92-



The Secretary of Energy Washington, DC 20585

January 4, 1993

The Honorable John T. Conway Chairman Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board 625 Indiana Avenue, N.W., Suite 700 Washington, D.C. 20004

Dear Mr. Conway:

This is to notify you, under section 315(e) of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 (42 U.S.C. 2286d(e)), that an extension of time is needed for the submittal of the Implementation Plan in connection with the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board Recommendation 92-4.

The additional time is required to address adequately all of the Board's concerns and to allow time to incorporate public comments that have been received recently. The completed Implementation Plan will be submitted by February 4, 1993, which is 45 days after the original due date of December 22, 1992.

Sincerely,

James D. Watkins Admiral, U.S. Navy (Retired)

The Honorable John T. Conway Chairman Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board 625 Indiana Avenue, N.W., Suite 700 Washington, D.C. 20004

The Honorable Dan Quayle President of the Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Thomas S. Foley Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Robert C. Byrd Chairman Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mark O. Hatfield Ranking Minority Member Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable William Natcher Acting Chairman Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Joseph M. McDade Ranking Minority Member Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Sam A. Nunn Chairman Committee on Armed Services United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable John W. Warner Ranking Minority Member Committee on Armed Services United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Les Aspin Chairman Committee on Armed Services U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

🖌 🗘

The Honorable William L. Dickinson Ranking Minority Member Committee on Armed Services U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515