John T. Conway, Chairman A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman John E. Mansfield

R. Bruce Matthews

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD



625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000

February 24, 2004

Mr. Mark B. Whitaker Jr. Departmental Representative to the DNFSB, DR-1 U. S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Forrestal Building, Room 6H-025 Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Mr. Whitaker: MAR

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to enclose a printed copy

of its Fourteenth Annual Report to Congress which describes the Board's health and safety

activities relating to the Department of Energy's defense nuclear facilities during the calendar year

2003.

Sincerely,

John T. Conway Chairman

Enclosure