated with the Department of Energy's Implementation Plans
for the Board's Recommendations 95-2, Integrated Safety Management ("ISM")
and 98-1, Integrated Safety Management (Response to Issues Identified by the
Office of Internal Oversight). In addition to a briefing on the status of these items,
specific topics will include, but not be limited to, the following.

- Actions necessary to achieve full ISM implementation at defense nuclear facilities by September 2000;
- Presentations by the Rocky Flats Environmental Technology Site and the Savannah River Site regarding completion of initial ISM program implementation, and processes for ensuring continuous improvement;
- The result of Authorization Agreement reviews by the Offices of Defense
 Programs and Environmental Management;

- The status of ISM guidance document preparation;
- Progress on development of performance indicators; and
- Action items arising from the recent ISM Feedback and Improvement.
 Workshop.

CONTACT PERSON FOR MORE INFORMATION: Richard A. Azzaro,
General Counsel, Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board, 625 Indiana Avenue,
NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20004, (800) 788-4016. This is a toll-free
number.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board reserves its right to further schedule and otherwise regulate the course of this meeting, to recess, reconvene, postpone or adjourn the meeting, and otherwise exercise its authority under the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended.

Dated: September 8, 1999.

John T. Conway,

Chairman.